Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

Electric Ireland Representatives

23 hrs
Response Time
100%
Response Rate

We're online:

Monday - Friday: 8am - 6pm
(excluding public holidays)

Climote

22.01.2013 15:22 #46
Hi,

I want to check something about Climote. Does the unit come with one wired remote thermostat unit or is the thermostat unit built into the timer itself?

For example.. if my timer is in the kitchen but I want the sitting room to be the temprature zone would the timer need to be moved or can I install and wire back the termastat to the unit?
22.01.2013 15:54 #47
Hi mloc123,

I spoke with our Home Energy Services team and they advised:

The Climote unit replaces any existing functions you have within your heating system. It will replace your existing time-clock and be linked to your thermostats.

Regards,
Una
22.01.2013 23:34 #48
Category Moderator
Originally posted by mloc123
Hi,

I want to check something about Climote. Does the unit come with one wired remote thermostat unit or is the thermostat unit built into the timer itself?

For example.. if my timer is in the kitchen but I want the sitting room to be the temprature zone would the timer need to be moved or can I install and wire back the termastat to the unit?


The thermostat is built into the hub/timer whatever you want to call it. It can be wired to room stats, but the temperature control that you see online or control via the hub will be from the hub rather then the room stat. So if its going to be in a colder room or warmer, you can set the temp higher or lower to try compensate the difference, or put the hub in the sitting room but might be awkward from getting back to the boiler.
1 thank
23.01.2013 11:02 #49
Originally posted by Davy
The thermostat is built into the hub/timer whatever you want to call it. It can be wired to room stats, but the temperature control that you see online or control via the hub will be from the hub rather then the room stat. So if its going to be in a colder room or warmer, you can set the temp higher or lower to try compensate the difference, or put the hub in the sitting room but might be awkward from getting back to the boiler.

Cheers, that is exactly what I wanted to know.
23.01.2013 17:28 #50
I'd like to try one, please...

Now - i am really interested in the following....

How does it work? I assume it uses a SIM card? and how much does that cost? If you dont want to use a SIM card can you use an existing internet connection? 

And, finally....

And chance the T&C's can be distilled down into a half a page of plain english?

Thanks
24.01.2013 15:18 #51
Originally posted by FoxT
I'd like to try one, please...

Now - i am really interested in the following....

How does it work? I assume it uses a SIM card? and how much does that cost? If you dont want to use a SIM card can you use an existing internet connection?

And, finally....

And chance the T&C's can be distilled down into a half a page of plain english?

Thanks

Originally posted by BluE-WinG
Hi Electric Ireland
I am enquiring about the sim card that is embedded in Climote. After a year, I'm sure many of us would prefer not to have another bill of 36e a year.

If we have a smart-phone with the downloaded Climote app - Could this be used remotely to control climote via your home internet connection and your smartphones internet connection- Thereby removing the requirement for the Sim card?

I guess the question really is - Is climote wifi enabled and can you access it using the app without the need for the sim card?

Hi FoxT and BluE-WinG,

I have escalated your queries to Home Energy Services and will advise you of their response ASAP. In the meantime, just FYI, here is info regarding the SIM cost and the associated special offers (no payment of the SIM for a year or two years, depending which payment option is chosen): https://www.electricir...an-I-buy-climote.jsp - the main terms and conditions are contained herein, and just to add: customers who would like to avail of the instalment plan option (paying off the Climote via bill) as well as it being required to be a direct debit customer, they must also be a customer with Electric Ireland a minimum of 12 months.

Our competition thread features a demo video on the first post; ensure to post your competition entry there if you have not done so already.

Regards,
Una
1 thank
24.01.2013 15:42 #52
Hi again FoxT and BluE-WinG.


There is currently no WiFi for Climote. The product is only equipped to receive messages via SIM. If a customer does not wish to pay the €36 SIM fee after the first year, or two years (depending which payment option they choose) the Climote can just be used as a time-clock.

A Vodafone SIM card is placed in the back of the Climote, which is then fitted where the time-clock would have been. There is a number on the card, which the customer uses to send messages from the various channels available (mobile phone/smartphone/tablet/computer). Smartphone and web app will perform the same tasks as the wall device, i.e. full view of the heating system.
For customers who do not have a smartphone, it is simply a matter of texting the command, e.g. "Heating for 1 hour."
2 thanks
24.01.2013 16:10 #53
Registered User
Originally posted by Electric Ireland: Una
Hi again FoxT and BluE-WinG.


There is currently no WiFi for Climote. The product is only equipped to receive messages via SIM. If a customer does not wish to pay the €36 SIM fee after the first year, or two years (depending which payment option they choose) the Climote can just be used as a time-clock.

A Vodafone SIM card is placed in the back of the Climote, which is then fitted where the time-clock would have been. There is a number on the card, which the customer uses to send messages from the various channels available (mobile phone/smartphone/tablet/computer). Smartphone and web app will perform the same tasks as the wall device, i.e. full view of the heating system.
For customers who do not have a smartphone, it is simply a matter of texting the command, e.g. "Heating for 1 hour."

Many thanks for the quick response. Can you replace the Sim card with a different Sim card and use it in the same way?
24.01.2013 16:23 #54
Hi again BluE-WinG,

No problem - hapy to help. The SIM can only be the Vodafone one, as Electric Ireland is in partnership with Vodafone for delivery of this particular service.
WiFi may be a possibility down the line, but at present it is only SIM-based.

Regards,
Una
2 thanks
25.01.2013 10:38 #55
Registered User
Originally posted by Electric Ireland: Una
Hi again BluE-WinG,

No problem - hapy to help. The SIM can only be the Vodafone one, as Electric Ireland is in partnership with Vodafone for delivery of this particular service.
WiFi may be a possibility down the line, but at present it is only SIM-based.

Regards,
Una

Thanks for letting me know :)
1 thank
25.01.2013 15:05 #56
Registered User
Hi

I'm interested in this, but I would prefer for a wifi enabled one, so I might hold off. I have a three zone system, water - beds - living, with a thermostat in each zone and a central time clock.

I take it the central time clock is what Climote replace?

Instead I would prefer to have control over two of the thermostats and lower and raise, or even turn off each thermostat independently,  and also some way to report to me when a thermostat is calling for heat.  

I suspect Climote is not for me. Have you anything else that might provide this functionality.
25.01.2013 16:28 #57
Hi Colm,

Unfortunately there is just the SIM-based option for facility for now.

Regards,
Una
25.01.2013 23:38 #58
Registered User
Just a couple of questions.

Whats the signal like in one of these units?
Where I live the mobile phone signal is terrible, were lucky to get a signal in the house.

I have a sauter 3 zone time clock installed. It allows 3 on periods  during the day. 

Is the climote the same? 

cheers
StokolaN
26.01.2013 00:19 #59
Registered User
From chatting to my installer they can add an aerial to the clock if the signal is weak.
3 thanks
28.01.2013 09:00 #60
Hi Stokolan,

Originally posted by Stokolan
Whats the signal like in one of these units?


The unit communicates via a vodafone-enabled SIM so, as with a mobile, the strength of the signal is dependent on the coverage in the area. However as pointed out by dingding, if the signal is a particularly weak, an aerial can be installed to boost it.

Originally posted by Stokolan
I have a sauter 3 zone time clock installed. It allows 3 on periods  during the day.


Is it the Sauter T37 by any chance? The climote isn't restricted to 3 on periods, and it also has the added advantage that it can be remote controlled in three different ways: by text/SMS, online, and via the Android/iOS app. There is a useful FAQ on the climote website here too, in case that helps.

If you have any other questions feel free to ask us.

Thanks,

David
Reply to thread
Bold
Italic
Underline
Strikethrough
Align left
Center
Align right
Bullet list
Insert an image
Insert an emoticon
Insert a YouTube video
Remove Formatting
View source
Please Log In or Sign Up to join the discussion