Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Top Gear, will you be watching it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Fattes wrote: »
    Yeah what would Chris Evans know about high powered sports cars! Other than the fact that he has a large private collection of modern and classic ones that he drives regularly. Here is some of the cars, he put 30 up for auction recently too.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/cars/gallery/top-gear-presenter-chris-evanss-car-collection-in-pictures/mercedes-190sl/

Can't be sure but I get the feeling carfandom is something Evan's 'stumbled' into quite late in life when he started making big money. I mean did he EVER express an interest in cars before he was able to afford Ferraris?
    (He also sprayed them WHITE at one stage - yobbish sacrilege
    https://www.carthrottle.com/post/jNERB2/)

Clarkson & May were proper car journalists with years of experience before they were ever put in front of a TV camera (just like Chris Harris). Richard Porter's book discloses that Hammond was chosen because he arrived at auditions driving a LHD 911. They reasoned that anyone who wanted a 911 so bad they's buy a LHD one REALLY wanted one & had to be a proper petrolhead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

sonofenoch wrote: »
    Bit of casual racism is acceptable with non select minorities, Irish/Scots etc imagine the **** storm had he said the same about the black rapper he was sat beside

Are you guys for real? Casual racism! A few others have commented on that on this thread aswell. Talk about over-sensitivity!

pburns wrote: »
    Can't be sure but I get the feeling carfandom is something Evan's 'stumbled' into quite late in life when he started making big money. I mean did he EVER express an interest in cars before he was able to afford Ferraris?Clarkson & May were proper car journalists with years of experience before they were ever put in front of a TV camera (just like Chris Harris).

I read on here before that Clarkson stumbled into it himself. Didn't know one end of a car from another apparently until a job opportunity came up.

I don't think it makes any difference. To be fair to Evans, his articles every week in the (Irish) Sunday Mail display a decent bit of knowledge on motors.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,808 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Watching episode two. STFU EVANS!!!!!! Just wont stop shouting!
    Jenson was absolutely brilliant, and seemed if given a longer chance would be quite funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

Vic_08 wrote:
    For those that are unaware, they have filmed an extra show which was supposed to start after yesterdays TG but was pulled by the BBC. It is showing tonight at 8.30 on RTE 2, presumably they have pre-sold it internationally so will have to make the show even if they no longer want to air it themselves.

Didn't see anything on RTE 2 apart from something abut G.P.'s

Did you mean Extra Gear on BBC 3?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,393 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Didn't see anything on RTE 2 apart from something abut G.P.'s

Did you mean Extra Gear on BBC 3?

Yeah it was on at 8.30 on RTE 2.

Evans pretending to cry over the McClaren.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭iano.p

A much better show tonight. Evans really is letting it down can't stand when he is on. Jenson looked liked he had great fun after f1 he could suit that job.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,200 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Yep that extra show was weak.
    I think Evans is ok. Don't mind him at all but that bit getting all teary was silly beyond belief.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Jesus. wrote: »
    Are you guys for real? Casual racism! A few others have commented on that on this thread aswell. Talk about over-sensitivity!

Not over-sensitive, not offended barely noticed it at the time......but the comment on here made me think, what if he'd said he couldn't understand a word of the black rapper and not the Irishman? it wouldn't have gone unnoticed by anyone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

Sneaky little Irishman
    Sneaky little black man

Sneaky little Irishman Sneaky little black man

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Definitely a better show this week. The South Africa piece was half decent, although it seemed to jump from one thing to another a bit easily. At least they seemed to be having a bit of fun. I still don't like Evans, and I still don't like the best car/first car bit..

Oddly I kinda like Eddie Jordan in it. A bit like your dad on telly, except is a serious driver. I didn't mind the show format being like TG2 this week, but turn down Evans silly antics when introducing things. 'ITS THE STIG EVERYBODY!!!!'

I'm still in for now

Oh and for those losing their pants over Matt's comment, yet pining for the return of Jeremy Clarkson... Can I interest you in an irony detector?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Le blanc and Jordan were great on it this week..
    Once again Evans is the weak link..

I'm completely lost as to where the racism in that episode was? Because LeBlanc said sneeky Irishman?
    Jaysus if that's racism now I may as well not watch or talk to anyone anymore.
    They need to stop the "And on that bombshell" joke, it wasn't funny in the old TG (don't think it was ever meant to be) and certainly isn't funny on this new version especially when they say "Oh don't say that!".
    Eejits.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,589 ✭✭✭corks finest

bear1 wrote: »
    I'm completely lost as to where the racism in that episode was? Because LeBlanc said sneeky Irishman?
    Jaysus if that's racism now I may as well not watch or talk to anyone anymore.
    They need to stop the "And on that bombshell" joke, it wasn't funny in the old TG (don't think it was ever meant to be) and certainly isn't funny on this new version especially when they say "Oh don't say that!".
    Eejits.
    Agree,ref racism, too pc now here in our lovey isle

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Evans has never appealed to me in any way and this is no different. I'm not watching this any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭jenn1984

Definitely no racism, people are far too sensitive. Agree that Matt LeBlanc/Eddie Irvine were really entertaining on Sunday's episode but I'm finding Chris Evans to be a bit of a try hard, just not liking him.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Premise - I haven't fully watched the second episode yet. I hope to finish it tonight.

Second premise - as I'm neither British nor Irish, I have no preexisting opinion about Chris Evans; To be fully honest, I had never seen nor heard of him before he was announced as a Top Gear host. I also never watched a single episode of "Friends", nor anything really with Matt Leblanc in it. I learnt who he was when he posted the fastest lap around the TG track.

Based off the first episode and what little I've seen of the second, I can describe what Top Gear is borderline unwatchable. I know people go on saying "oh but it was bad before, it took a while even for the C/H/M team to take off", and that is true. However, the show was well established and it's not restarting from scratch.

I could go on forever, but I'll keep it to a list:

- Production seems quite bad; In studio audience shown stone faced with laughter heard in the background...poor editing? If they used "canned laughter" before, at least it was done well and matched the visual cues for the audience;

- Chris Evans has zero charisma as a TV host, not just for TG; He also should drop the "Clarkson impersonator wannabe" act; I don't mind the "shouting" but he does sound a bit like a morning radio DJ;

- Evans seems the typical "got into cars once he could afford the pricey ones" case; I'll be damned if he's given something like a 205 GTi and doesn't think it's just an old cheap car;

- Previous hosts, whatever people might say, were actual petrolheads sinking stupid amounts of money they didn't really have during their youths into hopeless drives, harbouring irrational love/hatreds for brands/car types and so on; It's things enthusiasts can relate with, same themes you see on any dedicated forums. It's not all about knowing how a DeDion bridge works or the 0-100 figures;

- Rallycross track thing I'm on the fence about; It allows to show some control skills to the people who have them, but the whole point of the SIARPC segment (seeing somebody filthy rich in a cheap ride) is gone - it's a track-tuned car now;

- Two celebrities per episode are too many;

- The "first car" and "best car" is stupid and showoffish; With many guests it can and will essentially be an exercise of "look at how much money I can spend on a car!", it has already happened with Gordon Ramsey (the daughter being "embarrassed" about daddy showing up in a LaFerrari part was especially cringeworthy);

- Matt Leblanc is actually good; Maybe it's because he seems to be an actual petrolhead, maybe it's his deadpan delivery and gruff tone, maybe because he's got his own style and not trying to be the old hosts, maybe because he can actually drive, anyway he's doing a good job;

- They are trying to keep to the old formula, which hinged on the personalities of the three hosts and won't work with a different team. They should have reset the format and restarted with something different; BBC were probably afraid of losing a lot of the audience if they didn't get TG back on air before the CHM show on Amazon; Maybe they can improve with time, but they need to depart a bit from what they're doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I liked this episode, it was a huge improvement on the first episode back.

Looking forward to Chris Harris on next weeks show.

Although for me, apart from the SIARPC aegment, theyve not really changed much from the previous Top Gear.

The South Africa challenge made for good viewing although it seemed a bit crammed into a small time slot, it did however feature extra guests that were involved in the SIARPC.

LeBlanc was the shining light this episode and is a lot more natural in the studio and during filming the South African trip, IMO.

I'd like to see Jordan a bit more, when he took control of the SUV he was a brilliantly concentrated driver.
    And I liked his tip not to wait for the sign to turn but to look at the fingers. Pure racing driver.
    Evans can fcuk off for all I care and the segment were he is on a hospital trolley was just utter stupid.
    Matt I think is getting better and his driving is very very good - I also thought Tinie was pretty good on the show too.
    Tbh they could actually fire most of the crew and bring on Jenson.
    Jenson-Matt-Jordon. Now that would be a good line up.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,593 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Jordan was a racing driver at one time, so he should have some skills. I love his wigs.

Evans is a bit loud but he's a 100% petrol head.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Buffman

I've watched both episodes and the 'extras'. It hasn't surpassed my low expectations, but I'll stick with it anyway. Other posters have more or less said it all above.

Main negative points for me:

-Evans stuck in TFI Friday mode in the studio, not as bad in the pre-recorded segments. His twitter remarks don't do him any favours. (Today, viewing figures don't matter, make up your mind Chris!:D)
    -Too many 'celebrities', the co-driver thing didn't really add much to the drive, but at least it involved vehicles, the couch segment is boring and pointless.

-Production values not as good as previous, from camera work to 'scripting', Andy Wilman is being missed.

-Car bits in 'Extra Gear' which would be far better in the main show, and put all the 'celebrity' sh1t talk in the after show if you want some sort of 'big brother little brother' type show.

Main positive points: (There has to be some!):D

-There is hope with Matt, and the two Extra Gear presenters. I don't think I've seen enough of Eddie or Sabine 'on-screen' to make a call, they seem to be used as 'guest presenters'.

-We have another 'car' show the watch, the more the merrier as long as it's not complete scutter. I do hope they find their feet and get better with time.

-Makes me look forward to 'The Grand Tour':D

And on that bombshell, some would say that watching somebody assemble a DHL box would not be entertaining, but I'll let you decide!

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

OSI wrote: »
    Fiat 126 Abarth? Ford Escort Mexico? Early 70s Beetle? Will they cut it?

I get what you're saying, but I can't shake the feeling he's a collector rather than an actual enthusiast; Somebody who made a lot of money and then decided he liked cars when he could afford a Ferrari...or five.

That said, I don't particularly dislike him - he absolutely needs to drop the Clarkson imitation. I wouldn't want to see him replaced before the end of this season like many people are calling for; He feels odd on TV and his Twitter tantrums are idiotic at best, but he deserves at least a chance to get the act together.

I liked Clarkson's subtle hint on Twitter about loudness :D

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

I thought episode 2 was entertaining.. Little bit of forced chemistry here and there. I think it can be a good show.. Going to watch episode 1 on the bus now. Surely it can't be worse than looking out the window

• Registered Users Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭maddness

Le Blanc is good and obviously a serious petrol head.
    Another big positive is that the second show was actually about cars and not some sh1te about tractors or whatever rubbish the other three clowns were at in the past few years. In saying that I'm a Clarkson and May fan.
    Eddie Jordan has to have massive respect too, great driver in his day and a brilliant business man too, a guy you'd like to have a pint with.
    I like Evans too (ducks). He loves cars.
    If he calms down a bit I think he will settle in fine.
    To be honest I'm just waiting for Chris Harris really.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,060 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users Posts: 5,950 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

conzy wrote: »
    I thought episode 2 was entertaining.. Little bit of forced chemistry here and there. I think it can be a good show.. Going to watch episode 1 on the bus now. Surely it can't be worse than looking out the window

Just watch the LeBlanc bits and look out the window for everything else.

Evans is a bit loud but he's a 100% petrol head.

Spot on

bear1 wrote: »
    I liked Clarkson's subtle hint on Twitter about loudness :D

What did he say?