If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Warhammer: Total War

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭TheKells

Falthyron wrote: »
    Yep!

That's a great shame. Would love to play a proper campaign with a few people, ah well maybe some day :(

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Damn this glorious weather. I cant justify playing the game with it!

pffff filthy casual scrub :P:P:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Kai123

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Damn this glorious weather. I cant justify playing the game with it!

I find games more enjoyable when its really sunny outside....and the curtains closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Well, I've found something that's virtually making it unplayable (from a gameplay point of view for me).

I'm mid-late game, armies invading from the north (I'm the Empire) so they're basically hell bent on just razing/sacking everything. Loads of them, but that's OK, I've good quality troops. However, I can't catch the bastards. They're always in forced march stance, which means I can't catch them, and when I chase after one - they end up grouping up. So I have to send two armies after them. OK. Still can't catch them. If I try and catch them between two armies, they just gang up on one of them, meaning I can't fight them. I genuinely can't see a solution to this, other than "Have **** loads of armies" which isn't feasible economy wise. AI allies/vassals I have don't send troops to help despite me flagging enemy armies as things to tagteam. If you put yourself into forced march, you can't attack. Witch Hunter's seem to find it very difficult to block armies. I have my Lords and lads with me running Campaign Range +% followers etc. Still nothing.

It's infuriating.

Looking online, this seems to have been flagged in Attila as well. It's made my campaign almost unplayable, and it's a real shame. I was having a ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Well, I've found something that's virtually making it unplayable (from a gameplay point of view for me).

I'm mid-late game, armies invading from the north (I'm the Empire) so they're basically hell bent on just razing/sacking everything. Loads of them, but that's OK, I've good quality troops. However, I can't catch the bastards. They're always in forced march stance, which means I can't catch them, and when I chase after one - they end up grouping up. So I have to send two armies after them. OK. Still can't catch them. If I try and catch them between two armies, they just gang up on one of them, meaning I can't fight them. I genuinely can't see a solution to this, other than "Have **** loads of armies" which isn't feasible economy wise. AI allies/vassals I have don't send troops to help despite me flagging enemy armies as things to tagteam. If you put yourself into forced march, you can't attack. Witch Hunter's seem to find it very difficult to block armies. I have my Lords and lads with me running Campaign Range +% followers etc. Still nothing.

It's infuriating.

Looking online, this seems to have been flagged in Attila as well. It's made my campaign almost unplayable, and it's a real shame. I was having a ball.

This is what I call the modern Total War whack-a-mole AI and I hated it in Rome 2. Not this exactly, but their total unwillingness to engage while running back and forth with the relentlessness and monotony that only a robot could bear. Not encouraging :/

Well, after about 15-20 turns of the "whack-a-mole" as you called it, the Dwarves finally got their asses in gear and have dug me out of a hole. Colour me shocked. Even some of my human allies are lending a hand, useless sacks of **** they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,404 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I was kinda enjoying it to start with but it gets pretty annoying due to the AI.
    Hate deploying my troops into a good position, for it to be a waste of time because the AI refuses to move until you've marched 2/3rds of the field to engage them.
    Then there is okie cokie army's who will run away and come back which are impossible to catch.
    God help you once the chaos arrive with thier endless streams of full block armies. I can't seem to have more than 1 elite VC army.
    Oh and don't get me started on the unkillable wandering hero dudes. My lands get flooded with them and I can't get rid of them no matter how many times I try to assassinat them.

Well, this would have helped me yesterday:
    I feel that many people, even some critics have missed this feature, which is a shame because quest battles are really fun, but you can pay a small fee on the quest panel of a quest battle to temporarily teleport to its location. Afterwards you go back to your original location.

Totally missed this. Although it does feel a bit like cheating - if you're chasing down some necro-bitchwizard you should be able to just teleport to her and then teleport back. Still, I'll likely use it if the quest location is miles away through enemy lands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

It's infuriating.

I had a similar problem with an enemy army, they were in forced march and I could not catch them, went on for about 10 turns.

In the end I bribed them to make peace and slaughtered them the next turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

I'm about 180 turns into my Vampire campaign. I'm doing pretty well. I have about 20 towns, and 4 full stacks of elite units like the terrorgheists. Mannfred is level 25 now and riding around on a flying dragon like a boss. :p

For the first 100 turns or so, I found managing my vampire corruption pretty difficult because of Chaos lowering it....but the Chaos are dead now so its fine and dandy. I don't have the biggest empire, the dwarves have that....and they are allied with the empire so when that war breaks out I have a feeling I might get crushed.

I only have one ally.....a minor dwarven faction but he's been my buddy since the start and he has bailed me out a few times so alliances are definitely worth it. The greenskins are gone so its getting down to the nitty gritty now. I may not prevail in the end but I've learned a lot about the new mechanics so I feel I will dominate a second campaign if this one falls apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,650 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Vampire scum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Likely a 1070 coming my way and a new monitor probably end of June/start of july, this game feels like a nice way to put the new hardware through its paces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,650 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Game is ****ing impossible.

Playing as Empire and everything going reasonably smoothly up to appprox 90/ 100 turns.

Had all of the empire factions (aside from those near the top of the map i.e. bordering Varg and Skaeling territories) join my confederation and have defensive alliances and trade agreements with all the Southern States, all Frenchies and all Dwarves.

The (endless) Chaos troops, Skaeling, Varg and Bjornling just keep feckin coming and, obviously, keep coming through me. No chance.

I guess in a future play through i'd have to turn south and massacre all the French but dear god is it impossible.

Playing on the 'middle' difficulty which was 'hard' I think.

TheDoc wrote: »
    Likely a 1070 coming my way and a new monitor probably end of June/start of july, this game feels like a nice way to put the new hardware through its paces

I'm playing ot on a potato with no problems. The requirements are overstated, as it is with many games it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

Just curious, is the actual table top warhammer fantasy game much less popular than the 40K setting game?

I read somewhere that the fantasy setting had been declining in popularity in recent years.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 26,568 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

ZeroThreat wrote: »
    Just curious, is the actual table top warhammer fantasy game much less popular than the 40K setting game?

I read somewhere that the fantasy setting had been declining in popularity in recent years.

It was always much less popular than 40K, hence the recent attempt to re-invent it with Age of Sigmar.

Spear wrote: »
    It was always much less popular than 40K, hence the recent attempt to re-invent it with Age of Sigmar.

Subsequently pissing off most of the actual Warhammer Fantasy players out there, so I hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Subsequently pissing off most of the actual Warhammer Fantasy players out there, so I hear.

If you can imagine someone taking a deep, detailed, established universe like that of Game of Thrones, Warcraft or Skyrim and culling all the beloved factions, characters, creatures and locations; replacing it with power rangers and simple, cartoon nonsense you'll have an idea of what GW did to Tabletop Fantasy.

It's great to see the old warhammer world someway restored with this. It's a compelling setting: as deep as the Grand Canyon with boundless narrative opportunity and room for expansion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

I'm struggling with the vamps, anyone have a guide on how to play them properly my armies keep getting crushed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

DeadHand wrote: »
    If you can imagine someone taking a deep, detailed, established universe like that of Game of Thrones, Warcraft or Skyrim and culling all the beloved factions, characters, creatures and locations; replacing it with power rangers and simple, cartoon nonsense you'll have an idea of what GW did to Tabletop Fantasy.

It's great to see the old warhammer world someway restored with this. It's a compelling setting: as deep as the Grand Canyon with boundless narrative opportunity and room for expansion.

GW really missed an oppurtunity with this game to give the fantasy version a shot in the arm. I reckon a lot of people who play the game might decide to get into the hobby only to find its been messed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Lone Stone wrote: »
    I'm struggling with the vamps, anyone have a guide on how to play them properly my armies keep getting crushed

You take your zombies/skeletons/grave guard and drive them up the middle. Stretch them wide so they take up a lot of room. The idea is the enemy force will engage with them. They are your tanks/meatshield. They are nearly 100% going to be cheaper to replace than what the enemy is throwing against them. Once they have engaged, you flank with your Big hitters and smash them.

Use bats to go after their missiles early to keep them pre-occupied. You can upgrade the bats to make them better or just leave them with base stats. The thing to remember is their job is just to stop the missiles hitting more important stuff. Bats are super cheap to replenish so losing them is fine. Vargheists are just superior bats. They have no armor so you don't just engage them willy nilly.....you send in your skellies first and then you drop the Vargheists on them from above. The idea being they wont get hit and their ridiculous DPS will break the enemy quickly.

Varghulf's are brilliant anti armor units so charge them into the biggest armored thing they have. They can also break down doors in sieges.

Terrorgheists kill nearly everything so having 1 or 2 per stack is always a good idea. The only thing to avoid is sending them 1v1 against armor piercing stuff with a ton of hp.....like big ogre type creatures. Send in a single unit of grave guard first to engage the ogre, then you land behind him and knock him down. They can fly so you can manoeuvre them so easily.

Use Soul siphon on the enemy commander as much as you can. It's brilliant. The other spells are "okay" but keep in mind the offensive ones have friendly fire so watch out for that.

When the battle is over, use the raise dead option to cheaply replenish your units. If it was a massive battle, you can recruit a lot. And not always like for like. For example, you can lose 10 stacks of cheap zombies.....and raise a much better unit to replace them even if you don't have the tech for it in your towns.

Expanding is tricky. The key is to get the tier 2 corruption building that spreads corruption to neighbouring provinces....and also send an agent and "deploy" them in the enemy territory to spread it faster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

ORKS!,ORKS! ORKS! ORKS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭DeadHand

GW really missed an oppurtunity with this game to give the fantasy version a shot in the arm. I reckon a lot of people who play the game might decide to get into the hobby only to find its been messed.

People are going to be disappointed at what they find if they look for the fantasy tabletop game and find the mutilated wretch it is now.

The advent of these computer games means the few brave souls still playing the physical game or those looking to start will abandon it to play them. Much cheaper, much better.

I'm just glad a fantastic universe I grew up with survives in some form.

Yeh. When I was a kid, my brother got Space Crusade, which was feckin epic. If im not remembering incorrectly that progressed to Space Hulk and then Warhammer 40k. Great times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

have never played a total war game before and i'm completely lost. playing vamps, maybe i should have started with empire or something?

froog wrote: »
    have never played a total war game before and i'm completely lost. playing vamps, maybe i should have started with empire or something?

Yes, perhaps. Dwarfs are a good faction for a new person. No magic, lots of axes, but unfortunately no cavalry.

Hint: Focus one region on unit producing, and the rest on moneygrubbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

i've been playing the dwarfs the last few days, they're really well done as a faction. Reasonably easy to play too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭blackwave

I've been playing as chaos, it's been fun rampaging through the southlands razing towns as I go. I have the destroyed Kislev and the Empire on it's knee's atm, but I signed a NAP with the vampire counts as they were quite strong and I didn't want to be fighting two front's. However while I was busy stomping the Empire, the VC's have been merrily rebuilding the towns that I razed and are now a massive threat to me and are close to cutting off my main horde from my two smaller ones. So I reckon I will have to leave the empire alone and declare war on the VC's and try eliminate them before the empire gets a chance to regroup which is a big ask. It's been great fun though as campaign, the Chaos Chosen are tough SOB's very rarely break and will fight to the bitter end. Would really recommend them for a playthrough but it is very tough at the beginning and when you raise your second horde in particular.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,575 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Well Wargaming's though appears to have gone like this; Fantasy is losing people (because 8th edition rules were utterly stupid but we digress) so let's add Space Marines to Fantasy! But hey, we need to make a big impact so let's completely throw away 20+ years of loved lore in the most convoluted and stupid way possible inc. having Chaos Gods being captured by mortals etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Just love it when my Orks get pissed off. The sounds they make are hilarious. Also great fun when smashing up settlements.