Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Kovu wrote: »
    Ha! I'd say I've either got it or have immunity to it at this stage, wage a constant battle with the little bastards every year. It's strange cause my mother never gets them and dad might only get one or two each summer. Found one crawling up the side of my face the other day.
    Bleugh.
    Place around here is riddled with them. Often pulled four or five off myself after walking around the winterage during the summer. That's why we can only really buy cattle locally, anything from outside the area is nearly guaranteed to get redwater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

A girl my brother went to college with got Lyme disease when in Canada. Didn't get diagnosed for months and she has actually gone mad from it. It's a very sad case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Place around here is riddled with them. Often pulled four or five off myself after walking around the winterage during the summer. That's why we can only really buy cattle locally, anything from outside the area is nearly guaranteed to get redwater.

Bayticol is the only job for them little fcukers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Whelan, what was wrong with yer Pajero in the end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Sorta the same, we have land covered with them and can only put homebred cattle on it. Chanced it a few years ago with bought in heifers, covered them with Bayticol and one still got it.
    A girl my brother went to college with got Lyme disease when in Canada. Didn't get diagnosed for months and she has actually gone mad from it. It's a very sad case

Oh that's really sad :( It seems to have a much higher profile in the US/Canada for whatever reason. Doesn't whatsername skater boi singer have it, Avril!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I seem to remember reading somewhere that in the US and Canada, wild deer are part of the ticks life cycle. With the numbers of hunters there, Lyme disease seems to have a higher incidence and profile.
    The YouTuber "One lonley farmer" has it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,453 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Whelan, what was wrong with yer Pajero in the end?
    Tiny guaze/filter on the line at the fuel pump also slight adjustment to diaphragm, flying now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I said wrote: »
    Bayticol is the only job for them little fcukers

Home bred cattle will pick up immunity when they are calves. I'd be afraid I'd forget to do them with bayticol to be honest and it's not cheap either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,756 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

When I worked in the US on a J1 visa, we were well warned about Lymes disease. That's a good while ago now. I think it was a fairly new disease at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 797 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

What reasonably priced pour on would ye recommend using lads.
    Want to do a dozen bought in 2 year olds. All healthy and no coughing. Just want to clean em up and set em up for a healthy summer !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    Another farm fatality , picture of hay baling in May is a bit stupid, r.i.p http://jrnl.ie/2747947f

He had just sold his dairy cows and was only a few months from the pension:(

Rest in peace and condolences to his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,431 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

He had just sold his dairy cows and was only a few months from the pension:(

Rest in peace and condolences to his family.

Jesus that's awful sad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

CHOPS01 wrote: »
    What reasonably priced pour on would ye recommend using lads.
    Want to do a dozen bought in 2 year olds. All healthy and no coughing. Just want to clean em up and set em up for a healthy summer !

2 year olds should be farily resistant to worms at this stage. I'd be doing them with a cheap fluke dose

Ha! I missed the post before this and thought you were on about toddlers for a second.

Ugh... I've seen it before, is it being used by a knackery on donedeal by any chance? It has that lollipop syndrome, a head that looks too big for it's body.

Kovu wrote: »
    Ugh... I've seen it before, is it being used by a knackery on donedeal by any chance? It has that lollipop syndrome, a head that looks too big for it's body.
    no it is looking for grazing cows ad is in louth, maybe you could copy and paste the ad, when I tried whats above came up

Reverse image searched it and it's an example of cobalt deficiency or general ill thrive.

Heh, went to find that ad and found this instead. Interesting 'wild bird' cover photo!
    https://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/glas-wild-bird-cover/12119346 :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,756 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I saw that add. More like starvation, I'd say. When I got into suckling first I had a calf like that, all because the cow hadn't a drop of milk. When I hear lads saying that milk doesn't matter in suckler cows.

Is boards playing up again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Is boards playing up again?

Seems to be grand. Using it on the phone here and not a problem

I saw that add. More like starvation, I'd say. When I got into suckling first I had a calf like that, all because the cow hadn't a drop of milk. When I hear lads saying that milk doesn't matter in suckler cows.
    looks a bit like some of the johnes ones, I certainly wouldnt be putting up a photo of them

When you Absolutely,
    Positively,
    Want to get the spreader home.

zSJKQQFl.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    When you Absolutely,
    Positively,

zSJKQQFl.jpg
    Vw vento.the ultimate farmers tractor/car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Came across a copy of the local newspaper, the "Anglo Celt" from 1971.

A few machinery prices.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    When you Absolutely,
    Positively,

zSJKQQFl.jpg

if thats ever for sale let me know!!!

The guy in the Vento had just bought it. I got roped into helping him load up.
    €200 plus the vat, included a new rubber donut and a new collar to hold on the spout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Crossword in journal a bit tricky this week.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Farming full or part time?, farmers take home pay?, oh work off farm?, Spouse / partner/Gf/Bf etc help out on farm?
    Any sign of a thread 'what had you for breakfast? ' :-)