Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

_Brian wrote: »

Weed licker will be busy this year with the massive growth of rushes this spring :mad:

The whole country is covered in them. Is it just me, never seemed to be as bad years ago. Remember fields as a young lad that grew crops of hay and silage, hardly a blade if grass in them now with rushes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,745 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I passed a few fields myself the last few days that I remember as fine fields years ago . All covered in rushes too. Not just rain id say, soil compaction builds up over time if reckon too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Muckit wrote: »
    The whole country is covered in them. Is it just me, never seemed to be as bad years ago. Remember fields as a young lad that grew crops of hay and silage, hardly a blade if grass in them now with rushes!

Alot of small drains not cleared often enough anymore or filled in completely.
    I remember one place beside us that never had rushes but the two boys farming it would spend a few days with drags every spring.
    More money and time in farming back then to spend on marginal land aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 797 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Driving back from a wedding in west clare today in the space of about 5 miles saw 2 lads buried to the axle.
    The boys must have got a bit carried away with the bit of dry weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Spent most of the day on the little IH (no cab) and land leveler spreading spent mushroom compost that was dropped by the trailer load during the week in one of the fields. I was well kitted out up with woolly hat, coat, waterproofs and sunglasses but called it a day around 7.30pm as I got too cold. It's our first time spreading it so will be interesting to see how the grass does compared to other fields that only got slurry. We only managed to get the slurry spread last weekend as we delayed it due to the death of a good friend of both ours and our contractor's.
    I noticed a few rushes have popped up in parts of the field that were never there before :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Yea sprayed a few fields myself this evening for rushes. Has been a wet winter on land see them popping up in fields that never had them before.

If someone could invent a cure they would be one wealthy indivudial

Base price wrote: »
    Spent most of the day on the little IH (no cab) and land leveler spreading spent mushroom compost that was dropped by the trailer load during the week in one of the fields. (

Hopefully should condition the soil anyway. Wouldn't really be adding any nutrients l would think. Sure it's peat essentially isn't ? Be better if ploughed in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Odelay wrote: »
    Out in the garden reading this an what rolls down the road only the knackery lorry.

as long as he didn't stop and call in yor're grand
    rangler1 wrote: »
    i switched over to UTV, britains got talent, in time for a brilliant choir from kilkenny secondary school...any body see it.
    Simon Cowell said the teacher was cute.....not many of those around....cute teachers i mean

For once I agree with Cowell, teacher was cute, :rolleyes: choir were brilliant !!

Doesnt happen often enough is the problem..

Having problem with tractor overcharging, running 20v and I think battery is shot now.

Split alternator and removed regulator, surely its just regulator as its producing plenty of power and just not controlling it to 14v, hope if I replace this I'll get away without cost of full rebuild.. Sourced a part online delivered for €10.

Weed licker will be busy this year with the massive growth of rushes this spring :mad:

check acid level in battery over charging will burn it dry & battery will eventually explode. (been there ..have the T shirt and acid eroded jeans as proof :mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,422 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Kovu wrote: »
    There is nothing worse than watching a cow pine away despite being treated with half a clinic of stuff. :(
    Debating getting her shot just to put both of us out of misery.
    any improvement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

You all know how i love the public sevice, this came up on facebook.

Share this with the people on ‪#‎WaitingLists‬ The HSE is currently interviewing to create a national panel from which senior Occupational therapy and physiotherapy posts will be filled. The net result is approximately 2300 days of work being lost as circa 1400 physios and 900 OTs are interviewed in Dublin over forthcoming weeks. This equates to approximately 10 years of therapy time which would go a long way towards clearing all of the waiting lists. ‪‬

Does that mean that they get a day off to go for interview rather than using a day of their excessive holidays and sick leave.
    Rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan2 wrote: »
    any improvement?

Nope, have given up. Tried to tube her earlier but she just wouldn't swallow the tube down and it would only go into her windpipe. I gave up after trying twice as I though she was going to collapse in the crush. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

New spuds here for the dinner, delicious!

Ah,you have a veggy tunnel too :cool:

Dont forget to fill in yer census forms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Muckit wrote: »
    Hopefully should condition the soil anyway. Wouldn't really be adding any nutrients l would think. Sure it's peat essentially isn't ? Be better if ploughed in
    It's spread on one of the fields which can get dry during the summer if the weather is good. We are hoping that it will help to retain moisture and also add a little lime. We intend to keep the field for either silage if a neighbour is interested in it (mow, bale and wraps himself) and if not for hay for ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,423 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

You all know how i love the public sevice, this came up on facebook.

Share this with the people on ‪#‎WaitingLists‬ The HSE is currently interviewing to create a national panel from which senior Occupational therapy and physiotherapy posts will be filled. The net result is approximately 2300 days of work being lost as circa 1400 physios and 900 OTs are interviewed in Dublin over forthcoming weeks. This equates to approximately 10 years of therapy time which would go a long way towards clearing all of the waiting lists. ‪‬

Does that mean that they get a day off to go for interview rather than using a day of their excessive holidays and sick leave.
    Rant over

It's insulting to a lot of hard working individuals the way that post tar everyone with the same brush, it's like saying all sheep farmers are sheep shaggers !!

They take holidays for such days.

Many such deportments have sick leave numbers below 1% absence, I know this for fact.

So what's the best thing, local politicians making appointments like used to happen. Proper interviewed panels are the fairest and best way to make appointments. Forming a panel means further jobs are filled without spending more time or money interviewing the very same people again for the exact same positions.

Some people are never happy and just want to knock and criticise PS workers be they hard working or not. I bet same all sweetness and light if they have to go for an appointment, real keyboard cowards.

Just doing mine now and it's some change from the last one that I filled out :(
    Only me here now. The two absent sons are at least happy doing their own thing :)

It's insulting to a lot of hard working individuals the way that post tar everyone with the same brush, it's like saying all sheep farmers are sheep shaggers !!

They take holidays for such days.

Many such deportments have sick leave numbers below 1% absence, I know this for fact.

So what's the best thing, local politicians making appointments like used to happen. Proper interviewed panels are the fairest and best way to make appointments. Forming a panel means further jobs are filled without spending more time or money interviewing the very same people again for the exact same positions.

Some people are never happy and just want to knock and criticise PS workers be they hard working or not. I bet same all sweetness and light if they have to go for an appointment, real keyboard cowards.

Couldn't be bothered going near them, go private. 80 year old friend had to go for a glaucoma test last week, so she had to bring a driver.
    Appintment for 10.45 and seen at 1.45....don't annoy me, could they not be bothered to work out a rota instead of getting them all in at the same time.

incidentally that post was written by a physio and she was highlighting all the missed appointments so they must be getting the day off

Ah,you have a veggy tunnel too :cool:

Nope, work on a veg farm/shop.
    They were delicious!

I hope you wrote in the full number of hectares! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Yer own or bought and where?

I said wrote: »
    Yer own or bought and where?

Bought. Came from Rush.

Just doing mine now and it's some change from the last one that I filled out :(
    Only me here now. The two absent sons are at least happy doing their own thing :)

Happy is all ya ever want for them.

Bought. Came from Rush.
    IMO Rush/Lusk/Skerries has the best productive land in Ireland per square inch along with the majority of land in NCD and a bit over the border in South Meath :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Grueller

IMO Rush/Lusk/Skerries has the best productive land in Ireland per square inch along with the majority of land in NCD and a bit over the border in South Meath :rolleyes:

Great land altogether. The filth of Dublin sewers land spread on it for decades was great for it too. Golden vale is serious ground too. Locally here, around Marshalstown in Wexford, along the banks of the Slaney is serious too.

fed up again thismorning. Over the weekend I was busy, helped on the farm with stuff that was too heavy again, spent yesterday getting caravan out of storage and freshened for next weekend, mowed the grass.
    I knew I'd be paying the price today and indeed I'm ****ed with pains in neck, shoulder, arm and lower back.
    Am taking a cocktail of drugs to get bye but just feel like I'm 70 and need to be in bed.
    I spend hours each week doing excercises to keep moving and just hold the status quo but I'm still basically only fit to be a spectator in life.
    That's my Monday Moan over.

fed up again thismorning. Over the weekend I was busy, helped on the farm with stuff that was too heavy again, spent yesterday getting caravan out of storage and freshened for next weekend, mowed the grass.
    I knew I'd be paying the price today and indeed I'm ****ed with pains in neck, shoulder, arm and lower back.
    Am taking a cocktail of drugs to get bye but just feel like I'm 70 and need to be in bed.
    I spend hours each week doing excercises to keep moving and just hold the status quo but I'm still basically only fit to be a spectator in life.
    That's my Monday Moan over.
    Have my first sinus dose of the year here. Went back to bed yesterday as couldnt function. Not helped by the fact there was an empty pack in the press of the tablets I always have on standby for when I get a dose- thats another rant :cool:-

I'm just being an auld moany hole really, I knew I was going to suffer but it's hard to stand back doing nothing when there is so much to be done. It should be settled to a sort of discomfort in a few days, that's it's best, constant discomfort.
    I'm very lucky with my job. My first appt of the day is in a nice cosy cafe and I've the nicest late I've had in years here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

Have my first sinus dose of the year here. Went back to bed yesterday as couldnt function. Not helped by the fact there was an empty pack in the press of the tablets I always have on standby for when I get a dose- thats another rant :cool:-

Sinus infections are an awful dose. Sister used to be bedridden with it the whole time. She grew out of it luckily.

Nothing worse than a bad back. It sounds muscular the way you describe it?