Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Stuck in a&e in Galway. Dislocated my baby finger at football training and local doctor couldn't put it back in :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Grueller

Stuck in a&e in Galway. Dislocated my baby finger at football training and local doctor couldn't put it back in :(

Was stuck there last week with a lad concussed after a football training. Some dose. Having said that the gibberish he was talking was entertaining despite the seriousness of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

We bought a few bundles of fencing posts there recently. It's supposedly scandinavian timber and coated in more of a tar than creosote. We were fed up of the cheaper ones breaking and rotting after a few years. A fella outside the pub and the man who was delivering oil were both wondering where we bought them, we mustn't be the only ones suffering with crap fencing posts so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Grazon

How ye gettin on just wondering is a bull with 7% calving difficulty hard or easey calving. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I'd say average.lowish for charolais and blue and highish for a limo.I have put that % on heifers before tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Grueller wrote: »
    Was stuck there last week with a lad concussed after a football training. Some dose. Having said that the gibberish he was talking was entertaining despite the seriousness of the situation.

That happened me 6 weeks ago aswell. I'll have to get out of it I'm thinking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

This crowd?
    http://www.balcas.com/products/fencing/

They don't have prices on the website, but they seem to indicate you need to buy 100+ stakes... Which is more than I want at the minute...

I have a some larch trees, debating using some of them, untreated... Anyone know how long they might last?

I got them from a local merchant, two bundles of 63 in each, might've got them cheaper direct, don't plan ahead here so don't go looking for them until the day i want them, larch is good, had it in a trailer floor for about thirty years and it wasn't always in, can you get them sawed locally.
    We used to have oak trees here that we used for stakes, but wild trees are rubbish for sawing up as they're all crooked etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Don't be mad!!! That's the bang on the head talking. ;-)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Maybe take up golf, I hear donald has a good course near ya:p You could get a job free lifetime membership drawing rock to it too.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Grazon wrote: »
    How ye gettin on just wondering is a bull with 7% calving difficulty hard or easey calving. Thanks

I personally wouldn't use that on heifers or indeed second calvers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,422 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Was rolling silage ground from half 9 until half 3, could hardly walk when I got out of the tractor, dont know how ye lads can sit in tractors for days at silage time etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was rolling silage ground from half 9 until half 3, could hardly walk when I got out of the tractor, dont know how ye lads can sit in tractors for days at silage time etc

I've that to do this weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Boards is different on IPhone from 1 till now, anyone else experiencing this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Odelay

Was that the tractor with a football under the seat for suspension??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

You're a bit young for that sort of trouble. I hate driving tractors for that reason, it's weird, it crocks me up more than a days manual work

Odelay wrote: »
    Was that the tractor with a football under the seat for suspension??
    yes, my arse is fine , its my kness that were giving me trouble, dislocated one a few years ago

Tagged a calf this morning, put sample in the pocket of my hoodie, fecked hoodie off in porch of house, cleaner came to day. No sign of bvd sample this evening, emptied the bin bag and there was the sample at the bottom, result:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭visatorro

Poor auld Prince, he's officially the artist formerly known as Prince now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

rangler1 wrote: »
    I got them from a local merchant, two bundles of 63 in each, might've got them cheaper direct, don't plan ahead here so don't go looking for them until the day i want them, larch is good, had it in a trailer floor for about thirty years and it wasn't always in, can you get them sawed locally.
    We used to have oak trees here that we used for stakes, but wild trees are rubbish for sawing up as they're all crooked etc

No - wouldn't get em sawed, would just knock the trees and cut em into lengths.

The bottom of the trees would be heavy all right, but if they did the job - they'd be a lot cheaper than paying FRS about €6 a stake too... ;)

Eldest lad is doing his homework, would agriculture be an income or an expenditure for the government?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Eldest lad is doing his homework, would agriculture be an income or an expenditure for the government?
    Expenditure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Income - all the other industries higher up depend on it.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The Kingston thread is after turning into a political debate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The Kingston thread is after turning into a political debate

Nice few of them could do with a slap of a wet fish.....

In what context. I'd say income, as subsidies come from EU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

MF290 wrote: »
    In what context. I'd say income, as subsidies come from EU.

If it's a national budget, it's expenditure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Its expenditure taxes are income

The lads are correct there :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

its income , they take a slice of the money coming from Europe to cover administration and inspections etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭einn32

Have to use this new look Boards as I'm not in Eire. Seems to be working ok and bit more flashy. The site did need a revamp I think.