David Haye comeback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

pac_man wrote: »
    What do you mean by this?

I wouldn't waste my time if I was you... I'm still explaining to people that Aldo didn't take a dive against McGregor. You'll always get the "Tin foil hat" mentality in all of Combat Sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Mori didnt need to take a dive, his ability level took care of making sure he lost.

Ludicrous, contrived setup of a match, every man and his dog new Mori wouldn't be up to much but that was embarrassing by any standard.

Learned nothing from haye tonight, anybody can put combinations together against a punch bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

Mori didnt need to take a dive, his ability level took care of making sure he lost.

Ludicrous, contrived setup of a match, every man and his dog new Mori wouldn't be up to much but that was embarrassing by any standard.

Learned nothing from haye tonight, anybody can put combinations together against a punch bag.
    whats he doing with mcguigans anyway ,would nobody else take haye on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Anyone watch Wilder last night? Great KO finish but once again i thought he was very average, imo he's a big athletic puncher but lacks boxing skill, he also didn't cope well with Szpilka's movement and struggled to create openings. Wilder get's beaten by the real top HW's imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭badabing106

Let's see how he gets on with povetkin. A real top heavyweight. The cynic in me thinks he might "get injured" and won't fight him, and wait for winner of klitschko fury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

16000 tickets sold last night his bank balance is a bit healthier today im sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,321 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Jaysus would hate to have payed into that. Tickets were pricey also.

Was always going to be one sided but didn't think it would be over so soon.

Haye needs rounds but towards the end of the year it would be a Good scrap with Joshua

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

Anyone watch Wilder last night? Great KO finish but once again i thought he was very average, imo he's a big athletic puncher but lacks boxing skill, he also didn't cope well with Szpilka's movement and struggled to create openings. Wilder get's beaten by the real top HW's imo.

I think we expected to much last night. Szpilka was an awkward opponent last night good head movement could take a shot was game while he lasted. In fairness all the quality came from Wilder and I always thought he was going to finish him. He's a great KO artist and I believe he can beat any heavyweight in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,129 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

This was beyond a sham, if that guy is ranked as 10th in the world then I am 11th.

Haye saying Fury will avoid him after seeing power like that made me laugh. I suppose we can get used to comments like that now now that he is back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,131 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I thought Dempsey did a good job. Didn't sensationalize the victory like what other broadcasters would do and asked questions that people are genuinely interested in.

yes it was a refreshing antidote to the fawning and bland crap from sky."enough of the Haye promotion..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,131 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I think so. If Szpilka could cause him that much bother with his movement, then Fury would easily outbox him. Wilder would have a punchers chance that's about it. I believe Povetkin will beat Wilder, if Wilder doesn't avoid him again.

with this in mind, i'd love to see Haye seek out Povetkin sometime this year.

if he beats Povetkin by ko, then he will have earned the right to start bragging about himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,275 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

What do you all think about Haye putting on the extra weight. Does he conform to a proper heavyweight now or is he compensating his speed?

I don't think the extra weight does anything for him to be honest.

As an aside DeMori looked way out of shape compared to previous pictures I have seen of him yet looking at boxrec he actually weighed in at his usual weight. It makes me think he did very little preparation for this fight.

I though wilder was very ordinary last night, that said he never looked in trouble himself and his KO punch was out of this world. He'll have a punchers chance against anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,321 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Did anyone see Fury running into the ring at the end?

Pure comedy, man is a lunatic! He'd be a star in the WWE!!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Did anyone see Fury running into the ring at the end?

Pure comedy, man is a lunatic! He'd be a star in the WWE!!

Yeah apparently he had spent the entire night serving himself at the bar :D hopefully he get's back training soon, hate to see him loose the Klitschko rematch because he's under prepared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭buggy beag

How the **** did david haye sell out the 02?

buggy beag wrote: »
    How the **** did david haye sell out the 02?

16000 fans at 70 euro a pop to watch that nonsense, amazing.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Fighting Arnold Gjergjaj next.

Who? Oh he's unbeaten having faced 29 bums, I'm sure they'll use that he's unbeaten to sell a few tickets. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,492 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Setting up the AJ fight next year, "I KO the never been KO'd, defeat the undefeated" - David Haye.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Haye said he will donate 10% of his earnings to Nick Blackwell. I'm not much of a fan but this is a very nice gesture on his part.

Shannon Briggs isn't happy with Haye's opponent "Who is the guy? Who are guy? LETS GO CHAMP!" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Briggs is making more sense than the lot of them if they think this Swiss lad is credible opposition. Jesus, selling out venues to beat up people leagues below him; fools and their money are soon parted.

Haye is comic at heavyweight, he fought one credible opponent at heavyweight and lost convincingly. The rest of his heavyweight campaign has been him beating up journeymen and a victory over Dereck Chisora. No interest in him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭weemcd

Credit where credits due to Haye, that's a seriously classy move from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Fair play to Haye. A really classy gesture.

In fairness to Haye it's great business, half million pound for fighting some bum for a few rounds.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

What an abysmal fight again from Haye, the man's a complete joke at this point and hasn't had a win over a top fighter in years. Also giving 10% to Blackwell seems a nice gesture but the cynic in me says it's all about good PR for Haye and also important to point out it's 10% of the money from ticket sales, maybe being too cynical but a ploy to boost sales maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,129 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Hold on...WHO?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,741 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I assume Dave channel willl be screening this mismatch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭Danye

That_Guy wrote: »
    Fair play to Haye. A really classy gesture.

Fair play to him but why tell everybody? Why not just do it discretely?

Joke of a fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Shannon Briggs confronted David Haye at the Martin/Joshua weigh ins :pac:

Haye didn't look too confident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭weemcd

Devastator wrote: »

Anyone else despise Shannon Briggs? Lad comes across an absolute moron, he has about 5 sentences in his vocabulary and repeats himself over and over and over. Sick of the sight of him, hope he is KO'd again and disappears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭A Shaved Duck?

Devastator wrote: »

Haye looked like any sane person when they are confronted by a mentally unhinged eejit..