Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,834 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    Youngest lad gave me a fair shock this evening, he was just finished swimming lessons- been going for over a year- and was playing for a few minutes in the pool like he normally does. He jumped in and went to swim to the rope , but the rope wasnt there:eek: He went under and he was in trouble, i ran for a swimming coach and he dived in and got him , fair fright
    I hope that he is ok and didn't get too much of a fright. Encourage him back into the pool as soon as possible.
    A simular thing happened to me when I was 8yo. I never got over it and to this day I cannot swim, in fact I am also convinced that I cannot float in water.
    TBH I cannot allow the water from the shower onto my face :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Base price wrote: »
    I hope that he is ok and didn't get too much of a fright. Encourage him back into the pool as soon as possible.
    A simular thing happened to me when I was 8yo. I never got over it and to this day I cannot swim, in fact I am also convinced that I cannot float in water.
    TBH I cannot allow the water from the shower onto my face :o

I cannot encourage this enough.

Never learned to swim so of course I kayak, climb and explore around the lake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭einn32

Anyone know where I'd get a template for farm safety statement. We've bord bia qa on Friday. Can't wait!!
    http://www.hsa.ie/eng/Your_Industry/Agriculture_Forestry/Overview/Precautions_Risk_Assessment/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭einn32

Lads another stupid question.....in the bord bia folder there is a farm safety self assessment document that was filled out before. Does this cover the safety statement?

I used this HSA material for the audit. Less than three employees is probably applicable for most operations. Plus it had an online risk assessment which can be easily reviewed. I physically went out to the farm and done it. I surprised myself at how many risks were in the place.

http://www.hsa.ie/eng/Your_Industry/Agriculture_Forestry/Overview/Precautions_Risk_Assessment/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Stuck in car park waiting for oh to arrive as car won't start, no lights on dash and wipers won't go off, no kick out of engine.
    Gremlins under the bonnet I think!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Stuck in car park waiting for oh to arrive as car won't start, no lights on dash and wipers won't go off, no kick out of engine.
    Gremlins under the bonnet I think!!

Uuuuuummmmm. BB Auditor rang at 11 saying he was having car trouble and couldn't make audit today. Coincidence? ? ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Uuuuuummmmm. BB Auditor rang at 11 saying he was having car trouble and couldn't make audit today. Coincidence? ? ;-)

On road again, disconnected the battery for 30 seconds, good as new. Electrics got confused!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,834 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Kovu wrote: »
    I cannot encourage this enough.

Never learned to swim so of course I kayak, climb and explore around the lake.
    I bought life jackets for use on the boat or sometimes if we are fishing from the shore. A fishing club that I am in will only allow shore fishing if wearing life jackets. They self inflate if you fall in, turn you the right way up and will keep you afloat even if wearing full winter clothing.
    They need to be stored somewhere dry in winter (I use the hot press) otherwise dampness can set them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

does anyone know if QTP in Mullingar are open on Saturdays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,550 ✭✭✭tanko

According to their website it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 837 ✭✭✭ABlur

Got dragged out to Culture night in Limerick. Free entry to King John's castle which was good. Otherwise it's catch up with agri Culture time for the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,703 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

tanko wrote: »
    According to their website it isn't.

No not open Saturdays as they box up things for shipping that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Got some stuff there about a month ago and rang for opening hours. Not open Saturdays. Closed for Lunch 1-2. Serious set up there.

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Got some stuff there about a month ago and rang for opening hours. Not open Saturdays. Closed for Lunch 1-2. Serious set up there.

You have to be careful what your buying tho. I wouldn't buy anything for gearboxes or the like. Some panels don't fit right either. The likes of pins and normal day to day stuff is fine tho

jimmy G M wrote: »

You have to be careful what your buying tho. I wouldn't buy anything for gearboxes or the like. Some panels don't fit right either. The likes of pins and normal day to day stuff is fine tho

Make sure you have your mag buckets out guys. Lost a cow to Tetney yesterday evening

Reggie. wrote: »
    Make sure you have your mag buckets out guys. Lost a cow to Tetney yesterday evening

Sh1te Reggie one of FIL's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,453 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

was driving by our sucklers last night and they had the bucket out under the fence, went back and put it in the middle of the field. Lost one a few years ago when the bucket went out of their reach

What would a tonne of organic oats make, is it much more than normal oats?

Would it be a mortal sin to shake 10-10-20 over a reseed that needs a perk and maybe a few paddocks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Would it be a mortal sin to shake 10-10-20 over a reseed that needs a perk and maybe a few paddocks?

I didn't see anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,757 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

What are the symptoms of grass tetany? I was sure I had a case the other night. Rang vet in a panic. Vet says more likely meningitis . Cow was acting strange with head outstretched and eyes half closed. Also pushing head into hedge. Her nose and tail area were also dark in colour- this the look of toxic poisoning, says vet.

Sh1te Reggie one of FIL's?

Yeah. He looked out the the back window and she staggered and fell as he was watching her. Dead before she hit the ground I'd say

Nicks them very quick. Were they changed into lush grass

Milked out wrote: »
    I didn't see anything

I could claim that! Could always get docket done as something all k.

Nicks them very quick. Were they changed into lush grass

Fresh grass but wouldn't have been real good quality tho

What are the symptoms of grass tetany? I was sure I had a case the other night. Rang vet in a panic. Vet says more likely meningitis . Cow was acting strange with head outstretched and eyes half closed. Also pushing head into hedge. Her nose and tail area were also dark in colour- this the look of toxic poisoning, says vet.
    Did vet treat her?

Muscle twitchings would be the usual common symptom. Aggressiveness, nervy, shivering. And unless you get them fast, they're dead :pac:

Kovu wrote: »
    Muscle twitchings would be the usual common symptom. Aggressiveness, nervy, shivering. And unless you get them fast, they're dead :pac:

Your alive :eek:

I know! Have ye missed me?