Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

whelan2 wrote: »
    going to hide them until after the homework is done:D

You might be interested in this...

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057493615/1/#post97009318

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Base price wrote: »
    The excitement of it all. I miss those days, they grow up so quickly.

My youngest still gets the Smyth's catalogue in the post each year

He is now 24 :rolleyes: :D:D ...comes each year without fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

orm0nd wrote: »
    My youngest still gets the Smyth's catalogue in the post each year

He is now 24 :rolleyes: :D:D ...comes each year without fail

My mother always says to leave them believe in Santy as long as possible aswell ormond !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,834 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Sons held a "card" game on Friday night with their friends. Appears that some dope dropped the best part of a half roll of toilet tissue down the guest toilet, flushed it down and didn't tell anyone.
    I realised that there something was wrong when my en-suite toilet didn't drain properly this morning.
    Eldest and I have spent the last hour clearing AJ manhole covers to find the blockage :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Sons held a "card" game on Friday night with their friends. Appears that some dope dropped the best part of a half roll of toilet tissue down the guest toilet, flushed it down and didn't tell anyone.
    I realised that there something was wrong when my en-suite toilet didn't drain properly this morning.
    Eldest and I have spent the last hour clearing AJ manhole covers to find the blockage :mad:

A royal flush:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭Odelay

Just noticed this in the rugby forum, how quickly it happened and how fast time passes, timely reminder to stay safe.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=97015456

Today, 08:48
    bilston

Just a thought ahead of the 2015 world cup. It's three years to the day since Nevin Spence died.

I bet there is fair chance he would have been preparing for his first world cup right now had that horrible tragedy not occurred.

Link for those that didnt know of him:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nevin_Spence

I hope the original post in the first link makes post of the day, would be nice to see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,834 ✭✭✭✭Base price

A royal flush:D
    Very funny. Did you ever think of being on the stage...:-))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

All the world's a stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

I would of said it was a busted flush...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Some dirty f....rs out there, the ploughing is a great example.....toilets spotless every morning and a couple of hours later, the whole lot are destroyed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Anyone know where I'd get a template for farm safety statement. We've bord bia qa on Friday. Can't wait!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,058 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

ganmo wrote: »
    I would of said it was a busted flush...
    Go back up the hill and stay there ;)
    rangler1 wrote: »
    Some dirty f....rs out there, the ploughing is a great example.....toilets spotless every morning and a couple of hours later, the whole lot are destroyed
    TBH I think that the NPA are extremely remiss in providing the requisite number of toilets in the appropriate areas.
    I went to the ploughing last year and it was my first time to do so in 12/13 years. I travelled from Longford and got stuck in traffic for hours and hours. When I arrived into the large parking area and parked up there was only 6 toilets, 2 male and 4 female. In fairness most of the men gave way to the women and jumped over the ditch to relieve themselves.
    I stood in the lengthy queue awaiting my turn whilst talking to the other girls and we all agreed and cursed the person who had planned such a pollix of a set up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Go back up the hill and stay there ;)

TBH I think that the NPA are extremely remiss in providing the requisite number of toilets in the appropriate areas.
    I went to the ploughing last year and it was my first time to do so in 12/13 years. I travelled from Longford and got stuck in traffic for hours and hours. When I arrived into the large parking area and parked up there was only 6 toilets, 2 male and 4 female. In fairness most of the men gave way to the women and jumped over the ditch to relieve themselves.
    I stood in the lengthy queue awaiting my turn whilst talking to the other girls and we all agreed and cursed the person who had planned such a pollix of a set up.

I spend most of the time at the sheep section and there's rarely a queue at the toilets there and they still get into **** in a couple of hours....slats would be too good for some bogmen/women to use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,431 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

One thing I love out and about is people watching - I'm sure we all do it.

I stopped for a cuppa tea from a service station. Sittig with my tea and apple wishing for something sweeter.

Guy in a delivery truck stopped for his mid morning snack or lunch or whatever. Tube of Pringles, 250ml bottle of coke and no less than two snickers. Do people not look after themselves at all any more - this guy was 35/40 YO and at a conservative guess maybe 22/23 stone, and very little of it muscle :(
    I don't do calorie counting but this must have been a 1000 calorie snack wolfed down in ten minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

_Brian wrote: »

I stopped for a cuppa tea from a service station. Sittig with my tea and apple wishing for something sweeter.

Guy in a delivery truck stopped for his mid morning snack or lunch or whatever. Tube of Pringles, 250ml bottle of coke and no less than two snickers. Do people not look after themselves at all any more - this guy was 35/40 YO and at a conservative guess maybe 22/23 stone, and very little of it muscle :(
    I don't do calorie counting but this must have been a 1000 calorie snack wolfed down in ten minutes.
    But it's not his fault he's eating like that,he can't help himself so when the HSE ie.us has to pay for his treatment it most definitely won't be his fault he is overweight.
    Was in the car park of Aldi one day waiting on herself when a lady came out with the weekly shop and floored a litre and half fizzy drink while loading the shopping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Nearly choked on my Foot-Long sub while reading this. .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,453 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Nearly choked on my Foot-Long sub while reading this. .....
    love subway- i get a salad bowl- local one is closed for renovations, there is a supermacs across the way and kids refuse to go into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

_Brian wrote: »

Brian - don't get me started. The problem is that it's apparently no longer taboo, or socially unacceptable to be not just a bit overweight but obese. On holiday last week, i never saw as many men, women and children as young as 4 or 5 who should never have been allowed into a pair of togs or swim suit and god love them some even wore bikinis. :eek:

These people were from their early 20's right up to retired men and none of them appeared to give a fig about sitting about feeding their faces whilst the most exercise they did was get someone to roll them over on their sun lounger.

There really is going to be a diabetes/obesity disaster situation in the not too distant future and the governments couldn't give a fiddlers about trying to discourage folk from eating processed sh1te.

I'd love to know where all this research has been done on the public who say they will pay a bit more for local quality produce and that they're happy to pay a couple of pound more in their weekly shop if they know the animals have been treated to a higher welfare standard. I don't know of anyone in my family circle or among friends or work colleagues who have ever been asked to participate in any of these questionnaires/focus groups or any of that research. There is a small socio-economic group of people who will pay more for their food if it has been raised or produced to an organic/local/welfare standard, but the vast majority of folk haven't a notion about eating properly and I don't mean calorie counting etc., they couldn't tell you what foods are needed for fibre/proteins/energy etc and it's going to get worse. rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Anyone know where I'd get a template for farm safety statement. We've bord bia qa on Friday. Can't wait!!

Register here & then log in

http://farmsafely.com/farmers/00_login.htm

rangler1 wrote: »
    I spend most of the time at the sheep section and there's rarely a queue at the toilets there and they still get into **** in a couple of hours....slats would be too good for some bogmen/women to use

I think some of them go just to have a ***** and to queue at the bank atms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭skoger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Brian - don't get me started. The problem is that it's apparently no longer taboo, or socially unacceptable to be not just a bit overweight but obese. On holiday last week, i never saw as many men, women and children as young as 4 or 5 who should never have been allowed into a pair of togs or swim suit and god love them some even wore bikinis. :eek:

These people were from their early 20's right up to retired men and none of them appeared to give a fig about sitting about feeding their faces whilst the most exercise they did was get someone to roll them over on their sun lounger.

There really is going to be a diabetes/obesity disaster situation in the not too distant future and the governments couldn't give a fiddlers about trying to discourage folk from eating processed sh1te.

I'd love to know where all this research has been done on the public who say they will pay a bit more for local quality produce and that they're happy to pay a couple of pound more in their weekly shop if they know the animals have been treated to a higher welfare standard. I don't know of anyone in my family circle or among friends or work colleagues who have ever been asked to participate in any of these questionnaires/focus groups or any of that research. There is a small socio-economic group of people who will pay more for their food if it has been raised or produced to an organic/local/welfare standard, but the vast majority of folk haven't a notion about eating properly and I don't mean calorie counting etc., they couldn't tell you what foods are needed for fibre/proteins/energy etc and it's going to get worse. rant over.

Agree re the healthy eating.

Totally disagree with the opening paragraph.
    I wouldn't be the thinnest man in the world, but should I not my top off at the beach - cos I'm a bit tubby? :)

People should eat healthy, but have to feel good about themselves too, and I think that includes telling people who think they should only wear certain clothes to fcuk right off...

I guess that's my rant now... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,703 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Agree re the healthy eating.

Totally disagree with the opening paragraph.
    I wouldn't be the thinnest man in the world, but should I not my top off at the beach - cos I'm a bit tubby? :)

People should eat healthy, but have to feel good about themselves too, and I think that includes telling people who think they should only wear certain clothes to fcuk right off...

I guess that's my rant now... :)

Its more important to be fit than to be skinny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Reggie. wrote: »
    Its more important to be fit than to be skinny

I'm just big boned.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

When the neighbours are laughing at me, they're leaving some other poor fooker alone.......

skoger wrote: »
    A lad was telling me about this last night , he was going on about farm safety. This is the lad I met 2 days last week driving his tractor in the middle of the road while on his phone:mad: there are some fair gob****es out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

RIP to that poor man and his family :( And here's me in a Physics lecture learning about the actual safety implications,

And yes it's boring so I'm on the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Lads another stupid question.....in the bord bia folder there is a farm safety self assessment document that was filled out before. Does this cover the safety statement?

Youngest lad gave me a fair shock this evening, he was just finished swimming lessons- been going for over a year- and was playing for a few minutes in the pool like he normally does. He jumped in and went to swim to the rope , but the rope wasnt there:eek: He went under and he was in trouble, i ran for a swimming coach and he dived in and got him , fair fright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭rliston

Lads another stupid question.....in the bord bia folder there is a farm safety self assessment document that was filled out before. Does this cover the safety statement?

If it has last years date on it it won't do for the audit. I got marked down for that in this years audit. I filled it in online but for some reason it wouldn't save and print so tried to get away with the old one. Also don't forget to check that the things you've listed to fix are either done or change the dates!