Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

MsGiggles wrote: »
    I can see a farm from my house....

Sure that's good enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,422 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Ex is an absolute terror for that emergency doctor with the son. At least once a month hes there and half the timr its something stupid
    does she have a medical card? we had to go last week 60 euro for the pleasure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »

Ya wouldn't want to be going too often

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ya wouldn't want to be going too often
    casualty is 100 euro, i have the school insurance thingy and when i had to bring daughter to casualty- for concussion- earlier in the year i got the 100 euro back, think the school insurance costs 8 euro for the year so well worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

casualty is 100 euro, i have the school insurance thingy and when i had to bring daughter top casualty- for concussion- earlier in the year i got the 100 euro back, think the school insurance costs 8 euro for the year so well worth it

Army covers myself and child for hospital but not the wife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

AP2014 wrote: »
    Over paranoid parents, pumping their children full of sh*te with the first sign of sniffles. Dragging them to mydoc's, causality etc. Not helping an already stressed health system.

Had to take youngest to the doctor last week, she's eight and last time she was there was 2009. She thought it was a great novelty getting checked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I would imagine she does.. She has no interest in working anyway :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

dzer2 wrote: »
    Have 5 children here rarely ever sick always out.
    one of the twins broke his arm last week playing soccer has had to have the plaster cast replaced 3 times so far. Got given out to severely in the hospital yesterday by a huge fat nurse for not stopping him from being so active. He went to the pitch Sunday after the game and broke the cast hurling. We have being in the hospital every summer for 5 yrs now with fractures and breaks

was well known in casualty when mine were growing up, fractures , stitches casts/plasters xrays

the girls were nearly worse than the lads. :rolleyes:

orm0nd wrote: »
    was well known in casualty when mine were growing up, fractures , stitches casts/plasters xrays

i was swinging daughter by the arms and dislocated her elbow:eek: brought her to casualty and they said she was fine , had to bring her back 2 days later and they just clicked it back in, now when i see people swinging kids by their arms i am screaming stop in my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

I can see a farm from my house....

that will qualify you as a culchie :D:D

post way , all are welcome here ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭MsGiggles

that will qualify you as a culchie :D:D

post way , all are welcome here ;)

Definitely a culchie !!

Spent more sunday nights in there broke up from hunting or racing

My leg went down through a cattle grid a while back, wedged in there ! Got lots of weird looks in the hospital lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Bullock, I saw on another thread that you had a sore leg. Hope it gets better soon.:D:D

What thread is that on , my 2 little legeens are in perfect health !

My leg went down through a cattle grid a while back, wedged in there ! Got lots of weird looks in the hospital lol

How did u get it out??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Priorities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Bullocks wrote: »
    What thread is that on , my 2 little legeens are in perfect health !

See thread "bullock has a sore leg" by lexieonrae:D

How did u get it out??

I actually panicked and just reefed it out , that's how I actually caused all the damage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Ya can't beat hollow core. Or else yourself and mrs nek should have planned for the master bedroom on ground floor....;-)

And the bed ratchet strapped to the floor and head board hilti bolted to the wall! No budge then when the jack hammer comes out. Sure you wouldn't hear a dicky bird! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

tanko wrote: »
    Isn't the number of children with asthma increasing being blamed on a lack of fresh air in moden houses which are too well insulated.

hmmm, Is that actually proven? I am doubtful about it... :confused:

Sure isn't indoor plumbing that the cause of the increase in crime over the last century.
    Crime has gone up consistently over the last 100 years - and what else has gone up - yep, more houses getting indoor plumbing.... co-incidence... I think not... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

hmmm, Is that actually proven? I am doubtful about it... :confused:

Sure isn't indoor plumbing that the cause of the increase in crime over the last century.
    Crime has gone up consistently over the last 100 years - and what else has gone up - yep, more houses getting indoor plumbing.... co-incidence... I think not... :D

Spurious correlations? :D

cheese.bedsheets.0.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Kovu wrote: »
    Spurious correlations? :D

cheese.bedsheets.0.png

lies, damn lies, and statistics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

tanko wrote: »
    Isn't the number of children with asthma increasing being blamed on a lack of fresh air in moden houses which are too well insulated.
    I've 2 asthmatic children and live in a house that you can actually see the floor covering in the bathroom lift on a stormy night, so I think draughts are aplenty! House is 200+ years old! And looks every day of it.

On a similar topic: for the first 3 Christmases of my eldest girl's life we ended up in Casualty. She fell down the stairs (God knows how as she was hardly able to crawl, and the gate was in place) that was Christmas Day evening - black eyes and squished nose. Next year on Christmas Eve she plastered herself against the corner of a bookshelf - black eyes and the following year Stephen's afternoon she fell and broke her arm playing football with her grandfather.
    Casualty at that time of the year is a sight to behold!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Quick question for those sending cattle to the factory.

I got the cheque this morning for 2 cows and there is a column marked Fluke and the result for both cows is nil.

Does this mean that both livers were fluke-free?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

I got the cheque this morning for 2 cows and there is a column marked Fluke and the result for both cows is nil.

Any I send to bandon are either a for active c for cured or nil which I assume was none there

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

yes

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Just finished up planting 2,600-ish kale plants.
    Some craic now in sept-oct!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Boyfriend woke up at around 4am and ran to the window. He phoned his dad and said a tractor and low loader had gone flying into the neighbours farm (who happen to be on holidays). Out he flies,into the jeep and down the road to see what was going on. He came back 5 minutes later. Turns out it was the milk lorry! I nearly killed him for waking me up over nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Jaysus, whose cornflakes did i p*ss on?

I just got notified of a cross compliance inspection on thursday:mad: