If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Sobanek wrote: »
    Try Carole Nash. Sure, pickles is 24 and has a policy with them.

Thats an auld yoke though, Jag is barely 15 years old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Its to stop young lads buying old cars and getting insured on them. Check out the Classic Car forum for example, every two weeks there is somebody asking if they can do it.

You can do it in the UK.

I'd love something like a Morris Minor or an Anglia as a daily if I could insure it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

DakarVert wrote: »
    You can do it in the UK.

I'd love something like a Morris Minor or an Anglia as a daily if I could insure it!

Yep you can get a classic policy in the Uk at any (legal age). A friend of mine has a Minor and its her first car, 19 years old.

Its to stop young lads buying old cars and getting insured on them. Check out the Classic Car forum for example, every two weeks there is somebody asking if they can do it.

It's sad that as usual, some utter apes with their lemons f*cked it up for the rest of us. All I want is a weekend car. This really blows :(

I've also been told that it couldn't be insured anyway untill its 20 years old, yet they might insure me on a similar aged XJ at my age.... That really makes no sense to me :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Damn...

I'm thinking to get a MK1 Golf GTI or a Porsche 944 as my second car in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

GvidoR wrote: »
    Say mass? What do you mean?

I don't expect returns from a breaker yard anyway. Besides, there's nothing unexpected that can happen with body parts... mechanical/electrical parts could be a bit of a gamble though.

He will say anything to get u to buy something.
    That panel from a merc, course it will fit a mk2 punto.........

I called Aviva to see if I can do the ignition course and get a discount.

After a few minutes on hold I get through and they ask me a few questions. I said that I did 13 lessons with Aviva and she told me that I already qualify for the discount because I have reached module 3 (whatever that is) and I don't need to do the course - I'm thinking 'sweet', but I kinda wanted to the course anyway.

Then she puts me onto the insurance quote person and then this happened...

"Can I get the reg of your car?"
    "Sure, it's 01MO5945"
    "Sorry, I can't give you a quote because we don't insure cars 01 and under."

Jesus Christ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

After a few minutes on hold I get through and they ask me a few questions. I said that I did 13 lessons with Aviva and she told me that I already qualify for the discount because I have reached module 3 (whatever that is) and I don't need to do the course - I'm thinking 'sweet', but I kinda wanted to the course anyway.

"Sure, it's 01MO5945"

Jesus Christ...

God damn it... mines an 01, and have been getting companies saying they don't insure 10+ year old cars. Sure all cars over 10 years old are death traps don't you know.

It's ridiculous.

Also it seems so weird that their cut off line is 01 and my car is 01. Coincidence? 00 (15yo) would sound more... I don't know how to put it... realistic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

All silver cars are death traps, coz the people that drive them have obviously given up on life :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Asmooh

"Sure, it's 01MO5945"

Jesus Christ...

try AIB, im going to insure my 1992 MX5 there

Older cars are better compare to new cars.. way simpler, people just need to learn to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I got insured with aviva on a 00 car with the ignition course yoke, they told me at the time that I was actually a week off the cut off before they started their new less than 15 years old thing, but then saw a note on my account that I had tried to do it 3 weeks earlier that since I was 'already on the system' they could do my car.

sounds confusing, it was confusing, I'm still confused, and it cost me 1800 quid for the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I can get online quotes with them by manually filling out the details yet the won't with me putting in the reg. It can still be bought that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Asmooh

I can get online quotes with them by manually filling out the details yet the won't with me putting in the reg. It can still be bought that way.
    lucky you.. i had a hard time searching how to insure my car.. will be paying 175 / month when I insure it

I can't, because I have my licence 2 years (you need it for 3+ for online quote) and there's no mention of ignition course / module thing on the form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Sick to my teeth messing with the wiper motor. Wipers stop mid sweep, changed a relay with one I know works, and it stops further up the window? Motor must be goosed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Sick to my teeth messing with the wiper motor. Wipers stop mid sweep, changed a relay with one I know works, and it stops further up the window? Motor must be goosed?

I know the nissans suffer with a problem where the grease from the motor migrates over the years onto the contacts inside the housing that tell the wipers where to park. The fix involves drilling the rivets off the front plate so you can clean the contacts.

Fairly annoying aul problem alright especially using the intermittent wipe setting.

Anyone going to cars and coffee in Galway on Sunday, 12th July?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Wexford bound soon for stag the beer it is a calling!!

Nice. I'm heading to the Kilcock place on Monday, and there isn't one there, I'll probably go down there so. Thanks :)

Awesome, good to know there's another one of those walk-in yards.

What time a Monday? I've to get more Merc wheel bolts and maybe some random 406/Fiat bits. Too late for me today and away tomorrow morning, so I'll be there on Monday so I can get the C180/C220 a full set of bolts again

I know of another walk in place, too far away from Kilcock to make it in one day. Wouldn't recommend it either, no 3 door Puntos!

dgt wrote: »
    What time a Monday? I've to get more Merc wheel bolts and maybe some random 406/Fiat bits. Too late for me today and away tomorrow morning, so I'll be there on Monday so I can get the C180/C220 a full set of bolts again

I know of another walk in place, too far away from Kilcock to make it in one day. Wouldn't recommend it either, no 3 door Puntos!

Don't know yet, probably around 3-ish.

Look for a dark blue 98 406 with horrendous laquer peel on the bonnet and silicone sunroof :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Anyone going to cars and coffee in Galway on Sunday, 12th July?

I will probably go to this one, not gone in over a year now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Shock as i knew.
    Handbrake as i knew.

Other than that it got called on a wheel bearing, passenger rear.

Very very happy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

YbFocus wrote: »
    Shock as i knew.
    Handbrake as i knew.

I wouldn't be too happy having to fix all them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

YbFocus wrote: »
    Shock as i knew.
    Handbrake as i knew.

very very happy your car failed? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Just saw my first 152 reg parked up outside my gaff. Some white hyundai SUV yoke, looks awful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

seen a few 152 4 series, seems to be selling well and look unreal too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Just saw my first 152 reg parked up outside my gaff. Some white hyundai SUV yoke, looks awful!

Santa Fe or ix35? The ix is very Qashqai-ish but the SF is a fine looking bus IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Senn a VW today with bremo brakes all around in Galway. That is hardly standard is it? I should have took a picture or even done a reg check just so I know what it was. It caught my eye as it looked just like a normal passat or something and I was thinking who would put bremo brakes all round on that. Could be a sleeper or maybe not.