Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Westmeath GAA discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭Syferus

Hard to say no if senior management place is offered to O'Donnell. Would be ironic if he played a part in sending the rossies back to div 3.

You clearly don't know FOD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Syferus wrote: »
    You clearly don't know FOD.

True.
    Last time he was in charge Ros dropped to Division 4!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Mixed start to the year, good win over Laois(if we lost that it was straight to Div.3) and unlucky against Galway. Tough game against Kildare away next but good to see a few of the younger newer players from the past couple of years starting to come good.

Our underage teams are a big concern though, U-21's arent too bad but minors are supposed to be going very badly. We really need to start investing more in underage in the county especially with increasing number of teams struggling to field teams and looking to amalgamate

What clubs are looking to amalgamate?

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    What clubs are looking to amalgamate?

Proposals are in to amalgamate a few clubs underage, not sure if this is just a suggestion or going to be implemented

Tubberclare/Maryland/Tang and Rosemount/Castledaly are now amalgamated at underage and there looks like more teams could follow

Championship Draws for 2015

Senior

Group A
    Garrycastle
    St. Lomans
    Tyrellspass
    The Downs
    St. Malachys
    Killucan

Group B
    Mullingar Shamrocks
    Kinnegad
    Maryland
    Caulry
    Castledaly
    Bunbrosna

Intermediate

Group A
    Rosemount
    Tang
    Moate
    Ballynacaragy
    Ballinagore
    St. Marys

Group B
    Athlone
    Tubberclare
    Miltownpass
    Ballymore
    CFCW
    Shandonagh

Junior

Group A
    Ballycomoyle
    Delvin
    Loughnavalley
    kilbeggan
    Milltown
    Multyfarnham
    St. josephs
    St. Pauls

Group B
    Athlone
    Kinnegad
    Garrycastle
    Killucan
    Caulry
    St Lomans
    St. Marys
    Tubberclare
    Mullingar

Predictions

Senior

Lomans , Garrycastle and Tyrellspass from A in this order
    Mullingar, Kinnegad and Maryland from B in this order

Lomans to win it with The Downs or Castledaly to go down

Inter
    Rosemount, Tang and Ballynacaragy from A in this order
    Athlone, Milltownpass and Tubberclare from B in this order

Athlone to go straight back up with Ballinagore finally going down

Junior

Mullingar to win it

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,383 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Gary Connaughton back between the sticks for ye on Sunday. Good to see him back. Do ye think he's still good enough for intercounty? Despite winning an All-Star, I still feel he was criminally underrated as a keeper.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Anyone have the U-21 team/panel for tonight?

same story, different year at U21
    county board to blame for the balls up with management

fairly young team with alot of guys underage the next year or 2 so hopefully the experience will stand to them. Hopefully its a better result Sunday!

Big wins for the hurlers last week.

How will the footballers go?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Very quiet in here. How you feeling about Sunday lads?

Suppose most would be confident after the last round of games but we were very poor against Meath in the league. However theres nothing to fear from Meath so reckon we could sneek it by a point or 2.

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭RegisteredMice

Does this game really matter?
    Okay, yeah great to (1) win a championship game and (2) beat Meath – but really do we want to win this and get smashed against Dublin in a Leinster final (and Westmeath or Meath will) and then go out into an All-Ireland quarter final and get absolutely smashed again.
    Win on Sunday and take a drumming in your next two games.
    There’s only a couple of teams with a capabilities to win the All-Ireland and Dublin are one. Westmeath/Meath are a country mile from this; both teams are very poor. Westmeath beat Louth and Wexford (struggled big time here, even-though the final score didn’t reflect how close it actually was)
    Meath struggled against Wicklow, but were missing 3 or 4 regulars.
    As mentioned above, Meath gave us a good game in the League and beat us fairly easy.
    But championship is championship and anything can happen.
    My prediction, Meath will take this by 4+ points (Please God I’m wrong)

Wow!!!
    What an amazing game-9 points down and looked dreadful to come back and win by 4.
    Feck, I still can't believe it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Great scenes of joy in Croke Park - delighted for Westmeath

Hopefully ye can build on the momentum

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

N20 wrote: »
    Great scenes of joy in Croke Park

Never seen so many turkeys celebrating Christmas :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭patmac

Never seen so many turkeys celebrating Christmas :pac:

A lot of posts on here about how Dublin are going to hammer us and how we would be better of losing to Meath etc. supporters outside of Westmeath do not understand the significance of this result and the pain we have had to endure from our grander more arrogant neighbours. This was our All-Ireland, much like Laois hurlers vs Offaly and Sligo footballers vs Roscommon, anything else from here on in will be a bonus.
    But we will enjoy the present.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

patmac wrote: »
    A lot of posts on here about how Dublin are going to hammer us and how we would be better of losing to Meath etc. supporters outside of Westmeath do not understand the significance of this result and the pain we have had to endure from our grander more arrogant neighbours. This was our All-Ireland, much like Laois hurlers vs Offaly and Sligo footballers vs Roscommon, anything else from here on in will be a bonus.

very good in for westmeath especially with everyone writing them off , several times today they could have dropped the heads and giving up , and a much needed win after a league campaign that offered so much at the start of the year that ended with relegation

• Registered Users Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

No arrogance here, Westmeath deserved the win, if you score more you win, end of.
    Nice to see the under dog prevail, even at the expense of my own County, will be staying away from Clonmellon and Colinstown for the next few weeks :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

patmac wrote: »

No it was a great comeback in fairness, and the likes of Heslin would get onto any team.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Well done lads

• Registered Users Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

No it was a great comeback in fairness, and the likes of Heslin would get onto any team.

Congrats to Westmeath for a great display in second half today,nice to see a game without constant hand passing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

We (Kerry) will gladly take Heslin off your hands. We can call it payment for giving ye paudie- deal?

Team announced to play Dublin in the Leinster final!!
    Westmeath (SFC v Dublin): Darren Quinn; Killian Daly, Kevin Maguire, John Gilligan; Paddy Holloway, Kieran Martin, James Dolan; Denis Corroon, Darragh Daly; Ger Egan, Paul Sharry, Ray Connellan; John Connellan, John Heslin, Shane Dempsey.

John Connellan comes in for Lorcan Smyth

• Registered Users Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Team announced to play Dublin in the Leinster final!!
    Westmeath (SFC v Dublin): Darren Quinn; Killian Daly, Kevin Maguire, John Gilligan; Paddy Holloway, Kieran Martin, James Dolan; Denis Corroon, Darragh Daly; Ger Egan, Paul Sharry, Ray Connellan; John Connellan, John Heslin, Shane Dempsey.

John Connellan comes in for Lorcan Smyth

I really hope that's not the team that lines up!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭passremarkable

talk of possibly lynch and greville to start

Not overly confident for the weekend with Heslin missing and Ger Egan doubtful. Hopefully he sticks Glennon and Martin in Full forward and we can nick a few goals as I feel thats whats needed to win this