Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Ever see them trying to peck the eyes out of a just born foal/lamb

I would think the amount of health foals or lambs damaged by crows would be small.

I would also think the amount of foals or lambs being born this time of the year would be small.

Kovu wrote: »
    The meadow in question isn't to be cut, we're grazing it instead. It was a back-up in case we went down in the test.

Narp, it's a very fine looking lady but not one of our males as it's about a mile from the house.

Great to see a good clutch about. The wild birds seem to be the only ones really capable of breeding and rearing a clutch. The released birds don't seem to me to be much good, except for the pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I would think the amount of health foals or lambs damaged by crows would be small.

I would also think the amount of foals or lambs being born this time of the year would be small.

Tb mares foal early. Ours are half bred, they foal when we know well have grass. Usually may, june and early july

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

If a ewe went on her back they wouldn't be long appearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Great to see a good clutch about. The wild birds seem to be the only ones really capable of breeding and rearing a clutch. The released birds don't seem to me to be much good, except for the pot.

The Partridge are released and still running about anyway!

ganmo wrote: »
    If a ewe went on her back they wouldn't be long appearing.

Are crows as much of a problem as Grey's?

Wouldn't be much of a difference once the ewe is on her back, greys would chase away the crows...then the ravens appears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

@base price. 1 bank down :)

20150617_185848.jpg
    free screen capture software

Mmmmm. Bogscape 180dg there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,052 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Spent most of yesterday in the bog myself. I forget to wear my cap for the first hour or so and now have a nice sore red head to show for it:(

I'd swear this bull gets some sort of twisted kick out of following me. He's after a cow today and the same cow followed me to our gate! Eh, dear, your lovey dove glove handler is behind your.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I'd swear this bull gets some sort of twisted kick out of following me. He's after a cow today and the same cow followed me to our gate! Eh, dear, your lovey dove glove handler is behind your.

You might be coming into heat ! Our bull got his head stuck in the back gate of the crush yesterday , rang the vet to give him a shot to calm him down so we could pull it off . Just when the vet pulled in he bet it off the wall and it fell off on its own . Wasted journey for the vet but I wasn't chancing pulling it off myself

Eh......thanks......nice to know I'm fertile so :p

I'm not much put out but I can move a lot faster than my dad. Don't want to start a new RoW thread either.
    The owner is grand, but in my opinion just pushing it a bit.

I was moving cows on an out farm and the neighbours bull went ape when they left the garden next door ran up the fence along them and straight out in a bad spot . He is still there and the neighbour never rang , I don't mind hopefully he will bull anything that's not in calf !

Bullocks wrote: »
    I was moving cows on an out farm and the neighbours bull went ape when they left the garden next door ran up the fence along them and straight out in a bad spot . He is still there and the neighbour never rang , I don't mind hopefully he will bull anything that's not in calf !

Free service

Reggie. wrote: »
    Free service

Remind me to get his tag no next tme so I can see how he fares online ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Nice looking black turf.
    Hope the get the last of mine finished this evening or tomorrow. I will throw up a pic.

Base price wrote: »
    Nice looking black turf.
    Hope the get the last of mine finished this evening or tomorrow. I will throw up a pic.

Only cut a week ago

Starting the next bank in an hour or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Only cut a week ago

Ya must have no toy soldiering to do today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Only cut a week ago

ours only cut late last week - hopefully get at it next week but ill foot it

foot it
    draw it home
    burn it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭gazahayes

ours only cut late last week - hopefully get at it next week but ill foot it

foot it
    draw it home
    burn it

Going footing ours this evening nephews and nieces coming too so some bit of help. From foots to tonne bags and into shed till its needed to be burnt. Still have a nice bit of last year's left should keep us going incase of a bad year

gazahayes wrote: »
    Going footing ours this evening nephews and nieces coming too so some bit of help. From foots to tonne bags and into shed till its needed to be burnt. Still have a nice bit of last year's left should keep us going incase of a bad year

this is the first year im drawing from the bog in 1ton bags. they are 1.6m x 1mx1m in size

Last few years I bagged into 1 ton bags here off the tipper trailer as hadn't a loader on the tractor

Second bank finished :D

That's no work at all, you're on a dry bank!
    Wait until you have to scoop the clods out of a hallow.

dunno why but I was expecting to see an atm taken out of the side of an AIB

whats the story with them tents?

foot the turf :rolleyes:

Remind me to get his tag no next tme so I can see how he fares online ;)

This will be a hoor with the genomic testing alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Why are ye all putting in bulk bags? Cant see the benefit at all.

Also just to be anal them bags usually only hold 850kg of sand/stone etc

This will be a hoor with the genomic testing alright

But sure t'is grand. Aren't I paying for the geronomies and they'll tell me who his daddy is.

I do not support this line of genetic infalibility

But sure t'is grand. Aren't I paying for the geronomies and they'll tell me who his daddy is.

I do not support this line of genetic infalibility
    You have me lost ! Where do you stand on papal infallibility?

All hail his infinite highness Kim Jong something or other.