Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

blue5000 wrote: »
    Saw this on fb

The NCT wait list is 8-9 weeks now! What people don't know is that if they can not give you a date within 4 weeks you get your NCT for FREE also if you have to wait more than one hour for your test it's also FREE it's all here on https://www.ncts.ie/customer_charter.html
    I got my last NCT free because I knew this but you have to ask for it to get it! Thought I'd share this with everyone as the wait times are currently 8 to 9 weeks

Rang about test first week of April, got text early May and tested today. Free test and also free for 3 out of 4 others there.

And passed. :) 16 year old Toyota. Got a couple of anti roll bar bushings beforehand. That's why I don't drive the Ferrari. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

My nephew got his car tested last Sunday week, when my mam heard about it she told him to sell the car as it couldn't be lucky due to been tested on the Lord's day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Rang about test first week of April, got text early May and tested today. Free test and also free for 3 out of 4 others there.

And passed. :) 16 year old Toyota. Got a couple of anti roll bar bushings beforehand. That's why I don't drive the Ferrari. :rolleyes:

What model? Toyotas are bullet proof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,419 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

There's a problem with the New type corollas. Have a 1996 one here and its great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

99 carolla 2.0 diesel. The odd time I have to get bits in Toyota garage (as usually use spurious bits/breakers yard) they tell me that the newer ones not near as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

whelan2 wrote: »
    they are also doing nct tests over 24 hours now, so you can get it done in the middle of the night

Gone the opposite round here, called into the test center for a visual at half 5 one day and the place was locked up, sign on the door had opening hours something like 8.30-5 down for the 5 days can't remember the sat and closed Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭jfh

Help me settle an argument, it's been year since we made small bales of hay. Anyone know the correct way to leave the bales dry out in a field, twine is down & out right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

jfh wrote: »
    Help me settle an argument, it's been year since we made small bales of hay. Anyone know the correct way to leave the bales dry out in a field, twine is down & out right?
    Yup, knots down and out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Have a bull in with cows on our right of way the last couple of days so have to walk through them morning and evening. He seems pleasant enough but he has a dreadful habit of watching me walk in and then moving up onto the lane so I have to edge round him via the field on the way back while he eyeballs me.

I think I'll name him Sally O'Brien, cause of the way he does look at me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

About ten rows from the front at the Olympia for Tom Jones!! :))))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

jfh wrote: »

KNOTS DOWN AND OUT! ! !
    DOWN AND OUT... ! ! !
    DOWN AND OUT ! ! !

There always seemed to be someone roaring that in the field of bales... :)

Ah, memories... ;)

That's the way we always did it anyways

I seen some people do some kinda weird pyramid thing with em, but I dunno how that worked...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭jfh

KNOTS DOWN AND OUT! ! !
    DOWN AND OUT... ! ! !
    DOWN AND OUT ! ! !

There always seemed to be someone roaring that in the field of bales... :)

Ah, memories... ;)

That's the way we always did it anyways

I seen some people do some kinda weird pyramid thing with em, but I dunno how that worked...

We do that weird pyramid thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Always stacked them in 7's bottom 2 bales on their side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

About ten rows from the front at the Olympia for Tom Jones!! :))))

Did ya fire your jocks up at him yet ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Jaysus, just heard one of the students killed in california was a relation of ours. I was only talking to his grandfather 2 weeks ago.

RIP

Jaysus, just heard one of the students killed in california was a relation of ours. I was only talking to his grandfather 2 weeks ago.

RIP
    awful , god love their families

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Bullocks wrote: »
    Did ya fire your jocks up at him yet ?

He's bound to have! it's not unusual...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

whelan2 wrote: »
    awful , god love their families

hope the ones still in hospital will be ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Base price wrote: »
    Always stacked them in 7's bottom 2 bales on their side.

Always prefered 9's.

If hay is baled a little rare, it's better off in stooks. Knots out & down.

I wore enough holes in the knee of my trousers as a young lad stacking bales at 1p a bale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

did any of ye see the balcony in America in that accident was made of TIMBER !

pure rotten they are and just snapped at the stub near the wall

an aweful tragedy altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

did any of ye see the balcony in America in that accident was made of TIMBER !

pure rotten they are and just snapped at the stub near the wall

an aweful tragedy altogether

Everything in America is built from timber. Be hard enough to find a masonry building I'd say

Reggie. wrote: »
    Everything in America is built from timber. Be hard enough to find a masonry building I'd say

5 storey buildings should be reinforced concrete or steel in my opinion, sure its an obvious building detail that would let in water to use timber on a balcony, sure it was red rotten in on of the close up pictures I saw earlier

that accident was a fault in the construction, it wasn't over loading

im an engineer by the way

the standard of construction In Ireland and England is light years ahead of many other countries

ps. heartfelt sympathies to anyone connected with the accident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

5 storey buildings should be reinforced concrete or steel in my opinion, sure its an obvious building detail that would let in water to use timber on a balcony, sure it was red rotten in on of the close up pictures I saw earlier

that accident was a fault in the construction, it wasn't over loading

im an engineer by the way

the standard of construction In Ireland and England is light years ahead of many other countries

ps. heartfelt sympathies to anyone connected with the accident

I think you took me up wrong. I agree with you 100% just it's the yanks make everything from timber

ya I wasn't against you don't worry, I know its mostly timber over there, just thought they would have common sense to only build 2 storey buildings with timber and not 5 or 6 storeys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I'd reckon there would be steel involved in high buildings although maybe not on balconies.
    Can't they laminate up them flitch beams to be as strong as rsj's i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Jb1989 wrote: »
    He's bound to have! it's not unusual...

I didn't actually.....
    Great gig though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭Jb1989

I didn't actually.....
    Great gig though!!

Poor tom missed out, ah but sure what's new pussycat ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Spoke to a few lads that had "hay" down hoping to bale this afternoon.

What's te options for it now. ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

_Brian wrote: »
    Spoke to a few lads that had "hay" down hoping to bale this afternoon.

What's te options for it now. ??

wrap it this evening or to morrow,

when did onyerbikepat close his account?