Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭tanko

whelan2 wrote: »
    i got a few cows blooded last tuesday, watched agfood for the results , rang vets this morning and results are back but agfood doesnt show this, i thought the agfood system and the vets system are the same/

Got a couple done on 03/06, they're on agfood now. Do you need to get the cards stamped in the vets to sell in the mart now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Reading the herd test soon.

I made the mistake of noticing the cows necks at milking this morning.

Lumps. Lumps everywhere:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ah you might still be ok. Depends if it's the top one or not. I think the top one is ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Got the smell of fresh hay this morning as i went to count the cattle. Well over 10 years since we made hay here. God, it brings back memories.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,419 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

tanko wrote: »
    Got a couple done on 03/06, they're on agfood now. Do you need to get the cards stamped in the vets to sell in the mart now?
    yes

i never look any more, does your head in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

i never look any more, does your head in

Can be an anxious time, seeing lumps just makes it worse, I make a consious effort not to look at all..

Hope its all good.

The cows were slow coming in because the ration is down to 0.1kg a milking so I had time to spot the first round of cows and the third and the fifth and the 7th. Once you see one you just can't help notice the rest.

Either that or keep bumping my head off the jars:-)

2 reactors. None were milkers:rolleyes:

A suckler and a dry cow that was an inconclusive before so not too bad.

Only problem is it will probably be christmas before i will be able to sell again because it seems that 3 clear tests are needed round here.

On a positive note, i am just about to start a beef enterprise...:o

Only problem is it will probably be christmas before i will be able to sell again because it seems that 3 clear tests are needed round here.

feck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Crap. Least there's cheap silage to be got at the minute!

When the vet was taking ours off test she was telling me about a herd that's she's locked up with over 20 reactors. It was half dexter for beef and half sucklers or something like that. Not a single one of the dexters went down, all the reactors were sucklers :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

sorry to hear that,

if they k/o clean you might get clear sooner,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Bit of a balls that.

feck
    Kovu wrote: »
    Crap. Least there's cheap silage to be got at the minute!

When the vet was taking ours off test she was telling me about a herd that's she's locked up with over 20 reactors. It was half dexter for beef and half sucklers or something like that. Not a single one of the dexters went down, all the reactors were sucklers :eek:
    orm0nd wrote: »
    sorry to hear that,

if they k/o clean you might get clear sooner,
    _Brian wrote: »
    Bit of a balls that.
    Thanks, I was half expecting it anyway.

On killing out clear, the suckler was HUGE so i doubt she will show up clear and the other was doubtful the last few tests so she may show clear but as there was a reactor i think she would have to go also, not sure though.

It's outside the door and outside my control so no point in getting upset. That will change when the truck comes to take the two cows though:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Thanks, I was half expecting it anyway.

On killing out clear, the suckler was HUGE so i doubt she will show up clear and the other was doubtful the last few tests so she may show clear but as there was a reactor i think she would have to go also, not sure though.

It's outside the door and outside my control so no point in getting upset. That will change when the truck comes to take the two cows though:(

Jaysus sorry mate

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,983 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Saw this on fb

The NCT wait list is 8-9 weeks now! What people don't know is that if they can not give you a date within 4 weeks you get your NCT for FREE also if you have to wait more than one hour for your test it's also FREE it's all here on https://www.ncts.ie/customer_charter.html
    I got my last NCT free because I knew this but you have to ask for it to get it! Thought I'd share this with everyone as the wait times are currently 8 to 9 weeks

Buford, hard luck. I think if you have more than 3 reactors(might be more) the doubtfuls have to go too. Also it depends how much of a difference in size of the lumps. The more reactors you have, the stricter the reading gets. If you have a few doubtfuls you are better off to bite the bullet and get rid of them asap, no point in having them pass a test then go down in 4-5 months when you'd nearly be clear.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Saw this on fb

The NCT wait list is 8-9 weeks now! What people don't know is that if they can not give you a date within 4 weeks you get your NCT for FREE also if you have to wait more than one hour for your test it's also FREE it's all here on https://www.ncts.ie/customer_charter.html
    I got my last NCT free because I knew this but you have to ask for it to get it! Thought I'd share this with everyone as the wait times are currently 8 to 9 weeks

Buford, hard luck. I think if you have more than 3 reactors(might be more) the doubtfuls have to go too. Also it depends how much of a difference in size of the lumps. The more reactors you have, the stricter the reading gets. If you have a few doubtfuls you are better off to bite the bullet and get rid of them asap, no point in having them pass a test then go down in 4-5 months when you'd nearly be clear.
    they are also doing nct tests over 24 hours now, so you can get it done in the middle of the night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

they are also doing nct tests over 24 hours now, so you can get it done in the middle of the night

Yep.
    Had one there at 21.40 there about three weeks ago!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Our local nct testing place never cools,364 days a year except Christmas Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Nettleman wrote: »

We need another incident like Padraig nally wouldn't be long quietening things down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

I said wrote: »
    We need another incident like Padraig nally wouldn't be long quietening things down

There was an incident over the road from me this time last year.
    Nobody was injured but it didn't take the usual few hours for the gardai to appear.
    The emergency response crowd surrounded the place!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

There was an incident over the road from me this time last year.
    Nobody was injured but it didn't take the usual few hours for the gardai to appear.
    The emergency response crowd surrounded the place!!

A while ago a neighbour caught thieves in the act gave chase with gun the law arrived and took the gun of me neighbour.thieves never got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

420 a month is 14 each day-seems they have no fear. Remember your woman who locked them in her yard by closing gate and parking jeep in front of it around meath somewhere I think. Suppose them lads are out by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭dzer2

The missus away

lunch:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Got an insurance quote on a 03 passat of 1900 euro... my no claims bonus has run out at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

I said wrote: »
    A while ago a neighbour caught thieves in the act gave chase with gun the law arrived and took the gun of me neighbour.thieves never got.

should have shoot the thieves and tided them by the legs to the gate at the road, like they do the crows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Time to get down the push bike from the collar ties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

should have shoot the thieves and tided them by the legs to the gate at the road, like they do the crows.

Bury them with a bag of lime!!