Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Productive day at last.
    Morning cutting tails and injecting for lice etc.
    Afternoon spraying under some fences and spraying bryers and whins.

Worked up quite the thirst :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

ellewood wrote: »
    HA Never taught of it that way when ya have a calf in to dehorn

Mammy, mammy where the feck are ya mammy this bollox is sticking a feck g hot iron into me head and it's not nice can ya come in here and puck or kick the head off this tool cause he's wrecking me head
    Mammy - I'm nearly there I'm just about in under this feck in gate and as soon as I get in there I'll wipe that smile off his stupid looking head
    Ahh too late mam jezus me head me head, have ya any nurofen mam?

:D:D:D:D:D:D

I'm not denying the certain death one of the cows would have awarded me if she wasn't behind a gate and the sliding door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,419 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

my dad was telling me of a local woman in her late 70's , she became very ill last week and she was dragged to the doctor, first time in her life seeing a doctor:eek: double pneumonia, dont know if its a good thing or a bad thing not to see a doctor in that space of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Reggie. wrote: »

Is that silage nett on your hands :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

_Brian wrote: »
    Is that silage nett on your hands :D:D

Brian, that's reggies string vest:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Finally got the turf lifted and not one clag or midge bite :)
    Bet they are queuing up to nail me when we go to draw it home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Brian, that's reggies string vest:D:D

Reggie's getting kinky in the lingerie department ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Jb1989 wrote: »
    Reggie's getting kinky in the lingerie department ;)

Base price wrote: »

2015s must have fashion accessory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Heard bit last night about couple that were finding things tough financially as they had lost their jobs. They decided that the only way they could save feed/educate their children and save their house etc was if the wife 'worked on the street'. The first night she was going out the children asked where their mother was going and naturally, not wanting to say what she was really doing, told them she was going to bingo.
    When she came home the husband asked her how she did at 'bingo'. "Not bad," she said, "I 'won' €100"
    The next night she came home and said that she had an even better night and that she had 'won' €400.
    The third night when she came home the husband asked her how she had got on. "Brilliant, she said, "I think I won the jackpot, I 'won' €1100. But I'm wrecked, she told her husband, would you go up and run a bath for me as I'd love a good long soak in a bath"
    Off goes the husband to do as he is asked. When tbe wife goes to bathroom there is only 2 inches of water in bath. "This is useless, why did you only put a couple of inches of water in the bath. Why didn't you fill it up"
    "Oh" he says, "I didn't want to wet the pages of your bingo book" :D

All perfectly true:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

out for the cows shortly after 5.00 am , very loud rock music coming from the back yard of a house up the valley, obviously an all night party b/b still in progresss.

got no problem with that, .. only these were the people who called the guards @ 11.30 one evening in 2012, when we were trying to lift grass that was down nearly a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

orm0nd wrote: »
    out for the cows shortly after 5.00 am , very loud rock music coming from the back yard of a house up the valley, obviously an all night party b/b still in progresss.

got no problem with that, .. only these were the people who called the guards @ 11.30 one evening in 2012, when we were trying to lift grass that was down nearly a week.
    Do as i say, not as i do.

There are a few everywhere.

Take a note of it for the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

wean the ewes into the field next door :D

go over about now when they are dying and spread some slurry in a field near by:)

whelan2 wrote: »
    go over about now when they are dying and spread some slurry in a field near by:)

Straight from the piggery

Took a few hours off today to go out for dinner today with the family and spent a bit of time in the park with the little one.

Jaysus it's easy to lose persecptive :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Took the wee lassie fishing this evening.
    Question is, were we in Sweden or Cavan? :D

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Sweden sure. Isn't that the 'great mont blanc' on your right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Swevan :D

Oldest cow we have is mad in heat tonight. Have to laugh as she was for the chop a couple of years ago because her calving date slipped to late July due to twins. She came in heat after a month so we gave her a try and she calved the second week of May this year. She's really trying her level best to be a March calver again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Took a trip today over to loop head. A beut of a day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

If you have to ask then it's probably Cavan;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Very optomistic about the interview i had yesterday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Went for a spin today and ended up in Carrickallen and on to Ballinamore. A cattle dealer friend always goes to mart in Carrickallen and I never knew where it was, tis a long spin to buy cattle from where I live.

KatyMac wrote: »
    Went for a spin today and ended up in Carrickallen and on to Ballinamore. A cattle dealer friend always goes to mart in Carrickallen and I never knew where it was, tis a long spin to buy cattle from where I live.

Make sure your back for ballinamore festival in July, lots of fine acres to be married into ;)

Crackin day today.
    Back wasn't too bad so we headed up a mountain. Sleibhe Gallion just outside Magherafelt, a mere ~550m but the views were stunning, best I've seen.

Tiz a beautiful wee country (when it's not raining)

i got a few cows blooded last tuesday, watched agfood for the results , rang vets this morning and results are back but agfood doesnt show this, i thought the agfood system and the vets system are the same/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

whelan2 wrote: »
    i got a few cows blooded last tuesday, watched agfood for the results , rang vets this morning and results are back but agfood doesnt show this, i thought the agfood system and the vets system are the same/

Mustn't be , I had the opposite a few weeks ago , bloods showed up on agfood before vets had results,

Bullocks wrote: »
    Mustn't be , I had the opposite a few weeks ago , bloods showed up on agfood before vets had results,
    applied for movement cert and it worked, bloods just came up on agfood there now