If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

GvidoR wrote: »
    Found another interesting coin in the Vento. 50p from 1981 this time.

18713267831_307bd5ec7e_c.jpg

Ah yes the old 50p, you were rich going to the shop with one of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Got my tyres flipped around today, to kill them off! Just asked about tyres, yer man suggested a bonanza one, 75 a corner, B ratings all around. (16") He said they are on par with the bridgestone, they were part of bridgestone at one stage. Anyone any experiences

If every tyre brand that some bloke has tried to sell me as "as good as Bridgestone" or part of Bridgestone actually was........

Bridgestone would be the biggest company in the world ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Are there bigger mark ups on sh1t tyres or wha?

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Are there bigger mark ups on sh1t tyres or wha?

No, they just know the general consumer wants to spend as little as possible.

Also some people might price a few places and say Hillside tyres down the road said they can do it for 50 a corner etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Seems as though we've found the right chair and buggy to fit into the Gt and RCZ.

Though the assistant helping us fit the chair in the back of the Gt seemed a bit concerned(?) that that we didn't have a more fitting car. It is quite a tight fit and it has me concerned now. It fits perfectly for sure though.

Any thoughts on that?

Seems as though we've found the right chair and buggy to fit into the Gt and RCZ.

Though the assistant helping us fit the chair in the back of the Gt seemed a bit concerned(?) that that we didn't have a more fitting car. It is quite a tight fit and it has me concerned now. It fits perfectly for sure though.

Any thoughts on that?

Well they both have isofix haven't they? Congrats on the good news by the way :)

They do yes, and like I said the seat fits perfectly into both cars even if it is a tight squeeze (in both cars) but thats what had me slightly concerned

I suppose they aren't exactly ideal family cars but seats and buggys and bags weren't exactly on my mind buying them

No, they just know the general consumer wants to spend as little as possible.

If you were selling cars would you be pushing sh1theaps or something decent, safe and reliable? After all you want your customers coming back, not meeting a ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Feels a bit like this with fathers focus at he mo! :pac:
    image.jpg1_zpsqvgqu8ak.jpg

Big Nasty wrote: »
    If you were selling cars would you be pushing sh1theaps or something decent, safe and reliable? After all you want your customers coming back, not meeting a ditch.

In my experience, most people wouldn't know it was their tyres that caused them to meet that ditch ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Dropped car to Barry Williams this morn so carless til sat :( but at least my bumper will be scuff free at last and all the door dings gone too! Should be the last of the cosmetic stuff next is Mongoose exhaust I think....

Mongoose is a good call.

While i love my Deresonated Section 59 it's abit grating at times and makes the car horribly uncivilized

Mongoose is a good call.

While i love my Deresonated Section 59 it's abit grating at times and makes the car horribly uncivilized

It's the driver that makes it uncivilised :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

pred racer wrote: »
    It's the driver that makes it uncivilised :p

Ahh heyor now, the group a induction that's on in since makes it ten times worse, car sounds like an owl on heat coming off boost :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Any thoughts on that?

I know my sister got rid of her 2 door as it was hard on her back to lift the kid into the cjild seat in the back. A bad back after prwgnancy wouldnt be uncommon id imagine. A people carrier is perfect for this carry on as the back seat is at waist level. A 4 door would make sense for a family car. If your on your own use the gt just put the seat in the front. Cars have to be somewhat practical to your lifestyle unfortunately!! Can you even fit a pram and a weeks shopping in the gt? A box of nappies is massive :pac:

Interslice wrote: »
    I know my sister got rid of her 2 door as it was hard on her back to lift the kid into the cjild seat in the back. A bad back after prwgnancy wouldnt be uncommon id imagine. A people carrier is perfect for this carry on as the back seat is at waist level. A 4 door would make sense for a family car. If your on your own use the gt just put the seat in the front. Cars have to be somewhat practical to your lifestyle unfortunately!! Can you even fit a pram and a weeks shopping in the gt? A box of nappies is massive :pac:

Isint that illegal till the baba is a certain age? The seat in the front part.

They do yes, and like I said the seat fits perfectly into both cars even if it is a tight squeeze (in both cars) but thats what had me slightly concerned

I suppose they aren't exactly ideal family cars but seats and buggys and bags weren't exactly on my mind buying them

Doesn't look too bad for the GT although how tall are you? I'd imagine the seats are shoved right forward in this pic.

http://www.ft86club.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=35989&stc=1&d=1367610274

Buggy and baby baggage in the boot though. Have you considered investing in a trailer and towbar? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Any thoughts on that?

Just be greatful that you got her into liking the rcz before she got pregnant. Or itd be bye bye rcz hello Nissan juke

Isint that illegal till the baba is a certain age? The seat in the front part.

Thought it was ok once you had an airbag switch:confused:. No expert on this!

That makes two of us. Just thought I heard it somewhere before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I've always thought there would be a market for rear strut brace isofix. Load the kid in through the boot. Way handier than breaking your back try to manoeuvre them into back seat of a 3 door car...

I don't think herself would think it very kind of me to relocate her to the rear seats :pac: I have no plans to get rid of either car and the last thing I want/ could afford is another car at the moment. I was close to getting rid of the Rcz for an F01 earlier in the year but I didn't..I probably should have :o

With the pram in the back theres practically no usable space in the boot of either car, but thats where the spare seat and foot wells will come in handy!
    Doesn't look too bad for the GT although how tall are you? I'd imagine the seats are shoved right forward in this pic.

http://www.ft86club.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=35989&stc=1&d=1367610274

Buggy and baby baggage in the boot though. Have you considered investing in a trailer and towbar? :pac:

I'm 6'4" but my girlfriend is 5'3 so the theres no doubt in which side the seat will go

http://rsa.ie/RSA/Your-Vehicle/About-your-Vehicle/Example-of-non-Dup/Seat-belts--child-restraints-/

No mention of it here. Just cant have a rear facing one if theres an airbag. Id say enforcement is nil. Common sense is probably best. Id be more worried about projectiles in the car. Having to regularly leave shopping on the seat beside a kid could be dodgy.

You could get rid of the rcz and get a really nice saloon handy enough. E39 or whatever that 5 series is would be a grand yolk for no more than 3k. Do you for a while with a ball of change to tax it and get whatever repairs need done. Think I remember you saying you like them?

pred racer wrote: »
    In my experience, most people wouldn't know it was their tyres that caused them to meet that ditch ;)

Yeah, I can see that.

Personally my conscience wouldn't allow me to sell a sh1t product to a vulnerable customer. I wouldn't survive 10 seconds in the Ballymount / Clondalkin / Robinhood triangle.

I don't consider that a bad trait.

http://rsa.ie/RSA/Your-Vehicle/About-your-Vehicle/Example-of-non-Dup/Seat-belts--child-restraints-/

No mention of it here. Just cant have a rear facing one if theres an airbag. Id say enforcement is nil. Common sense is probably best. Id be more worried about projectiles in the car. Having to regularly leave shopping on the seat beside a kid could be dodgy.

That is a good point. And without sounding like a inconsiderate fcuk, what can I do about it but be sensible? Its mad how something like this makes you think (and sometimes over think) the littlest things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Got my tyres flipped around today, to kill them off! Just asked about tyres, yer man suggested a bonanza one, 75 a corner, B ratings all around. (16") He said they are on par with the bridgestone, they were part of bridgestone at one stage. Anyone any experiences

Seriously just go in a buy a main brand tyre not one they say is as good but is really a piece of chinese sh!t. Arent your tyres 205/55/16 that's the most common size you could get bridgestone turanzas, michelin energy, goodyear excellence, Pirelli p7 all in that size for 80-90 euro fitted. Have to say the pirelli p7 are decent on my car although it's hard to be the goodyear or turanzas. For the sake of 5-10 euro a corner I wouldn't even consider cheaper cheaper tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Now you've been told Noccy!

That is a good point. And without sounding like a inconsiderate fcuk, what can I do about it but be Iensible? Its mad how something like this makes you think (and sometimes over think) the littlest things.

Hardly the end of the world cheif! Would love.to be faced with a dilemma like that tbh. Having to swap one of two coupes for a 4 door is a million.miles off going full on diesel s-max with german saloon sensible.

With the pram in the back theres practically no usable space in the boot of either car, but thats where the spare seat and foot wells will come in handy!

When the pram is in the boot presumably the precious cargo will be in the child seat, nothing should be in the footwells or spare seat, unsecured items are incredibly dangerous. The only sensible option is to not consider the foorwells or spare seat as handy usable space.
    That is a good point. And without sounding like a inconsiderate fcuk, what can I do about it but be sensible? Its mad how something like this makes you think (and sometimes over think) the littlest things.

Stheno wrote: »
    Sorry

Think I've finally figured out the Accord.

First the accelerator is bottom up not top down so changing foot position has made a huge difference.

Second as it's electrontic and not fly by wire, it reacts to road conditions, and there are specific sections of roads it appears to dislike, so am going to check the wheel alignment

It's off to the mechanic for a few minor things the next week or two, like the cabin lights, window switch (dgt, have you a four way window switch for an accord in your box of tricks/pm if you do?) and transmission fluid change.

Am considering changing all the tires, the are all something beginning with m, like maxmioxx and i'm convinced they are all ditch finders any thoughts on that?
    Stheno wrote: »
    Any thoughts on this?

Just fyi, fly by wire is electronic :)

Is the trans fluid change as a response to the spluttrting issue?