Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Doesn't warrant its own thread.. wonder could anyone let me know if there is a fertilizer available in 16:16:16 ?
    Not a regular purchaser of fertilizer - its for an allotment.... thanks

Why do you want a fertiliser with those numbers?
    Here is the Goulding range;
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=95829331

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭geosynchronous orbit

Why do you want a fertiliser with those numbers?
    Here is the Goulding range;
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=95829331

I am experimenting with a couple of raised beds on my allotment using a gardening method called the Mittleider method. You basically feed the crop weekly with a mixture of 16:16:16 and trace elements and lime. Its a bit like hydroponics without the hydro.

If you are interested, there is a great series of videos on YouTube by a guy called LDSPrepper - he is in Iowa whereas I want to give it a go
    in the heavy clay soils here.

10:10:20 is a little low on nitrogen for this method as I am trying to be as accurate as I can in terms of comparing beds but I guess it's close enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,414 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I am experimenting with a couple of raised beds on my allotment using a gardening method called the Mittleider method. You basically feed the crop weekly with a mixture of 16:16:16 and trace elements. Its a bit like hydroponics without the hydro.
    10:10:20 is a little low on nitrogen for this method as I am trying to be as accurate as I can in terms of comparing beds but I guess it's close enough.
    18:6:12 is also widely available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭geosynchronous orbit

_Brian wrote: »
    18:6:12 is also widely available.

Cheers, might try that supplemented with bonemeal for phosphoros.

Thanks for the info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

All coming down south to do the shopping now:D

Have been squirrelling about £1300 every month the past while. Taking it all home to change over this weekend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,693 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Have been squirrelling about £1300 every month the past while. Taking it all home to change over this weekend :)

Just enough to buy a few bales :D

Reggie. wrote: »
    Just enough to buy a few bales :D

**** i shouldnt of mentioned that here lol.

Have a 14ft ifor williams double axle cattle/sheep box with us this weekend if anyones looking for one. Looking E3200. Very clean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Have a 14ft ifor williams double axle cattle/sheep box with us this weekend if anyones looking for one. Looking E3200. Very clean

Jaysus, you squirrelled away a lot of money if you need a 14' trailer to bring it home. Fair play to ya.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Bought Dad a new phone online and it arrived today. The pin code to his new sim is the same as pin on his old phone, what are the chances of that happening!

And no it's not 0000 :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Have you sheep decks and brakes on it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,405 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Bullocks wrote: »
    yes sir:)

whelan2 wrote: »
    yes sir:)

Have you seen it already missus ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,405 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Have you seen it already missus ?
    no, was wondering was he a casual trader:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

_Brian wrote: »
    Our eldest swims with the ulster squad and so we spend a lot of time north of the border, my god it's got expensive, really expensive.
    Business going north must have died a death.

We were in a campsite over the June bank holiday weekend near Newtownards and we were the only southern people there.

What was the site like? Good facilities Brian? Up near Scraba or on around Millisle?

Yep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Yep

You don't see many with the wheels underneath....probably for a reason;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

rangler1 wrote: »
    You don't see many with the wheels underneath....probably for a reason;)

not as stable as the wheels on the outside
    but ya can normally take the body off and use it as a flat bed too

Yep

I'd like one but not with the wheels under it .
    Do you have to pay much extra to bring it on the boat ?

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    What was the site like? Good facilities Brian? Up near Scraba or on around Millisle?

Sandycove out beside Millisle/Ballywalter..

Nice site on the beach, toilet blocks are a bit on the older side but well equipped, well maintained and spotless clean..
    Good playground, tennis courts and a sandpit in the middle of the tourers..

ganmo wrote: »

Yes body is removable. Have it full now heading home. Tows better than my rice horsebox. Theres talk of it being kept now lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Yes body is removable. Have it full now heading home. Tows better than my rice horsebox. Theres talk of it being kept now lol
    If we ever had to replace our cattle trailer we would go for one the same as yours. Handy that the body is removable, 2 trailers for the price of one :)
    A neighbour has one and I have borrowed it from time to time.
    Toes easily behind the Pajero and no problems with it swinging or been unstable. Like any trailer you have to have respect for the load that you are towing especially livestock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

What money should I be looking for for a 3yr dry pure zwartble ewe? Thanks

Base price wrote: »
    If we ever had to replace our cattle trailer we would go for one the same as yours. Handy that the body is removable, 2 trailers for the price of one :)
    A neighbour has one and I have borrowed it from time to time.
    Toes easily behind the Pajero and no problems with it swinging or been unstable. Like any trailer you have to have respect for the load that you are towing especially livestock.

You could replace it sooner rather than later ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,693 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

You could replace it sooner rather than later ;)

Thought you were gonna keep it

Reggie. wrote: »
    Thought you were gonna keep it

Everythings for sale reggie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Yep

that looks a 12 foot to me.. might have been interested until I saw the wheels underneath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

ganmo wrote: »

Yea. I know, lots of them have been turned over around here, they're deadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

The thing of taking the body on and off is grand if you only need it now and again, but to do it regular is a balls, and the problem is when you need the box in a hurry you have it as a flat and vice-versa.. Been there gave up nd got a flat rather than old small box, can still take the body off if we need a bigger flat but rarely do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭orm0nd

rangler1 wrote: »
    Yea. I know, lots of them have been turned over around here, they're deadly

and if your'e doing long distance haulage, heavily loaded, them tyres just blow off the rims ,

neighbour bought a new 14 ft triaxle , and sold it after 6 months ,

See a poor lad lost his life in a tractor accident late last night..

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-dies-after-tractor-strikes-ditch-in-cork-681533.html

I know some of these contractors are working savage hours now with the backlog of stuff to be saved..