If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

The rear diffuser on that 320d is from an M-Sport 335d. The exhaust tips don't even look the same - the one on the driver's side is jutting out further.

TDi Rs4 type sh!t.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,389 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Bmw is a no go rang him again mentioned I spotted it in the damaged repairable section as well then he said oh yea it's not just the scuff mark there's a small rattle in the flywheel as well. The fact he didn't mention that earlier makes me just think no not worth it.

Well neighbour, what's the craic? You've been car shopping since you bought the passat I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Howdy lads! Haven't been about too much lately, don't get online a lot.

Picked up a new motor today, I'll give one guess as to what it is :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Howdy lads! Haven't been about too much lately, don't get online a lot.

Picked up a new motor today, I'll give one guess as to what it is :pac:

Some sort of kei car?

GvidoR wrote: »
    Some sort of kei car?

Ha nope I wish, it's a lot less exciting..

Fiat Multipla :pac:

christ no :P ! my car history is a massive hint, for those who know me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Pajero or a Levin?

Interslice wrote: »
    Pajero

Yup, fella was leaving the country and needed to sell in a hurry, couldn't turn it down at the price, its not bad, 3.0v6 auto, i'll get some better pics after I clean it up a bit!
    91C0EC2E-52EA-4E55-9C3D-FB973C2F0534.jpg

Yup, fella was leaving the country and needed to sell in a hurry, couldn't turn it down at the price, its not bad, 3.0v6 auto, i'll get some better pics after I clean it up a bit!
    91C0EC2E-52EA-4E55-9C3D-FB973C2F0534.jpg

Sweet. Looks cleaner than your old one! You back living in oz? A friend just bought a '93 SWB here. It's a pretty cool import. Twin headlights, dual digital climate control and cruise control. Never expected one to come with that :eek:.
    We were trying to do tight turns on tarmac the other night but the diff kept locking the outer wheel no matter what setting it was in. Is that normal or is something up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

That's not Newbridge anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Love those old Pajero's. My father had a 1990 Pajero up until a couple of years ago. Remember seeing it in the South Tipperary area about 2 years ago, would love to know where it is today! Never had any trouble with it apart from the key barrel being so worn so it could be started up with a knife :D

Sweet. Looks cleaner than your old one! You back living in oz? A friend just bought a '93 SWB here. It's a pretty cool import. Twin headlights, dual digital climate control and cruise control. Never expected one to come with that :eek:.
    We were trying to do tight turns on tarmac the other night but the diff kept locking the outer wheel no matter what setting it was in. Is that normal or is something up?

Miles cleaner, that other yoke had some extensive battle scars :pac: This one's only got 280k kms on it too! Nice one, some of them came with pretty high specs!

Locking in the rear? has it got a diff lock or an lsd? Sometimes the lsd ones skip a little on a tight turn but wouldn't call it 'locking' :confused:
    YbFocus wrote: »
    That's not Newbridge anyway?

Nope, tis Melbourne :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Why did I decide to go polishing the mondy.

I am so dead it's not funny.

Miles cleaner, that other yoke had some extensive battle scars :pac: This one's only got 280k kms on it too! Nice one, some of them came with pretty high specs!

Locking in the rear? has it got a diff lock or an lsd? Sometimes the lsd ones skip a little on a tight turn but wouldn't call it 'locking' :confused:

Nope, tis Melbourne :)

Sounds a good one, hard to get clean ones here.

Ye at the rear and more of a skip than a full lock ye. Sounds like it has an LSD so! Has a suspension height adjuster aswell. Always thought they were a pure agricultural machine like a defender but they seem much more comfy and dailyable than the Land rovers do. He has leather seats lined up to go in and all. Reckons he'd be selling it in a years time. Might consider it depending. In other news was offered a spotless 300zx TT the other day. Cheap at mates rates but I'd need somewhere to keep the thing. Be sweet to hold onto it as a weekend car when classic tax comes around. One of my dream cars :)

Why did I decide to go polishing the mondy.

I am so dead it's not funny.

You know you could've stopped before you, well... died :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Haven't seen ye much around these parts Cheensbo, hopefully Straya is treating you well..!

On another note, it is an absolutely epic day for a spin up towards Glendalough today if any of ye around. Just got back there

z5pj5r.jpg

:cool:

Sounds a good one, hard to get clean ones here.

Ye at the rear and more of a skip than a full lock ye. Sounds like it has an LSD so! Has a suspension height adjuster aswell. Always thought they were a pure agricultural machine like a defender but they seem much more comfy and dailyable than the Land rovers do. He has leather seats lined up to go in and all.

Yeah that's for sure, they're not farmed to death over here. Yeah probably does, there should be an orange sticker with japanese writing in the door jamb or a sticker on the diff and that will indicate if its lsd,but chances are if it doesn't have a diff lock it'll have an lsd.

The suspension is probably the damper adjusters, they've little actuators on top of the shocks. tbh it's a miracle if they work, they're flimsy enough.

Yeah they're pretty nice on the road, lwb even moreso!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

11070553_1090572674293395_3918252926657294779_n.jpg?oh=6d5d899bef4686d11d7d8c3c690555d6&oe=55EEDF89

Do you go to Straya and back often, Cheensbo?

Yeah that's for sure, they're not farmed to death over here. Yeah probably does, there should be an orange sticker with japanese writing in the door jamb or a sticker on the diff and that will indicate if its lsd,but chances are if it doesn't have a diff lock it'll have an lsd.

The suspension is probably the damper adjusters, they've little actuators on top of the shocks. tbh it's a miracle if they work, they're flimsy enough.

Yeah they're pretty nice on the road, lwb even moreso!

It has H and S on the adjuster. Dampers makes more sense. He reckon it was moving up and down a tiny bit. Something was happening anyway :P. Will investigate the LSD thing further. Best of luck with yours!

Do you go to Straya and back often, Cheensbo?

Nah, i just came out on a working holiday visa, and came back for a 2nd year. Might stay a bit longer if i get the right job.
    It has H and S on the adjuster. Dampers makes more sense. He reckon it was moving up and down a tiny bit. Something was happening anyway :P. Will investigate the LSD thing further. Best of luck with yours!

Yeah that'll be the one, maybe the actuators still work, ive never had them work on any of mine, ye might be lucky!

Interestingly this paj is my first auto, out of 20+ motors! Will report on my opinion after a few days :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

GvidoR wrote:
    You know you could've stopped before you, well... died

Results were well worth it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

This is mainly aimed at people driving the south link in Cork but probably relevant to other motorways and dual carriageways.. Has anyone noticed these brain dead ****ers leaving 20-30 car length gaps between themselves and the next car in heavy traffic? It's driving me insane, causing serious traffic jams on my way home from work every day! Please someone else tell me this annoys them too!

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Dave147 wrote: »
    This is mainly aimed at people driving the south link in Cork but probably relevant to other motorways and dual carriageways.. Has anyone noticed these brain dead ****ers leaving 20-30 car length gaps between themselves and the next car in heavy traffic? It's driving me insane, causing serious traffic jams on my way home from work every day! Please someone else tell me this annoys them too!

/rant

I've noticed it's mostly people on the phone. The traffic is so slow moving it's probably a good time to check it for most people. It's only getting worse on it too the last few months. Took an hour from Blackrock to get through the tunnel a few nights now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

I've noticed it's mostly people on the phone. The traffic is so slow moving it's probably a good time to check it for most people. It's only getting worse on it too the last few months. Took an hour from Blackrock to get through the tunnel a few nights now.

Yeah, I've my phone in my Brodit and I don't go near it when I'm driving unless it's to make a call on the bluetooth, people still don't realise how deadly using your phone is while driving. The gaps people are leaving are absolutely ridiculous though. Would love if the Gardai would start pulling people over and telling them to cop the **** on!

11376226_858153954269473_2042560601_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

LS series transplants are getting so common now!!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

There was a beautiful 97 Aston Martin parked on Swords main street earlier this evening, OH and I spent a few minutes admiring it, it was in fantastic condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Paid for my 'new' engine today. Nervous enough tbh, looks dry and it runs fine so here's hoping it's a good go-er and not an oil burner etc.

Going to do the clutch while the engine is out. If i can get one cheap... before tuesday... :pac:

Trying to think of anything else i should do while the engine is out. Chain tensioner? Water pump?