If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,944 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

If I was you, I'd repair it. :)

Do what you think is better for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ah man. Thats terrible news :(

Why not do what I do and have a spare engine (or 3 in my case)

That way you can do it all up on the ground and know what went into it. If I were you I'd look at the bottom end too (you and me know what those engines are like)

I can't point you in the direction of a decent engine but alas a mk 1 Avensis 1.8 vvti has the same engine and you could pick one up reasonably.

2015: the year the keeps on giving eh :rolleyes: :(

Unregistered Users

Is it 1zz-fe or 2zz-ge in that celica?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Should be 1zz-fe (Its not the 190bhp i think!)

Unregistered Users

Well, yeah, if it's not 190bhp, it'd be indeed 1zz, so the same as avensis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Hal, any tips on how to take out st fog lights? Won't budge for me!

Undo the 2 screws on the front of them. Then from underneath the bumper you can access the 3 tabs securing them in place. Just apply a little bit of pressure on the tabs though.

Unregistered Users

dgt wrote: »
    Should be 1zz-fe (Its not the 190bhp i think!)
    joujoujou wrote: »
    Well, yeah, if it's not 190bhp, it'd be indeed 1zz, so the same as avensis.

But looking at Tfb's signature I really doubt he has 1zz-fe engine. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Hal1 wrote:
    Undo the 2 screws on the front of them. Then from underneath the bumper you can access the 3 tabs securing them in place. Just apply a little bit of pressure on the tabs though.

Just the surround I needed to take out. Released the taps (there's a cnut of a one hidden on the top inner corner) and I prised it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Mine is a 2zzge 190. An engine swap could be an alternative as it would require less mechanical skill to change than a head gasket. An avensis engine could be an alternative at a cost of 50bhp or so :pac: .

A second hand 2zz would cost as much as a head gasket job so there aren't too many pro's ro that except that i could diy it in :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Mine is a 2zzge 190. An engine swap could be an alternative as it would require less mechanical skill to change than a head gasket. An avensis engine could be an alternative at a cost of 50bhp or so :pac: .

A second hand 2zz would cost as much as a head gasket job so there aren't too many pro's ro that except that i could diy it in :P

Would you shoehorn a crate smallblock V8 in there?? Chape 'Vette, like! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

And boom, new window motor needed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

YbFocus wrote: »
    And boom, new window motor needed!

That's annoying on a day like today...! Oh well that's life I suppose.

166man wrote: »

Definitely life i suppose man!
    Definitely motor as i can hear the relay clicking and no noise from the door to indicate a regulator gone so it's a motor I'm after.
    Da was saying its so unfortunate on a car like it that's so right and clean that this happens.
    As you say, that's life i suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Should be handy got from a breakers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭No Voter And Proud

166man wrote: »

That's life I suppose is one way of puddin it.
    Window regulator shouldnt be expensive depending on what car you have though. I was down heading back out of cork towards kilkenny there the other week and theres a great breakers there outside kilkenny town i forget the name now but they seemed cheap anyway they had what I was looking for.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Should be handy got from a breakers.

Ah yeah I'm not worried. A bit of googling tonight will lead to the same conclusions as everything else i reckon. . .

Same as an e46!

Night before nct check just done there. Washer fluid was empty but to my surprise the two front parking bulbs were blown. Stupid cheap LED's. Only have em a few months. Threw a pair of spare standards in. She's good to go

And she failed. Feckin inner tie rod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Isn't the Avensis 1.8 only around 125bhp though, versus the 140 in the regular Celica?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Any tips for bleeding brakes on your own? I seem to remember there being a kit that would take air pressure from your tyre and connect to the top of your fluid reservoir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Anyone up for an impromptu glendalough meet. 166man, Ded zebra and I are heading up in about half an hour if anyone is up for spinning up

God sake i would have Thursday night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Such a great feeling when you do your own work on a car. Satisfaction level is way up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,934 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Lads quick question/confirmation.
    Had the tyres changed hoping it would end the humming noise but it didn't. Absolutely pissing down now so I can't jack up the car to spin the wheels manually and listen.
    I'm very close to thinking that possibly both my front bearings are failing as if I move from left to right the noise doesn't change.
    It's quite a loud humming noise at this stage.
    What say ye? Both front bearings or could it be possible that one has failed but not isn't showing which one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

bear1 wrote: »
    Had the tyres changed hoping it would end the humming noise but it didn't. Absolutely pissing down now so Iincan't jack up the car to spin the wheels manually and listen.
    I'm very close to thinking that possibly both my front bearings are failing as if I move from left to right the noise doesn't change.
    What say ye? Both front bearings or could it be possible that one has failed but not isn't showing which one?

Unlikely both bearings went at the same time. Also impossible to tell which wheel from driving. If you can tell its at the front or back your doing well! Just pop into a garage. A mechanic would have a better ear for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,934 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Interslice wrote: »
    Unlikely both bearings went at the same time. Also impossible to tell which wheel from driving. If you can tell its at the front or back your doing well! Just pop into a garage. A mechanic would have a better ear for it.

Er.. Hello? :D
    I'm quite sure the noise is at the front, I've listened to it enough to notice the location of it.
    Yeah *sigh* it will have to at this stage, it can feckin wait until after the injector fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Four partworn tyres got. Two Vredestein and two Bridgestone, Bridgestone are run flats, didn't know till I got home, he did have trouble putting them two on though as he needed the help of the other guy working there all due to the stronger side wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

bear1 wrote: »
    Had the tyres changed hoping it would end the humming noise but it didn't. Absolutely pissing down now so I can't jack up the car to spin the wheels manually and listen.

As said its highly unlikely that both wheel bearing would be gone as they all tend to fail at different times. I know from experience over the last few weeks it's a very annoying noise my car is going in on Friday morning to be done. It took the garage a fair to actually figure which bearing was actually gone unless it's cronic bad you not just going to be able to jack up the wheel and tell if it's gone or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

YbFocus wrote: »

Edit: And this also!....

https://i.imgur.com/rTwIwGo.webm

Fúckin hell that person shouldn't be driving, why continue going back when you felt the wheel hit something, that could have been over that guys head if he wasn't paying attention.

Hits something and panic ensues, probably does nothing but accelerates!
    Disgraceful reaction to hitting something for sure man!