If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

YbFocus wrote: »
    You're local enough, have you a granddaughter pred? :p

No, but I have 2 daughters, 19 and 13....
    And the answer is NO! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

A toyota brochure cane with the paper. How can a double cab 3.0 hilux cost 37k, yet a 3 door, 2 seater land cruiser, same 3.0 engine, cost 40k....

Tax.
    Land cruiser has a better 4wd system and is generally built to a higher spec (in Japan) than a hilux (in Africa)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

What is the story with land cruiser drivers?
    In my experience they are nearly guaranteed to put their foot down while you're overtaking:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

pred racer wrote: »
    No, but I have 2 daughters, 19 and 13....
    And the answer is NO! ;)

Only joking man :)

OSI wrote: »
    GT86?

I know OSI I acknowledged that earlier like 3 posts back.

If you want a fast toyota you need to buy a gt86.

If you want a fast Audi, BMW, VW, Ford etc. You pick what model you want and spec it as an RS, M, ST etc.

Its as if they went "oh yeah we better build a sports car i guess...."

There is no performance engines or packages for the whole lineup like there is in the other manufacturers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

GT86's are cool little cars.

Hardly that fast though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

AE86 and MX5 aren't too fast either but still lots of fun... from what I've heard... would like to see for myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Some very tasty stuff at limerick cars n coffee this morn. No photos I'm afraid, only did a whizz by but what stood out to me were the Ford GT40 (obviously), several lotussss, two lancia deltas. Some older stuff I wouldn't even know but looked good and my wildcard favourite was the very clean bronzey/brown nissan 200sx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Dartz

Got out for a good hard blast today. Turned some dinosaurs into global warming, blew the cobwebs an carbon out. Probably frightened a few tourists.

Annoyed that I overslept and missed the Cars and Coffee again, but so it goes. Still need to find a decent block of time and weather to service it. Would be very helpful if I had a bloody garage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Some very tasty stuff at limerick cars n coffee this morn. No photos I'm afraid, only did a whizz by but what stood out to me were the Ford GT40 (obviously), several lotussss, two lancia deltas. Some older stuff I wouldn't even know but looked good and my wildcard favourite was the very clean bronzey/brown nissan 200sx.

Seen some pics of an F40 online too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Seen some pics of an F40 online too!

There was a classic Ferrari, the f40 may have left before I got there... or it was very close to the GT40 - that area was the busiest so I didn't want to barge through the crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Dartz wrote: »
    Got out for a good hard blast today. Turned some dinosaurs into global warming, blew the cobwebs an carbon out. Probably frightened a few tourists.

All well and good until you skid to avoid one and go head on into a tree trying to correct yourself.

Not worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I spun in for a look but didn't get out. Was down that way anyway. Had my baby with me and he was getting cranky so didn't have time to stop.
    Saw some lovely Deltas and a Nissan Z along with a good few 90s Hondas with brightly coloured wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Dartz

dgt wrote: »
    All well and good until you skid to avoid one and go head on into a tree trying to correct yourself.

Not worth it

Not from the speed. It's running just a bit too rich so likes to pop and backfire a bit.

Either a mystery vacuum leak, or a bad sensor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

The road from lismore to the vee is class, had a great time driving it today. As is the n76 to Kilkenny from clonmel. Was glad I didn't take the motorway home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

The road from lismore to the vee is class, had a great time driving it today. As is the n76 to Kilkenny from clonmel. Was glad I didn't take the motorway home.

I could drive that road from kk to clonmel with my eyes closed at this stage grand road at 5am when there is no one else pain during the day alit of the time when there is traffic on it.

Also this came yesterday only got to look at it today after work. Not the easiest one to get got it in the uk as nowhere in Ireland had it it only went into print a few months ago not a hardback but other than that it's very good I find them very good even just for general reference they have every fact and figure you could want to know about your car in it.

7ADCBF9C-F1C3-44DA-8E91-9BD1B42150F8_zpsilhis0lz.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Done the brakes on the other side of the Jimny there today. And this is what greeted me. Some clown replaced one of the sliding collars on the caliper with a piece of steel tubing. Cut crooked and brazed in and all. Ah here.

351328.PNG

Prayer%20Service%20-%20Jesus%20weeping.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Bloody hell, mechanical hall of shame for that chap!

Anyone ever add up how much you/previous owners have spent on maintainence? My car is an 01 with a full service history receipts and all and I've kept everything in my 2 years so far. So all in excluding tyres there is just over 6000 in receipts. Feck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I don't think about those things when it comes to resale unless I am buying to try and make a profit. If I buy for 5 and sell for 4 after using it for a year or more I only focus on 5-4=1 rather than repairs or consumables.

Bpmull wrote: »
    I could drive that road from kk to clonmel with my eyes closed at this stage grand road at 5am when there is no one else pain during the day alit of the time when there is traffic on it.

Also this came yesterday only got to look at it today after work. Not the easiest one to get got it in the uk as nowhere in Ireland had it it only went into print a few months ago not a hardback but other than that it's very good I find them very good even just for general reference they have every fact and figure you could want to know about your car in it.

7ADCBF9C-F1C3-44DA-8E91-9BD1B42150F8_zpsilhis0lz.jpg

Its weird looking at a Haynes manual with such a new car on the cover

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

They are not that long gone into print one of the new releases so ended up not being able to get it in halfords micksgarage and the like. Wasn't that expensive in the uk but the postage and brutal exchange rate the good out of it getting to stage where a lot of things in the uk are gone very expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

Bpmull wrote: »
    They are not that long gone into print one of the new releases so ended up not being able to get it in halfords micksgarage and the like. Wasn't that expensive in the uk but the postage and brutal exchange rate the good out of it getting to stage where a lot of things in the uk are gone very expensive.

I think it's 30 euro in my local Halfords. You hardly know how much it was obmn micks garage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

You know you have a reliable car when there's a Haynes manual for it even when it's new :pac:

What's the going price for a Brake caliper these days in a breakers.

I can get a recon one off ebay (Aisin, suzuki OEM) for about 100 quid. Probably not worth going down the breakers at that price.

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Front-Brake-Caliper-SUZUKI-JIMNY-1-3-16V-01-08-05-19991-/321665759974?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item4ae4c5fae6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

no pics but i met a massive convoy of peterbilt trucks on the dunboyne-maynooth road earlier tonight.. assume they had left mosney together along with a heap of sexy scanias too :D i was in heaven for the couple of minutes it took to pass us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I got two identical mobile banking leaflets with my statement this morning. In the leaflet it says;

Groceries - Use Visa Debit card 10c - Get cashback when using Visa Debit card save 25c

Does that mean I earn €0.15 every time I get cashback? :eek: :pac:

Only when buying groceries :)

On my Internet banking this year to date. .

Household stuff €464
    Health and personal care €50

Auto €3,592.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭No Voter And Proud

That's a lota household stuff

Since the new year?
    Not that much, there's a pc monitor in there too!

Does that include food? Not much at all since then.