If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

Seriously yes. My head just isn't with it presently, getting far too engrossed in things under the bonnet when I should be concentrating on real world things. I've only just taken a step back and looked at where the last 18 months have brought me. Nowhere, I've got nothing to show for them bar a few photos of some nice old cars.

Its an indefinite leave is how I'm looking at it

Fair play. Getting your priorities in order. Something I fail to do on a regular basis. Hopefully you'll get back into the old cars again in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

Seriously? Or is it like when I say that I'll give up smoking next week?

You should, I'm off smoking for just over 2 weeks and feel great, it is still early days yet though. but my only regret is not quitting sooner.

job seeker wrote: »
    You should, I'm off smoking for just over 2 weeks and feel great, it is still early days yet though. but my only regret is not quitting sooner.

I will next week :pac:

Although half my family are heavy smokers but all came off them 2 months ago. Now its just me. I work evenings and because its so quiet and boring that I tend to smoke more. Back on days from Monday so considering kicking it again. I can go for hours and hours without one when I'm busy. Different story when I'm not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

job seeker wrote: »

I'm off just over a week. Been for a 5k jog and a 6k one yesterday. I haven't cracked the sweet snacks however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I'm off just over a week. Been for a 5k jog and a 6k one yesterday. I haven't cracked the sweet snacks however.

Ah stop.. I'm eating alot more chocolate since I stopped. Finish work at 9.30/10pm and I buy a mountain dew, rocky bars and 2 winning streaks. Il have to start buying water and fruit instead though before the sweet stuff kills me.. :p good on you though for giving up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

We should totally set up a Motors AA..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I've never smoked, but I gave up soft drinks a little over a year ago. So no coke/mountain dew/fanta/sprite for me. Giving up snacks seems impossible though. I don't go on runs as often as I should, but I've got inline hockey twice a week.

In other news...
    http://www.swindonadvertiser.co.uk/news/10675185.display/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Two of my freinds overnight gave up smoking 20+ a day by getting hypnotised. They were just as cynical as you are now! One of them is still convinced he wasnt hypnotised at all and it was his will power even though he never made it more than 2 days before on many previpus atempts. They were out on the beer the following weekend and all and didnt touch one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I've never really had the need to give up anything. I'm not one for cigarettes but do smoke occasionally, don't drink and I cycle and play hurling so get all the exercise I need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I just eat too much shyte... plain and simple. My excuse for not getting the bike out is the brakes are frigged, I can't go swimming because I can't find my swim hat... I can't have an oul puc about because the dog chewed my sliotar. So as you can see I am in a pickle indeed.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

I gave up the drink a good while back and smoke free 2 years since april. All I do is vape (electronic cig) and I'm cutting down the nic dosage on that too. Maybe one day I'll have my ecos :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Just noticed its the 30th anniversary of Ferris Bullers day off tomorrow. Just in case any of you needed an excuse :P.

HhfVKzG.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

ba_barabus wrote: »

why are you jogging? to take your mind of smokes:confused:

i never smoked but do have have the odd cider every couple of weeks

i should get running myself as one my friends challenged me to run the dub city marathon in october and beat his time on the day:D

now he is fit as a fidddle already run and finished his 13th mmarathon this year while i have never run one even:o my usual warm up is a bottle of luzozade sport and a strawberry cornetto too for the jog after i do a couple of basic stretches :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

davycc wrote: »
    why are you jogging? to take your mind of smokes:confused:

i never smoked but do have have the odd cider every couple of weeks

i should get running myself as one my friends challenged me to run the dub city marathon in october and beat his time on the day:D

now he is fit as a fidddle already run and finished his 13th mmarathon this year while i have never run one even:o my usual warm up is a bottle of luzozade sport and a strawberry cornetto too for the jog after i do a couple of basic stretches :pac:

Thats the maddest thing I've done....run the dublin marathon without training (the longest I ran before hand that year had been 10 mile and I hadn't run since the first week in september).....my legs gave up after kilmainham and hobbled the last 12 miles or so.
    Go for it, you'll finish it if you can get it into your head that you'll finish it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

davycc wrote: »
    why are you jogging? to take your mind of smokes:confused::

I'm overweight, over 30 and under active. A disastrous mix if I let it continue. I sorted the weight before but it all creeped back on over time. Add in high colestorol and high blood pressure and I'm a walking future heart attack waiting to happen.

Sadly I find it impossible to organise myself to sort it all. Its very easy to say drop the fork or just run but I allow to life get in the way.

166man wrote: »
    Not all fortunate enough to drive newer cars though, my Alfa gets though about a litre every 2000 miles... Hardly the end of the world to check it every so often.....:confused:
    166man wrote: »
    T'was very much a dig at my car, Alfas financially cripple me due to owning too many, since I bought that 156 back its been anything but a money pit. ;)

Just wondering :)
    that thread you have in projects is one of the most interesting on boards imo, but as you say you have a few Alfas I think, which one uses the litre every 2000miles? The V6?

I gave up smoking 3 years ago after being on them since 2001 and haven't gone near one since. Best thing I ever did but did become a bit overweight due to satisfying nicotine cravings with junk food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Did I miss something is this about a smoking thread or motors smoking thread or all of the above?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,389 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Did I miss something is this about a smoking thread or motors smoking thread or all of the above?

The more cigarettes I sell, the greater the chance of selling for an A8. That better?

beertons wrote: »
    The more cigarettes I sell, the greater the chance of selling for an A8. That better?

I meant to add smiley to my last post.
    I wasn't been:mad: grumpy:D

Carry on:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

166man wrote:
    T'was very much a dig at my car, Alfas financially cripple me due to owning too many, since I bought that 156 back its been anything but a money pit.

It was not a personal dig at all, no moreso than calling a mk3 megane bland or boring or words to that effect anyway. I wouldn't be into personal digs, or arguing in general.

Anyway, don't want to fall out with either of you. Two good contribitors to the forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Whats all this? Can we all have a nice big hug? :D

Would this feckin weather make its mind up. Only washed the damned car last night only to be woken up at 6 like a dickhead by the sound of rain. Wanker rain costing me sleep!!!

dgt wrote: »
    Whats all this? Can we all have a nice big hug? :D

Would this feckin weather make its mind up. Only washed the damned car last night only to be woken up at 6 like a dickhead by the sound of rain. Wanker rain costing me sleep!!!

It will make you want to wash the beast again though so maybe a good thing in some ways.

I find the cleaning process relaxing(tiring in a way as you are actually working kind of way) but you always feel so good with the results once you stop using fairy and the green scouring pads;)

I cringe when I see a sponge or brush going near a car:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I used the champix tablets to come off the fags. Did it in the middle of a very stressful time for me as well so I was doubly impressed by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Anyone going to the Rock n Rumble in Cork Con tomorrow? Went last year was some nice motors at it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭No Voter And Proud

Speaking of rain, it was raining in the west today too I went out to the car at 6am and it was feckin leaking. Turns out the driver door is only after rusting a bit like. Just over the top of the door. Drivin to the shop with a wet arsh aint fun when its cold an all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Anyone going to the Rock n Rumble in Cork Con tomorrow? Went last year was some nice motors at it!
    Seeing as I live around the corner - I might pop up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

I used the champix tablets to come off the fags. Did it in the middle of a very stressful time for me as well so I was doubly impressed by them.

They're the best thing to take, but Christ they're expensive (not that I'm complaining)
    They're covered on the medical card, but if I was leo, I'd be making them free for all.
    The health benefits would make it more than cost effective to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Lads, Question for ye, not worth a thread on its own, How long would ye carry the car for a service to the main dealers? I've a 7 year warranty, 4 years into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

If it's one of them with a specific warranty (kia I'm assuming?), then you need to have a full service history from the main dealer, or else any work that may need to be carried out may not be covered. Sort of voids the warranty if want of a better word. Stick out the 3 more years, and then bring it to a good indy once the warranty expires.