Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Same Sex Marriage Referendum Mega Thread - MOD WARNING IN FIRST POST

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

you are wrong
    I live in a rural area where the majority of the people I meet are voting no and they aren't mass goers either,they are people that always do and will turn out to vote
    One of them is 27 and an atheist

Jesus must be very weird as I live in a rural area and no one i know of is voting no....even all the ould lads/ould wans

Though they are very forward thinking around here and have always tended to accept/at least try out modern technology/agricultural methods etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

gandalf wrote: »
    He's the lad fecking off to the Eurovision and missing the vote.

From what I heard when this popped up a month or so ago, he will be voting and then heading for the Eurovision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Was just talking to a friend and her son was threatened with a shotgun while out canvassing for a Yes Vote - A SHOTGUN :eek:...

Same guy (19 year old rugby playing college student who is about as aggressive off the pitch as a cuddly toy) also had dogs set on him - he was on the footpath at the time.

Carrigaline in Cork (where he was born and raised) if anyone is interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭SummerSummit

Im voting no on the day

to lowering the age for presidential candidates... :Dyes for equality though

But what about age equality??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    It's a ridiculous question. Nobody has argued that the RC church or any other church should define what marriage is in our constitution. It doesn't now and we are not being asked to vote for it on Friday.

Aren't there posters which say something about god and man and woman? And the church itself is calling for a no vote. Nearly all of the groups campaigning for a no vote at least Chrstian, mostly catholic.

They are making it pretty clear that the marriage god "created" is the one that should be in the constitution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,168 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Whats the deal with a gay person being against gay marriage?

It's severally on how they see marriage, some with a christian marriage view on what a family consists of (a man and woman), and some about the child angle, that a man and a woman are best-choice for parentage of children. Both variations of the man and woman were designed to procreate thesis, so SSM coupling is un-natural and must not be allowed marry.

On a relevant point, one of the politicians who opposed the legalization of the CP Act in the Oireachtas, Senator Ronan Mullen, because he thought it would weaken Marriage, is now, 5 years down the road, prepared to allow that act to be amended and even included in the constitution (as long as the word marriage is not used). I am hoping that his "change" in tack mean's Ronan has seen the end of the road of his refusal to allow LGBT people marry. More probably it's just another delaying tactic of his which he doesn't actually mean and would vote against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

RobertKK wrote: »
    I have not discussed or jumped to a conclusion what kind of person you are.

The marriage section of the constitution is in the family section, where it states marriage is the basis for a family.

Whether it is yes or no, whoever wins gets their ideals imposed.

Really? Because the from the above, it really seems to me like you have concluded us both either incapable or unworthy of forming a family.

But yes, its nothing personal. You just happen to believe we are unequal and undeserving. :)

If the country votes no to equal rights on the day I am ashamed to be Irish.........

Its not about families it has nothing to do with families in my opinion its about two people who love each other wanting to commit to each other in front of friends and family... how in the name of god can people vote no? and tbh if anyone brings the kids need a dad and mam argument in thats pathetic and embarrassing. Im a married man 32 2 kids soon to be 3 ;) and I cant think of any reason why every irish citizen shouldnt have the right to marriage.

Imagine telling an Irish citizen you cant marry that person that you love because they are the same sex but you can marry someone you cant stand and end up divorced because of the fact that they are what god intended....

I really hope this vote passes..... If one of my kids tells me they are lesbian or gay in years to come why shouldnt they have the same rights as anyone else

Please get out and vote, and we can make sure it does pass :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

It's a ridiculous question. Nobody has argued that the RC church or any other church should define what marriage is in our constitution. It doesn't now and we are not being asked to vote for it on Friday.

Breda O'Brien has argued that gay couples should abstain from sex just like other unmarried couples. Breda and the Iona Institute are most definitely pushing a religious definition of marriage.

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Was just talking to a friend and her son was threatened with a shotgun while out canvassing for a Yes Vote - A SHOTGUN :eek:...

Same guy (19 year old rugby playing college student who is about as aggressive off the pitch as a cuddly toy) also had dogs set on him - he was on the footpath at the time.

F*** me. Hope they called the Gardaí ASAP. That's unbelievable.

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    This attitude (not you drunk monkey the 'sympathy for the no side') makes me want to get sick! What has 'happened' to them? A few posters got torn down and their campaign slogans were called out for the nonsense they are? Poor babies!

But worse is the fact that there is anyone in this country, who is moronic enough to fall for this bull****! The manipulative spin and lies from Iona, mothers and fathers matter (are they even separate entities) and friends, has been quite gobsmacking. But the fact that there are numerous people who are apparently stupid enough to have fallen for this tactic is truly frightening. I have said before and I maintain this, there should be an IQ test before first enrolling to vote after coming of age. A certain level of intelligence is needed to be able to make decisions that affect the entire country.

Those voting no for reasons they have thought about related to the referendum, I completely and utterly disagree with them, I think they are completely wrong, that they are hindering progress, and that voting no is unkind, because neither outcome will affect them, but I respect their right to have an opinion that dramatically differs from mine. However those who are voting no only because they 'feel sorry' for the no campaign or have fallen for the spin, lies and manipulation are braindead morons who are probably delighted to be given prepackaged excuses for their homophobia.

I don't think anybody has "fallen" for it.

It's just a nice code to use though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,168 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Then the bishops are talking through their hats and you haven't heard/read of their advice to voters here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

maybe a bitter relationship they feel they cant commit and wanna be horrible to those that have found the right person

Maybe you are right or maybe you could consider their reasoning.

http://www.wnd.com/2013/11/gay-columnist-blasts-same-sex-marriage/

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

Has anyone else's estimation of how dangerous and scary Iona are increased 1000% with this referendum campaign.

They are actually a hate group dressed up to appear 'civilised'. They really scare me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,084 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

He used the term "traditional marriage" so he loses the debate right there

aloyisious wrote: »
    Then the bishops are talking through their hats and you haven't heard/read of their advice to voters here :D

Expressing their opinion isn't the same as dictating what is in the Irish constitution. Is any group campaigning for a particular outcome dictating how marriage is defined? Of course not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Shrap wrote: »
    F*** me. Hope they called the Gardaí ASAP. That's unbelievable.

They certainly did.

What they didn't do was get on the twitter machine and give breathless reports to the Indo and being bullied. He just toddled off to UCC to sit an exam after he left the Garda station.

RobertKK wrote: »
    It is the same process which we elect our politicians.

It is a new one when democracy is 'the problem that can lead to the tyranny of the majority.'.

Well it can. The Nazi's were democratically elected.

I guess it was all good since they had a democratic mandate. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Expressing their opinion isn't the same as dictating what is in the Irish constitution. Is any group campaigning for a particular outcome dictating how marriage is defined? Of course not.

You have already suggested that even holding the vote was the result of the Machiavellian plotting of a billionaire. Not much of a stretch really.

VinLieger wrote: »
    He used the term "traditional marriage" so he loses the debate right there

Or right, is that how debates work :rolleyes: I must have missed that memo.

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    Has anyone else's estimation of how dangerous and scary Iona are increased 1000% with this referendum campaign.

Nope. I've known exactly how dangerous and scary they are for many, many years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

His reasoning is the same as the Iona's and is full of all the same fallacies and red herrings that have been cleared up or taken apart completely several times in the many threads devoted to this referendum. And yet they still persist…

I look forward to David Quinn and John Waters denouncing this any second now....

They certainly did.

What they didn't do was get on the twitter machine and give breathless reports to the Indo and being bullied. He just toddled off to UCC to sit an exam after he left the Garda station.

Phew, what an ordeal. Hope the poor lad managed to put it to the back of his mind and did ok in the exam :(

You have already suggested that even holding the vote was the result of the Machiavellian plotting of a billionaire. Not much of a stretch really.

Chuck Feeny has invested heavily in the yes campaign, has he not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

From what I heard when this popped up a month or so ago, he will be voting and then heading for the Eurovision.

From looking at his twitter account he is already over in Austria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

He has invested heavily in Ireland full stop.

Also his investments are in the public domain and can be scuntinised. We have no such transparency from the myriad of organisations on the No side (in reality they are a many headed hydra).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

No as has already been clarified extensively.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Seriously? We should be compiling all these disgusting moments by the No side - that's far far worse than being called a bigot.

Of course the No side might say it was justified as this Yes canvasser was bullying them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

Nope. I've known exactly how dangerous and scary they are for many, many years.

I knew they were poisonous but their tactics in this campaign have really shocked me.