Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Eircom apprenticeship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭cossi

yeah but isnt there an interview in the assesment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭focusowner

cossi wrote: »
    yeah but isnt there an interview in the assesment?

You will have to see how the others get on today to be sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

Just after doing assessment this morning. Not going to say any details in particular because that would be irrisponsible. Arccosh's post on page 104 is good advice. There is nothing you can really do only study typical interview questions like any job interview. The day started for me at 8:45 you wait in a seating area with the other candidates. 10 in total which are split into two groups from the start on. Eircoms info on the assesment day is all you need to know really. There is no big surprise just be yourself its a friendly relaxed enough atmosphere. They talk you trough everything and make you feel at home/ congratulate you etc.

One tip is to have copies of lc results,driving license and passport if you have one and the passport photo. From the questions i asked this is some info on the campaign.
    If you have not got assesment date now dont expect to get one. There are 275 candidates left in the process out of 3000. Assesments are 20 people each day (10 every half day) for the next 3 weeks. There is what i would call a proper interview on the day. Unlike the last campaign where there was an interview stage after, the interview is incorperated into assesment day.

The woman i talked to said there might be a further one at a later stage but there are no plans to have one. Id say they are leaving enough time just in case they need to have another one as it is new to have it all in one day and are seeing how it goes. In my opinion i dont think there is a need for another one. It seemed thorough enough.

She said candidates will hear news on results a few weeks after assessments are done(may at some stage) the next stage after that is preliminary offer of places provided references and medical are all good. They actually plan to take 75 apprentices in sept(faq's said 60). One question i asked which i feel is very important(to me anyway) they stated the best apprentices will be offered a permanent position with eircom. I asked is there any particular number of apprentices they intend to keep. She said that there is no maximum or minimum ammoumt and that it wholly depends on performance during apprentiseship. I said so if all the apprentises are good would there be positions for all of them and she said there would be which makes me feel alot better about the whole thing.

As for dress code most wore shoes pants and shirt+tie some had jacket.one or two had jeans shirt and nice jumper but all are acceptable and no one looked out of place or under/over dressed. No need to dress like you are going to a wedding. I saw the group after us and they seemed to be the same. I would advise anyone far away that is doing it in the morning to stay somwhere close it just takes that bit of extra pressure off that no one needs.

I wouldnt advise anyone to give much away on this because firstly there is no need to as id say people will do just as good without any info and secondly you can be sure there are eircom lads watching this

Hope this helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Horse84

You're a sound man for posting that, helps a lot. How long were u there for in total?

Its broken down into stages. Was there at 8:40. Finnished at 11:30 out the door 10 min later after i asked the few questions. I think the second group started at 12:30 so id say anyone on second half of day will be out at 3:30 max as long as lunch dosnt affect the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Horse84

thekopend wrote: »
    Its broken down into stages. Was there at 8:40. Finnished at 11:30 out the door 10 min later after i asked the few questions. I think the second group started at 12:30 so id say anyone on second half of day will be out at 3:30 max as long as lunch dosnt affect the process.

Thanks again man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭liv1892

Thanks for that! Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 oakfire

Some great info on here. Doing my assessment on Wednesday. I see a few people mentioned a FAQ section... Where is this? Is it on eircom site or is it the recruitment agency's site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭liv1892

oakfire wrote:
    Some great info on here. Doing my assessment on Wednesday. I see a few people mentioned a FAQ section... Where is this? Is it on eircom site or is it the recruitment agency's site?

Just Google Eircom apprentice and you should find it

thanks for all that info, how long did your interview last and how many were interviewing you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Rgdajd

Just after doing assessment this morning. Not going to say any details in particular because that would be irrisponsible. Arccosh's post on page 104 is good advice. There is nothing you can really do only study typical interview questions like any job interview. The day started for me at 8:45 you wait in a seating area with the other candidates. 10 in total which are split into two groups from the start on. Eircoms info on the assesment day is all you need to know really. There is no big surprise just be yourself its a friendly relaxed enough atmosphere. They talk you trough everything and make you feel at home/ congratulate you etc.

One tip is to have copies of lc results,driving license and passport if you have one and the passport photo. From the questions i asked this is some info on the campaign.
    If you have not got assesment date now dont expect to get one. There are 275 candidates left in the process out of 3000. Assesments are 20 people each day (10 every half day) for the next 3 weeks. There is what i would call a proper interview on the day. Unlike the last campaign where there was an interview stage after, the interview is incorperated into assesment day.

The woman i talked to said there might be a further one at a later stage but there are no plans to have one. Id say they are leaving enough time just in case they need to have another one as it is new to have it all in one day and are seeing how it goes. In my opinion i dont think there is a need for another one. It seemed thorough enough.

She said candidates will hear news on results a few weeks after assessments are done(may at some stage) the next stage after that is preliminary offer of places provided references and medical are all good. They actually plan to take 75 apprentices in sept(faq's said 60). One question i asked which i feel is very important(to me anyway) they stated the best apprentices will be offered a permanent position with eircom. I asked is there any particular number of apprentices they intend to keep. She said that there is no maximum or minimum ammoumt and that it wholly depends on performance during apprentiseship. I said so if all the apprentises are good would there be positions for all of them and she said there would be which makes me feel alot better about the whole thing.

As for dress code most wore shoes pants and shirt+tie some had jacket.one or two had jeans shirt and nice jumper but all are acceptable and no one looked out of place or under/over dressed. No need to dress like you are going to a wedding. I saw the group after us and they seemed to be the same. I would advise anyone far away that is doing it in the morning to stay somwhere close it just takes that bit of extra pressure off that no one needs.

I wouldnt advise anyone to give much away on this because firstly there is no need to as id say people will do just as good without any info and secondly you can be sure there are eircom lads watching this

Hope this helps

Regarding the dress code, the suit without the jacket would be alright? Thanks again for the post and best of luck to you and all da lads on this

Rgdajd wrote: »
    Regarding the dress code, the suit without the jacket would be alright? Thanks again for the post and best of luck to you and all da lads on this

Thats what i went with. Suit pants shirt and tie. Normal black pants would be grand too tho

Neat dress - normal black pants are fine -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 thefalconer

I'm booked in on the 6th may, will be driving up from Tipp the evening before if anybody wants to jump in with with me, will be driving back down once the assessment is over,send a PM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭TheInspector

For anyone who's done the assessment, is it one on one or all group activities for the day? And can anyone tell me if they asked if you had holidays booked for the summer?

how'd anyone get on today? Also anyone going up from the country early in the morning.

anyone have any good places for parking near eircom? also anyone who's done the interview itself how long did it take?

cossi wrote: »
    anyone have any good places for parking near eircom? also anyone who's done the interview itself how long did it take?

Heuston station car park is across the road

ok thanks for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Mcbaine1990

Hueston station is right across the road. It'd be simple enough to get an early train that morning and walk across

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 oakfire

I'm driving up from Cork early tomorrow, I know there's a carpark right next door to eircom hsq, supervalu I think, it's 2 hours free parking, not sure if you can pay for longer than that though?

oakfire wrote: »
    I'm driving up from Cork early tomorrow, I know there's a carpark right next door to eircom hsq, supervalu I think, it's 2 hours free parking, not sure if you can pay for longer than that though?

Think when we were there anyone that parked there went out to move the vans every few hours

There is a supervalue that u can park in its free for two hours but 10 euro an hour after that. Ye wont get a chance to go out during assesment. There is 1 group assessment and 1 by yourself. Interview is 30 min long. Id reccommend heuston car park or even the ashling hotel its bout 5 min walk across d luas bridge from eircom its 2 euro an hour and you just get a ticket and pay what you owe before leaving.

How did people get on today? Mines tomorrow,and for the life of me I don't know what to prepare for, is the interview tough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Mcbaine1990

How did people get on today? Mines tomorrow,and for the life of me I don't know what to prepare for, is the interview tough?

How'd you get in yourself, inspector?

Wasn't too bad at all, only hard bit is the face to face. Other than that it's prity much common sense.

Just for people wondering, I got there an hour and half early, so went to get a coffee and Sambo in hueston, cheapest thing I could find was 5 euro and coffee was 3, I left and found a subway right behind the eircom building, fairly empty and has plenty of seats and toilet. So if you get there early it might be worth your while getting a coffee around there. Good place to read over notes.

Wasn't too bad at all, only hard bit is the face to face. Other than that it's prity much common sense.

Just for people wondering, I got there an hour and half early, so went to get a coffee and Sambo in hueston, cheapest thing I could find was 5 euro and coffee was 3, I left and found a subway right behind the eircom building, fairly empty and has plenty of seats and toilet. So if you get there early it might be worth your while getting a coffee around there. Good place to read over notes.

Having completed the assessments how do ye find eircom so far in the brief time you spent in headquarters and from those staff you met ?

focusowner wrote: »
    Having completed the assessments how do ye find eircom so far in the brief time you spent in headquarters and from those staff you met ?

Everyone's really nice friendly, only met one or 2 people from eircom, everyone else is cut-e staff outside recruitment agency.

There was a good few from eircom throughout the day. The 4 i think from e cut just kind of organised the candidates for the day and brought them around. The marking of candidates is in eircoms hands now, e cut are just organising at this stage. All those assessors that came into the room just after the phychologist and e cut staff spoke and took documents were eircom. They are present as you are briefly saying who you are. Then they follow you for the group assesment. There was 6 people at least there whatching when we did group excersise split between each table, from eircom. Some of these then did the individual assessments and then 2 other eircom people interviewed you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭HoggyRS

If one of the lads who has served this apprenticeship wouldnt mind saying; did many of ye get kept on after ye finished? Also this might be a bit cheeky but what is a ballpark figure for the wages during training and after qualification? Cheers!