Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

John Joe Nevin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭megadodge

flutered wrote: »
    well, try and get you head around it, it may help the thread,

It won't if you keep making crazy statements like you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,770 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

pac_man wrote: »
    Martin Murray can't go to the states, he seems to be doing alright. Kevin Mitchell went off the rails on the drink, he's fighting for a world title next month. I wouldn't write off his career just yet.

Well "doing alright" is fine but the big bucks are in the U.S.
    That's where the major action is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭flutered

Is this purely on the basis of the court case?

well if one takes into consideration the way he allowed himself to get into a situtation were he got both his legs broken, getting into trouble with the law for brawling and perhaps being under the influence of drink more once it is on the basis of common sense, the amount of training and the time required to get to the necessary condition takes some time

megadodge wrote: »
    It won't if you keep making crazy statements like you have.

enough said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭megadodge

Ricky Hatton (a regular drinker even in his prime) was a millionaire long before he beat Kostya Tszyu.
    The Klitchkos are enormously popular in Europe and are very, very rich because of it.
    The old notion that you had to make it in the US to earn big bucks has long been disproved. The live fight attendances in Europe tend to outnumber their US equivalents. Outside of Manny in Cowboys stadium, you just don't get huge stadium fights in the US like you do in Europe.

he needs to get into a serious training camp, under a harsh regieme, away from distractions, has he got the bottle for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,139 ✭✭✭✭walshb

If JJN ever gets to Mitchell's level/exposure/opportunity he'd have done a complete 360 on his career I'd say. Personally I can't see the career taking off. That is the key. It needs to actually take off first!

This is not about making it in the U.S for Nevin. It's about making it anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 54,770 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Ricky Hatton (a regular drinker even in his prime) was a millionaire long before he beat Kostya Tszyu.
    The Klitchkos are enormously popular in Europe and are very, very rich because of it.
    The old notion that you had to make it in the US to earn big bucks has long been disproved. The live fight attendances in Europe tend to outnumber their US equivalents. Outside of Manny in Cowboys stadium, you just don't get huge stadium fights in the US like you do in Europe.

Good. Let's hope he's not locked up then and that his backers stay with him.

When I watched the documentary, the issue of dedication wasn't lacking

It was. His body language and feel and words were as much negative as positive. He didn't seem to really embrace the pro way. Seemed out of his depth and lost. And that is without considering the going on the lash to cope with setbacks.

As stated above their has been instances were boxers have been in far worse circumstances. When I watched the documentary, the issue of dedication wasn't lacking apart from the pub scene but i might allowances for that.That scene seem to overlook his eagerness to get back training.

I don't know much about this american outfit he's with but they appear to be a mickey mouse outfit. To me his promotional arrangements are of greater concern.

which is what i meant about a serious training regime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Regardless of whether bucks can be made in Vegas or Munich, the US or Europe, I think we can all agree that he won't launch a pro career from f*cking Mullingar.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Regardless of whether bucks can be made in Vegas or Munich, the US or Europe, I think we can all agree that he won't launch a pro career from f*cking Mullingar.

That's the post to end this!

Have you ever got injured? It's a pain in the bollíx to have something that you love get taking away from you. I think it's fairly natural to feel down especially when your legs are broke.

Which goes to show the temperament of the man when he went back for more afterwards. Unreliable kind of personality for a boxer.
    You'd think he would have avoided trouble like the plague.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Halloween Jack

Well you lied. Because he's not my idol. I don't have an idol. And I never did.

And for the rest of my life I will hold the view that no educational qualification is as big an achievement as winning an Olympic medal. And to suggest it is is mind-boggling to put it mildly.

Do you have any idea how difficult it can be to earn a PHD in something like theoretical physics from an elite university? And what if your doctoral research is groundbreaking and goes on to be important? Marie curie discovered radioactive materials in getting her phd.

that pretty much blows any achievement by any Olympian out of the water for my money.

In saying that an Olympic medal is obviously a momentous achievement that cannot be compared to your big standard level 8 honours degree etc.

Have you ever got injured? It's a pain in the bollíx to have something that you love get taking away from you. I think it's fairly natural to feel down especially when your legs are broke.

I'd say it is depressing. Don't see your point really. It wasn't the whole documentary. There were aspects to it that weren't leg break related, and I didn't get much passion and enthusiasm from it. He didn't seem to display the hearty and gutsy and swaggering attitude of a big name amateur on the pr road to success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭beanie10

megadodge wrote:
    To all the great achievers on here talking about JJN being a "waster", I am now challenging ANY of you to tell what achievments in your wonderfully mature and fulfilling lives outshine an Olympic medal.

Go for it.

My greatest achievement to date does not involve 3rd level education.
    But I have managed to keep myself out of trouble, my family too. Common respect for fellow citizens IMO far out ways Olympic medals. You don't know me so don't make assumptions about my achievements. The hand outs and respect JJN was given by Mullingar has never been matched so big thanks to JJN. For your appreciation and being a super role model.megadodge your name suits you. Your doing a mega job of dodging reality it's actually laughable at this stage.

Just on a slightly separate note regarding boxers and pubs; I think some people are being slightly too puritanical about this as well. When you're in training it's often a very lonely and demanding period of time, you're hungry all of the time and always sore, injured, a bit nervous and generally p*ssed off. I know that if I didn't attempt to go socialising while training I'd go mad entirely and unfortunately in London (and especially with the Irish) pubs are a part of that at times. Likewise there's often birthdays that need to be attended etc.

However, I used to pop out for a couple of hours, have a few mineral waters and shoot at 10pm before people got too p*ssed, likewise I might head along in the day to a place that does food and have a munch and a chat for a while. There's a difference between that and hanging around pubs with lads on all day drinking binges though.

Likewise, there's three pubs I worked in or frequented over here and popping in once and a while is a great opportunity to shift tickets. Most proper pros spend half their training camp trying to flog tickets to people and pubs are the best place to do it at times. As someone said, Irish pros in America probably know every pub in New York and Boston like the back of their hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

FTA69 wrote: »
    Just on a slightly separate note regarding boxers and pubs; I think some people are being slightly too puritanical about this as well. When you're in training it's often a very lonely and demanding period of time, you're hungry all of the time and always sore, injured, a bit nervous and generally p*ssed off. I know that if I didn't attempt to go socialising while training I'd go mad entirely and unfortunately in London (and especially with the Irish) pubs are a part of that at times. Likewise there's often birthdays that need to be attended etc.

However, I used to pop out for a couple of hours, have a few mineral waters and shoot at 10pm before people got too p*ssed, likewise I might head along in the day to a place that does food and have a munch and a chat for a while. There's a difference between that and hanging around pubs with lads on all day drinking binges though.

Likewise, there's three pubs I worked in or frequented over here and popping in once and a while is a great opportunity to shift tickets. Most proper pros spend half their training camp trying to flog tickets to people and pubs are the best place to do it at times. As someone said, Irish pros in America probably know every pub in New York and Boston like the back of their hand.

The funny thing with Nevin though, going by that documentary was that going to pubs in Boston in order to promote himself/shift tickets was not really his scene, he even made mention of the fact he hated doing it and that it was out of his comfort zone. It may be shyness etc.... I get the impression hes the type of lad who may need a stiff drink or two in order to get through something like that

Olympic silver medallist John Joe Nevin was told that he will receive "no extra privileges" after failing to appear in court on a criminal charge yesterday.

The boxer was scheduled to appear at Mullingar District Court yesterday after being charged with damaging property belonging to Rosemary Nevin to the value of €200 on February 16 last year.

He had been granted bail on the charge, but when he was called to court yesterday, solicitor Patricia Cronin advised Judge Seamus Hughes that her client was training in the UK.

"I'm noting this non-appearance," the judge said. "He will get no extra privileges. He will get no extra special treatment."

Judge Hughes said he would adjourn the case until June and remanded Nevin on continuing bail.

Last week the Olympian was barred from every pub in Westmeath pending court case. Nevin was charged with being drunk in a public place and with threatening and abusive behaviour following an incident which involved up to 25 people fighting outside 'The Stillery' pub on Dominick Street in Mullingar.

The bail conditions include not entering licenced premises in Co Westmeath pending trial, remaining alcohol and drug-free and observing a curfew from 11pm to 8am.

Online Editors

He'd want to sort himself out sheepish. He needs to make the choice really, decide to be a pro boxer and move to London or the USA and accept that as a necessary sacrifice or else stay at home and do something else. This muppetry won't do him any good, he's no spring chicken either.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Feb last year was before he got his legs broken.

It's all just so bizarre!

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Feb last year was before he got his legs broken.

It's all just so bizarre!

It's actually very sad that one so gifted would abuse that gift.
    Like somebody else has said, he needs to get out of Mullingar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Is it too late for him to join the Olympic team and forget pro?

At least he could stay in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

It's actually very sad that one so gifted would abuse that gift.
    Like somebody else has said, he needs to get out of Mullingar.

WELL SAID AND VERY TRUE,LAST CHANCE TO GET OUT OF IRELAND AND CONTINUE HIS BOXING ABROAD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭bennyineire

Do you have any idea how difficult it can be to earn a PHD in something like theoretical physics from an elite university? And what if your doctoral research is groundbreaking and goes on to be important? Marie curie discovered radioactive materials in getting her phd.

that pretty much blows any achievement by any Olympian out of the water for my money.

In saying that an Olympic medal is obviously a momentous achievement that cannot be compared to your big standard level 8 honours degree etc.

It's actually a lot easier to get a PHD than it is to get an Olympic gold medal.
    I wager that there is far more work and determination involved to get up to Olympic gold medal level.
    How many people in Ireland have a PHD ? how many people in Ireland have an Olympic gold medal ?
    Just about anyone with an IQ over 100 can get a PHD if they really want it but the majority of people would never be able to get an Olympic Gold medal no matter how hard they train (except maybe that ridiculous walking race)

It's actually a lot easier to get a PHD than it is to get an Olympic gold medal.
    I wager that there is far more work and determination involved to get up to Olympic gold medal level.
    How many people in Ireland have a PHD ? how many people in Ireland have an Olympic gold medal ?
    Just about anyone with an IQ over 100 can get a PHD if they really want it but the majority of people would never be able to get an Olympic Gold medal no matter how hard they train (except maybe that ridiculous walking race)

I said elite university, say top 5 in your field. How many people in ireland have phd's in physics from MIT for example.

You are correct in saying pretty much anybody has the capacity to get a Phd of some description, but very few will ever get to the very top in certain fields of academia. It's a pyramid of many levels in both cases and its daft to suggest reaching the pinnacle of one is any easier in either case.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Are the rules different in the eyes of the law for a professional boxer who gets in a fight on the street with a randomer?

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Are the rules different in the eyes of the law for a professional boxer who gets in a fight on the street with a randomer?

I am not sure there are, but isn't there some sort of issue as regards assault with a deadly weapon when talking about a trained martial artist assaulting someone? Like a boxer or kick boxer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭bennyineire

I said elite university, say top 5 in your field. How many people in ireland have phd's in physics from MIT for example.

You are correct in saying pretty much anybody has the capacity to get a Phd of some description, but very few will ever get to the very top in certain fields of academia. It's a pyramid of many levels in both cases and its daft to suggest reaching the pinnacle of one is any easier in either case.

Yep you be right about it "its daft to suggest reaching the pinnacle of one is any easier in either case" which ironically is the point I was trying to make to you.
    But I would still wager there are many more Irish born people with a PHD in physics in a top 50 University (world wide) than Olympic medals holders.
    PHD's don't make the world turn bud.
    I have a Master's from UCD and most of my friends have a Level 7 from AIT but that don't make me better Pal

Yep you be right about it "its daft to suggest reaching the pinnacle of one is any easier in either case" which ironically is the point I was trying to make to you.
    But I would still wager there are many more Irish born people with a PHD in physics in a top 50 University (world wide) than Olympic medals holders.
    PHD's don't make the world turn bud.
    I have a Master's from UCD and most of my friends have a Level 7 from AIT but that don't make me better Pal

What are you on about? You actually did say it was easier to get a phd than an Olympic gold medal. I pointed out to you that you weren't comparing like for like. You claimed basically anybody could a PhD and that only very few could win Olympic gold. I was simply pointing out that an equally small amount of people can reach the very top in academia. The very top of academia is not any old PhD, which is probably akin to running a qualifying time for the Boston marathon or something. As for phd's not making the world go round, maybe not, but it was a fairly famous phycisist who Proved it does indeed turn, 'bud'.