Your booze limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,651 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

1 more than you....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭chocksaway

3 pints and I've a hangover. More than 4 and I'm anyones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I don't really have one to be honest.i can keep going all day/night through a session.its worrying and I pay for it big time when the music stops

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

After 10 pints I move on to spirits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I don't count but I'd guess about 8/9/10 pints on a night out before I say 'fuck it' and go home without telling anyone I'm leaving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

I don't count but I'd guess about 8/9/10 pints on a night out before I say 'fuck it' and go home without telling anyone I'm leaving.
    In Amerikay, it's known as "the Irish goodbye". :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

In Amerikay, it's known as "the Irish goodbye". :)

I never knew that. 'Ghosting' myself and my friends used to call it when we were younger (I still call it that). Disappearing and reappearing unannounced like a ghost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

For those who claim they drink 12 - 16 pints and they're not even drunk, all I can say is the bullshít is strong from those posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

Not being funny but 10 pints is standard on a big night out no?
    guys and girls i know would meet up and have 3 or 4 just waiting in the meet up pub and maybe another 1 or 2 cos someone always orders one just before everyone is ready to go.
    im in my 40s and would have 6 pints of cider whilst the OH has a bottle of wine , be going rightly but thats only a midweek type of thing.
    I'm just back from a weeks skiing with a group of 100 , we took it fairly easy and only had 2 late nights , rest of group , all middle aged would of drank constantly till 4am each night , up at 8am and starting back at lunchtime on the slopes before full session again from around 6pm.
    I do think the Irish have unique drinking habits :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

5-6 pints (or the equivalent in bottles at home as I rarely go to pubs) is the most I ever drink and that's only a few times a year. I drank 7 once but it was awful and I wouldn't do it again. Normally I will have 3-4 small bottles at the weekend and that's it. I can't hack the drinking all day thing, the last two weddings I was at I had my first drink at around 3pm but was absolutely done by the time the meal was done at around 8pm. People were still drinking 7 hours after that! :) Was also at a stag last year and the guys I was with started drinking at 12 in the day, I sipped water until about 5 or 6pm and even at that I stopped drinking before they did.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

in my far off distant youth i had a record of 21 pints of Guinness. i ended up sober and it felt like a huge waste of money.

no a days because i stick mostly to craft beers ten or 12 would make me tap out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

I wonder what is record for the most pints ever drank by someone in one sitting ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

4 pints max. More and the bedroom begins to spin wildly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭KungPao

A snifter of port is more than enough for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

KungPao wrote: »
    A snifter of port is more than enough for me.

Warres I hope?

Simon2015 wrote: »
    I wonder what is record for the most pints ever drank by someone in one sitting ?

Hard to say because of differing strengths but famously Oliver Reed drank over 100 pints in a 24 hour binge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭KungPao

Warres I hope?
    Why, of course!

*Tips hat*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Think Andre the giant holds it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Hard to say because of differing strengths but famously Oliver Reed drank over 100 pints in a 24 hour binge.

Is it normal that a guy I knew told me that he drank 100 pints a week. He seemed like he meant it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

eternal wrote: »
    Is it normal that a guy I knew told me that he drank 100 pints a week. He seemed like he meant it.

Depends on the definition of normal. It is certainly doable and I know more than one person who would be in this category.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

When Ollie Reed checked out during the making of Gladiator, there were rumours he was trying to drink a bunch of Russian sailors under the table (and arm wrestling). So Ollie would be looking at a title shot.

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2003/nov/09/foodanddrink.features10

Of that ilk, Richard Harris was also known to pop out for cigarettes and return months later. The newspapers usually told him where he had been.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

When Ollie Reed checked out during the making of Gladiator, there were rumours he was trying to drink a bunch of Russian sailors under the table (and arm wrestling). So Ollie would be looking at a title shot.

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2003/nov/09/foodanddrink.features10

Of that ilk, Richard Harris was also known to pop out for cigarettes and return months later. The newspapers usually told him where he had been.

Imagine being married to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,651 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

If half of these stories are half true, he'd be some man to go for a pint with.

http://www.drunkard.com/issues/10_06/10_06_andre_giant.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Aidric wrote: »
    Anybody saying in excess of 10 pints is having a laugh. 10 bottles sure but 10 pints, do one.
    Depends on how big & heavy they are. And if they have been eating. I never understood this bragging about being able to drink lots, I consider it a unfortunate trait to be able to "handle your drink", as it leads to unnecessary expense. I would not like a car that requires 3 times as much to travel the same distance. I know people who do brag about how much it takes to get drunk, turned out one of them used to sneak out of the pub and head down the chipper or chinese. He was eating full currys & rice on the sly and then coming back drinking more and was proud of how much he would drink.

I am proud of myself if I can get tipsy on very little drink. On christmas day I would have a huge feed and get annoyed with having to down 6-7 cans before getting tipsy to the same level as what takes 2-3 on an empty stomach.

Are there people who feel pride & brag about high levels of other drugs they need to take or "handle"? like paracetamol or aspirin?
    After 10 pints I move on to spirits
    I never understand this, people are so full of drink, which is yet to even take effect, that they move onto stronger drinks. I go the opposite way, spirits to start and lower alcohol drinks as I move on.

Its the equivalent of being at an all you can eat buffet and being stuffed and thinking "shite, I can't eat any more chicken chow mein, better get the most calorifically dense stuff I can find to squeeze in more, chocolate & butter for me."
    pconn062 wrote: »
    5-6 pints (or the equivalent in bottles at home as I rarely go to pubs)
    Just to note, 6 pints is the same volume as 10.3 bottles. I know people who will drink bottles at weddings to "pace themselves", but would never, EVER, dare drink a half pint -for fear of looking unmacho :rolleyes:

Gobshites needlessly squandering money. There is some weird stigma they associate with ordering half pints but for some bizarre reason a bottle seems ok in their crazy mental world.

if you are one of these oddballs pissing away money just remember

a half pint is 57% of a can.
    a longneck bottle is 58% of a pint.

Patww79 wrote: »
    I drank 23 one day/night when I was 19. Heady days. Still wasn't as sick as the day I drank 7 pint bottles of Smithwicks in 90 minutes for a bet in college, can't face the stuff ever since.
    Smithwicks is 3.8%, so 7 pints is like 4.4 pints of 6% cider.
    mightyreds wrote: »
    Think Andre the giant holds it
    Andre the giant was very heavy, but his dosage per kilo bodyweight was also particularly high. Apparently since he suffered from giantism it also effected his metabolic processing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

I'm more than happy with 5-6 pints and more often than not these days, it's often just the 4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

I am a bit of a bottomless pit when it comes to drinking so I don't drink very often, usually only a few times a year. It's not something that I'm delighted about, it's a pain in the arse because (a) most of your friends are wrecked drunk (sometimes from attempting to "keep up" with you) when you're just feeling slightly tipsy (b) there isn't actually enough time on an average night out for you to actually drink enough to get drunk and (c) it's so fùcking expensive.
    The most recent time I was drinking I had 12 rum and gingerales (before I ran out of time and the bar closed) and to be honest I didn't even feel merry. One of the people I was with wasn't drinking at all and she wouldn't believe me that I hadn't been drinking.
    On the other hand my husband starts getting giggly and tipsy after 3 bottles of Heineken.

I lost quite a bit of weight in the past year or so and that hasn't changed my tolerance. I don't really know the "scientific" ins and outs of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

Limit is nowhere near what it used to be. Drink very rarely now compared to 18-21 every weekend and some extra nights, 6 cans before and 4-6 in pub after. Thoughts of going over 5 pints these days unless a wedding all day yoke.. just no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

'Ghosting' myself and my friends used to call it when we were younger (I still call it that). Disappearing and reappearing unannounced like a ghost.

I've often done that. :D Sometimes I'd reach my limit and feel like I could't keep up with my mates so I'd just go home or else disappear for a while, and then reappear after a couple of hours pretending I met some young wan. It was my way of pacing myself as I just couldn't drink anymore than 4 pints in one sitting.