If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I hope they've changed their bluetooth pairing significantly since then... We've a 2.2 '08 Accord... trying to pair a new phone usually goes like this:

*press speak button*
    Me: Setup
    Car: Options are ....
    *press speak button*
    Me: Pair
    Car: Sie haben eine Sprachumschaltung angefordert. Wenn Sie diese Änderung alle gespeicherten Namen und Telefonnummern werden gelöscht akzeptieren - wollen Sie für die Durchführung dieser Änderung möchten ? You have requested a language change. If you accept this change all stored names and numbers will be deleted - do you wish to carry out this change?

:mad:
    system designed by the same people who provide irish state and semi state agencies with speech recognition menu systems

Zero zero zero two

You said 9843. Is this correct?

I hope they've changed their bluetooth pairing significantly since then... We've a 2.2 '08 Accord... trying to pair a new phone usually goes like this:

*press speak button*
    Car: Sie haben eine Sprachumschaltung angefordert. Wenn Sie diese Änderung alle gespeicherten Namen und Telefonnummern werden gelöscht akzeptieren - wollen Sie für die Durchführung dieser Änderung möchten ? You have requested a language change. If you accept this change all stored names and numbers will be deleted - do you wish to carry out this change?

:mad:

It works at least. But ya, the Bluetooth module in the accord packed it in many moons ago. First thing he said was "I better get more than two feckin years out of the Bluetooth in this yoke!" :P

*press speak button*
    Car: Sie haben eine Sprachumschaltung angefordert. Wenn Sie diese Änderung alle gespeicherten Namen und Telefonnummern werden gelöscht akzeptieren - wollen Sie für die Durchführung dieser Änderung möchten ?

You: Jawohl, Sieg heil!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I arrived back home today was greeted in cork airport by rain wind and 7 degree c will take a few days to adjust to it. 8 days sitting up and first touch of the key the golf started up no hesitation at all.

I did a load of driving today let it run down to the light and got 52.5 litres into the tank. So I'm going to start using Fuelly now to track it.

I also got some nice new parts. Something very satisfying about getting new filters.

DB89DEB0-E4DD-43C2-97C0-F5AA96C5055A_zpsqpyifhyj.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Is she a red deee red ayeee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I got ye last year...
    I got ye this year...

And I'll probably get ye next year too! 

Happy April fools day kids 

Ugh, why do DPD always ring so early :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Ugh, why do DPD always ring so early :mad:

Never too early when it's car parts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Off to an interview with Nissan this morning.
    For the Generation Next Apprentice Academy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

CianRyan wrote: »

Best of luck with it dude! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭Old diesel

I got ye last year...
    I got ye this year...

And I'll probably get ye next year too! 

Happy April fools day kids 

So you didn't buy the Audi then :eek:

Best of luck :)

Old diesel wrote: »
    So you didn't buy the Audi then :eek:
    Gvidor's "prius purchase" was a decent April Fools. A genuine WTF?

Pretending to buy an Audi is like a joke an Audi owner would come up with. :p :pac:

Old diesel wrote:
    So you didn't buy the Audi then

Haha no, scrolling through twitter, some garage had it up and I said yeah that'll do. Where would I be getting the money do drive a 131 audi!!? a5 I think it was.

Mightn't be that believable, but it still fooled 12 of ye ;) The mondeo one last year was more believable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

My 156 should be back from it's heart surgery this afternoon. Then it's time to clock up some big miles before Saturday to make sure everything is working ok.

If it's still not right then I'm going in the 166, and if that isn't going 100% either then I'll either have to rob the Mammys Spider or go in a Skoda Octavia diesel....:D

Had an appointment to get the scrapes on the back corner of the bumper fixed today. Brought the car over and they said it's too damp to do.... leave it until Tuesday. The weather's promised good next week though.

166man wrote: »
    go in a Skoda Octavia diesel....:D

Italians+world+cup.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Never realised Corktina had closed his account!

Yeah, saw that. Pity if he's gone gone. Might just be a break, re-reg for whatever reason..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

good luck cian:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Feel it went well, lads. I know someone in the office so I should know a bit more by tonight. :)
    Cheers, lads.

The vw fanboiis won't like this

http://www.carthrottle.com/post/cD6fqx/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

They VW crew would call that a nice patina and it's all part of the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I don't know what he was doing spending that much on a shíty VW in the first place. I know it is a phaeton but still.

Christ above, delete that, they'll go up the wall!! :pac:

Do we have many members with a horn for vw, apart from bpmull?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Christ...and they said the lancia beta was bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Christ...and they said the lancia beta was bad

I bet the vw was secretly built by mercedes :o going by the rust issues

Also best of luck mr ryan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Christ above, delete that, they'll go up the wall!! :pac:

Do we have many members with a horn for vw, apart from bpmull?

I think Tossy might be a fan.

Its very slippy out there in Dublin, lost traction a few times on the way to work.

OSI wrote: »
    Ha, I've just watched the whole video. They offered to repaint all of the doors, but he said no because he wanted €50,000 for the car instead because that's what he says they're worth in Germany. It's pretty **** that the car has started to rust, but the guy isn't doing himself any favours.

I thought the rust was going to be even worse tbh - BUT - it still shouldn't happen.

Would it be safe to assume this ISN'T the norm for a Pheaton????

I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

I'm a VW head/ Vag group head, unfortunetly these days the TDI let her boo lad types have ruined a great bunch of enthusiasts. Everybody forgets that's they have made some stonking cars over the years. The only thing worse than the TDI brigade is the " All VW's are rubbish" brigade. However, referring back to the original point, rust on a 2 year old car is unacceptable especially at the pinnacle of the range. On the other hand every car had their faults, Toyotas sticking accelerator led to deaths even. Honda have just recalled all 03/04 cars due to passenger airbags pressure being massively too high. Every car has its issues.