If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Be still my beating heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Superb that you are enjoying training do much, it's a matter of time and experience before this translates to races.

personally, I hate Sunday races as it seems to focus the whole weekend on a very small window of time, and that brings pressure.

I told you my experience before the start, it's as much mental training as physical training.

Well done on the report.
    You never hide, nor should you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭paddybarry

Ososlo wrote: »
    Sunday 29 March
    Dunboyne 4 Mile
    33 mins (Happy? Course not... :))

First time doing this distance. Not a goal race or anything but just to gain some more race experience and try to help overcome my racing fear by putting myself on the line once a month. I liked the fact that this was a new distance to me, so hoped to feel a bit less pressure and also I liked the fact that it was on in the afternoon so I'd be able to sleep on this morning if I'd had a poor night and I'd be able to eat something really decent 4 hours prior to the race with hours and hours for digestion which might help avoid the stitch problem.
    Got a really helpful email from the boss man the previous night going through each mile of the courses and a detailed strategy for dealing with the wind for almost every step of the race. Seriously, he needs to up his fee ;)
    Above and beyond... Thanks again.

I set a few goal times but the main goal today was for race experience and to aim to race relaxed, and to put in a good effort in a race setting.
    I knew the wind would have an impact on my time so tried to talk myself out of stressing about it.

Got there 1.5 hours before the race so registered, went to the loo and then sat in the car for an hour. I would have gone for a walk but the rain was quite heavy.
    Then the bloody nerves started to really get intense. I was so stressed I actually started crying. This is so embarrassing and I'm not sure I should be putting it in here but after a chat with AMK afterwards, I decided to be honest and log it as it is as I want my log to be a 100% honest account of my running. (Ososlo avoids Boards Beers and meeting any more Boardsies again forevermore)
    I'd read lots of tips and advice on dealing with nerves and accepting them during the week and thought I was handling it fairly well up to an hour and a half before the race. Why the press and stressure, sorry, stress and pressure- I've gad a few! Ridiculous to feel that way over a stupid race that no one in the world cares about how I do except me...
    Played Sudoku on my phone to try and distract myself for a bit and really got into it and bagged a PB time and got onto the Leaderboard in the advanced level so I thought that might bode well for what was ahead... ha ha ha...

Dried the tears (waterproof mascara thankfully so little damage done!) and headed off for the warmup.
    2 mile warm up progressing from 10min pace to 7:45 min pace and then 4 x 30 sec strides just before the off. Trying to ignore the howling wind.. At least the rain stopped.
    Was waiting in the pen for what seemed like an age before the gun went off. I never wished more that I'd had my headphones on. The chattering all around me was grating on my nerves and really bothering me. Everyone seemed to be so happy and carefree and laughing and joking. Why was I seemingly the only one near me taking it so seriously? Then I started to feel really hemmed in and claustrophobic. I was way too hot and just wanted to get out and almost just bailed...Couldn't breath... The gun couldn't come quickly enough.

Ignored the watch as I knew from the start that this wasn't gonna be pretty so didn't want to be too disheartened. Just ran the best I could by feel.

First 2 miles I felt weak. Not sure what was up with me. Was running alone for most of it so couldn't get any group shelter. There were long stretches which were very exposed on the main road. The group in front was too far ahead and didn't want to sprint to catch up and die a death. I had hoped these miles would be in the 7:45 range as it certainly felt like that effort. Not to be in actuality ...
    Miles 1&2 8.05, 8.08. I usually enjoy the first mile at least of any race I've done but I didn't enjoy any of today.
    Third mile I should have been able to make up some time as the wind was behind me but I still felt sick and had the beginnings of a stitch which I didn't want to develop into a full blown one so just took it fairly easy- 8.11
    Nightmare last mile. 8.31. Similar to Rathcoffey regarding the stitch and thoughts of DNFing crossed my mind more than once, especially when I passed the car. Death-march to the end battling the wind, the stitch and my demons telling me to just stop running and pull out. I did somehow manage a little spurt towards the finish line at 7.11 pace for the last few mins coming into the village.
    Felt perfect immediately afterwards so I'll recover quickly from this one.
    No point in saying I wasn't disappointed. Worse case scenario today would have been 32 mins so a min slower than that was disappointing to say the least.
    Anyways, that's another one under the belt and I'll chalk it all down to experience. Not gonna beat myself up over it as I'm still amazed I didn't drop out. It would have been so easy. When you know you're on for a cr*p time from early on in the race it's very very hard to keep any momentum up for the rest of the race. I really feel now that the stress is bringing on the stitch. It's nothing to do with food or drink or tight muscles. I think it's just nerves.

And then there was the wind of course... Times in general seem to be slower than other years so it was never gonna be great for me today.

It is what it is for today. Tomorrow will be better :) as Zeus is my witness..I am far better than this. As for Zephyrus, well he can just **** off...

Got a shout out from Wowzer during the race and chatted to him after. Great to meet a new Boardsie for a chat. He got me at a really bad time though as I was feeling very disheartened at the time after just crossing the finish line. I'm not normally as - 'vague' as that...
    Did 2 mile warm down and met AMK doing similar and we had a good long chat about the race and recent shenanigans around this place. Thanks A you really helped me put things into perspective today. It was a pleasure to chat.

Weekly total: 36 miles
    Now back to more "pointless sessions" and "high mileage"! Just the way I like it. BRING IT ON!
    Parkruns are a great and stress free way of getting use to a race environment. Even just running them (as oppose to racing them) as part of a session/run could reap big dividends for target races. Just a thought.........

I really enjoy reading your log. Best of luck.
    PB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Well done for finishing... you didn't talk yourself out of it and that's positive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

+1 on the parkrun suggestion. They're not "real" races so its a great way to experience racing without the pressure of a goal race.

Zephyrus has a *lot* to answer for (I truncated my LSR today ...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭wowzer

You should see me after a race when I'm disappointed, you were surprisingly pleasant today. As I said to you today and AMK also alluded today, the running and training is the easy part getting your head right is the hard one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

wowzer wrote: »
    You should see me after a race when I'm disappointed, you were surprisingly pleasant today. As I said to you today and AMK also alluded today, the running and training is the easy part getting your head right is the hard one.

Welcome back:D
    Now where's that log of yours!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

really well done out there today, sorry to have missed you! would have kept a special eye out :-) it was crazy windy. I love the honesty in your log.

Firedance wrote: »
    really well done out there today, sorry to have missed you! would have kept a special eye out :-) it was crazy windy. I love the honesty in your log.

thanks.
    Were you in the hall? I wasn't going to go in but my car was hemmed in for a while so slipped in for the prize giving. Would have liked to have met yourself and Bungy Girl.
    Definitely next year! It's one for the calendar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Runchick

Well done on racing today and beating those demons - decent enough result under the circumstances. Sounds like lots of your energy was used up before the gun went off - the nerves sound draining :( Do you think the sleep issues were about race nerves? Good for you for confronting something that you dislike so much - I've no doubt you'll learn to love racing though :D

Ososlo wrote: »
    thanks.
    Were you in the hall? I wasn't going to go in but my car was hemmed in for a while so slipped in for the prize giving. Would have liked to have met yourself and Bungy Girl.
    Definitely next year! It's one for the calendar!

yes I was, was out marshalling then went in for some cake :-) I did see AMK but was not certain if it was him so chickened out of saying hi, we really gotta get a secret boards something or other so we can recognise each other!! Well done again :-)

Firedance wrote: »
    yes I was, was out marshalling then went in for some cake :-) I did see AMK but was not certain if it was him so chickened out of saying hi, we really gotta get a secret boards something or other so we can recognise each other!! Well done again :-)

Say hello next time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

A lot of positives to take from that today A. Tough windy day so a great session if nothing else. Race experience under the belt. Signs of mental strength that is O so important.

You'll conquer the nerves with more experience don't worry. They won't disappear but you will embrace them and use them to your advantage . Well done on a good honest effort.

....The only real negative from today.....Well..... I wasn't there ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

This is not going to be a popular post in this particular training log.

You've stated before that you get really nervous before races, to be honest I have no idea why a mid pack runner like you or me would get nervous before a race but that's not my point here. Your coach, knowing your pre race jitters, made a point of analysing every mile, what to in the wind, what if your lace opens, what if your hair goes into your mouth etc etc. That type of advice will always feed your nerves, it adds to the tension.

You should try ignore that advice and ignore boards before your next race as it doesn't help you one bit.

I've prob wasted my time posting this but I think you need a break from the back slapping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Say hello next time :)

Might be time to post that pin up picture again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Gavlor wrote: »

You've stated before that you get really nervous before races, to be honest I have no idea why a mid pack runner like you or me would get nervous before a race but that's not my point here. Your coach, knowing your pre race jitters, made a point of analysing every mile, what to in the wind, what if your lace opens, what if your hair goes into your mouth etc etc. That type of advice will always feed your nerves, it adds to the tension.

You should try ignore that advice and ignore boards before your next race as it doesn't help you one bit.

I've prob wasted my time posting this but I think you need a break from the back slapping.
    Hi Gavlor, I think you snipped half your post...the 'constructive advice bit' is missing... ;)

ah no it wasn't like that at all. it was just a bit of friendly advice. I also consulted with the other weatherman in my life and he also gave me a few tips.

BTW I did try and ignore Boards before this race!!!!! I posted Monday and my plan was not to post until after the race, however, I had a little visitor in the meantime and I couldn't hold back from responding. Therein lies my weakness.

I'm not inviting backslapping and I abhor that term.
    Your comments are always welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi Gavlor, I think you snipped half your post...the 'constructive advice bit' is missing... ;)[/

That pretty much sums up what's wrong with boards.

As the saying goes, if you always do what you've always done you'll always get what you've always got.

Hey A, fwiw, I think you're doing a grand job. You're aware of all the areas that need work and I can see incremental improvements each time. Your inner strengths for facing your demons is 'wow', time after time you do it. Well done on resisting a dnf too. Perhaps you spent too much time in the car? It's a tricky one to call: I would absolutely hate to get to a race with only *just enough* time to register, warm up etc but on the other hand, there is such a thing as too early....
    Onwards and like everyone here, love and appreciate the honesty. Do not change that!

Hi Gavlor, I think you snipped half your post...the 'constructive advice bit' is missing... ;)[/

That pretty much sums up what's wrong with boards.

As the saying goes, if you always do what you've always done you'll always get what you've always got.

:o perhaps our humours are a little divergent.

do you mean repeating the same mistakes? probably something I'd be guilty of.. the older you get, the harder it is to change... and I'm only speaking for myself in that in that comment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Fair play to you A - I think we all underestimate just how big the mental side of this running\training\racing craic is - obviously for some, its no bother at all...they just rock up to the start line and run. For the rest of us mortals, there's usually a whole range of conversations to be had with those doubting devils that lurk in the shadows!

I don't know what your various running targets were for the day but to be honest, the actual running result should come secondary.... overcoming the situation that unfolded by finishing as strong as you did HAS to be a good result. Well done.

Duanington wrote: »
    Fair play to you A - I think we all underestimate just how big the mental side of this running\training\racing craic is - obviously for some, its no bother at all...they just rock up to the start line and run. For the rest of us mortals, there's usually a whole range of conversations to be had with those doubting devils that lurk in the shadows!

I don't know what your various running targets were for the day but to be honest, the actual running result should come secondary.... overcoming the situation that unfolded by finishing as strong as you did HAS to be a good result. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Another tough day, O. I share your disappointment because I can see plainly that you're not doing yourself justice when it comes to race day - and that's when it's all supposed to come together if you've got things right. So something is not right, that's for sure. And you're the best placed person to know what that is. I'm sure you'll figure it out, and I look forward to seeing you enjoy a race, which is supposed to be the reward for all the work you are doing, and doing well.

The most obvious suggestion has been made many times and I think it's still the best: parkrun.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Another tough day, O. I share your disappointment because I can see plainly that you're not doing yourself justice when it comes to race day - and that's when it's all supposed to come together if you've got things right. So something is not right, that's for sure. And you're the best placed person to know what that is. I'm sure you'll figure it out, and I look forward to seeing you enjoy a race, which is supposed to be the reward for all the work you are doing, and doing well.

The most obvious suggestion has been made many times and I think it's still the best: parkrun.
    Thanks D and congrats on your half.
    Yes lots of Parkruns in my future for sure. I'll be pacing someone in one next week and will fit in another one where I'm racing it towards the end of the April. Need a few weeks to get over the trauma of today first!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Park runs are a good start but even better are BHAA races. Really sociable but competitive. I'd actually recommend the bhaa races more. Same faces at them all the time so you can swap war stories with fellow competitors over a cup of tea every couple of weeks. Regards nerves we all get them. Have been close to pulling a couple of times myself in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Ha ha I'm on my phone that should real puking above :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Park runs are a good start but even better are BHAA races. Really sociable but competitive. I'd actually recommend the bhaa races more. Same faces at them all the time so you can swap war stories with fellow competitors over a cup of tea every couple of weeks. Regards nerves we all get them. Have been close to pulling a couple of times myself in the past.

+1 to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I think Gavlor is being misconstrued here (we all know him he is a straight shooter and has good intentions).
    Sometimes I do think there is way too much backslapping on a lot of logs and I don't think it does anyone any good. When something is not going right, people should feel free to point it out without being rounded on. You guys should have seen the logs a few years ago, way more debate and calling people out when appropriate.

Anyway, unlucky today, it think it was pretty windy which wouldn't have helped times. Just on training; I notice you do most sessions well above actual race pace. While I know you are doing them on feel and would like to be racing faster, maybe it would be an idea to dial back the pace on sessions a tad to reflect actual paces? I think sometimes taking one step back like that can help you take 2 steps forward.

Comments all noted and appreciated. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,097 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

menoscemo wrote: »
    I think Gavlor is being misconstrued here (we all know him he is a straight shooter and has good intentions).
    Sometimes I do think there is way too much backslapping on a lot of logs and I don't think it does anyone any good. When something is not going right, people should feel free to point it out without being rounded on. You guys should have seen the logs a few years ago, way more debate and calling people out when appropriate.

Anyway, unlucky today, it think it was pretty windy which wouldn't have helped times. Just on training; I notice you do most sessions well above actual race pace. While I know you are doing them on feel and would like to be racing faster, maybe it would be an idea to dial back the pace on sessions a tad to reflect actual paces? I think sometimes taking one step back like that can help you take 2 steps forward.

Big +1

And that's from personal experience of logging here. Sometimes a valid point being made against a tide of positivity looks like a grenade being thrown in. Likewise those more experienced members here who perhaps see things that could be improved can see nothing but positives as a back slapping procession.

Personally (not claiming to be one of those experienced members) it's clear to me that you love running but its also creating huge negativity and drama in your life when it comes to racing in particular. You're out here in public logging it and fair play to you for continuing to do so but it's also fair to say the training history, coaching and methods are a source of big interest to the forum here. So you spend a lot of time justifying the training and then feeling big pressure on race day. If your instinct was to stay away from boards in the run up to the race that says a lot about how the log here maybe isn't really helping you.

I do hope you get over the drama of the race day experience and get to enjoy a stress free PB soon.