Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

WHAT ABOUT MAH LEGS, CHARLIE MURPHY??!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭dylbert

Edwardius wrote: »
    Squat: did a single at 85kg and opened a beer. It was a heineken :(:(:(

I'd rather squat than drink heineken!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,234 Mod ✭✭✭✭Edwardius

dylbert wrote: »
    I'd rather squat than drink heineken!

You can see how little I wanted to squat then!

Trained on friday, had an hour, just snatched 90, missed 97 behind
    C&J 100 (jerk still fecked)
    Pause FS: 110
    some pulls

Trained down in CSP in Bray. Savage place, sound bunch of lads

Snatch: got 100 on the third go
    C&J 110, couldn't stand 115
    pause FS: 110, missed 115 somehow

Tabata Airdyne (that was dumb)

Leg strength just dies if I get a bad run of training. Oh well, back up the mountain once more!

Lifted in the ECB/Fugees/DCU/Phoenix christmas comp. Couldn't ask for a better bunch.

Snatch:
    93-97(behind)-100(5kg comp pb!!)

100 felt like it was going to be a deadlift but somehow I got under it.

C&J:
    105(press)-105-110 (jerk was miles off)

So a 205 total again with 100/105! I went too heavy on the jerk on thursday. I'm ok to snatch heavy two days or even one day out but the jerk seems to need more recovery. Cleans were ok but, again, leg strength is down. I need to drop 5kg (it's all fatty beery fattiness) and add 18kg to the comp total (11kg to training pbs) to get to the seniors in 2015. I need to hit the following consistently in training to get there:

Snatch:103 (+1kg on training PB)
    C&J: 120 (+10kg)
    Power Clean: 110 (+4kg but I think I could have had it a few times in training)
    Power Jerk: 110 (+10kg)
    power Snatch: 88-92 (I did 89 once but it's not consistent)
    Clean 125 (+10Kg)
    Jerk 125 (+10kg)
    Back squat 165 (+10)
    Front squat 135 (+10)
    Push Press 105 (+10)

The ratios are skewed due to the way I'm stuck together. There's a solid year's work needed to consistently hit those numbers.

Trained last night, just messed around with hip snatches up to 80, jerk variations, zombies and grip work. Nothing overly structured though.

Trained on CF fifteen on Wednesday with Apti Aukhadov. He was honoured and privileged to meet his idol.

Snatched up to 95.

Apti reckons my snatch is good. at the top weights I'm not extending the ankles enough (take that, internet).

missed a 110 clean, worked back down. He touched my quad like a healer and said "this is your problem, you need to sit, ten times".

I then smashed my carotid artery with a clean and went night-night for a wee while

So I've to do tens.

The interpreter did affect things a little but you could pick up most things from the gestures and movements.

Training tomorrow afternoon with the "Southside Cell" of ECB

• Registered Users Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭dylbert

Edwardius wrote: »
    Apti reckons my snatch is good. at the top weights I'm not extending the ankles enough (take that, internet).

Triple extension :eek:, someone should inform him that all the top American lifters are doing the catapult :P.

dylbert wrote: »
    Triple extension :eek:, someone should inform him that all the top American lifters are doing the catapult :P.

Religion is a terrible thing!

Trained on Monday.
    Jerks, hang stuff, deficit pulls, pause front squats and vertical push-pull. I pulled something in my foot during jerks. Beer then followed, sadness then followed, then more beer and cake with a side of no weightlifting.

Haven't done anything since the 23rd, longest layoff in a long time, played it by ear and took it reasonably easy.

Was training in a PL gym there so had to kinda adapt a bit

High hang power sn doubles... up to where it turned into a squat.
    60-65-70-75

PC+PJ
    up to 90kg for a single

hang sn pull: 3x3 85kg

front squerps with a pause, doubles 90-90-95

Binchin and rowin' 3x8 at 60-65kg

Planks x 3

Messed around with a log.

Jerk practice up to 90x2
    snatch doubles at 80, dizzy
    PC+J doubles at the same
    Back squattin' 110 4x6
    press 55kg SS Pullups (30x0 on pullups #internet)
    Pinch grips, 25kg plate then 20kg

Just realised I haven't back squatted in a while. Adductors have IOMS

C&J: ball load of doubles at 88
    Hip snatch 65
    Front squats, doubles 90
    Kurlz and lower back.

Much soreness today. I'm ****ing up my catch on cleans, they're a bit rusty. Jerks were OK.

Jerk, up to a double at 100

Pause snatch, doubles at 80, felt good

Snatch pull triples 100

Btnpp, doubles 90

Speed ish Deadlift doubles 140

Evil wheel

I miss jerk blocks

Saturday:
    C&J doubles on the jerk, 90kg
    clean pulls: 120kg
    Jerk drives: 120kg
    Pause front: doubles 95kg
    bench, row

Right, trained mon, tue and today. Basically trying to get 100kg overhead in various ways each session for the next six weeks or so. Did some deficit snatches up to 90, BTNSGPP to 103kg, back squats to 125x3, seated row. Ran out of time for benchin'.

No access to jerk blocks these days and I can't lower to my shoulders without ending up with numb hands the next day so I end up doing a lot of power cleans, which messes with volume monitoring. I'll probably end up with an adequate power clean though

Hmmm, power jerked up to 105
    hang cleaned 105 (somewhere higher than mid thigh), doubles at 100
    split squats 50kg 3x5
    deficit DL 160
    press+pullups

Haven't used a belt in a while, largely because I left it in Refugees and have been too lazy to go get it

Sn from hip up to 85x2 88x1
    High thigh clean up to 105x2
    RFE split squats up to 55x5
    Single leg rdl,3x5 40kg
    Press 55kg 5-5-9
    Pullup 5-5-10

Drove about 700km last weekend. My hip became a little unhappy during the dl.

Lol, my left ql exploded just after I wrote the last line. Stood up and felt like someone stabbed it.

Yesterday:
    back was still a bit sore but it's the type of pain that I can train through without breaking anything.

Power jerk to 105, push press 90x2, arms.

this morning:
    HPC: 90 for a couple singles
    BTNPP: 80 3x3
    Cl DL: 150x2, 160x1

Overhead everything is improving a lot. yesterday was higher volume than I intended because I was foolin' with some things.

Later that evening:

bench+cable row 3x15

Yesterday: Jerks to 110, doubles at 100
    Jerk drives and rack holds 130 and 180
    hang clean 105, 100x3
    front squat: 10x92

Snerp from hip: up to 2x80, 7x70(lulz). Missed some singles at 85, lacked a bit of pop
    HPC: up to 100x2
    Def Sn grip DL:
    3x3x120, paused at three points on eccentric of last reps
    split squat:
    50x6,6,8
    press: 58x5,5,6
    pullups: 5,5,12

Yest'day:
    Power jerk: 100x2
    push press: 90
    RDL: 80
    Arms

• Registered Users Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Tim76

Great thread title :D

Squattin': 120-130 for doubles, finished with 120x6
    benchin': fives at 72.5
    deadliftin': doubles at 150

Both knees were giving me grief during the week but were fine with squats. I'm gonna stop doing jerk drives and lowering from overhead. There's some nasty forces getting transmitted through them. Deloading next week, then two more weeks of this craic followed by a preparation phase.

Deloading the classical stuff this week...

Jerk to 90,
    didn't bother with jerk drives, my knees no likey. I've an inflamed PCL

front squat 10x94

Not a great session. Trained in the morning without coffee. Bad move.

Wrecked today. Ate a load of carbs before training, was still tired going in though. Played it by ear

Felt good but kept volume low, intensity fairly high.

Hang snatch (mid thigh, PCL is angry reversing from the power position (as the cersferts call it):
    90x3: massive PB

Hang clean: 105x2 PB

Stripped it to 90 to power clean it and it actually felt like 60... Screw it... singles at
    100-105-109(pb)-111(pb)-113(f)-113(****ing 7kg PB)

Split squat:
    6-6-7 at 50kg

Press:
    8x50kg

pullups:

Good deload brah

Went to the Apti seminar in Crossfit Fifteen last night. He's training for the Russian championships so the first part involved him working up to something like 160 on the clean and jerk and then rack jerking 190kg. He hit fairly high reps in his lighter sets but it may not be representative of how he'd train normally given that he had an audience. His English is patchy enough so he was talking through an interpreter.

As these things normally go, he went through key technical points, had people lift and went around correcting them. He's not fond of how I jump back (I was jumping forward a few months back so kinda overcorrected) and reckons my legs go dead at the top of the pull on max weights (my feet get welded). Snatched up to 97.5 handy enough.

My neck was giving me serious grief at this stage so I C&J up to 100. He reckons I need to stop gripping the bar in the rack (I'm kinda doing that as a bit of a crutch)

Following this he covered some assistance exercises and placed a big emphasis on the lower back. Finally he invited everyone around for a Q&A session, which was interesting.

For someone so talented and accomplished he carried himself with humility and had a very personable way about him. There was no big swagger or screaming like you'd see with other (less talented) lifters.

Saturday: Fugees,
    squats up to 125x7
    RDL 80x3x8
    planks 3 sets.

That's it! no deads because I'm pretending to deload.

Yesterday:
    Jerk up to 100x3. Took a long time to get comfortable
    bunch of power clean singles at 80
    FS to 96x6
    did some leg curlz and leg presses

Today:
    HPS
    80 for a couple doubles

HPC+PJ sets of 2+1 up to 94

Split squat:
    one set, didn't feel good today

Press: 55x6
    pullups +10kg 5-5, +0kg 13
    Seated GM and Planks 3 sets

Pinch grip 3x30s x 20kg plates

KB snatch:
    40 with 20kg, one switch. Was bored and waiting for woman to finish lifting.

Power jerk:
    95x2, 106x1 (PB)
    Push Press to 90x3x2
    SGRDL: 3x8 85kg
    bench+cable row
    Abz

Yesterday

HC&J to 105
    Squat to 130x5
    Dl 130x10

New phase starting tomorrow. Sadness and hugening guaranteed.

Had to adjust a little today because I was still a little stiff and in a hurry.

Hang muscle snatch 71kg

(Clean+hcl) to // + pj + j up to 85

Back squat 120x5

Grand.