Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - See Mod Warning in OP, 09/11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

We beat City tommorow

Then they'll believe us

#MakeUsDream?? #WeGoAgain?? #NearlyThereSon??

All the good ones are taken as you can see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

K4t wrote: »
    Hazard is the best player in the league at winning penalties. It's a talent in itself.

Its pretty easy when youre taken out to get penalties alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Lose tomorrow and we're level with Newcastle. Astonishing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Lose tomorrow and we're level with Newcastle. Astonishing.

You're a United fan????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Timmyctc wrote: »
    You're a United fan????

Most posters know what he is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

zerks wrote: »
    The problem tomorrow is,if we win then the naysayers will say "sure City are in poor form",if we lose then it's "United can't match City's quality,Manchester is Blue".

why do you care what anyone says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

kryogen wrote: »

guy i know posts that we go again thing again and again its rerally cringeworthy reading it tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

why do you care what anyone says

i agree i dont give a rats what media and muppets say about us... i really think van gaal is the man for the job and he is gonna do something special with the team he is building...

Timmyctc wrote: »
    You're a United fan????
    I'm a football fan with a penchant for Utd....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

guy i know posts that we go again thing again and again its rerally cringeworthy reading it tbh

Every single one of them is ****ing horrendous, the books they have on the "glorious" campaign of last season is so hard to laugh anymore at its so pathetic. I guess I am just not at the point in my life when I am a big enough person to not mock them on these days.

I took plenty last year in work, I am enjoying the plight this year.

On to the match, I am not as positive as I was last week for some reason, I suppose its our away form, and I dont see City losing 3 in a week. I hope we play to at least the same level as last week. With that we can certainly get something if City have another below par day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Every single one of them is ****ing horrendous, the books they have on the "glorious" campaign of last season is so hard to laugh anymore at its so pathetic. I guess I am just not at the point in my life when I am a big enough person to not mock them on these days.

Whuh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Technophobe

I'm a football fan with a penchant for Utd....
    ...and Danny Welbeck.. :)

No Gary, Oscar's finish wasn't goal of the day. It wasn't even the best goal in that match. Wanyama was goal of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

No Gary, Oscar's finish wasn't goal of the day. It wasn't even the best goal in that match. Wanyama was goal of the day.

Are you ok, son?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Just looking at MOTD there now, it's worrying how many centre backs I would gladly have at United right now :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

If last year has taught me anything, it's taught me to never ever show a Liverpool fan any mercy.

Give 'em death, son.:D

pablo128 wrote: »
    If last year has taught me anything, it's taught me to never ever show a Liverpool fan any mercy.

Give 'em death, son.:D

Yep, this. Last season soaked up every last drop of compassion I had towards Liverpool and their 20+ years of mainly failure. Looking forward to them losing another few games and then let the 'Brendan Rodgers is a football genius' chants begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/louis-van-gaal-orders-pampered-4551010

I like LVG more and more. Although I doubt he has actually "declared war" on the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Plight, yet we're still ahead of Utd. Funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭Quandary

Mr Alan wrote: »

Alan, do you think Liverpool will still be ahead of Utd come the end of the season? And of course it is still early days and impossible to predict the future, but based on the season up to now?

I can't see it happening. Utd are starting to get their act together whereas Liverpool seem to be going in the opposite direction. There are a lot of very concerned Pool fans out there at the moment and with very good reason too IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

stankratz wrote: »
    Yep, this. Last season soaked up every last drop of compassion I had towards Liverpool and their 20+ years of mainly failure. Looking forward to them losing another few games and then let the 'Brendan Rodgers is a football genius' chants begin.

Chants AND fly overs surely.. Might as well keep it as classy as last season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

It is a plight though. Most United fans have realised that a bit of time is necessary and the signs are there that things are getting better, still in and around the same position as it was at the end of last season but looking much better on the pitch in general, worse in defence though :o
    Liverpool on the other hand are spiralling at this moment in time, it needs to be turned around very quickly or it could get really ugly. It seems anyone has a good chance at taking points off Liverpool, home or away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Spoiler if you buy the Mail on Sunday

There is a David Moyes exclusive in the Mail on Sunday.
    He starts off by talking how he first signed Fellaini for Everton and how it was a last minute dash to Brussels on transfer deadline day with time running out.
    He said they went to Belgium willing to spend at most about £11m to £12m on Fellaini but time was running out and they ended up paying £15m.
    Moyes said it was a lot of money for Everton in 2008 and he is always careful when it comes to spending the club's money.

It is a good read on how Fellaini was signed the first time to bring him to the Premiership as it was then. It was chaotic. Moyes calls the experience at the hotel where the deal was too take place a 'complete car crash', the hotel was still being built...

Moyes was worried about Fellaini's hair and would it affect his headers by slowing them down.

Moyes said he brought him to United because he is technically very good, has 'fantastic' chest control of the ball, very professional, works hard, he will do anything asked of him and all you hear from him after a training sesion is a 'thank you coach'.

Moyes says Fellaini was very excited about the move to United. His father was in tears he was so happy, he was a former professional footballer.

Moyes says Fellaini was not suppose to be the only signing, and he talks about the pressure that put on Fellaini when things didn't go well.
    Moyes says how when times were tough he would tell Fellaini he would become a top United player if he just kept working hard. Then he says it was hard on Fellaini when he left and he was upset as they had a great relationship and Moyes felt bad over that as he had told Fellaini he would be there for years, but then this is football he says...

He finishes by saying how delighted he is for Fellaini after watching the last two games and he needed last season someone like Daley Blind as a defensive midfielder to work along side him, that he had Phil Neville at Everton. Defour and/or Witsel at Standard Liege.

Moyes finishes by saying Fellaini is a damn fine footballer who was worth the effort and the money.

I just want to say, I hope Fellaini reads this before the game today. David Moyes is a really good person, pity it didn't work out for him at United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭KH25

^^^fair play to Moyes. He really does come across as a genuinely nice guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

The big difference between the two teams this year is that United have mostly been putting in a decent shift. Our defensive frailties are obvious but we are once again a potent and dangerous team going forward. Liverpool on the other hand have been more or less woeful to watch, devoid of leadership, static in attack and weak in defence. Last year ye had LS on absolute fire to mask the failings elsewhere, this year ye dont. Plus BR has once again proven to be shocking in the transfer market.

Last year was a blip for Liverpool, it really was a one man team and as every game goes past that is becoming more and more evident.

So yes, plight is a perfectly apt description of how their season has been going thus far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

The big difference between the two teams this year is that United have mostly been putting in a decent shift.

That's not true at all? :confused:

With a couple of exceptions, Utd have been absolutely piss poor this season. Same as Liverpool.

I don't know who'll finish ahead of who to be honest. But both teams are pretty ****e at the moment so it's like 2 retards arguing over who is less retarded.

I was simply scoffing at Utd fans laughing at Liverpool's season being so ****e, while they sit behind Liverpool in the table. Seems weird.

I know that monumental draw last week has Utd fans thinking the team is world beaters but I'd suggest you maybe hold off a while before popping out the champagne gents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Ahh would ya **** off with the Liverpool v United ****e. Jesus lads.

IT'S MATCHDAY!

Rojo and Aguero may be team mates when playing for Argentina but they don't get on well together.

In the Mail, same page as the Moyes exclusive, it says Aguero didn't turn up for a charity event which had been scheduled weeks in advance for the Argentinian players to attend, Zabaleta, Di Maria and Rojo turned up. Rojo joked "I thought he would be here, just like you did, maybe he is scared."

At the world cup Aguero and Rojo exchanged angry words after Rojo brought his friend a pop star by the name of El Polaco into the dressing room after one of the WC games.
    El Polaco happens to be the former boyfriend of Aguero's partner and Aguero was furious with Rojo over this.

Rojo says he will be marking Aguero and says one needs to be tough with Aguero. Rojo says close marking and strong tackles needed.

MagicIRL wrote: »

IT'S MATCHDAY!

True, after my first post today I had to check back some posts to see if I was in the right thread, thought I had embarrassingly posted in the Liverpool thread, even though it said Manchester United in the link.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

MagicIRL wrote: »

IT'S MATCHDAY!

Soz bbz.

:(