Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

AC/DC New album and Tour.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,529 ✭✭✭✭briany

McDave wrote: »
    All the bios I've read say Angus is into his smoking, and doesn't do booze. Malcolm has had his drinking. As did Phil.

Bon seemed to have been into everything, although at the time of his death Angus said Bon wasn't a heavy drinker and didn't do drugs. Bon went off and did a lot of socialising on his own though, so there's probably no real way of Angus knowing for a fact what he was getting up to.

There's not much said about Cliff and Brian who both seem to be quiet enough in their private lives. In fact, I kind of like the fact that they *have* private lives!

Bon was a good bit older than the rest of the band and moved in a different social circle that he would have established before joining. There would have been almost 10 years between Angus/Mark and Bon. To him, hanging around with his bandmates might have felt a bit like being the old guy at the party.

Weird to think that Bon had a short dalliance with heroin (snorting, if I'm not mistaken). I always thought of him as a real blue collar sort. Seems he was actually quite a complicated fellow. For example, look at his early days in hippie-dippy prog rock outfit Fraternity, complete with beard and recorder!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ush

ush wrote: »
    IALWTTT(IYWTRNR)

Doubly true in Scott's case,

Exhibit B

• Registered Users Posts: 233 ✭✭txpjl

Guys,
    Are AC/DC doing a tour of Ireland or is it already done?

T

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

txpjl wrote: »
    Guys,

T

Nothing has been announced yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

txpjl wrote: »
    Guys,

T

There will be no irish tour, just 1 date

scudzilla wrote: »
    There will be no irish tour, just 1 date

Hope it's not Slane. My gut tells me that would be awful messy.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 NelsonVanAlden

The Slane rumor has been around forever it aint going to happen. I heard Brian say in a recent interview on the Pat "filthy bags" Kenny show that there will be an Irish date.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 65 ✭✭Taajsgpm

me2 in 1982 How can Brian still sing? I dont think so.... sorry but boy could he ever in the day I guess iits a sentimental thing cheers !

• Registered Users Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Taajsgpm wrote: »
    me2 in 1982 How can Brian still sing? I dont think so.... sorry but boy could he ever in the day I guess iits a sentimental thing cheers !

Dafuq?!

Did anyone hear Brian Johnson on the Pat Kenny show talking about cars? Not really into cars, myself, but Brian's always a pleasure to listen to. He's done a great job of keeping himself down to earth over the years. You can imagine him wandering into a chipper and having great banter with the staff or something while waiting on his order, still chatting even as he's walking out the door with his chips.

" 'Tarrah, me darlin'! * Gets into a 60s mini* "

• Registered Users Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

There is due to be an announcement tomorrow for a gig taking place in croker next summer......could this be it?!

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭colmufc

There is due to be an announcement tomorrow for a gig taking place in croker next summer......could this be it?!

unfortunately it does not seem to be them , big money is on script and ed sheeran

• Registered Users Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

colmufc wrote: »
    unfortunately it does not seem to be them , big money is on script and ed sheeran

god%20meme%20faces%20white%20background%20oh%20oh%20god%201504x1341%20wallpaper_www.wallpaperfo.com_78.jpg

• Registered Users, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

colmufc wrote: »

I can't believe an act that bad could fill a stadium....the mind boggles:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

To be fair to The Script they do at least play instruments and write their own songs while I wouldn't miss them if I never heard them again, they are more worthy of respect than those One Direction scrotes, who will vanish the second they stop making money for Cowell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

I'm quite content with the fact that I couldn't name one song by the Script.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ush

The what? Ed who?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭blastman

It's going to be Robbie Williams, lads, now can we drop it.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭EyesClosed

blastman wrote: »
    It's going to be Robbie Williams, lads, now can we drop it.....

nope.....the script

Not AC/DC anyway but they'll be here somewhere at some stage next year is imagine so it's still good.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,348 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Not AC/DC anyway but they'll be here somewhere at some stage next year is imagine so it's still good.

Not really if it's in a kip like Slane!

I'd take Slane over no gig at all but after the debacle the last time, I'd seriously consider giving them a miss if it was at Punchestown.

Hopefully they'll just play the O2 again. If I see them again, I'd try to get up in the stands rather than on the floor. Never saw the big deal about being on the floor TBH. It's a whole lot of not being able to see the band/the music being too loud. Up in the stands you at least have a decent view and are relatively unmolested (oo'er).

briany wrote: »
    Hopefully they'll just play the O2 again. If I see them again, I'd try to get up in the stands rather than on the floor. Never saw the big deal about being on the floor TBH. It's a whole lot of not being able to see the band/the music being too loud. Up in the stands you at least have a decent view and are relatively unmolested (oo'er).

So it's not just me then! I put it down to old age in my case

I think there's people all over the age spectrum who feel that way, although they mightn't be so wont to admit it because they might be seen as a fuddy duddy. I don't really see why it would appeal to anyone, regardless of age, but apparently it does. Still - next time, if there is one, off the floor away from the hoi polloi.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I would hate if they played the O2 again for the sole reason it would be nearly impossible to get tickets for it, it sold out in 8 seconds last time they played there, I think it will be a shorter tour this time so I don't think they'll play arenas, I wouldn't mind Punchestown again, I'd be driving or getting a lift with someone so I wouldn't face the same problem others had with buses, although having to drive 100+ miles in the early hours of the morning isn't an appetising prospect.

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Harrocks

As this will be the last chance to see them on these shores i hope its a big
    Gig.Even though i was at the o2 in 09 and punchestown in the fecking rain,Its the dc and i want at least a chance of getten to see them 1 last time.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,348 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

I'd take Slane over no gig at all but after the debacle the last time, I'd seriously consider giving them a miss if it was at Punchestown.

With Cheap flights and more than likely cheaper tickets a UK show in a better venue would prob be the plan for me if that was the case.

AC/DC would probably never say this is their last tour, but you have to think it's likely. It'll probably never happen, but by god do I wish they'd dust off some 'b' material for this one. Firstly, their 'b' material i.e. stuff that hasn't been played lately, is cracking. Stuff like Sin City, Live Wire, That's the way I wanna Rock 'n' Roll, Riff Riff (!!!), Stiff Upper Lip, Let Me Put My Love Into You, Walk All Over You, Rock 'N' Roll Damnation etc. I could go on. AC/DC's back catalog has so much killer stuff that may, sadly, never be heard played by the ones who wrote and I think it's a shame.

Brian gave an answer to this, why they don't alter the set, saying that it would throw their lighting and sound guys out of whack. I have to call nonsense on that. AC/DC's tour is a big operation, yes, but they no doubt have some of the best and most experienced guys working on their tour. And where's the intricacy in AC/DC's show? It's nowhere that I can see. They're about as set and forget a band as there ever was. There's almost no choreographed lights and there's not a multitude of instruments to be monitoring. Tons of big bands play different setlists night after night seemingly without too much problem. You kind of have to do it to keep from going spare. It's definitely an issue for me with AC/DC that their act has undergone minimal alteration in 25 years. It's a kick-arse act, but, back to point A, they have a lot of amazing 'back catalog' material that needs one more airing before they hang it up, That is, if they still have the muster to pull it off!