Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - See Mod Warning in OP, 09/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

We havent got an away win in months, lets not get too ahead of ourselves here. First game aside we've looked very good at home, away we've struggled and badly. A point would be a hell of a result. Dont think we've it in us yet, we're definitely improving but it's very hard to go there and get anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

We owe City a beating.Feck it,I'd take a 1-0 win for us on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭duffman13

zerks wrote: »

I think everyone one of us in here would take that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

chelsea would love that too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Welcome to forum Rob Thomas and as you said while not controversial your first post made plenty of sense;).

Regarding the poor efforts defensively for corner we conceded at Rafael was meant to mark Drogba for that one and reacted v slowly altogether when it was taken.
    LVG should have had RVP who is taller and a better header of ball on the likes of Drogba or Matic and the smaller Rafael on post.
    Like in the old days,Fergie always had Paul Parker and Irwin on posts as they weren't the tallest.

PS- as an irregular poster myself Rob Thomas you may find on this forum if you disagree with a chosen few regular posters views its not appreciated;)
    .....and don't worry lads all the non regular posters feel the same:)....but might be afraid to say it!

GavRedKing wrote: »
    chelsea would love that too. :)

QPR to shock the world and beat ye.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

You should be working for Sky with an insight like that!

Welcome to forum Rob Thomas and as you said while not controversial your first post made plenty of sense;).

Regarding the poor efforts defensively for corner we conceded at Rafael was meant to mark Drogba for that one and reacted v slowly altogether when it was taken.
    LVG should have had RVP who is taller and a better header of ball on the likes of Drogba or Matic and the smaller Rafael on post.
    Like in the old days,Fergie always had Paul Parker and Irwin on posts as they weren't the tallest.

PS- as an irregular poster myself Rob Thomas you may find on this forum if you disagree with a chosen few regular posters views its not appreciated;)
    .....and don't worry lads all the non regular posters feel the same:)....but might be afraid to say it!

article-2808769-2297B08C00000578-546_636x583.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Or, perhaps just don't post stupid stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

The big difference between the City game and the Chelsea game will be that City have a couple of forwards that will make sh*te of that defence if they're not on top of their game. We were lucky that Chelsea's attack was somewhat blunted in Costa's absence.
    I'm dreading what Agüero may do...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Great header. If robin dd that, we would e jizzing our pants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Rob Thomas, welcome.

ps - You are an amazing singer

To be fair Zerks all those stills illustrate is how badly Rafael reacted to the movements of a 36 yr old striker!

RVP was badly positioned & Terry also ended up free in the area.Rafael had no business marking Drogba there who has done this kind of thing for years.

Bridge93 wrote: »
    You should be working for Sky with an insight like that!

Just need a silver suit with super tight pants.:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

as a sign that passing stats for an individual player can at times be the most useless stat around, Rojo had the most passes of any player yesterday (71) and Smalling completed the most (62).

what it does show tho, is that Chelsea sat back, put 10 men behind the ball and left us have it in our own half, then picked us off in the counter attack.

Chelsea also won 2/3 of the aerial battles and we played into their hands by lumping it forward long almost 70 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Mata has played the exact same in every game for United imo, the fact is he gets not too far off 100% pass accuracy every game and is consistently in the most passers of the ball, we know Mata is well capable of all kinds of defence splitting balls but he's not doing them at all at times or nearly enough

When you look at all that I think it's a system problem rather than a Mata one, I can't see Ozil, Silva or Gotze doing more in our team when our system is still in it's infancy.

We have had a very poor style of play the past 3 or 4 seasons, yes we won a league title in one of those seasons but we weren't looking to the future at all

In summary I think we will get the same Mata until the system starts to really work, sadly by that time Mata could be on his way out of the club because I think Rooney will go back in when he's fit.

RVP was badly positioned & Terry also ended up free in the area.Rafael had no business marking Drogba there who has done this kind of thing for years.

Agree Zerks,that basically what I said in my original post,a lot of people love Rafael but to me he can be a headless chicken at times,both attacking and defending,he put in an excellent cross for Wilsons headed chance yday,but apart from that he did little else in the other 93 mins of game!
    Big problem in the defence this season is that no one is calling the shots on corners and free kicks like we had in previous years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

To be fair, it also illustrates how basically everyone except Shaw appeared to fall asleep with Smalling looking particularly caught offguard.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

rooney apparently is injured and a doubt for Sunday.

what the f*ck is happening behind the scenes in our training? our players are made of glass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

We need Rooney big time next Sunday
    glued wrote: »
    Mata does work hard. You've just bitten off and chewed the typical Sky Sports-Mourinho fed rhetoric.

If Van Persie had put away that chance away Mata laid off for him a lot of people would be creaming about him, and the over critical wouldn't be hopping of the keyboard as much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Trilla wrote: »
    We need Rooney big time next Sunday

If Van Persie had put away that chance away Mata laid off for him a lot of people would be creaming about him, and the over critical wouldn't be hopping of the keyboard as much

And the disguised chip to Di Maria, don't think there was anybody else on the pitch that could have pulled that off so perfectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

And the disguised chip to Di Maria, don't think there was anybody else on the pitch that could have pulled that off so perfectly.

Di Maria probably could have, but then who'd he have passed it to? :pac:

Ron Vlaar badly exposed for both QPR goals tonight.....not the type of performance a potential signing should be giving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Di Maria probably could have, but then who'd he have passed it to? :pac:

Fellaini, obviously :p

Trilla wrote: »
    Fellaini, obviously :p

Sure Fellaini would be out cleaning the jacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Sure Fellaini would be out cleaning the jacks.

I thought he wouldn't even be doing that? Worst signing eva 4 real

kryogen wrote: »
    I thought he wouldn't even be doing that? Worst signing eva 4 real

Wait, no. Its Mata now.

Hope ur ok hun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

One player I really wished we signed in the summer is Alexis Sanchez , I'd say we were in for him aswell but he wanted a London club , he would very much be a Lvg type player too , can you imagine him and di Maria on either side in a 433 , is there any other right sided player we could go for as good scores as many goals and is available , robben is probably even better but he's too old now and settled at bayern , perhaps cuadrado ?
    I'd say mata is def gone in the summer , Rooney will be our number 10 and Januzai his understudy , I reckon a move for Vidal or more likely strootman is most def on the cards