Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - See Mod Warning in OP, 09/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I doubt it had anything to do with money to be honest, if John O'Shea wasn't set for life at that point in his career then he's doing something seriously wrong.

Considering he had earned millions by the time his United career ended. It would be almost impossible for him not to be set up for life by the time he left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

In the 06\07 season O Shea had 5 shots on goal and scored 4 goals.

Good going.

I always thought he was a perfect 4 for 4 for year and something like 6 shot for 5 goals in all competitions?

Don't try and tell me he's anything but perfect! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Considering he had earned millions by the time his United career ended. It would be almost impossible for him not to be set up for life by the time he left.

I'm assuming you of all people have seen this, though...

510LPZU6VtL_SX500__zps4288a8eb.jpg

If anyone's wondering, it's a documentary on how so many athletes run out of money shortly after they retire and never learn properly how to handle their cash because they make so much at such a young age. More to do with American sports but a lot is true for athletes here too - ESPN doc but the whole thing is on YouTube... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSOAwNSv8EM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Billy86 wrote: »
    I'm assuming you of all people have seen this

Saw it awhile back. Maybe it's just me, but John O'Shea has always struck me as a pretty grounded & level headed lad. Whom I suspect is not prone to píssing away his money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

Saw it awhile back. Maybe it's just me, but John O'Shea has always struck me as a pretty grounded & level headed lad. Whom I suspect is not prone to píssing away his money.

Yeah saw an article on wes browns wife when she wrote on twitter about saving money by getting tokens off a product for some theme park.

What annoyed me was they were trying to make her out to be a cheapskate " he earns 30000 a week yet she is being cheap with their money"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

Billy86 wrote: »
    I'm assuming you of all people have seen this, though...

510LPZU6VtL_SX500__zps4288a8eb.jpg

If anyone's wondering, it's a documentary on how so many athletes run out of money shortly after they retire and never learn properly how to handle their cash because they make so much at such a young age. More to do with American sports but a lot is true for athletes here too - ESPN doc but the whole thing is on YouTube... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TSOAwNSv8EM

There is a great story on Shaquille O'Neill.
    In his first couple of years in the NBA he was spending money like noones business.
    Someone had a chat in his ear and he went to college and studied business or something like that.
    I will try dig up the story and post it here.

We have to remember that most athletes come from pretty much nothing and if you are earning millions you are inevitably gonna spend millions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,652 ✭✭✭dobman88

Not really sure where to ask this and here seems as good a place as any.

Does anyone know where I'd get a ticket for Roy Keane and Roddy Doyle next Wednesday in the RDS? Ticketmaster says it's sold out. I've only realised I'll be in Dublin at the time and would love to go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Hococop wrote: »
    Yeah saw an article on wes browns wife when she wrote on twitter about saving money by getting tokens off a product for some theme park.

What annoyed me was they were trying to make her out to be a cheapskate " he earns 30000 a week yet she is being cheap with their money"

Ridiculous. She's dead right.

Point one is that the guts of 50% of what they make it gone in tax.

Point two is that we're talking about athletes with decent longeivity. Potentially the money has to last them up to 70 years.

Point three is that these guys were probably hugely affected by the financial crisis. No doubt they were massively exposed to the types of assets that collapsed in value.

Point four is definitely true - The more you earn, the more you spend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Kirby wrote: »
    You would think that but some people like spending it as much as they like earning it.

Reading Keane's autobiography really highlighted how obsessed he is with money and that he still has to work.....not because he wants to but because he needs to. He doesn't have millions in the bank like you would assume.

Having read the book myself I don't know how you came to the conclusion he's obsessed with money.
    He came to the realisation that the days of big paydays were over and he still needed to provide for his family.
    He left Fergusons office after been told he was being let go without finalising any payoff from the club and while at Sunderland he had to double check his contract to see what the promotion bonus was.
    It's well known he's fairly generous to local charities in Cork and Manchester and seems to look after his extended family as well.
    Hardly money obsessed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

I doubt it had anything to do with money to be honest, if John O'Shea wasn't set for life at that point in his career then he's doing something seriously wrong.

I don't want to go back and forth on it, that is how it happened as I was told, from the horses mouth. I don't mind if someone wants to think something else.

Just found this, http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/european/pep-guardiola-i-could-see-myself-managing-manchester-united-one-day-9797074.html

Seems to be all coming from his book. Few papers are running with it in the morning it seems.

He says he detests tiky taky and it serves no purpose? Bit of a turnaround eh

He earned well during his time at United, not as well as some but he earned plenty, you have to take into account the lifestyle then too and other expenses, you are not simply living off a couple of grand a week and saving the rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

Having read the book myself I don't know how you came to the conclusion he's obsessed with money.
    He came to the realisation that the days of big paydays were over and he still needed to provide for his family.
    He left Fergusons office after been told he was being let go without finalising any payoff from the club and while at Sunderland he had to double check his contract to see what the promotion bonus was.
    It's well known he's fairly generous to local charities in Cork and Manchester and seems to look after his extended family as well.
    Hardly money obsessed

He does seem to mention money quite a bit, and it is a big part of the job. I wouldnt say he's money obsessed, but he's certainly money aware.

Paying for the corporate box in the millennium stadium for the Wales Aus game wouldnt have been cheap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Kirby wrote: »
    You would think that but some people like spending it as much as they like earning it.

Reading Keane's autobiography really highlighted how obsessed he is with money and that he still has to work.....not because he wants to but because he needs to. He doesn't have millions in the bank like you would assume.

O'Shea seems like a more sensible chap but nothing a footballer says or does would surprise me at this stage.

roy keane is one of the richest managers in the premier league!!

he made millions alone when the glazers bought United

bangkok wrote: »
    roy keane is one of the richest managers in the premier league!!

he made millions alone when the glazers bought United

Don't know where the suggestion he made million alone when the Glazers bought the club came from, he said he had shares in the club as part of his contract so the take over was worth a few bob to him, I doubt it was in the millions of pounds though.

He is not money obsessed though, he is money aware if that makes sense, he has a large family and he has financial commitments and knows the days of the big pay days and earnings hundreds of thousands a month are gone. He won't ever be in the poor house but he does have to look after his money and continue to find work.

He references this stuff in the book, the cutting back on holidays and stuff...its not like he is going to struggle financially but he is aware he needs to be a bit more prudent with his money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

kryogen wrote: »
    He says he detests tiky taky and it serves no purpose? Bit of a turnaround eh

Jose & Pep in the EPL?

By the time LVG's contract is up we could have the likes of Pep,Klopp even Jose ready to step in.What about LVG hinting at training up Giggs for the role though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

zerks wrote: »
    Jose & Pep in the EPL?

By the time LVG's contract is up we could have the likes of Pep,Klopp even Jose ready to step in.What about LVG hinting at training up Giggs for the role though?

I'd want Giggs to go prove himself away from the club before getting the reins.

That's my thinking aswell.I know it was only a couple of games but he showed nothing that'd give me faith in seeing him as manager.

kryogen wrote: »
    Don't know where the suggestion he made million alone when the Glazers bought the club came from, he said he had shares in the club as part of his contract so the take over was worth a few bob to him, I doubt it was in the millions of pounds though.

He is not money obsessed though, he is money aware if that makes sense, he has a large family and he has financial commitments and knows the days of the big pay days and earnings hundreds of thousands a month are gone. He won't ever be in the poor house but he does have to look after his money and continue to find work.

He references this stuff in the book, the cutting back on holidays and stuff...its not like he is going to struggle financially but he is aware he needs to be a bit more prudent with his money.

the "few bob" keane talks about is def in the millions. He was club captain, if he was given 2% shares in the club and the glazers bought united for 790m, that's 15.8m into keanes back pocket. He was also the highest paid player in the league for years. don't be fooled. keane could easily retire now from everything and live comfortably for the rest of his life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

the "few bob" keane talks about is def in the millions. He was club captain, if he was given 2% shares in the club and the glazers bought united for 790m, that's 15.8m into keanes back pocket. He was also the highest paid player in the league for years. don't be fooled. keane could easily retire now from everything and live comfortably for the rest of his life

I really doubt that Keane owned 2% of United. I've no basis for this other than the fact that it's a very large amount for a guy that was on 50k a week at his peak.

Yeah, there is no way Roy Keane owned 2% of the club.

Fooled? I have literally just said in the post you quoted he isn't going to struggle financially or anything like that.

For the record, he would most likely have an amount of shares in the club, few thousand? Who knows, and since the Glazers paid £3per share, or 300 pence to use the correct term he would have done alright out of it, "a few bob" if you will. There was around 260,000,000 shares to be bought.

Lines of thinking like yours genuinely confuse the ****e out of me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I really doubt that Keane owned 2% of United. I've no basis for this other than the fact that it's a very large amount for a guy that was on 50k a week at his peak.

90k I think it was.

Either way he should have a very healthy pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

padd b1975 wrote: »
    90k I think it was.

Either way he should have a very healthy pension.

Did he end up on that much? I remember him getting sone kind of pay increase when RVN got one. There was stories that he had something in his contract that stipulates that he had to be paid the same as the highest earner at the club.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Premier League almost back!

Yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭Nolars

So what are people hoping for from the next 3 games? Beat west brom and 4 pts from City & Chelsea? Best possible scenario?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,205 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

the "few bob" keane talks about is def in the millions. He was club captain, if he was given 2% shares in the club and the glazers bought united for 790m, that's 15.8m into keanes back pocket.

If Roy Keane was given 2% of Manchester United I'll eat the first hat I see.

Did he end up on that much? I remember him getting sone kind of pay increase when RVN got one. There was stories that he had something in his contract that stipulates that he had to be paid the same as the highest earner at the club.

and don't forget he was still getting paid by utd even after he left in November right up until his contract expired in the summer, that was an extra 2-3m and his testimonial would have given him probably 2-4m. club car, house paid for, probably a few more properties around the world, easy 25-50k everytime he went on tv as a pundit and now 2 pay cheques coming in every month from ireland and aston villa and probably his 1 or 2 million he will make from his latest book and then personal apperances on top of that. Life is tough at the top!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

Ah here, there's no way Keane had anything like 2% of the club - where are you getting that from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

International break has made the (in recent weeks) lesser spotted crazy Bangkok run wild again.

Dont forget any investments and interest earned as well.