Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Note in OP, 1/09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

slingerz wrote: »
    5-3-2 lads I'm telling ye it's the answer for Liverpool at the moment

Sterling Borini up front vs West Brom for me....can't be as bad we have been .At least they will create movement and space. Lallana , Lucas and Henderson in mid....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,796 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Official: ruh roh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

So everything is grand we have just played two of the worst teams I have seen in Europe beaten by one and blessed to beat the other
    Playing absolute crap in the league creating feck all
    Wake up and smell the coffee lad this side is horrendous

Real just beat ludo 2-1. Basel are no chumps either.

Come in off the ledge, calm yourself down. I never said everything is fine. I said we were poor. Some people are losing there minds, like yourself by the sounds of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

I hope Rodgers decides to change things up for the weekend

The likes of Suso, Lallana, Borini need to get given a go as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Raif Severance

BR should play Lucas, Hendo and Lallana at MF, against Westbrom.

Otherwise, we're going to Stare at another Loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

We are playing Hodgeball this season at times lads. Prepare for it to get worse before it will get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

tok9 wrote: »
    Someone get that defender stat chart out. Skrtel was awful tonight.

Thought that was a massive missed opportunity. I didn't think either team played particularly well and unfortunately for us Sterling had an absolute mare in front of goal.
    But he's our best defender according to some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Gerrard won't be dropped!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

We are playing Hodgeball this season at times lads. Prepare for it to get worse before it will get better.

That's what I thought tonight - looked like a Hodgson side.

Unpopular: Rodgers looking rather hapless lately

I think BR needs to rip up his formations and start again.

Current setup will finish outside top 4 quite easily and outside the knockout stages of the CL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,077 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Can Rodgers do this without suarez?

Massive questions. Can he actually make a decent attacking unit without a world class attacker?

Jury is out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

Sterling Borini up front vs West Brom for me....can't be as bad we have been .At least they will create movement and space. Lallana , Lucas and Henderson in mid....

I'd have Borini and Lambert up front and drop Sterling. With 5 at the back Gerrard, Henderson and Lallana can be accommodated in midfield and Manquillo and Moreno can get up and down the wings

noodler wrote: »

Massive questions. Can he actually make a decent attacking unit without a world class attacker?

Jury is out.

More importantly he can't do it without Sturridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,250 ✭✭✭kingshankly

rarnes1 wrote: »

Current setup will finish outside top 4 quite easily and outside the knockout stages of the CL.

On current form that side won't finish top half

darced wrote: »
    Jesus Rarnes you are really droning on about this Balottelli thing,give him a bit more time at least before proclaiming how you told us all.

He is 100% right.

It is not jus his own poor performances, it is the effect he has on the team spirit and his indiscipline with refs. Not to mention his selfishness.

He will be gone by next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Ara Barca can't ye loan us back Suarez in January! Ye hardly need him with Messi and Neymar in the squad!

rarnes1 wrote: »

Jury is out.

Careful now, there's going to be plenty of people armed with long treatises about how Sturridge is out and new signings and bedding in and it's not that bad and who cares anyway cause we had a great season last year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Mr Alan wrote: »
    They're doing nothing. Absolutely nothing.

Ah here, lallana is coming along nicely, the full backs look promising,lovren could be better , markovic and balo need to up their game seriously.

Lets all calm the fcuk down, last year was a freak year, we got ahead of ourselves, our aim should be top 4 this year, and build again. The future is bright people. Believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Jury is out.
    Think your forgetting Rodgers actually greatly improved Suarez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,347 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I feel sorry for Sterling in all this. He is a top, top class player, but all of a sudden he finds himself in a team where the other players just aren't on the same wavelength as him. When Sterling is looking to play the ball, none of the players around him are making the overlapping runs or pull players out of position. When other players have the ball, they aren't breaking forward quick enough and opposition defenders just have too much time to organise. As the weeks have went on, he's just looked a very frustrated figure and the whole situation has affect his confidence and decision making.

Right now, people can say Markovic or Balotelli have done well, but the fact is they have looked poor reflections on what we had last season (Suarez and Sturridge). It's obviously still very early days, but if our goal is going to be top 4 and a decent run in the Champions League, then Markovic and Balotelli both have to up their games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

You need to be compact in Europe and we are wide open. Midfield is a shambles, teams run right through the middle of us. Too many players who are supposedly technically good on the ball (supposedly) but we are an absolute shambles out of possession, the lack of ability to win possession is frightening.

Rodgers may not be cut out to manage a large squad, having to tinker with the first XI to keep everyone fresh. He blundered last season when tinkering with the first XI on a few occasions, we steamrolled teams last season playing virtually the same team every weekend but it's a different story when you forced to choose how to use a squad and when the team doesn't pick itself.

His philosophy looks good on paper but our midfield is critically bad. The defence is exposed by lack of protection on top of their own frailties.

Steven Gerrard in his current role is redundant when the opposition have the lions share of possession, I don't care how many people remind me how good he has been for us, the lad is a liability in his current position. You cannot play this cavalier system against teams in Europe that have discipline tactically.

The blueprint is there now to stop us playing, get everyone behind the ball and stop us breaking quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

I'd like to see Couthino and Lallana on the pitch at the same time. Too many of our players are afraid to carry the ball forward. Gerrard and Henderson just seem to want to spread it wide even when there is no pressure on them.

Jesus Rarnes you are really droning on about this Balottelli thing,give him a bit more time at least before proclaiming how you told us all.

He is 100% right.

It is not jus his own poor performances, it is the effect he has on the team spirit and his indiscipline with refs. Not to mention his selfishness.

He will be gone by next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

Jury is out.

Suarez became world class under rodgers in fairness, as for the rest we will have to see. 9 games is a fairly negligible sample size, sturridge is last seasons suarez, vital player.

slingerz wrote: »
    I'd have Borini and Lambert up front and drop Sterling. With 5 at the back Gerrard, Henderson and Lallana can be accommodated in midfield and Manquillo and Moreno can get up and down the wings

Gerrard and Lambert in same side. Might as well start with 9 men!! ;)

Seriously though Sterling is better higher up the pitch. At 19 getting into the positions he got into tonight ...yes his finishing let him down but he was in the position.

I'd give Lucas 90 mins. We need a scrapper in there now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Glock Lesnar

Hello, first time poster but long time admirer.

Decided to take UTD as my team when I started to follow football late last month, but still have interest in Liverpool as my Dad is from there (even if he walked out when I was 8)

As I understand the Liverpool sold Suarez and bought several players with his money, it seems to me that he should have been replaced by players with Uefa Champions league experience given that the Liverpool hope to mount a challenge on this tournament this year, why was he replaced by playes unfamiliar with european football?

All the best and respect to your club
    GL

In fairness you harped on about Lucas for years!

Look, I don't rate Ballotelli. Plenty don't. I was shocked when Rodgers signed him as he is so far from a Rodgers type player. If it was Lambert of Borini up there they'd be getting slaughtered by everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Raif Severance

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Unpopular: Rodgers looking rather hapless lately

Well, he's going to Continue looking Hapless, if he's going to Insist playing Gerrard 90m every Game we have.

We can't Babysit Gerrard, specially not with this Attack.