Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Note in OP, 25/08

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Dear Lord...

Edit: Dear Lord... I wasted time actually trying to clue you in to reality.

Yup. Don't even care.

My point was, when you have a squad that is winning like fergie did there isn't that big a need to overhaul the squad.

Obviously I know comparing FIFA and fm have absolutely sweet fa to do with real life.

I just don't think there was a new to be spending 60 odd million every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Rojo row your boat,
    Gently down the stream,
    Gerrard's won the Premier League,
    In his fxcking dreams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Yup. Don't even care.

My point was, when you have a squad that is winning like fergie did there isn't that big a need to overhaul the squad.

Obviously I know comparing FIFA and fm have absolutely sweet fa to do with real life.

I just don't think there was a new to be spending 60 odd million every year.

Dear Lord...

Edit: Dear Lord... I can't actually believe you're still digging...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭Quandary

The united squad has been badly neglected for years. Mainly in midfield. We relied far too long on Scholes and Giggs. Fletcher now being relied upon despite being severely ill for years. We really have no guarantee that he will ever get back to his previous levels. Carrick is now 33, is injured at the moment and his injuries are not going to lessen as he gets older. Cleverley just doesn't inspire me with any confidence. He's 25 now and has gone backwards over the last few years. I had quiet hopes that Fellaini might improve under LVG but this injury is like a nail in his Utd coffin.

We desperately need another midfielder to partner Herrera. Vidal of course would be amazing, but there are a hell of a lot of players out there who would massively improve our midfield.

Our midfield is so weak that it can't be hard to significantly improve it.

It's the main area of the first team that I am hugely worried about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

Rojo rake your boot
    gently down their shins
    Yellow cards, red cards, 3 match bans
    just like our Roy Keane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Ya. He did. By tweaking the team that were dominanting.

No need for massive transfers. Although they would have been nice.

I'm gonna throw out a FIFA/fm manager thing now and I don't care what ye think of me for doing it.
    After a few seasons when I hve my team built, I rarely do big transfers.

Just fresh faces ad younger prospects to compliment the team and to replace the old lads.

I didn't do any big tansfers after my first season on FIFA. Might have been down to me signing Zlantan, Ronaldo, Suraez, Hazard, Kroos and Pirlo in my first two windows though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Zico wrote: »
    Rojo rake your boot
    gently down their shins
    Yellow cards, red cards, 3 match bans
    just like our Roy Keane.

Doesn't work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

I know it would be a lousy chant but from now on when I hear this song instead of hearing the "Whoah, oh oh oh oh" I can't get "Rooojo, rojo, rojo" out of my head. Ha every time I hear that song I'm going to think of Rojo now!

The bit starts at around 0:20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,560 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

thelad95 wrote: »
    Doesn't work.

In order for a football fan chant to work it must slander a rival team/player and or be slightly racist in nature. Thems the rules we must follow in this thing of ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

I need a new sig. Bebe, AKA the greatest player of all-time, is gone.

Therefore, I'm putting in a request that Mikey comes out of retirement one last time to gift me another genius sig.

This time I want a Rojo one. I'm thinking of a Marco Polo themed one with Rojo rowing in a boat going on an adventure and maybe van Gaal and some others are on it.

Basically the crazier the better. It seems to suit his character.

Hopefully I'm not asking too much. Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

Should I read the 30 new pages that were posted today? Or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

JerCotter7 wrote: »

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Whats the craic with Utd paying all of Nani's wages during his year long loan spell at Sporting?? Seems a bit odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Usual arguments over difference of opinions.

Most informative thing is probably that Rojo deal is done and he will be wearing the number 5. Also RVP is fit for Sunderland clash, while Fellaini got injured in training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,269 ✭✭✭paulbok

No, lot's of bickering and more talk of net spend than you'd get on a dozen liverpool thread. A low key welcome for Rogo, but we're not sure if he'll give us our mojo back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭Justin10

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Whats the craic with Utd paying all of Nani's wages during his year long loan spell at Sporting?? Seems a bit odd.

For the 4m it's worth it, we get Rojo, they get nani who will hopefully play a stormer next season, we either get an inform nani back or recoup that 4m back in higher transfer fee then we would of got at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

I guess that's what it took to get the deal done!

Nani probably (reluctantly) agreed if he didn't get a wage cut and Sporting could not afford it.

True enough and at least he will be playing week in week out and may attract interest from a few bigger clubs. Nani on his day is a top player surprised it never worked out for him at Utd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Has that actually been confirmed? I know its widely speculated but I haven't checked it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

I'll give you the highlights

You're welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,590 ✭✭✭✭kippy

True enough and at least he will be playing week in week out and may attract interest from a few bigger clubs. Nani on his day is a top player surprised it never worked out for him at Utd.

Isnt Nani in the last year of his contract?
    Edit... sorry just read he signed a five year deal last season.

kryogen wrote: »
    Has that actually been confirmed? I know its widely speculated but I haven't checked it yet.

Read it on the BBC website there, 4.8 million in wages for the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,610 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

kippy wrote: »
    signed a 5 year deal last season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

kippy wrote: »

No he signed a new 5 year deal last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

We are paying a player who does not play for us for a total of 4.8million

When you think about it for a moment it stinks of desperation, poor negotiation and down right stupid money management

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭Quandary

Just looking on physioroom there.

http://www.physioroom.com/news/english_premier_league/epl_injury_table.php

With 8 out, we have more players injured than any other premier league club.

Chelsea have 0 players injured
    M City only have Negredo out.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

https://twitter.com/suttonnick/statuses/502188787305574400

Scholes fearing that we could be heading for the football wilderness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

We are paying a player who does not play for us for a total of 4.8million

When you think about it for a moment it stinks of desperation, poor negotiation and down right stupid money management

yet another "makes no sense" deal. no way we are paying all his wages, i refuse to accept we'd be that incompetent.

he is our best winger IMO and to be paying another club almost 5million to take him for a year, just boggles the mind. if we wanted rid of him, surely we could just have sold him though it appears that due to the high wages we have given these players, nobody wants to buy them off us.

and of course Valencia getting a new contract just shows they dont learn from mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

I need a new sig. Bebe, AKA the greatest player of all-time, is gone.

Therefore, I'm putting in a request that Mikey comes out of retirement one last time to gift me another genius sig.

This time I want a Rojo one. I'm thinking of a Marco Polo themed one with Rojo rowing in a boat going on an adventure and maybe van Gaal and some others are on it.

Basically the crazier the better. It seems to suit his character.

Hopefully I'm not asking too much. Thanks in advance.

tumblr_inline_n8262oZSUe1s7p9yt.gif