Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Note in OP, 25/08

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Fenix

Just made all that up, mind you. But goes to show that any numpty with a keyboard like myself can make up transfer stories.

Post of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

I must be the only one on this forum who thinks Phil Jones is better than Johnny Evans.

When all are fit I see Jones beside a new CB in a back 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Montroseee

GSPfan wrote: »
    I must be the only one on this forum who thinks Phil Jones is better than Johnny Evans.

Evans has performed at a high level for years now, I can't see how anyone could think Jones is better.

Montroseee wrote: »
    Evans has performed at a high level for years now, I can't see how anyone could think Jones is better.

I could detail how i think Jones is a better player but it's pointless. We'd still disagree and everyone would hate us for it.

Regarding Rojo,

I wonder is the rumour of Nani going on loan significant in the possibility of signing another wide player.

Di maria anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

GSPfan wrote: »

I agree with you on Jones vs Evans. I think for all the game time Evans has gotten over the last few years he has still had some serious flaws. Jones needs more regular starts, but when he gets that I think he'll push far above Evans' level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,023 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Rojo deal done, Nani going the other way on season long loan, dunno how reputable this site is

http://www.goal.com/en/news/11/transfer-zone/2014/08/19/5043762/rojo-confirms-dream-manchester-united-move?ICID=HP_BN_1?CMPID=FBINT_140819_Rojo

Forget it, realised that site is shite

If Rojo plays anywhere other than LB until Shaw comes back, provided Blind or someone doesn't sign, then it's a joke. LVG still hasn't worked out the kinks in his system and it could cost United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,224 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Liam O wrote: »
    If Rojo plays anywhere other than LB until Shaw comes back, provided Blind or someone doesn't sign, then it's a joke. LVG still hasn't worked out the kinks in his system and it could cost United.

Shaw is only missing another 2 isn't he?

Outside of a few glimpses at the World Cup, I don't know much more about Marcos Rojo. Seems to be a 'still learning his trade' sort of player who could yet develop into something much better, but at the moment we also need an enforcer type back there.

Benatia would be ideal and the way it flipped from "Benatia flying to Manchester" on SSN a few nights ago to today's "no other clubs apart from Bayern interested in Benatia" just shows there's absolutely no way to predict what way the next 2 weeks are going to go for the club and us fans.

If the Rojo deal goes through, that still leaves at least 3 players greatly needed for the first team to be signed in the next 13 days. In an ideal world it would be Reus, Vidal and Hummels, but signing Di Maria, Vidal and Benatia would be more than adequate also. Do I see any of those combinations of signings happening or do you? They are the calibre of players for the kind of areas we need to strengthen in order to compete once again, but as I type their names out I can't help but think that there's not a chance of it happening. If Ed 'watch this space' Woodward and his team somehow managed to pull it off it will be a masterstroke, but I just can't see it.

Early August last Summer, I thought the sky was the limit and there was even a chance of the club bringing Ronaldo back. A year later, there are more problems to fix now along with the ones there were back then and my confidence in the club doing that is now a fraction of what it was at that point. Why they refuse to put their money where their mouth is and get deals done is a mind fúck for me at this stage. Herrera and Shaw were reportedly all but signed off on from last season, so where are the results of this Summer's grafting and negotiations?

If Marcos Rojo is the sum total of the next 13 days activity, then what was widely reported since January to be a Summer of a much needed rebuilding/replenishing with funds available up of upwards of £200m will be a completely underwhelming haul when September 1st arrives. Definitely not good enough going into a season where Top 4 and a return to the C.L. is vital for the club's future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I'd be surprised if even one of the players you mentioned signed, I just don't see it happening. Hope I'm wrong of course..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭POSSY

Well it looks like Rojo is a done deal.

Rojo on Argentine radio:

"It feels like a dream, to be a Manchester United player.
    Leaving Sporting wasn't easy. I have always liked English football, I'll have to
    adapt quickly to the playing style."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Good to finally get the right type of defender in. If we could now get blind and Di Maria it would actually be a good window.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Where are these quotes coming from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭POSSY

Where are these quotes coming from?
    Sky sports are reporting them from an interview Rojo did with an argentine radio station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

Oh really?
    Sky Sports wrote:
    More on Manchester United and Real Madrid boss Carlo Ancelotti has told Angel Di Maria he can leave the European Champions for Old Trafford if he wants, according to The Sun.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Rojo just followed Cuadrado on Instagram.

CuadradON.

He also liked a picture of himself and DiMaria hugging in front of a Man United crest :O

Agent Rojo quickly to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

I still dint believe rojo is done.

War him off to bayern now and Anderson gets converted into a defender and clev is the second coming of cantona but twice as arrogant.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Rojo done. 3 more signings now please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭KH25

FutureGuy wrote: »

I just can't see that happening now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

We realistically need to sign a CM on top of the other targets (Blind and Di Maria).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭twam2008

Read the radio station report last night, it also said Nani was going to Sporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

FutureGuy wrote: »

Not sure if we can. At least there are reports that we are trying for Di Maria and apart from him we are not even linked with anyone.

Maybe a good thing as Rojo signing also came out of nowhere.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I wonder if Rojo hadn't followed the United guys on Instagram, how much would the journalists have known in relation to us. As far as I know,without that, it would have been a random Portuguese contract drama, cause I think last night was the first time we have been actually named by anyone involved....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

From what I can gather re Kroos and Fabregas.

Most likely Kroos favoured Madrid.

LVG okayed the Herrera transfer filling our need for a creative central player.

Fabregas preferred Chelsea this summer or we never went for him because Ander was on his way.

Neither of LVG's systems would accommodate two number 8's so most likely we will add a number 6 to the squad.

There is most likely method to the madness.

I would agree that LVG held up our business at the start of the summer but I would be shocked if he didn't hand Woodward a list after the tour, now it's on him to get players in the door.

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Not sure if we can. At least there are reports that we are trying for Di Maria and apart from him we are not even linked with anyone.

Maybe a good thing as Rojo signing also came out of nowhere.

This would make me believe we're not in for Di Maria, the press don't have a clue.

2 more left field signings I think and id be shocked if one wasn't Dutch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Jeez lads i hate to be a bit skeptical here but i'm not liking this whole Rojo talk/deal at all
    I think its heinze 2.0
    He's trying to push through a deal by being a hot head and will look to leave in a couple of years to real/Barca/(insert club of choice)
    To go on strike to push a deal through and then announce a deal before the club says anything strikes of amateur hour for me.

I can only hope its not going to happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

brinty wrote: »
    Jeez lads i hate to be a bit skeptical here but i'm not liking this whole Rojo talk/deal at all
    I think its heinze 2.0
    He's trying to push through a deal by being a hot head and will look to leave in a couple of years to real/Barca/(insert club of choice)
    To go on strike to push a deal through and then announce a deal before the club says anything strikes of amateur hour for me.

I can only hope its not going to happen

Would you believe that if he wasn't Argentinian?

If he goes on to be as good as Heinze was for us he'll be a fantastic signing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,210 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Its quite telling the names that, I'm assuming, initially came to you would be very similar to the names that would also initially come to me and even more telling that they're all from roughly 15-20 years ago. I'd also doubt that a few of them would be classed as bargains in their day even if the money seems like peanuts now.

Thought that was a bit strange alright, are there not two British transfer records in that list of "bargains"?