Dublin Bus driver, "I'll run you over".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Ninap wrote: »
    My mistake - I didn't think the rules of the road distinguished between different road users. Congrats on getting up over 50km..

No worries, just have a little re-think when you decide to make such a silly and untrue statement next time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

I regularly cycle this route and passing that bus on the left when he should know that he's approaching a bus stop wasn't a smart thing to do. Hopefully he will know for future reference the dangerous situation he put himself in. Cyclists get killed by left turning HGVs and that is the position that he put himself in.

The driver's attitude is wrong but the situation wouldn't have arisen had the cyclist been a bit more safety minded in his approach, IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Disregarding the rights and wrongs of the OP's clip, the rest of Mr Phelan's channel is hilarious and clearly shows he's a menace to all other road users.

I cycle, drive and ride (my motorbike) on his route and I'll be on the look out and a big ol' "Mr Phelan I love your youtube channel but you're a dick" (BMW R1100S & Lapierre Audacio in FDJ colours so watch out for me on youtueb :p ).

I see he's teamed up with the infamous CycleDub in much of his clips too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 86 ✭✭dublinstevie

The bus driver may have dealt with it a bit better but feck me the cyclist is a 1st class bell end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

The bus driver may have dealt with it a bit better but feck me the cyclist is a 1st class bell end

To quote a comment on broadsheet...

"Looks like he’s been a bit unlucky and not been knocked down yet."

Be you a driver or cyclist, don't risk it with a vehicle that will mush you to bits.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭billie1b

monument wrote: »
    Dublin Bus and Luas must be looking for looking for trouble on a constant basis, they have even put cameras all around their buses / trams to capture it!!!

Exactly, the bus footage will show the unedited conversation they had, driver indicated in, cyclist sped up to be a hero, bus drivers noticed him and pulled back out, cyclists makes a song and dance about it to get attention, like all his other biased YouTube trash he puts up. He'll end up under a bus one day and I wont feel sorry for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Cyclist is a complete muppet going around looking for opportunities to play victim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,263 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I would be willing to bet that the cyclist in question is probably reading this thread :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,701 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Journal.ie has it now: http://jrnl.ie/1500043f

I would be willing to bet that the cyclist in question is probably reading this thread :pac: :pac: :pac:

F*ck him! :-D he's brave with his camera, I bet without it he's a complete pussy that wouldn't confront a thing without it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Oldlegs

Tenzor07 wrote: »

Sh!t - just when I thought we had all agreed ...
    Driver should have been more aware.
    Cyclist = Twat.
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

This thread is starting to turn into just plain ranting/name calling. If the discussion is finished, I'll be closing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

billie1b wrote: »
    Exactly, the bus footage will show the unedited conversation they had, driver indicated in, cyclist sped up to be a hero, bus drivers noticed him and pulled back out, cyclists makes a song and dance about it to get attention, like all his other biased YouTube trash he puts up. He'll end up under a bus one day and I wont feel sorry for him

The bus pulled in after the cyclist was already alongside it, then indicated once it was well into the cycle lane.

It's not obvious when the bus driver noticed the cyclist, the question is why he didn't see him before he drove his bus into the cycle lane.

The bus did not pull back out.

The cyclist asked the driver why he had pulled in on top of him. No song, no dance, just justifiable exasperation in my opinion.

I've no idea about the cyclist's other YouTube stuff, I don't care to be honest, it has nothing to do with this particular incident.

So other than those factual inaccuracies, and your speculation about the cyclist's motives based on your interpretation of other stuff, your post is filled with solid facts. Quality stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭morana

ah sure he will probably leave behind a family maybe some kids but who gives a **** hes a bellend!

Tenzor07 wrote: »

Without reading that, I'd say that the comments are some muppetfest.

The Journal is pretty much as close as you would get to the toilet on the internet but irish.

They love their click bait though!

This thread is starting to turn into just plain ranting/name calling. If the discussion is finished, I'll be closing this.

You should. these rail crashes are nothing compared to 800 babies in a mass grave tbh.

doozerie wrote: »
    The bus pulled in after the cyclist was already alongside it, then indicated once it was well into the cycle lane.

It's not obvious when the bus driver noticed the cyclist, the question is why he didn't see him before he drove his bus into the cycle lane.

The bus did not pull back out.

The cyclist asked the driver why he had pulled in on top of him. No song, no dance, just justifiable exasperation in my opinion.

I've no idea about the cyclist's other YouTube stuff, I don't care to be honest, it has nothing to do with this particular incident.

So other than those factual inaccuracies, and your speculation about the cyclist's motives based on your interpretation of other stuff, your post is filled with solid facts. Quality stuff.

Thats your interpretation, I have mine, the bus driver also waves to him to say sorry but 'The Cyclist' still goes at it, utter moron

Without reading that, I'd say that the comments are some muppetfest.
    The Journal is pretty much as close as you would get to the toilet on the internet but irish.
    They love their click bait though!

Ah but they don't pay Road tax! :D

Just for the non-Dub's out there, this is the cycle lane in question, a disaster of a road with an accident waiting to happen....the bus stop is just behind where that bin van/truck is parked..

244czux.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭clod71

The bus driver is in the wrong, no discussion about that.
    Still if you cycle with a camera stuck on your head and open a youtube page to rant about motorists, you have to go look for troubles so to have material to post your catches...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Thats your interpretation, I have mine, the bus driver also waves to him to say sorry but 'The Cyclist' still goes at it, utter moron

Interpretation? Watch the video again. Cyclist is passing. THEN bus moves in on top of him. THEN he starts to indicate.

He was preparing to stop the bus and didn't check. He wasn't trying to dodge the other cyclists because they are moving across the lane to the right hand side, and even so a bus shouldn't be trying to duck and dodge around other traffic in town. They are too big and have too many blind spots. And like I said before, why would they be rushing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭AltAccount

My €0.02

a) I wish we could see the cyclist's/bus's footage from the minute or two before this incident. I wonder if there was anything leading up to this...
    b) Up to 9 or 10 seconds in, it's entirely the bus driver's fault. Without knowing the preceding events, I wouldn't hazard a guess as to whether the "squeeze" was malicious or just poor driving from professional driver (dangerous, but forgivable)
    c) After 10 seconds, it's all the cyclist's fault - he didn't brake or even flinch, he committed to squeezing through the gap in order to get his opportunity to be self righteous
    d) The bus driver is an absolute idiot, and grossly unprofessional, for saying what he said. He deserves a slap on the wrist, but not to lose his job or to (as is virtually inevitable) have to close his Facebook etc. accounts because of being harassed by anonymous attackers

ragazzo wrote: »
    On this occasion it seems that the cyclist is looking for trouble. Sometimes a bit of cop on/commonsense is all that is needed.
    No need to defend everyone just because they throw a leg over a bike now and again. That does not mean they are right.
    This is a cycling thread so is pro cyclist but posters can also discuss the situation from different points of view without necessarily falling over themselves to pay homage to a rogue cyclist.

Someday he might make the George Hook half hour. They would be a nice couple!

I dont have to defend the driver either!!!

As someone who experiences this on my daily commute and my countless run ins with buses, taxis and white van drivers I tend to sympathise with him whether you view him as a hazard to mankind or not. all i see is the bus crossing that continuous white line and into the bike lane. Try outside the ifsc opposite busaras tomorrow and you will know what I mean.

Btw I dont know this lad. does the driver get 2 penalty points for crossing the continuous white line?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Dr Crippen

morana wrote: »

As someone who experiences this on my daily commute and my countless run ins with buses, taxis and white van drivers I tend to sympathise with him whether you view him as a hazard to mankind or not. all i see is the bus crossing that continuous white line and into the bus lane. Try outside the ifsc opposite busaras tomorrow and you will know what I mean.

Btw I dont know this lad. does the driver get 2 penalty points for crossing the continuous white line?!

Do cyclists get points for driving through red lights and ignoring green crossings, this is a regular occurrence in the city centre. I cycle to work everyday as see this very often. Even as a cyclist I would be happy to see a level playing field.

does the driver get 2 penalty points for crossing the continuous white line?!

Should do:
    (1) that was a cycle track delineated by a continuous white line that no vehicle should cross save in emergency or for access to a premises;
    (2) the driver was in breach of the 'dangerous overtaking' penalty-point offence governed by SI No. 182 of 1997 (S. 10). A fine of €80 plus 2 penalty-points.

Dr Crippen wrote: »
    Do cyclists get points for driving through red lights and ignoring green crossings, this is a regular occurrence in the city centre. I cycle to work everyday as see this very often. Even as a cyclist I would be happy to see a level playing field.

no because they dont have licences but they can be fined and i think that law should be enforced not a problem there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

As someone who experiences this on my daily commute and my countless run ins with buses, taxis and white van drivers I tend to sympathise with him whether you view him as a hazard to mankind or not. all i see is the bus crossing that continuous white line and into the bus lane. Try outside the ifsc opposite busaras tomorrow and you will know what I mean.

Any cyclist with half a brain knows to stay on the right of busses on that cycle lane , hell even when I'm driving I move to the right, there's a bus stop, a fairly tight bend, a pedestrian crossing and a tight left turn for the busses into busaras all in what maybe 30m? That's before you take into account the mayhem of traffic merging just before the bus stop and busses pulling out.

I'd say mr phelan would give himself a brain haemorrhage here with all the different situations to create and put on YouTube, hell he may even become a martyr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

foggy_lad wrote: »
    The bus driver never threatened or said he would run the crank down, he explained to him that "if you want to pull out in front of buses like that you are going to die"

I never implied he did one way or another, I just used the video title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭bambergbike

cycleoin86 wrote: »
    But the flip side of that is that cyclists should never be put in these situations. Bus should slow down until traffic to his left is clear and then pull in.

Totally. If the driver had slowed down until traffic to his left was clear there would have been no incident.

But I'm going to play devil's advocate, and perhaps project the scenario a bit into the future, and suggest that waiting for traffic to the left to clear could be a long wait, at least in a few years time when cycle traffic makes up 20% of all traffic in Dublin.:) If I were a passenger on a bus and the driver started pulling across to a stop and then stopped and braked to let a cyclist through - and then another one - and another one - and another one - and then the same thing happened again at the next stop and at the one after that - I would start to wonder whether it should really be legal for cyclists to undertake buses, or whether cyclists who are not confident overtaking buses (or don't have space to do so safely) shouldn't just hang behind them momentarily and let them get on with their job instead. At rush hour, you could easily get a non-stop stream of cyclists separating buses and stops on some routes.

In some cases, it may be possible to design infrastructure cleverly to minimize conflicts, but in general, I think people who want to use cycle infrastructure that runs between buses and bus stops, or between bus stop islands and the pavement, should be obliged to slow down or stop in order to let buses pull in or let passengers get off. All other cyclists can overtake buses instead of undertaking.

Here, I think it was perfectly legal for the cyclist in the video to undertake the bus. But I don't think it should be legal, in general, for a cyclist to undertake a bus that's about to pull in. (In the video, it seems that the driver doesn't start indicating until the cyclist is already well up on his inside, so I wouldn't expect the cyclist to have anticipated the bus stop and hung back, even if it was required of him - I wouldn't expect a cyclist to know exactly where all the bus stops are on every single road, never mind which buses stop at each.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

Whatever opinions one might hold concerning whose at fault, it is pretty objectional stuff to be openly blamed, then partially identified world wide on YouTube without your knowledge or consent or right of reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Dr Crippen

Isn't that a fairly important legal issue too?