Dublin Bus driver, "I'll run you over".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

drumswan wrote: »

Perfect choice of word.

If theres an incident report it to the gardai and dublin bus. Uploading someones face/licence plates onto youtube without blurring is the work of a mentalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

Giruilla wrote: »
    Perfect choice of word.

If theres an incident report it to the gardai and dublin bus. Uploading someones face/licence plates onto youtube without blurring is the work of a mentalist.

I'm too lazy but I'd love to see the tables turned on him. I'd say it's not to hard to go putting some of his personal details on YouTube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,701 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Well, after all, the bus is mightier than the bicycle!

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Point A: How exactly would he have cycled more defensively?

Personal opinion (from someone who cycles the quays every day) I would never go up the inside of a bus, with that sort of gap, and at that speed - it's asking for trouble and it is terrible, terrible road sense from anybody.

Remember - the unexpected can happen, and everyone else on the road is an idiot. Don't put yourself where bad things can happen. First rule for any road user.

Doesn't mean the bus driver did nothing wrong of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Personal opinion (from someone who cycles the quays every day) I would never go up the inside of a bus, with that sort of gap, and at that speed - it's asking for trouble and it is terrible, terrible road sense from anybody.

Remember - the unexpected can happen, and everyone else on the road is an idiot. Don't put yourself where bad things can happen. First rule for any road user.

Doesn't mean the bus driver did nothing wrong of course.

Its for this reason that I dont cycle on the quays, ever ever.

I take your point. Bus was close to the line when he cycled alongside it. He should have used common sense, and didnt.

On the other hand, I can see how a lot of cyclists will get a rush of blood to the head and think "i'm not going to let this guy shove me off the road". That will happen with 1 cyclist in every 50.

Which goes back to my point - its not good enough to just say that cyclists need to be more defensive in the face of dangerous driving.

The starting point here (for me) is that the bus driver drives into the cycle lane, technically the bus driver is in the wrong in a number of ways. Technically, the cyclist has done nothing wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

The starting point here (for me) is that the bus driver drives into the cycle lane, technically the bus driver is in the wrong in a number of ways. Technically, the cyclist has done nothing wrong.

No point being in the right stuck under a bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

ThisRegard wrote: »
    No point being in the right stuck under a bus.

Absolutely 100% correct.

That doesnt change the fact that the bus driver was in the wrong and the cyclist wasnt - and yet everyone here is calling the cyclist a crank.

Jesus what is with Ireland where people like to put the blame on the victims.....

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

The bus drivers initial reaction is because the cyclist pulled out in front of him to flag him down to stop. This is why the bus driver comes out with the 'run you over' bit.

At that point the bus driver was not aware the cyclists complaint is because he drifted into the cycle lane.
    The cyclist was a d*ck for first not slowing down when he can clearly see what the bus is doing.
    Secondly a d*ck for continuing, blazing past another cyclist in the cycle lane and narrowly getting past the gap between the cyclist and the bus.
    Thirdly for getting out in front of a bus on a bicycle and trying to force it to stop.

The bus driver is a d*ck for not paying attention, going into the cycle lane and not handling the complaint better.

D*cks everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Again, not everyone is calling the cyclist a crank, that's a minority on this thread. Most are saying the driver was at fault, but that the cyclist may have been in a position to minimise the danger to himself.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,378 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Tenzor07 wrote: »

True but for me the starting point is the driver needs to be fined/re trained for poor observational skills, secondly the cyclist needs to realise that being in the right does not make a fine obituary.

Traffic obviously slows as he talks to the driver afterwards. Why not stop dead, when safe, pull alongside the bus where it has pulled in and say "excuse me, I know it wasn't intentional but you really need to pay close attention to your left side, I was in the cycle lane and you scared the sh1t out of me, if I hadn't copped what you were about to do*, I would be dead"

*indicator only comes on half way through the merge, I mean why fuppin bother at this point, a pet hate of mine. I have had drivers tell me they indicated but look confused when I point out that it should be done before not during a turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭del_boy13

Missed opportunity to draft the bus and save some energy. Mistake was pulling alongside when he could have sat comfortably behind it and rolled along at an easy effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭Deagol

Don't insist on your rights or you may end up receiving them......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭biomed32

Looking at the video and as discussed, the cyclist was no saint, in fact he was a muppet and I am saying this as someone who cycles.

All other bikes were passing the bus on the outside while he was cycling in the cycle lane on the inside. If he cycles that road often enough, he will certainly know that there is a bus stop just ahead where the bus has to pull in and because of the deplorable planning of the bike lane in general, the bus will inevitably have to cross it.

I did not hear the "threat" to cyclists from the bus driver, the dialogue was cut short and the typed phrase appeared and its assumed that it was said. He should never have approached the driver in my opinion.

I actually went to look at some of his videos on his youtube account and he seems to make a huge deal out of nothing most of the time. Cars pass close all the time. To be honest if you decide to strap a camera to either your bike helmet or your motorcycle helmet your going to catch something every time. I find him to be aggressive and antagonistic and a terrible example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭joeysoap

having watched this twice there are cyclists all over the shop, at the start of the video a cyclist overtakes the bus on the drivers side, maybe the driver had to pull over to allow this cyclist room (conspiracy theory: maybe both cyclists set it up ?) also futher on in the video other cyclists are clearly seen to be outside the cycle lane on the other side of the road. Driver should not have said what he did, but in the heat of the moment..... this cyclist was as as dangerous to himself as any bus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,527 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

happytramp wrote: »
    Damn. That would have been all sorts of fun.

He's pretty much left youtube completely since that whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,137 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

MB Lacey wrote: »
    ...I was in Vauxhall, London at the wknd and passed the spot where another cyclist was killed a few hours earlier that day.
    I told my brother and his first reaction was 'Well, you should see some of the stunts cyclists pull'.
    A fkn truck had just run over the cyclist and yet the blame within a millisecond was on the cyclist.
    Perhaps your brother was referring to the antics of cyclists on the street where the fatality occurred. It's a one way street with 4 lanes and there is a lot of dangerous 'jockeying' for position in preparation for exits ahead.
    ... Its not immediately obvious to me that a sudden stop would have been safer, especially if he's wearing cleats which he probably was...
    That's a red herring. If he's wearing cleats in busy traffic, he should be able to unclip in an emergency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Personal opinion (from someone who cycles the quays every day) I would never go up the inside of a bus, with that sort of gap, and at that speed -

Good point actually. I wonder what speed he was traveling at, isn't that a 30k/h zone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

DROID

article-2640420-1E3CC98300000578-784_306x463.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

Jesus what is with Ireland where people like to put the blame on the victims.....

Because, most people can see through the victim act. The cyclist goes looking for trouble on a constant basis, he even wears a gopro to capture it!! He's a victim of being a mile up his own hole, someday hell be found out.

As a cyclist just go from A to B, avoid situations that may lead to you being a pancake. It's THAT easy.

I bet he stops at every single red light and stop sign :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,137 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

keith16 wrote: »
    Good point actually. I wonder what speed he was traveling at, isn't that a 30k/h zone?
    I think the 30km/h limit applies from Church Street so most of the footage is in a 50km/h zone. (Speeds tends to appear faster from helmet cams anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭ragazzo

biomed32 wrote: »
    Looking at the video and as discussed, the cyclist was no saint, in fact he was a muppet and I am saying this as someone who cycles.

All other bikes were passing the bus on the outside while he was cycling in the cycle lane on the inside. If he cycles that road often enough, he will certainly know that there is a bus stop just ahead where the bus has to pull in and because of the deplorable planning of the bike lane in general, the bus will inevitably have to cross it.

I did not hear the "threat" to cyclists from the bus driver, the dialogue was cut short and the typed phrase appeared and its assumed that it was said. He should never have approached the driver in my opinion.

I actually went to look at some of his videos on his youtube account and he seems to make a huge deal out of nothing most of the time. Cars pass close all the time. To be honest if you decide to strap a camera to either your bike helmet or your motorcycle helmet your going to catch something every time. I find him to be aggressive and antagonistic and a terrible example.

This cyclist seems to be a complete knobhead. No point insisting on your rights if it leads to an accident and possible injuries.

The bus driver just explained the inevitable in a no nonsense way. That cyclist is putting himself at serious risk of injury/death with his constant need to gain footage for youtube or wherever else he posts his videos. Leave the driver alone and go hassle the city planners who designed the road layout.

This man obviously has issues and the ride on the bike is not easing his frustration. Likes on facebook might be his reason to live and the highlight of each day.
    The most surprising thing about that video is that the bus driver did not use violence. I thought he handled the situation quite well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I think the 30km/h limit applies from Church Street so most of the footage is in a 50km/h zone. (Speeds tends to appear faster from helmet cams anyway).

Yeah you're right actually.

I have never cycled that stretch a road but drove it on several occasions, and even driving it, you just need to be on full alert, people are liable to do anything.

If I was cycling it, I would be doing so uber-defensively. You can't cycle behind a bus like that. It's a solid white line on the ground, not the bloody iron curtain.

I really don't envy cyclists with the dangers ye encounter on the roads especially in around the city centre with so many buses and HGV's etc.

But this cyclist was in the wrong imo to proceed undertaking the bus when he could see the bus coming into his lane!!

I've watched a fair few of this lads videos and imo it's like he is just out looking to cause trouble and get more views on his youtube channel.. The lad is an asshole!! Unfortunately it's lads like him which cause drivers to give out about cyclists!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

These threads bring all the anti-cyclists out of the woodwork..

The fact that he said "Ill run you over", regardless of what else happened coming from a 'professional' driver is completely ludicrous, goodbye sweet employment! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

Another good reason for riding an MTB - just pop her up onto the path out of harms way.... yeah yeah temporarily of course...

Zyzz wrote: »
    These threads bring all the anti-cyclists out of the woodwork..

The fact that he said "Ill run you over", regardless of what else happened coming from a 'professional' driver is completely ludicrous, goodbye sweet employment! :)

I thought he meant it in a "I could have killed you, not intentionally but by accident" that said on review he gets so distracted by the incident he forgets about the cyclists he actually had been trying to avoid/pull in behind and looks like he left hooks them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

CramCycle wrote: »
    I thought he meant it in a "I could have killed you, not intentionally but by accident" that said on review he gets so distracted by the incident he forgets about the cyclists he actually had been trying to avoid/pull in behind and looks like he left hooks them.

"You wanna go, Ill run you over"

That doesn't sound very accidental..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

This has been spun.

There was no threat from the driver...more of an observation that the cyclist will get run over if he keeps cycling like that.

I think the bus driver when he said "Cycle the way your cycling and I'll run you over... ". To my mind he shouldn't have undertaken the bus the way he did he should have held back a little when it was passed him. Interesting he highlights the obstacles on the path as potential hazards but yet being on the blindside of a bus. He should have allowed that the bus might need to enter into the cycle lane as they were passing through junctions in the road... usually there is a slight pinch point at those points in the road. At the point when they clear the junction he nearly runs into the back of a slower moving cyclist to ride out in front of the bus.

After the first time he spoke to the bus driver he says on camera about the bus pulling out in his path, if you look at the road it's the only place for the bus to go without mounting the path. I'm sure if the footage on the bus was to be taken into account it would probably show something more balanced. But defo feels like quite a spun video of a cyclist looking to be in the right. From looking at it and actually listening to the exchange rather than the "subtitles" I don't see any malice on the bus drivers part in this instance. I see a cyclist putting himself into danger and blaming everyone except himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

The guy is a dip**** for charging like fook down the inside of a bus like that. If you were on a bike or in your car and someone passed you up the inside like that you'd be thinking what a **** they were.

If this dingus just took it a little more easy then I suspect he'd have far fewer close shaves and brushes with traffic. If your child charged about the house like that you'd smack his arse.