Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Sappy404

Quick, somebody make a joke about how we should just buy their whole club!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

I think there might be something to this Rickie Lambert story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

http://kopblocks.com/showthread.php?tid=657
    Ok, I was very skeptical at first so didn't mention anything publicly, but throughout the day more and more "trusted" people have been getting the same info, so it seems as though Rickie Lambert is on the verge of signing for LFC. Been told it's a 2 year deal, £4m or less. He's being brought in as backup. Medical on Sat. Possibly taking a pay cut too.

That's all I have.

Cheers
    Karl.

this is guy is suppose to be reliable. I guess we will find out in the next few days if he is.

Welcome to Liverpool Rickie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭googled eyes

If we are bringing Lambert in, it's obviously for his peno taking.
    Penalty record[edit]
    Since joining Southampton Lambert has built up a reputation as a specialist from 12 yards. He has converted his last 34 penalties and has not missed from the spot since moving to Southampton in 2009, a record that is rivaled by few in the footballing world.[65]

We're gonna win the Champions League on peno's lads :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭the incredible pudding

I've always like Lambert to be honest and we do lack a plan B at the moment against teams that park the bus. He's very good in the air and is a proven finisher. As a backup striker who has a good bit of experience I feel he'd be a grand acquisition.

He is a good footballer. £4 million, 2 year contract. That makes a lot more sense to me than the Aspas signing last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I can't believe Soton have priced Lambert at 40m quid.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

mike65 wrote: »
    I can't believe Soton have priced Lambert at 40m quid.:confused:

Yep, far better value to be had elsewhere. I hear Big Sam is willing to cut us a deal on Carlton Cole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Is this the "googly" signing of the summer, the one that has everyone going "wha da fu...." but which turns out to be a genius move? Can it be, Can bit be?! :pac:

£25m Adam Lallana* AM/W
    £16m Alberto Moreno. LB
    £16m Xherdan Shaqiri LW/AM
    £15m Dejan Lovren. CB
    £10m Emre Can. CM
    £05m Michel Vorm GK
    £04m Rickie Lambert FW
    £91m - can't see it at all. Lallana or Shaqiri would be more likely no?

*don't think Liverpool would go any higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Just before everyone freaks out about Lambert

10378920_10152449461384138_1259049943907849999_n.jpg

This guy has a fcked up sense of humour. He's the one that made the Aspas video. He replies to his own tweets for fcks sake

Chances are the Lambert story is bullsh!t

I heard hangballlouie made that video....pass it on.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I've seen plenty of both Shaw and Moreno, and the difference between both cancels each other in terms of strengths and weaknesses. The main difference is one is English, one is 3 years younger and one is linked with Manchester United as far as I can tell. I'd have loved to have Shaw, but I'd be equally delighted to have Moreno as well as I've said numerous times. To say Moreno is lesser of a player than him is poppycock. Poppycock meaning garbage for those who wish to be offended and report me, and are too lazy to use Google. Rodriguez and Sandro are very much in the same category as them. You cannot lose when picking any of them. For anyone to rubbish stats that go against their point opinion is petty. Stats are the be all to end all, most of what I go on players is by actually viewing them for the most, but stats certainly help paint a picture. If Moreno signs, while he is a capable defender, unlike at Sevilla he'll at least have some competent protection at Liverpool Something one Jose Antonio Reyes in front of him knows nothing about. Anyone who watched the Europa League Final will have picked up on that.

I can't speak for others, but I was quite sure Moreno was going to end up at Real Madrid. I still kinda do, if I'm honest. Likewise Shaw at Chelsea. If the offer is there from United and Southampton have accepted, and it's down to the player now and has been for a couple weeks now, well IMHO he's using the World Cup as an excuse to wait a couple of weeks before signing in the hope his boyhood club come along I reckon. I'm sure the contract offered by Man uTd is very lucrative.

Didn't think anyone would be arsed to posting it up. 2 weeks ago on the Shaw vs Moreno debate -
    Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    * Puts away Ade's transfer list * :pac:

On Moreno, signing him as with Shaw would be effectively sorting out your LB position for the next 5-10 years. Moreno is better going forward, but Shaw trumps him when it comes to defending. That's not say they're poor defending or attacking respectively. IMO, Chelsea will have a huge say on both players future if they're indeed interested.

edit - ditto Porto's Alex Sandro too.
    Accurate? Rodgers to walk away from an area that needs strengthening? Right. I'll agree to disagree on both.

I'd look up the stats myself, but am not arsed as I am on the phone at the moment, but please throw up the stats of their respective season if you wish. Whoscored.com should have them available.

To say Rodgers should walk away from bringing in a top quality full back is laughable as it is mind boggling. Sure, then what was the need for Irwin, Evra (at his peak), Neville, etc you might as well say.

Full backs are a key component of how Liverpool are set up. I'd have Shaw myself because I do like my full backs being able to defend first and foremost, especially when factoring in how exposed Liverpool's CB pairings have been this past year, but there's really not much in it, but for price (10-15M difference) and a 3 years difference in age.

We have a headless chicken at RB for large spells of last season and who has offered little to nowt over the past 3 years in my eyes. We have also have a LB who seems to be stuck within the disc reader part of his PS4 for the last 8 months. Then there is a RB covering at LB who did alright, but can be improved upon by a natural LB for sure.

I'd also put forward that Shaw's playing with better players, most certainly in defense and midfield which helps. Probably in regards to keeper too. Sevilla winning the Europa League does nothing to dispel that for me.
    But again, even if it goes up to 20-25M, it's for a player who possesses the talent of who should see 5-10 years production from. It's worth every penny.

- - - - - - - - Boruc - - - - - - - -

Clyne - - Fonte - - Lovern - - Shaw

- - - - Cork - - - Schneiderlin - -

- - - - - - - Lallana - - - - - - -

Southampton tend to mix up the midfield opting for 3 or 5 man midfields, so I ignored the other two players, though sometimes Jay Rodriguez plays LM I've noticed every now and again and he's performed very well this season where ever he's featured. Steven Davies does his role well on the RW/RM.

vs.

- - - - - - - - Beto

Coke - - Pareja - - Fazio - - Moreno

- - - - - Carrico - - M'Bia - - - - -

- - - - - - - - - Rakitic - - - - - -

Same could be said tactically of Sevilla with Vitolo and Reyes out wide, however, both are terrible and nobody can convince me otherwise, so if I included them, that would work in my advantage. Beto is legit insane and I have zero faith in him. Fazio is good, and I'd have him ahead of Fonte, probably. Pareja, meh. Wreckless in a word. Coke has done well this season, but Clyne is better than him for me. Carrico, M'Bia and Rakitic are very good though, but in comparison to Schneiderlin, Cork and Lallana (Waynama is a nice option to have from the bench too!).. well, Schneiderlin is very much underrated or maybe a better word is more unknown compared to those that play alongside him. Lallana is clearly a very talented player, but as I've said previously last night, I'd opt for Rakatic more down to the fact I've seen him more going back to when he was a youngster for Schalke. I don't have much of an opinion on Jack Cork truth be told. I usually go out of my way to watch a player or few in any given game, but I have never done so for him. Seems economical on the ball. As for M'Bia, he's been superb.

Overall, I'd opt for Southampton's defense and midfield combined, and probably just Southampton's defense on it's own which backs up my point on how Shaw has been quite fortunate to be playing alongside who he has this season. Moreno on the other hand has Fazio in defense to call upon and that's about it. Vitolo doesn't track back much if at all unlike Lallana and Rodriguez, certainly not yesterday or the games I've seen this season, likewise Reyes when they switch wings.

At the end of the day, for their age bracket and the position they play in, they're worth the money one has to spend to acquire them. More than likely Chelsea will have their say on the matter I reckon.
    Forgot to post these links:

http://www.whoscored.com/Players/118244/Show/Luke-Shaw

http://www.whoscored.com/Players/113275/Show/Alberto-Moreno

I should also add that I'd be happy with non-WWE Ricardo Rodriguez and Alex Sandro if Liverpool miss out either Moreno or Shaw. United should focus on signing Schmelzer.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057203435&page=94

(Side note, the effort of finding posts 2 weeks back, amazed some of you can trawl a year or more back, or in my case, even trawl 4 years back)

mike65 wrote: »
    Is this the "googly" signing of the summer, the one that has everyone going "wha da fu...." but which turns out to be a genius move? Can it be, Can bit be?! :pac:

Is this not exactly the sort of signing that makes sense. A good footballer, for a small fee, who has proven himself in the Premiership. Vorm is another. We need depth to the squad, both of these players will give you that.

For me the signings of Assaidi, Aspas, Luis Alberto are the ones that get me worried.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Fescue wrote: »
    Welcome to Liverpool Rickie.

Tune of Soul, great choice of music.

If we're after a replacement for Aspas, I don't mind Lambert, but ST is far down the pecking order in terms of a position we need filling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Nuri did you not yourself link to stats that showed Shaw had better offensive stats completely contradicting you saying Moreno is better going forward when you made those posts a few weeks ago

My position is clear whether he ends up at Chelsea even, Shaw is better all round and that's the reason he will go for a lot more than Moreno. Being consistently very good in the premier league at 18 is a feat very few have achieved

I remember a few weeks back when one of the papers linked Liverpool with Shaw for 30 million and there was a page or two of people in here delighted, it seems the tinted specs are on now though and suddenly Moreno is just as good but way cheaper.

Didn't realise Lambert was on the LFC books from 1992 to 97.

Would be a decent signing for low fee and wages. Another option that isn't Moses couldn't hurt. Offers something different, could take Aspas' place and leave us 2-3 million better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Rickie Lambert is a huge Liverpool fan. He would probably walk to Liverpool to sign for the club.

Not that I am advocating we buy him. That said he would be an upgrade on Aspas as a bench option if he was cheap. Doesn't seem like a Rodgers type player though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Would it not make more sense to give Borini more game time than bringing in an ok player in Lambert.....its probably BS anyway.

NukaCola wrote: »
    Would it not make more sense to give Borini more game time than bringing in an ok player in Lambert.....its probably BS anyway.

Lambert is a lot better than Borini to be honest.

NukaCola wrote: »

I don't think Lambert would have much of a bearing over Borini playing. He could just take Aspas' place on the bench as another option if needed in those Chelsea type games. Borini should have plenty of chances with the cups. Important to have more backup with the increased number of games.

13/14 season, 42 games: Suarez, Sturridge, Aspas.

14/15 season, ~50-55 games: Suarez, Sturridge, Borini, Lambert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Rickie Lambert is a huge Liverpool fan. He would probably walk to Liverpool to sign for the club.

Not that I am advocating we buy him. That said he would be an upgrade on Aspas as a bench option if he was cheap. Doesn't seem like a Rodgers type player though.

He doesn't seem like a Rodgers player yet he has been playing in a side (and doing pretty well too) that plays like a Rodgers team. For 4m he's an upgrade on Aspas. Not that I expect him to be a target.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

People are speculating Lallana is a done deal, but not at the price that favoured LFC, so they negotiated Lambert into the deal, and the fee will split heavily on Lamberts side and the balance on Lallana...this would reduce the amount owed to Bournmount.

IF this is true it's a very unsavoury thing for Southampton to do, and I'm not too comfortable with LFC being a part, albeit small in the transaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ush

Can't be legal surely?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,892 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Agueroooo wrote: »
    People are speculating Lallana is a done deal, but not at the price that favoured LFC, so they negotiated Lambert into the deal, and the fee will split heavily on Lamberts side and the balance on Lallana...this would reduce the amount owed to Bournmount.

IF this is true it's a very unsavoury thing for Southampton to do, and I'm not too comfortable with LFC being a part, albeit small in the transaction.

'People' speculating are almost invariably talking through their hoop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

SSN saying 9M for Lambert. He's 32. Makes no sense unless this is somehow tied into the Lallana deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Moyes will bottle u ‏@BreakfastPercy 39m
    Soton are willing to let Lambert- who will forego his wages- to join boyhood club #LFC for free. Ian Ayre believes a deal may be difficult.

:pac::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭DaveSuarez

MD1990 wrote: »
    http://kopblocks.com/showthread.php?tid=657

this is guy is suppose to be reliable. I guess we will find out in the next few days if he is.

I doubt he's that reliable after reading that tbh

"Rickie Lambert? Ah yeah I'd heard we were after him alright, I just didn't want to say it in public"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

That's like buying a laptop for 100 quid and the charger for 400.

Sort of...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Grayditch wrote: »
    That's like buying a laptop for 100 quid and the charger for 400.

This is one of those times I'd be happy to be the kid who got the Christmas present he wanted but his parents forgot the batteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Turtyturd wrote: »
    This is one of those times I'd be happy to be the kid who got the Christmas present he wanted but his parents forgot the batteries.

Lallana better not come without his batteries :(

That's one of the main reasons we are after him.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSPWehXo-t69VMcjMkeH2xApe12rfXc-hMlyniZFrf3Rm8nSFXFBQ