Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Mr Alan wrote: »
    I too have explained my issues with him to date.

Put simply, when he plays our defence as a unit operates at a much lower level than when he doesn't play.

Then there's the fact that he cost the guts of £20m which is a huge amount of money for a defender. When paying that much for a defender, I'd expect they go straight into the first team and play at a high level. He hasn't done that and at the minute there's as many people who don't think he'll make it at Liverpool as there is who think he looks good. That's not exactly a ringing endorsement.

I asked because I was away for the weekend and was not going to read back through a few days worth of posts to see if you had already said something on the topic you asked me about.

Totally disagree with you with regards to what you have said above though. No idea how you have worked out that the defence plays at a much lower level when Sakho is in it, because we leaked goals when he was out of the team just as we did with him in the team. Our goals against stats with him out of the team do not show the sort of massive upswing one would expect to see if Sakho was such a liability.

And it is not as though one could say that senior players like Johnson or Skrtel had their own performances dragged down by Sakho because things like Johnson playing a poor games for every good game or Skrtel's occasional brainfarts have been happening long long before Sakho joined the club as well as when Sakho was out of the team.

As for his fee, well it was not too long since I said similar things about Henderson and how a player costing that much should be able to go straight into the first team and perform, and some on here disagreed strongly and argued that he needed time. Sakho imo has had a much stronger first season that Henderson did, and I see more reasons why he can kick on further next season than I do for him to regress in any way.

Sakho will come good in my opinion because he has the ability, and he has the talent. I reckon he will end up justifying his transfer fee. I think there is far more chance of him having a massive upswing in form next season, a la Henderson this season, than there is for him to turn out to be an utter joke of a signing like Andy Carroll was.

But at the end of the day it is just opinions that we are throwing about, and we will have to wait until next season to find out how Sakho performs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Which town?

Carlow.:D

It was sent from a warehouse in Mayo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

Kess73 wrote: »
    I asked because I was away for the weekend and was not going to read back through a few days worth of posts to see if you had already said something on the topic you asked me about.

Totally disagree with you with regards to what you have said above though. No idea how you have worked out that the defence plays at a much lower level when Sakho is in it, because we leaked goals when he was out of the team just as we did with him in the team. Our goals against stats with him out of the team do not show the sort of massive upswing one would expect to see if Sakho was such a liability.

And it is not as though one could say that senior players like Johnson or Skrtel had their own performances dragged down by Sakho because things like Johnson playing a poor games for every good game or Skrtel's occasional brainfarts have been happening long long before Sakho joined the club as well as when Sakho was out of the team.

As for his fee, well it was not too long since I said similar things about Henderson and how a player costing that much should be able to go straight into the first team and perform, and some on here disagreed strongly and argued that he needed time. Sakho imo has had a much stronger first season that Henderson did, and I see more reasons why he can kick on further next season than I do for him to regress in any way.

Sakho will come good in my opinion because he has the ability, and he has the talent. I reckon he will end up justifying his transfer fee. I think there is far more chance of him having a massive upswing in form next season, a la Henderson this season, than there is for him to turn out to be an utter joke of a signing like Andy Carroll was.

But at the end of the day it is just opinions that we are throwing about, and we will have to wait until next season to find out how Sakho performs.

I suppose the question is do you rely on him and Agger as your left centre backs or look to strenghten both the right and left centre back spots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭ronjo

mike65 wrote: »
    We haven't mentioned Mr Wood Work that often this season but I really don't know why he has slipped under the radar - Liverpool hit the woodwork 27 times, more than any other side.

Some other less obvious or forgotten stats (thanks to the graun)

2 Liverpool and Fulham were the only teams not to be involved in any 0-0 draws this season.

4 Martin Skrtel set a new Premier League record by scoring four own goals in a single season.

8 Daniel Sturridge became the first Liverpool player to score in eight consecutive Premier League games.

10 Luis Suarez scored 10 times in December, becoming the first Premier League player to reach double figures in a single month

12 Liverpool took 12 penalties, five more than any other team

89 Liverpool made fewer substitutions than any other team (89). Chelsea made the most (113).

So Chelsea used all their subs in every game bar 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

887176_10152138627223581_1669233816349804336_o.jpg

10293729_10152138627213581_7601473962096269537_o.jpg
    Sakho selfie with the other lads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,797 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

What it comes down to is the reality that - in order to justify the fee and hype long term - Sakho will need to consistently perform at a higher level than he has thus far. To argue against that would be myopic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/weird-news/panda-dogs-pet-shops-sell-3533325#.U3JS8-5PB-M.facebook[/URL

I think some members here might be interested in the above link....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    What it comes down to is the reality that - in order to justify the fee and hype long term - Sakho will need to consistently perform at a higher level than he has thus far. To argue against that would be myopic.

Probably explains why no one has argued against it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭asdfgh86

887176_10152138627223581_1669233816349804336_o.jpg

Very awkward and ungainly selfie technique. This lad'll never make it.

I like Sakho and I do think he will be in the heart of our defence for the next few seasons till PSG coming calling for him again.

But for this season a few things need to be taken into account.

He joined the team very late so did not have a preseason so he wasn't a first team starter at the begining then just as he was getting into the swing of the PL he got injured.

We haven't had a stable back four all season so this would have hurt any building of cohesion between the players, This would have also affected Mignolet.

The reason Agger and Skrtel look well to some people is they have played together for a number of seasons and in those seasons plenty of fans were calling for them to be shipped out as well.

In fairness Sakho played with Skrtel who is dodgy at defending and always will be, and Johnson who was at times a disgrace.

Stick a decent CB in beside him and a proper RB and he'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

rarnes1 wrote: »
    In fairness Sakho played with Skrtel who is dodgy at defending and always will be, and Johnson who was at times a disgrace.

What in gods creation can be done with Glen Johnson? Will anyone take him off our hands.

Fescue wrote: »
    What in gods creation can be done with Glen Johnson? Will anyone take him off our hands.

He's out of contract so he can leave.

Think he has a year left but he's on big money.

Probably hang around for a year unless someone wants to give him a decent wage elsewhere

He's out of contract so he can leave.

Year left no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Any news yet on who's travelling with the team to play Rovers tomorrow?

Guy on Sky Sports News said that none of the players going to the World Cup will be playing.

Year left no?

Ye just checked the transfermarket say June 2015.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Big Sam will sort it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

Medel and Caulker for under 10m would be incredible business. 20m for Lallana, 15m on Konyplanka, Ashley Cole on a free. That gives us 15m to spend on a right back. All them along with our players returning from loan would give us an exceptionally strong squad.

This management stuff is easy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭MR NINE

I really hope rodgers isnt planning on retaining johnson as first choice right back for next season. Hes been fairly ruthless so far when necessary but hes also spoken highly of johnson and signalled hed like to keep him though i guess he has to do that really. I really hope he makes the right call, our centre backs might look a lot better with a good right back along side them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭MR NINE

Hes englands first choice right back and ive heard commentators and pundits alike commenting on how good a season hes had. Xenophobia could work in our favour this time, i just hope rodgers doesnt buy into it

I'd say Johnson could be let go on a free just to get him off the books. It would also probably let a midtable team be able to afford his wages.

He'll still get a decent wage from a premier league club. There's no need to release him on a free transfer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Subscribers Posts: 32,893 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

While Johnson hasn't had his best season, people are being way OTT on him. No chance he will be let go on a free transfer this summer. He might leave, but if he does we'll get 5m or so for him.

darced wrote: »

With Lallana and Medel, we wouldn't need another midfielder.

5starpool wrote: »
    While Johnson hasn't had his best season, people are being way OTT on him. No chance he will be let go on a free transfer this summer. He might leave, but if he does we'll get 5m or so for him.

I'd like to keep because if he can get his head right he is a very good player and the them needs that.

I think we have till Christmas to decide what to do with him before he can walk away himself.

So I have no problem keeping him and hoping he can sort his football head out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Thud wrote: »
    We've picked up a few world cup stars after the last few world cups who were relatively unheralded prior to the world cups...

this fella..
    16pic8.jpg

and this fella (albeit 6mths later)..
    suarez2_1671849c.jpg

Any thoughts on who might star this year that we mightn't have heard of yet?

Memphis Depay and Jean Paul Boetius from the Dutch team. Both are young wingers and have had good seasons. You can quote me on that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

How much would ye reckon Lamela would go for after his poor/dreadful season for Spurs?
    Would they be silly enough to part with him for a low price and cut losses?

Spurs signed him for ~25 m i think?