Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

See its annoyed nullzero already :D

Not so much annoyed as disappointed to be honest. I'm sure you can do better if you put your mind to it.

°°°°°

Grayditch wrote: »
    Nullzero in "nothing nice to say in the Liverpool thread" shocker.

Grayditch in nothing insightful to say about me shocker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Rather than argue about the merits/cost of a player Liverpool are signing wouldn't it make more sense to debate those not yet linked ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

5starpool wrote: »
    For 20m we should be getting a guaranteed first team starter that will improve us. I don't think at this time that we are getting that with Lallana. If we sign him I would be delighted to have this post requoted by Daithijjj in 12 months to show how wrong I was, but I can't see him being that pivotal to us.

Was only havin the craic with that statement but i think some of you 'bucko's' are in for a surprise. Provided he does actually sign for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,217 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Rodgers wins LMA manager of the year. Couldnt be anyone else really, outstanding job he has done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

nullzero wrote: »

In his defence, what have you ever posted here that could possibly be derived as insightful?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Upon receiving the award, having narrowly missed out on the League title, Rodgers joked: 'I was hoping I'd been on the open top bus tonight.

°°°°°

Knex. wrote: »
    In his defence, what have you ever posted here that could possibly be derived as insightful?

Be honest; that wasn't in his defence at all. He didn't mention insight, be it on my part or as an abstract concept in any form. But you sure showed me with your comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Paddy Power refusing to pay out on Brendan Rodgers winning the LMA they are saying Pulis won.

Paddy Power use Goal.com as proof that Pulis won with me lol I have had to ask for a a review of my bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

mosstin wrote: »
    Still think we'll get another season from him.

I really hope you're right about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Be honest; that wasn't in his defence at all. He didn't mention insight, be it on my part or as an abstract concept in any form. But you sure showed me with your comment.

What? :D

You seem to have confused yourself, null.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,870 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Paddy Power refusing to pay out on Brendan Rodger winning the LMA they are saying Pulis won.

Paddy Power use Goal.com as proof that Pulis won with me lol I have had to ask for a a review of my bet.

That's bad.

If you need help in sending Paddy Power some screen shots you should ask Dixiefly for help.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Ye shouldn't be gambling it's sinful.

°°°°°

Knex. wrote: »
    What? :D

You seem to have confused yourself, null.

Myself? Or you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Are you looking for a 'touché' for that? Jaysus.

°°°°°

Grayditch wrote: »
    Are you looking for a 'touché' for that? Jaysus.

If you've got one to spare then go ahead. You're a touchy bunch in here aren't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

If you've got one to spare then go ahead. You're a touchy bunch in here aren't you?

Sound, yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

daithijjj wrote: »
    Was only havin the craic with that statement but i think some of you 'bucko's' are in for a surprise. Provided he does actually sign for us.

I think nearly everyone would be happy to have him in principle but that doesn't mean he would be good business.

Someone mentioned Hendo - he was 16m.

If he was that sort of money then he'd be a safe bet. I'd even be happy up to 20. But we're not going to have money coming out our arse and if spending 25m on Lallana means we have to skimp on positions that require more attention (CM, both full backs), it's just bad business, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

No surprise to see the Rodgers spurned in favour of Pulis by his PL peers after the hidings we've dished out this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,199 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

No surprise to see the Rodgers spurned in favour of Pulis by his PL peers after the hidings we've dished out this year.

He was voted Manager of the Year by his peers at the LMA.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,870 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Gbear wrote: »
    I think nearly everyone would be happy to have him in principle but that doesn't mean he would be good business.

Someone mentioned Hendo - he was 16m.

If he was that sort of money then he'd be a safe bet. I'd even be happy up to 20. But we're not going to have money coming out our arse and if spending 25m on Lallana means we have to skimp on positions that require more attention (CM, both full backs), it's just bad business, IMO.

Please explain the logic here.

So if Lallana was bought for £16m and fails then it's ok? Is that still not throwing away £16m?

What if we pay £20m and he's a great success?

Plenty of people scoffed at the Henderson fee and his first season was very difficult and people here called him a flop. We paid £16m for potential and it now seems to be paying off.

Lallana is not a risk in my opinion, he's proven at Premiership level for 2 seasons, is a full international and at 26 is at or very close to the peak of his game and we should get his best years.
    I would imagine he would also improve through playing with better players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

murpho999 wrote: »

So if Lallana was bought for £16m and fails then it's ok? Is that still not throwing away £16m?

Plenty of people scoffed at the Henderson fee and his first season was very difficult and people here called him a flop. We paid £16m for potential and it now seems to be paying off.

Lallana is not a risk in my opinion, he's proven at Premiership level for 2 seasons, is a full international and at 26 is at or very close to the peak of his game and we should get his best years.

Safe bet was a poor choice of words. I think we're virtually guaranteed a pretty high standard of player with Lallana.
    But he's not worth 25m quid and if the opportunity cost of paying over the odds is a failure to be able to land targets that are more important then it's bad business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

Gbear wrote: »
    Safe bet was a poor choice of words. I think we're virtually guaranteed a pretty high standard of player with Lallana.
    But he's not worth 25m quid and if the opportunity cost of paying over the odds is a failure to be able to land targets that are more important then it's bad business.

Not gona disagree as such that he is not worth 25million - but in truth, take a look at many of the players that were bought in PL last 12-14 months they have gone for money that was very inflated at times - i.e Spurs signings, Salah, even Mata to an extent even though he is termed as class. It's all relevant to how the team then performs and the money/profile generated to an extent. If we'd signed Lallana/Erickson/Salah last season for 25million each, but the reaction was to go on the run that we did and be a close 2nd in the league, then not many would be able to disagree the transfers were worth it.

I guess we need to expect to pay over the odds for players or else not get the signings we need. I think we all have the attitude that we tend to get burned since the downing/adams/hendo years but that seems to be the way it goes. Pay up or miss out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭ronjo

Morzadec wrote: »
    I think Lallana's a good player who would no doubt improve the squad, but I wouldn't expect any major fireworks from him.

Imo he would probably be to Sterling/Coutinho what Allen is to Henderson - very capable backup who would possibly make some question whether he should be backup at all.

Obviously you rate him highly, but I'm interested - which of the 3 younger players (who might step it up even another level on a very impressive season) do you think Lallana is currently an upgrade on:

Henderson at CM?
    Coutinho at CM or AM?
    Sterling at AM or out wide?

Of the 3 he maybe could be seen as a more stable, more consistent, but less exciting version of Coutinho - not sure if necessarily better overall.

With CL, squad depth will be important and he would play an important part, but I'm not sure if I see him as improving anything other than quality in depth (which of course is nothing to turn one's nose up at) which I would've hoped for more than for the reported figure.

Gerrard

Henderson--Coutinho--

Sterling

Suarez---Sturridge---

Who does Lallana displace there? It is a squad game of course, but I'm just not sure I see the upgrade.

It's nothing about him being English, just think that one good (but hardly mind-blowing) season does not equate to the fee being touted, and that he probably is not quite as good, and I would say certainly not an upgrade, on some of the young players we have currently playing in the positions he favours.

I wouldn't be angry if we signed him for the reported fee - I think he's a good player and I wouldn't imagine him being a major flop. But he's not the type of player that gets me excited and thinking that we can challenge for the league again and Champions League - a player like Kono or Ratikic would.

One thing I would say is that if you take one or two players out of that starting 6 which is bound to happen then Lallana is a significant upgrade on whats left surely?

Its a squad game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Lallana is a good player, he's not really worth 20 mil but in the current climate he'd go for at least that possibly more.

My concern is he has had 2 seasons of top flight football and is now 26 years old. He had one great season, one average to good season. If we went for him before his one fantastic season he would probably have gone for less than 10 million. His price is been driven up significantly by that one great season.

Surely the scouting network we have can get someone at least at that level for less. After all we got Coutinho for half that and he is currently a good player with bags of potential.

It just seems like the easiest thing to do. Blow big money on a decent player that had a great season. He's EPL "proven", in the WC squad, in team of the year etc etc His stock will never be as high again. I would have thought we've learned a lesson over the years.

Thats not to say Lallana, if bought, could go on to be great value or a big success. I'm just not sure he's the answer, but the money mentioned makes him a big big signing for us. I suppose it all depends on who our targets are. If he's our number one then I'm completely underwhelmed.

murpho999 wrote: »

Agree with Henderson to an extend. I actually think he's better when Gerard is not in the team (think it was prior to xmas he particularly impressed)

Have to say though, nothing is proven until he replicates this season and also performs in Europe next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,797 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I am pie wrote: »
    Some people seriously detached from economic reality. We have got guaranteed Champs League, I guess we net an extra 50 to 60m. Unless I am wrong we operated at a loss of around 50m less year, an obvious improvement from the dark days of 200m.

Whether you understand it, accept it or want to confront it part of Liverpool's priorities are the ongoing stabilisation of finances. This does not include doing batshyt crazy things like offering a 33 yr old who missed the England world cup squad a 3 yr contract, nor does it mean we can spend upwards of 100m this summer...just because it would please the fantasy football fans.

We are not Chelsea, City, Arsenal or United,...or even Spurs, in our spending ability. Players do care about being in with a shout of the league and playing in champs league but they sadly care more about big bucketloads of money and 60k+ seater stadiums and one great season does not take us there.

We are still rebuilding after Sounness, Hodgson, the Moores selling us, those 2 fckin Texan bell ends and Rafa leaving, years of underinvestment and missing the boat with the modernisation of the football business.

Sorry if that's not happy clappy enough, but it's reality and as fans we should be immensely proud of the rebuilding job that has gone on and we should be backing a sensible transfer policy whilst keeping our foot on the gas with developing the infrastructure and business side of the club.

You'll be sorely disappointed post transfer window (just like this winter eh?) if you are hoping for Muller, Martinez and the ghost of Eusebio to emerge from the other side of the transfer window. I don't want us to risk the clubs future on a few big names, I want us to build and keep progressing, long term job, still a long way to go.

And you'll be sorely disappointed post next season if we do a rerun of Spurs 2010 / 11. This is a vital tipping point. Stretch now, use momentum to establish a squad (not just 7 players) at the next level and then use a bedded in CL position to gradually unwind the finances over the next five years.

Penny pinching this year to balance the books for the financial year at hand would be a terrible missed opportunity. Small minded, short term and unimaginative thinking.

We are a half decade on at failing to push in 2009. I'm comfortable in my 'immature' traditional fan position - you swissramble football hipsters aren't interested in the important business of winning stuff. The business that should be burned in your brains more fiercely than ever given the collective deflation and disappointment this thread has experienced following its best ever Premiership performance (finishing as best losers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

ronjo wrote: »
    One thing I would say is that if you take one or two players out of that starting 6 which is bound to happen then Lallana is a significant upgrade on whats left surely?

Its a squad game.

This exactly. Arsenal have a starting midfield of Flamini, Ramsey, Ozil, Walcott and Cazorla, and also have Wilshere, Chamberlain, Arteta, Rosicky, Podolski, and Gnabry and use all of them. Depth is vital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭slingerz

klose wrote: »
    Coutinho has struggled in some away games this year and is what, 21? , sterling is 19 ffs. We cant rely on these players for what will hopefully be 45-50 game season its not hard to see why lallana fits in and rodgers wants him. Him and kono as attacking reinforcements would be a serious step forward.

This is the point.

This year we had Moses and Alberto on the bench. Alternating them with Coutinho/Lallana/Sterling/Konoplyanka would be ideal given that Moses is gone and we will have a number of extra games to play plus the chance of innjuries that will need to be covered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

I find it funny that people are so against signing lallana cause he's only had one excellent season but a lot of the same people are saying how they'd love us to sign Coleman...

I'd be thrilled with Lallana for 20m. He's a very good player IMO and would really improve the squad. I doubt he'll be our only big signing either.