If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Official bitch about daily life in UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Jester252 wrote: »
    Airports must put your knickers in a twist. Making everyone go through security

I really don't see the comparison unless you now believe the cheating students are bringing in Semtex or TEC-9s. This isn't Columbine. Are you an invigilator or undergoing exams? This seems quite close to your heart.

@lilredDorcha, I'm with ye on the jacket thing. I'd left mine in the SU but was lucky enough to be able to move mostly via the Main Building for my exam. Around halfway through I got a bit warm and took my jumper off, one of the older invigilators flipped the lid. Its more akin to PT Barnum's than an exam hall. Was I using them to cover my non existent notes on the floor? Maybe I'd concealed a geometric pattern in the weave of the fabric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Reiver wrote: »
    I really don't see the comparison unless you now believe the cheating students are bringing in Semtex or TEC-9s. This isn't Columbine. Are you an invigilator or undergoing exams? This seems quite close to your heart.

You're the one with an issue with blanket rules.

So must hate airports with their blanket rules and checks

Or you're just complain and getting worked up over nothing and all the time and energy spend complaining might be better used studying for your exams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

@lilredDorcha, I'm with ye on the jacket thing. I'd left mine in the SU but was lucky enough to be able to move mostly via the Main Building for my exam. Around halfway through I got a bit warm and took my jumper off, one of the older invigilators flipped the lid. Its more akin to PT Barnum's than an exam hall. Was I using them to cover my non existent notes on the floor? Maybe I'd concealed a geometric pattern in the weave of the fabric.

I might be mistaken here, so any invigilators reading feel free to correct me, but I think this year they were all forced to watch the first season of Prison Break in preparation for the exams. I mean, if you think about it, it's perfectly reasonable to guard against people who've tattooed their notes on their arms and legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭LilRedDorcha

freyners wrote: »
    Students fault on theft, not uls job to police it. If someone is going to leaving your bag in an unsupervised area for 2 hours I've no sympathy if their stuff goes walking. UL should just have washed their hands of the liability with a disclaimer, not this ridiculousness imo

Jackets, its all well and good to say check the pockets, but you can hide it in unusual places (someone hide notes in their zip up hood in another college). My point is that this could happen with any layer of clothing. wnolan was joking earlier but unless your going to ban all clothing in an exam hall its a risk. Arbitrarily deciding what you can or cant wear is beyond stupid. Unfortunately UL display about as much forward planning for these matters as your below average goldfish, leading to all these types of decisions resulting in a cluster****

Yeah, I never would've held them responsible. I always assumed that if there was any theft it was the student's problem that it happened since they made the decision to leave it there.

And yeah, you can hide notes anywhere. I don't see why I can't wear my jacket going in and then take it off if it starts to get too warm. I find that the temperature fluctuates in the exam halls and I'm forever putting on and taking off coats and jumpers so I don't see the issue with letting us have the coats. If I really wanted to hide notes, I wouldn't need a jacket to do it.

I'm all over the place for my exams. Think I only have the one in the main building. I was lucky enough to be able to leave my coat in my friend's car the other day so it wasn't too far, but it was still a bit of a joke.

That was a very blanket statement to make. "So must hate airports" I presume you are inferring that it is I that dislike those centres of transportation?
    Jester252 wrote: »
    Or you're just complain and getting worked up over nothing and all the time and energy spend complaining might be better used studying for your exams

Maybe I should be studying on a miserable Saturday. But referring up to the title of the thread, I'm just conforming to the rules of it.

But perhaps rather than critiquing the lives of others, you might be able to go and learn how to write sentences that actually adhere to the rules of grammar. Quite useful for an environment such as third level education if you'll excuse the sentence fragment. I guarantee you it'll aid your grades in all of your exams. Oh and life. Just as attempting more study should for me.

@Wnolan1992. Hmm fair point. Now that I do think of it the issue was that my forearms were uncovered. Getting all those formulas inked on seemed cool at the time!

@LilRedDorcha. The SU is helping out which is good but I know what you mean, its just bloody awkward and annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭LilRedDorcha

That was a very blanket statement to make. "So must hate airports" I presume you are inferring that it is I that dislike those centres of transportation?

@LilRedDorcha. The SU is helping out which is good but I know what you mean, its just bloody awkward and annoying.

Yeah, not blaming the SU since to be fair to them, they started dealing with this very quickly. I think the centre for leaving bags is actually great since you know your stuff is more secure than what it had been. I really don't see the issue with leaving bags there, I just don't like how I'm expected to walk down in this weather (I don't live on campus so it is far enough away) and then I'm meant to surrender my coat at SU when most of my exams are down in PESS. Leaving it on the back of my seat really shouldn't be an issue at all. Don't know what they expect us to do in this weather.

Maybe I should be studying on a miserable Saturday. But referring up to the title of the thread, I'm just conforming to the rules of it.

Just like you will be doing in August if you continue to put off studying. Why do you want to get your knickers in a twist 3 times a year instead of 2?
    But perhaps rather than critiquing the lives of others, you might be able to go and learn how to write sentences that actually adhere to the rules of grammar. Quite useful for an environment such as third level education if you'll excuse the sentence fragment. I guarantee you it'll aid your grades in all of your exams. Oh and life. Just as attempting more study should for me.

If you like to abide by the "rules" of the thread than way are you not abiding by the rules of the fourm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭Agent_99

Obviously someone didn't heed the rules on mobile phones today! One went off in the middle of the sports hall today :rolleyes:

invigilators faces >>:eek::eek::eek::eek:

Thank you for your gift of prophecy Nostradamus. I'm grateful you're here to guide me. Is this from personal experience? I repeated once before, it's horrible, Accountancy just ain't nice. What module was it for you?

In a way this is studying though. I've to go over loads of stuff like this http://www.elearnenglishlanguage.com/blog/english-mistakes/than-vs-then/, not to mention modal verbs, the tense system and all the other stuff we're meant to know intuitively. I forgot the joys of conjugation. I'll be teaching abroad next year so it's good to have my grammar sorted!

I just want to bitch while in the bitch thread :( Is this a crime? Life can be so harsh. And what rule did I violate?

Haha Agent_99! My mate's invigilating and some girl had her phone in the shoe when the same thing happened, place was in uproar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,577 ✭✭✭garv123

Agent_99 wrote: »
    Obviously someone didn't heed the rules on mobile phones today! One went off in the middle of the sports hall today :rolleyes:

invigilators faces >>:eek::eek::eek::eek:

I was there for that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Wouldn't have happened if my metal detectors were in place!
    To summarize, it's just added hassle to an already stressful situation.
    If you're into that kinda stuff, alright, if the added discomfort drives you on and gets you in the exam frame of mind, great, but it doesn't for me.
    For a third level institute, it's a pretty dire system, one which if not improved, will draw away prospective erasmus students due to bad experiences.
    Until there's some numbers and some proof of mass cheating, I refuse to believe it's as big a problem as it's made out to be. In a college of around 8000 I believe, what number of people cheating would be seen as an epidemic..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,903 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

What are the letters the invigilators put next to your name for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

Eire-Dearg wrote: »

They're actually grading you just by the look of you..
    Papers don't even get a glance... :P

Thank you for your gift of prophecy Nostradamus. I'm grateful you're here to guide me. Is this from personal experience? I repeated once before, it's horrible, Accountancy just ain't nice. What module was it for you?

In a way this is studying though. I've to go over loads of stuff like this http://www.elearnenglishlanguage.com/blog/english-mistakes/than-vs-then/, not to mention modal verbs, the tense system and all the other stuff we're meant to know intuitively. I forgot the joys of conjugation. I'll be teaching abroad next year so it's good to have my grammar sorted!

I just want to bitch while in the bitch thread :( Is this a crime? Life can be so harsh. And what rule did I violate?

Haha Agent_99! My mate's invigilating and some girl had her phone in the shoe when the same thing happened, place was in uproar!

Never failed a test as I didn't spend time I could be using to study to getting into arguments on a forum.

Also kinda worried that a 3rd level exam requires you to study the difference between than and then. You would think the students taking the course would have a better knowledge of the English language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

Eire-Dearg wrote: »

Is this when you're signing the seating plan? It's usually the letter your surname starts with, makes it quicker to find people when they compare the seating plan to whoever registered at the start of the exam.

That or what Chris said. You're doomed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭Chimaera

whitewave wrote: »
    Is this when you're signing the seating plan? It's usually the letter your surname starts with, makes it quicker to find people when they compare the seating plan to whoever registered at the start of the exam.

That or what Chris said. You're doomed.

On the room plan, it's the initials of your surname so they have a reference later (a lot of signatures can be hard to make out).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Anyone know if you mail a form to the SAA, will they stamp it? Need a formed stamped and not in Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭wispa9

sup_dude wrote: »
    Anyone know if you mail a form to the SAA, will they stamp it? Need a formed stamped and not in Limerick

Yes, I had it done recently!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

Hey lads,

My friend told me yesterday that he saw an invigilator with notes and today, the rumour is someone was hiding notes in the boy's bathroom. The module was Batch Pharmaceutical Process - CG5052.

Just wondering what happens now? I know the course is a bit up in arms about it if they will be penalised for this (marked harder) since it was a tough exam as it was.

Anyone know? Or did anyone hear about this happening yesterday?

Just to clarify - wasn't me, I study English and German.

Thanks everyone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

Aragneer wrote: »
    Hey lads,

My friend told me yesterday that he saw an invigilator with notes and today, the rumour is someone was hiding notes in the boy's bathroom. The module was Batch Pharmaceutical Process - CG5052.

Just wondering what happens now? I know the course is a bit up in arms about it if they will be penalised for this (marked harder) since it was a tough exam as it was.

Inviligilator in our exam yesterday referenced some people attempting to cheat alright. Although that was in the main building on the C floors, apparently the genius hid notes in toilets that you dont go to during the exam and didn't think the invigilators would notice him taking twenty minutes to go to a distant bathroom :rolleyes:

Also apparently these new rules come from the Dept. of Education according to the invigilator. Good to see the calibre of people working there is as top notch as ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Aragneer

Inviligilator in our exam yesterday referenced some people attempting to cheat alright. Although that was in the main building on the C floors, apparently the genius hid notes in toilets that you dont go to during the exam and didn't think the invigilators would notice him taking twenty minutes to go to a distant bathroom :rolleyes:

Also apparently these new rules come from the Dept. of Education according to the invigilator. Good to see the calibre of people working there is as top notch as ever

This was in Schumann ground floor...Cheaters must have been in force yesterday then!

Aragneer wrote: »
    Hey lads,

I'll keep an ear out. I know a good lot of the students who'd have been sitting that one.

In this case, I doubt that everyone would be penalised. They'll check the toilet break logs to see who went out, and if any of them used the toilet where the notes were found (all students are accompanied to the toilets by an invigilator). It won't be too difficult to match the notes to their owner if there's any handwriting on them.

Heh, yeah we'll only use toilets within a small radius of the exam centre and those are checked periodically during the course of the exam for unauthorised materials.

I wouldn't be sure about the Dept. of Education issuing the guidelines either - it wasn't mentioned during training, and tbh to me it sounds like rumour and supposition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭IrishSkyBoxer

undergraduate students in the post grad computer room, ****ing really annoying. in fact there is a lot of people in that room who are clearly not post grad students. pulling wires and plugs out of computers

Report it to security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Tell me about it.

Some knob plug out the power to the PC I was using and connected his laptop to the power source. Lucky the PC autosaved my work.

Grand and quiet there now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Stink of farts in the Post Grad PC lab. I'm out of here :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭LimerickLad92

The cheating stuff is really serious all together.

In an exam I did last year, some girl burst out crying, she was caught with notes and tried to eat them.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Is something after opening up in the cafe place in Dromroe? Have seen the Pizza Co van parked out in front of it a few times and there seemed to be activity there this evening when I was passing through (didn't really investigate)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭phish

Yup pizza place opened up there during last semester. Would recommend it, really nice pizza in my opinion anyway.