Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

While the away form might look good on paper, we still only got 2 point from a possible 15 against the 5 of the top 6 we have played away from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

hopefully its an eye opener for moyes in what mata and kagawa can do in the right position

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I've been saying it for years, this crossing philosophy G Nev is always talking about was growing stale under Fergie and is now dead in the water.

Pass and move is the way forward unless we go out and buy the very best wingers in the game but that would be pointless when we have two of the best fluid creative attackers in the world already at the club in Mata and Kagawa.

Moyes should spend the next 4 months hammering pass and move into the heads of the players, fines for anyone who even thinks about playing a 30 yard hit and hope into the box from wide.

Sell Evra, Rio, Young. Vidic going, Giggs retiring. Spend the money on 4 or 5 players in, do the above and we'll be back challenging for the league next season without a doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

While the away form might look good on paper, we still only got 2 point from a possible 15 against the 5 of the top 6 we have played away from home.

Could see us getting a result in Goodison for some reason. Not a traditional big team so we mightn't **** ourselves and Moyes will be out for blood after the way he was recieved by their away support in Old Trafford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,265 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Hococop wrote: »
    hopefully its an eye opener for moyes in what mata and kagawa can do in the right position

and if we can get someone formidable behind them in a DM\CM role we'll be waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay more effective

Fellaini isn't winning many fans over so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

I've been saying it for years, this crossing philosophy G Nev is always talking about was growing stale under Fergie and is now dead in the water.

Pass and move is the way forward unless we go out and buy the very best wingers in the game but that would be pointless when we have two of the best fluid creative attackers in the world already at the club in Mata and Kagawa.

Moyes should spend the next 4 months hammering pass and move into the heads of the players, fines for anyone who even thinks about playing a 30 yard hit and hope into the box from wide.

Sell Evra, Rio, Young. Vidic going, Giggs retiring. Spend the money on 4 or 5 players in, do the above and we'll be back challenging for the league next season without a doubt.

Name them?

Any money we spend this summer needs to go on the backline and central midfield, a true box to box type (Fellaini's grand against the lower level teams but cant hack it vs the big boys) along with a Carrick replacement or similar style player as Carrick is getting on. Maybe one more attacking midfielder but if we're playing Mata and Kagawa there's more than a decent chance our attacking play will be fine as long as we're not persisting with stupid hoof and cross tactics.

Actually don't know do i want us to get Kroos, would he just not be another attacking midfielder getting in the way more than anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Well that was fun. :)

Nursing an annoying hangover and really couldn't have dealt with a struggle today, so that calm, pleasant, walking pace victory was just what the doctor ordered.Newcastle were pathetic. I'm not sure if I've ever seen less ****s given by a Premier League team. A total mess. Fair play to Anders Lindegaard for making some top saves, the back 4 were untroubled.

I love Juan Mata, I love him. He's an angel. Himself and Kagawa ran the show. Running over to hug De Gea melted my heart. Fecking delighted for Chich and Adnan getting goals too.

10170908_10152098501922746_1440138774_n.jpg

1798003_10152702415408056_5281006161811116717_n.jpg

Good day.

happy to see mata getting into form, a good late run should guarantee a wc spot

Schwiiing wrote: »
    Name them?

Being slightly realistic and a bit more optimistic Coentrao, Benatia, Carvalho and a top midfielder who I think Moyes will sign but not sure who yet

Might see an attacker as well but it's not a priority

One good thing about playing a few easy games in a row at the end of the season is that it might finally coax Moyes to go with this attacking craic and not play negative football. Might finally realise who he's managing. Few more games like this with Kagawa, Mata and Rooney linking up brilliantly and you never know, he might scrap the cross, hoof and hope nonsense. That was our best attacking display at least this side of the Swansea game in August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

We're the poorest team you've played this season i'd be willing to bet.

spiralism wrote: »
    Any money we spend this summer needs to go on the backline and central midfield, a true box to box type (Fellaini's grand against the lower level teams but cant hack it vs the big boys) along with a Carrick replacement or similar style player as Carrick is getting on. Maybe one more attacking midfielder but if we're playing Mata and Kagawa there's more than a decent chance our attacking play will be fine as long as we're not persisting with stupid hoof and cross tactics.

Actually don't know do i want us to get Kroos, would he just not be another attacking midfielder getting in the way more than anything?

Passes like Scholes, has a brilliant work ethic and is so versatile. You build the team around a player like him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

Neville never said anything about a crossing philosophy, it was a philosophy of fast wing play he spoke about. They aren't the same thing.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    I'm not sure if I've ever seen less ****s given by a Premier League team. A total mess.

I don't know, the United from Manchester could probably run them close on a few occasions this season, not least the last time the 2 teams played.

Being slightly realistic and a bit more optimistic Coentrao, Benatia, Carvalho and a top midfielder who I think Moyes will sign but not sure who yet

Might see an attacker as well but it's not a priority

That would be great, not seen much of Benatia though, is he that good?

Quandary wrote: »
    Not a hope will he start Kagawa on Wednesday IMO. He would have taken him off after 60 mins or so if he was a key player for Wednesday.

True. Should be grounds for a sacking if he does though, that would singlehandedly erode any little bit of confidence today has renewed in him in my book

If he were to go with Young, Welbeck and Valencia behind Rooney up front on Wednesday instead he shouldn't be let back on the plane home. Jesus, it wouldn't make any sense after how the past few league games have gone and would just show that he's playing favourites with the established guys.

spiralism wrote: »
    True. Should be grounds for a sacking if he does though, that would singlehandedly erode any little bit of confidence today has renewed in him in my book

If he were to go with Young, Welbeck and Valencia behind Rooney up front on Wednesday instead he shouldn't be let back on the plane home. Jesus, it wouldn't make any sense after how the past few league games have gone and would just show that he's playing favourites with the established guys.

and considering the likes of evra will be gone it makes less sense

Liam O wrote: »
    That would be great, not seen much of Benatia though, is he that good?

Probably the best defender in Serie A this season. He has been unreal really and Roma may cash in on him in the summer, he's 26, I think having him Jones, Smalling and Evans would be great depth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

ib1GGivNu9WMbz.gif

and considering the likes of evra will be gone it makes less sense

Not a lot this season has.

Fact of the matter is that the young/fringe guys put on one of the best performances of the year if not the best. They hadnt been getting chances and wanted to prove something. Speaks volumes, Moyes had always worked with a small squad in Everton and stuck with the same guys. If he wants to stay in the job he needs to be able to give some of the other lads a look in. Buttner, Kagawa and Fletcher playing on Wednesday and Valencia not playing would be a great step forward for Moyes and finally a glimmer of hope that he's learning. If not, well then that just adds to the massive stack of evidence that he will never learn.

Neville never said anything about a crossing philosophy, it was a philosophy of fast wing play he spoke about. They aren't the same thing.

He definitely did say something along the lines of crossing is in the blood of ManUtd.

Fair enough if he is talking about fast wing play but we have a bunch of shít wingers we would need to replace with the very best which would be stupid considering we already have Mata and Kagawa at the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

How did Nani play lads?

from what i saw not good not bad but this was to be expected considering how long he was out

Thought that last goal was offside but wont complain.

Liam O wrote: »
    Thought that last goal was offside but wont complain.

Untitled.png

tried to pause it as close to the pass, its close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

Cant read anything into that match about where we are or if we are heading in the right direction. Newcastle were wretched and we had nothing to play for. All you can do in that situation is go out with the right attitude which we did. Buttner has to play against Bayern. Evra is so far over the hill , he s disappeared out of view. Fellaini again looks so slow. He is the most one paced player we ve ever had. He has no accelaration. We bought him to play CM on the basis of his displays as an auxillary striker!

Lindegaard showed how reliable a second choice he is. Made some good saves and looked solid. Mata and Kagawa have to played regularly together from now on. We look so much more accomplished going forward with them. If RVP has to go to accommodate them then so be it. They are both young and can offer us so much whereas RVP is the wrong side of 30 and injury prone. Throw Rooney in with them and have Januzaj and Nani in the squad as well and our attack looks very attractive. At least with those type of players we would have to abandon the long ball!!! I have an awful feeling however that Moyes will shift Kagawa, Hernandez and Nani in the summer. I really hope I m wrong. If they go and Young and Cleverley are kept I dread to think what will happen in this thread!

Young has torn ligaments in his hand: United's official twitter.

zerks wrote: »
    Young has torn ligaments in his hand: United's official twitter.

so surgery and missing the last few games

Every cloud:D Hopefully he'll be recovered in time for the transfer window opening.