Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Y2KBOS86

Shane St. wrote: »

Especially when the average age is 27.

http://www.transfermarkt.com/en/manchester-united/kader/verein_985.html

Chelsea 28.5

http://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/en/chelsea-fc/kader/verein_631.html

De Gea, Rafael, Fabio, Jones, Evans, Smalling, Cleverley, Welbeck, Rooney, Hernandez, Nani, Valencia, Young, Kagawa, are all young and in prime years.

Van Persie is only 30 and still in good condition, Carrick, Vidic, Evra are past prime but still reasonably fit.

Only Ferdinand and Giggs are old, they don't play anyway.

Ferguson would have been pushing City and Chelsea all the way this season, Arsenal are only 6 points behind and we are rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

If you only ever watched Bebe and Darren Gibson when you see their goals on Youtube you would be forgiven for thinking they are exceptional footballers

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭sigmundv

Y2KBOS86 wrote: »
    Ferguson would have been pushing City and Chelsea all the way this season, Arsenal are only 6 points behind and we are rubbish.
    I agree with this. Looked into this earlier today, going through some of our results against poor and mediocre opposition, changing losses and draws to victories, and came up with this hypothetical top 4:

99f6b38c-48a0-4521-aabd-cd572f844f2c.PNG

The matches I looked at were these:

WBA at home (gave us 3 points instead of 0), Southampton at home (3 pts instead of 1), Cardiff away (3 pts instead of 1), Everton at home (1 pt instead of 0), Newcastle at home (3 pts instead of 0), Fulham at home (3 pts instead of 1), Stoke away (3 pts instead of 0).

I believe that Fergie would have got all these results and we would have been pushing for the league title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

sigmundv wrote: »
    I agree with this. Looked into this earlier today, going through some of our results against poor and mediocre opposition, changing losses and draws to victories, and came up with this hypothetical top 4:

WBA at home (gave us 3 points instead of 0), Southampton at home (3 pts instead of 1), Cardiff away (3 pts instead of 1), Everton at home (1 pt instead of 0), Newcastle at home (3 pts instead of 0), Fulham at home (3 pts instead of 1), Stoke away (3 pts instead of 0).

I believe that Fergie would have got all these results and we would have been pushing for the league title.

Arah its all well and good accepting Fergie is clearly a better manager but theres no precedent to apply to fixtures that would define how it would have gone with Fergie at the helm. You can never account for a poor display or a fantastic display from the opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭KombuchaMshroom

Massively contradictory to what he said at the start of the season.

Does anyone have his exact quotes from start of the season, along the lines of fergie has left him a fantastic squad that will give him a great chance, 11 points clear last season etc.

I think the airplane fiasco sets a dangerous precedent and is very shortsighted, sure already there's reports of a 2nd plane set to take off. There are times and places, means and ways, but this stunt is none of those. This game vs Villa is the only chance for the club/team to build a little momentum going into the biggest game of our season 3 days later vs Bayern Munich. Any amount or form of positivity from players, manager and fans alike will be vital on Saturday. Also there is the chance of a rare home win.

However, instead of watching 22 professionals kick-off and try to win a game of football at 12.45pm tomorrow, all eyes in attendance will be on the skies and reacting to this instead. Long drawn-out camera shots of the plane in the sky, followed by a close-up of David Moyes. Commentator..."Incidentally, Juan Mata almost made his way through on goal there while we were fixated on events above." The Media love need a narrative, and if they can't find one to extrapolate and sensationalise, they will often create and drive one themselves. Not saying that this is a media creation, but they are the big winners out of this sad affair due to take place tomorrow and will make the very most out of it that they can.

Of course the ABUs and haters will be winners too, but it's not the usual laughing and jibing that will bother me. For years now, United fans and decent people in general would rightfully take offence or express distaste upon seeing childish trolls among the opposition fans make airplane shapes and gestures to offend due to a tragic event from our club's history. From tomorrow on, anyone who wants to will get carte blanche to make all the airplane shapes they wish without having to appear as a hardcore scumbag.

United fan: "Hey, that's fúcking low, people died ya c**t."

Opposition fan: "Not from my memory, it was the funniest thing I've ever seen in football and you still went on to beat Villa 2-0!"

So short-sighted I think, and another reason why it is ill-timed leading up to a European Cup tie with Bayern Munich.

And it will do absolutely nothing to influence the decision of the Manchester United higher-ups. It is not as if they are going to be sitting in their daily meetings, musing "Yes these are good times indeed gentlemen, that 3 hour overview we just watched of the team's performance over February and March was simply exhilarating, the 3 hours just flew by. Speaking of flying, this might surprise the rest of you but there are some concerns amongst fans that David is not the right man for the job, I'm simply shocked, how about you guys? Joel? Anyone?"

They know we're shít, the isolated Sentilese of the Andaman Islands know we're shít, everyone knows we're shít but the difference is that the members of the board have jobs and a magnificent asset which depend on them finding out why we're shít, and then acting appropriately to fix it.

Those of us unhappy need to protest and find a way to have our voices heard without stooping to such an undignified low. A starting point IMO was the sight of a half-empty Old Trafford last Tuesday night at around 85 minutes (the optimisits will say it was half full!) but seriously when was the last time any of you recall that happening?? This would not have gone unnoticed at all at board level and is definitely a way to protest. A line of stewards being directed to protect the 'Chosen One' banner? Again, won't go unnoticed.

Nor would David Moyes and a retired Alex Ferguson getting physically approached during the game vs City have gone unnoticed either. My only fear is that stupid undignified actions like those last 2 and the airplane stunt will only rally and galvanise more support for Moyes from within the club.

Why not smuggle a banner into the grounds? This 'Aww it would only be confiscated, we needed to go airborne or nothing' is a fúcking cop-out. The banner only needs several minutes in the crowd to get the job done, TV cameras WILL pick-up on that shít and it will be twitterised, just look at the 'David Moyes Football Genius' banner as an example. How about a protest outside Old Trafford or even Carrington?

Here is another reason the banner is wrong, It more or less says to the players 'We the fans think you've been doing just fine yourselves and it's old stoneface that's the only problem, just carry on the way you are!'

But fúck it, that's all just my opinion. If it has to be done, why not after next Tuesday's massive game? I just don't get anything about it, the method or the timing. What's the next message that's going to be displayed in the skies when a club's fans aren't happy? I think it will only serve to hurt Manchester United, and ironically the reputation and validity of the claim to have Moyes removed. The winners are the Media, ABUs and the egos of the people who organised this. For many of the rest of us it is a kind of 'low' that we don't need to go along with all the footballing ones that are occuring.

Moyes will go if that's what needs to happen, not cause of a fúcking banner in the sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

As timmy says very difficult to prove that and you can never take into account a poor performance or better than normal performance from opposition.
    Ferguson wouldn't have got all those results and anyway that's all hypothetical...
    There was always going to be a lull of some kind after he left considering how he managed the club and what he did for the club. Maybe Moyes wasn't the right guy to be put in charge but something was seen in him and he needs time. Ferguson shadow casts big role over OT and Moyes needs time to settle himself in the role and while a lot were hopeful of continued automatic success that was never going to happen and people need to look into the medium term. Judge him by xmas of next season not now

@stankratz: Great comment! I'm ashamed that the people behind this stunt call themselves fans of Man Utd.

@The Lost Sheep: I agree with you on everything you say. I'm also fully behind Moyes, and won't pass final judgement on him until towards the end of next season. If he doesn't improve, he'll have to go.

I don't know how you feel, but to me it seemed that Fergie leaving gave everyone else renewed hope, which is why the Premier League is so competitive this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Be interesting to see how the players react when the papers basically have "Moyes: Ye are all s***!" on them. Sure it'll motivate them well to play for him. :pac:

He's had so little tact in dealing with superstars and proven winners its scary. People can criticise the players all they like but they simply do not want to play for him and cant/wont motivate themselves to. End of the day they're only human and when they think the boss is a ****ing eejit who's dragging their reputation through the gutter with terrible football, clueless management that makes them look rubbish and snarky comments burying them in the media, how can you expect them to perform? Giggs is supposedly off training alone and thinks Moyes is an absolute clown. Ryan ****ing Giggs like, the man has been a model pro his whole career and he's basically Manchester United personified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

The missing Malaysian Airlines plane will probably flyover too at this rate

Never thought I'd write these following words, but Michael Owen has written a decent piece for the Telegraph. It's in regards to Moyes decision to clear-out the backroom staff when he first landed at the club. Not a bad read in fairness, as the author himself might say "If you follow words with your eyes, you might end up reading."

It could be argued the biggest mistake David Moyes made at Manchester United was in his first week in charge. That was when he decided a full regime change was required at Old Trafford rather than just a managerial one.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s retirement was always going to have serious consequences but the transition could and should have been more seamless than it has become. Had Moyes retained the loyal lieutenants who thrived alongside Sir Alex and knew the club, players and entire staff so well, I do not believe the current situation would be so critical for the new manager so soon into his reign...

Full article here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

kona wrote: »
    Some united fans need to get the **** over themselves.
    If you only ever watched Bebe and Darren Gibson when you see their goals on Youtube you would be forgiven for thinking they are exceptional footballers

gibson.gif

Respect the man.

stankratz wrote: »
    Never thought I'd write these following words, but Michael Owen has written a decent piece for the Telegraph. It's in regards to Moyes decision to clear-out the backroom staff when he first landed at the club. Not a bad read in fairness, as the author himself might say "If you follow words with your eyes, you might end up reading."

Full article here

Michael Owen actually contributing something interesting? Well i never....behind a paywall for some here though, there's a 10 article monthly limit on telegraph

spiralism wrote: »
    Michael Owen actually contributing something interesting? Well i never....behind a paywall for some here though, there's a 10 article monthly limit on telegraph

It is typed out about 7 posts down on this page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

SAF said it himself that he advised Moyes to keep the staff but that Moyes said that he wanted to bring in his own people and do things his way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

If my Aunt had balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Y2KBOS86 wrote: »

De Gea, Rafael, Fabio, Jones, Evans, Smalling, Cleverley, Welbeck, Rooney, Hernandez, Nani, Valencia, Young, Kagawa, are all young and in prime

Fabios gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

Pathetic from Moyes with those comments about Fergie struggling with the squad this year. If the dressing room wasn't already lost...

The whole season has been an embarrassment to the club, from the fiasco of the summer, to the performances and results on the pitch, the tactics and bizarre team selections from Moyes, Utds reluctance to act on Moyes ineptness, I could go on, and yet some on here still defend Moyes to the teeth, blame the players, Fergie, the age of the players, an impossible job, etc etc, and then when they do decide to get upset or embarrassed about something, what is it? A plane with a ****ing banner.

Occams Razor guys. Theorise all you want and piss on the players and Fergie if you want but we all know Moyes is the problem. You're in denial if you won't admit it. It will be a glorious day for Manchester Utd when he is finally sacked.

#earlymorningrant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Not keeping the same coaching staff in place hasnt bothered everton its improved them. Everton lost a manager that had been in place for 10 years the only manager all those players knew the same issue as utd . If utd were struggling now with moyes having retained the coaching staff everyone would be saying he should have brought his own men with him as these are the people that helped get him the job in the first place. The problem is the wrong manager was appointed nothing to do with the coaching staff issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Our Year wrote: »
    If my Aunt had balls.

Your uncle would be feeling very awkward after sex.:pac:

Not wise by Moyes with those comments. The press are sticking the boot in now though. Dead man walking

Not keeping the same coaching staff in place hasnt bothered everton its improved them. Everton lost a manager that had been in place for 10 years the only manager all those players knew the same issue as utd . If utd were struggling now with moyes having retained the coaching staff everyone would be saying he should have brought his own men with him as these are the people that helped get him the job in the first place. The problem is the wrong manager was appointed nothing to do with the coaching staff issue.

Everton are on course to beat their best ever points total under Moyes afaik.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

All my bags are packed I'm ready to go
    I'm standin' here outside your door
    I hate to wake you up to say goodbye
    But the dawn is breakin' it's early morn
    The taxi's waitin' he's blowin' his horn
    Already I'm so lonesome I could die

So kiss me and smile for me
    Tell me that you'll wait for me
    Hold me like you'll never let me go
    Cause I'm leavin' on a jet plane
    Don't know when I'll be back again
    Oh baby, I hate to go

Moyes thought this fella would do a job against City??

Cleverly’s statistical production. He plays as a central midfielder, a position that allows for/requires a wide range of skills. Offensively, Cleverley’s production is… well, I think “limited” would be a kind assessment. 1 goal and 0 assists in 17 starts isn’t great, but it’s not as if he’s been unlucky. Cleverley only has 15 total shots and 10 key passes in the league all season. He barely dribbles the ball, or crosses, or anything else really. Opposition scouting would add a great big “Not A Threat” stamp next to his name.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/manchester-uniteds-tom-cleverley-barely-3297459#ixzz2xLCSHXgD
    Follow us: @DailyMirror on Twitter | DailyMirror on Facebook

I wonder how many times today our midfielders will get beyond the front players,I think it happened once this season.Now wonder teams don't fear us when we play like statues & offer zero threat & depend on the same 3 or 4 players to provide the magic.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

If Van Gaal is on UTD's radar then they better move quick.

Ruud Gullit has claimed as a matter of fact that Levy was at Van Gaals home and its a near done deal to take over at Spurs.

Agueroooo wrote: »

Ruud Gullit has claimed as a matter of fact that Levy was at Van Gaals home and its a near done deal to take over at Spurs.

It's ok,if United do get rid of Moyes,we'll get Ancellotti.

I thought he was older than he is,he's only a couple of years older than Moyes.

Van Gaal isn't on United's radar, and nor should he be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Our Year wrote: »
    If my Aunt had balls.

What do yiu mean by if she had balls?

She has bigger balls than most men... :D

Sorry ;)

Van Gaal would be a good option but not the best, his track record for discord is actually pretty bad to say the least, he basically fought with all of catalonia at Barcelona and didn't last very long at Bayern because he repeatedly rowed with the club's hierarchy and refused to listen to anything they told him. This is a man though who proudly admits to being stubborn as a mule and has stated that he'll never change. Sure there's a video of him on a dutch football show throwing a tantrum and storming off because he's not scheduled to be on the next week. He takes the spurs job and he'll be gone in 18 months because of Levy and Baldini meddling.

Having said that though, he's a guy that would get us back on the right track. The man is a tactical genius and has brought success everywhere he went, building great teams anywhere he's had the resources to. Ajax he had 8 trophies in 6 years, including an unbeaten season in both the league and Europe in the one year. Barca he won a copa del rey and two titles. Won AZ their second title and the first in Holland in 28 years not won by Ajax, Feyenoord or PSV. Munich a double in his first season and laid the foundation of the all conquering team now.

Not only that but he'd put the fear of God into some of the players, stories abound of him at Bayern including some of the most vicious bollockings the players had ever recieved (and quite a few had worked under Felix Magath) and one particular instance where he dropped his trousers in the dressing room to "show them that he had the balls to drop anyone"...there wouldn't be players strolling around not giving a **** with him in charge