Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ya was one in 2009 anyway.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Didn't Millwall fans hire a plane mocking Avram Grant after he got West Ham relegated?

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Didn't Millwall fans hire a plane mocking Avram Grant after he got West Ham relegated?

yea remember that..:)

'Avram Grant Millwall Legend'

230588_109878905766095_1387760_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

RasTa wrote: »
    I've a feeling that " We'll stand by David Moyes" will be sung when the plane goes overhead

Embarrassing. The stubbornness of this club and some of its fanbase knows no bounds

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Will only last till Benteke puts four past us :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭dubmick

this flyover stunt is mortifying

Will only last till Benteke puts four past us :P

I hope to jesus. On the back of this genuinely the best thing that could happen tomorrow is Villa pumping us because it'll grab the headlines from this embarrassing ****e and prevent it from galvanising Moyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Any chance of some freak weather tomorrow morning so the plane will be un able to fly over.

Got to be honest, really surprised at how negative people are being about the plane.

Someone finally does something to put Moyes under pressure on the fans side, something that isn't anything more than voicing the other side of an opinion which has been pushed for months, and it's an "embarrassment"? :confused:

I would have though the topic would be happy that the final nails are being put in the coffin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Got to be honest, really surprised at how negative people are being about the plane.

Someone finally does something to put Moyes under pressure on the fans side, something that isn't anything more than voicing the other side of an opinion which has been pushed for months, and it's an "embarrassment"? :confused:

I would have though the topic would be happy that the final nails are being put in the coffin...

It's completely unclassy and equally as pathetic as that buffoon shouting at Moyes from the stands. I'm saying this as someone firmly in the Moyes-out camp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

I would go as far as saying its worse than the T-shirt debacle over at Liverpool.

thelad95 wrote: »
    It's completely unclassy and equally as pathetic as that buffoon shouting at Moyes from the stands. I'm saying this as someone firmly in the Moyes-out camp.

But I don't get how that's "unclassy".
    There's nothing personal in the banner, there's nothing offensive. Is it any worse than "The Chosen One".

I mean, I get "cringe worth". I just don't get "unclassy" and "embarrassment".
    Timmyctc wrote: »
    I would go as far as saying its worse than the T-shirt debacle over at Liverpool.

Worse than showing support for someone who had racially abused another player :eek:

Again, how?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

article_img.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

spiralism wrote: »
    Embarrassing. The stubbornness of this club and some of its fanbase knows no bounds
    Hiya Alanis. You ever get that knife you needed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

Some united fans need to get the **** over themselves.

But I don't get how that's "unclassy".
    There's nothing personal in the banner, there's nothing offensive. Is it any worse than "The Chosen One".

I mean, I get "cringe worth". I just don't get "unclassy" and "embarrassment".

Worse than showing support for someone who had racially abused another player :eek:

Again, how?

The execution. If Liverpool wanted to show support for Suarez they would have come out and questioned Evra's testimony as opposed to simply saying. "We're with Suarez even though he's guilty"

Similarly, here there is an alternative method to achieve the goal in mind without looking like a bunch of twats. Protesting in the stadium with traditional signage, Chants (Surely given the number of people that claim to want him out this wont be an issue) Protest prior to and after games at OT. The plane is clearly a ridiculous method to achieve their goal and makes the club look like a joke to be frank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

People are going to boo the plane tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

Nah, it's not embarrassing on that scale. That embarrassed the club, the manager and the fools who agreed to wear them.

The plane idea is only an embarrassment to those responsible for it and those who seem to be mad in favour of it. I won't be one bit embarrassed by it but I may blush a little thinking of those who claim it's a great idea.

I dunno will it though, because some fecking eejits are going to fly a message of support afterwards and it's probably just going to make some matchgoers chant support. This could ironically saddle us with him til next year and then we're looking at 200 million wasted and a second season out of europe - severe damage to the club in other words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Given the negative reaction to the plane, I think they should abort the idea.

spiralism wrote: »
    I dunno will it though, because some fecking eejits are going to fly a message of support afterwards and it's probably just going to make some matchgoers chant support. This could ironically saddle us with him til next year and then we're looking at 200 million wasted and a second season out of europe - severe damage to the club in other words.

Even if we are stuck with him another year. He won't waste the 200m. The only positive from his reign would be that he identifies and signs/tries to sign the right players. Woodward would have been at fault mostly during the first transfer window in that regard. He'll leave a good team for the man who takes over from him in October of next year when we sit 12th in the table.

Blatter wrote: »

Only if the other dopes flying the message of support do. what we REALLY dont want is one plane to fly and it showing support for the clueless one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

kona wrote: »

I know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭mooseknunkle

People are going to boo the plane tomorrow

tumblr_lqrrylVyfU1qkb66ro1_400.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

kona wrote: »

Yeah it can be annoying sifting through some of their comments which just seem to be written purely for the sake of a whinge, but when you get to watch them bicker at each other, it makes it all worthwhile. :D

Similarly, here there is an alternative method to achieve the goal in mind without looking like a bunch of twats. Protesting in the stadium with traditional signage, Chants (Surely given the number of people that claim to want him out this wont be an issue) Protest prior to and after games at OT. The plane is clearly a ridiculous method to achieve their goal and makes the club look like a joke to be frank.

Signage in the stadium on any grand scale would likely be taken away.

A protest outside the stadium, to me, is no different than the plane idea, and I don't get how one is "unclassy and embarrassing" while the other is grand. Furthermore, protests outside the stadium could likely break out into a situation police could have to deal with and get out of hand, leading to a dangerous situation; a plane with a banner doesn't have that same dangerous potential.

I've already addressed the chanting aspect of things; such chants would be very difficult to start up, and the hardcore element would likely drown them out.

The plane thing doesn't cause any dangerous situations, gets the message across loud and clear and is a sign that will show there's unrest with the fans, something that Moyes has tried to deny over the last few weeks. The message isn't personal or abusive; it's clear and concise, and is garnering the attention that the Anti-Moyes side wants.

As Mitch (I think) stated earlier, the Stretford End Flags crowd could have prevented this weeks ago in a civil and PR friendly manner, and chose not to. Worse, they pretty much goaded this sort of stunt out of people with their "We won't start it, if you want to protest with a banner, why don't ye" stance.

If Moyes wants to make the banner look like a joke, then win the game, and start making the club winners again.

From what I've read, this will happen in the first 10 minutes of the match; what way the crowd reacts will be decided over 90 minutes, not 10. If Moyes doesn't get 3 points, I think the press, and as a result more and more fans of the club, will use the plane in the right manner.

Honestly though, I think the Bayern Munich matches will be what decides his fate though, not a banner in the first 10 minutes of a Villa game. All this will do though is show that not everyone supports him.

Even if we are stuck with him another year. He won't waste the 200m. The only positive from his reign would be that he identifies and signs/tries to sign the right players. Woodward would have been at fault mostly during the first transfer window in that regard. He'll leave a good team for the man who takes over from him in October of next year when we sit 12th in the table.

I do rate him in the transfer market but the fact is that he hasnt a solitary clue how to get the most out of his signings. All square pegs for round holes so far.

Imo he could spend 200 million (doing that though means we're somehow not like city or chelsea) but he'd sign players that are good no doubt but don't work in our system and aren't used right. He hasn't a notion how to use Juan Mata or Shinji Kagawa, hell he hasn't a ****ing clue how to use RVP so why would it make sense to just give him more money when he won't know how to use the players he brings in? Jesus, he dithered on signing Thiago early in the summer because he was unsure and he's taking the Bundesliga by storm since he returned from injury.

I'd genuinely expect signings more in the vein of overpaying for Osman and Jagielka than Kroos and Carvalho...the man does not get attacking football.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Blatter wrote: »

I think the message will do the moyes out want far more damage than good. People will support him and look passed/get distracted from the results and get him through to summer because it's such a tragic protest.

Glaziers completely ignored protests about their takeover and won't be influenced by it (against Moyes) imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

mike65 wrote: »
    article_img.jpg

Well done chap. That's only the third time it's been posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Have we hit rock bottom yet. I thought so against Liverpool, Olympiakos, and then the game on Tuesday it felt even worse. How low can we go? Are there any Liverpool fans around who could give some advice on how to put up with a depressing slide into mediocrity?

Every week I have a new player to make a scapegoat for all of the problems. This week it's Evra if only because I have to pick somebody and he isn't what he used to be.