Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,930 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I have no doubt United were interested in Dante - but at the same time i would say they are interested in HUNDREDS of players. Any well run (arf) top side (arf) will be the same. We'll be looking at loads of players, for all eventualities. Dante is probably a player we had an interest in, being one of the better CBs around. I would say we have scouted him, and if his agent asked if we would be interested in him I would say the answer given would be yes. That doesn't mean United were actively trying to sign him, or thought he would be available to them - it simply means his name is on a list somewhere at Carrington, just. in. case.

I'd be shocked if football doesn't work that way - and the players, agent and journos know it. United can be linked to a 100 players because the reality of the situation is that we are very likely to be looking at 100 players - with no actual intention of signing or even bidding for that many. For every position we want to buy in, there should be 3 active targets - a couple of backups and a load of other players we have looked at, considered, scouted, reviewed and decided against for some reason or another - but ones we can look at again without starting from scratch if we need to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

5starpool wrote: »
    I hate the term 'mind games'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I'd pay money to see Moyes' 'war room' with all the player names he's monitoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Just hope they can establish early who will not be joining due to lack of Champions League, and not waste time pursuing lost causes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Keno wrote: »
    I'd pay money to see Moyes' 'war room' with all the player names he's monitoring.

I've always envisaged it to look like this

Architect.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Timmyctc wrote: »

Architect.png
    Moyes is looking to sign Keanu Reeves? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Aha...what kind of fan are you?!!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/26704856

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

The question is, would you rather we play nice football and possibly get hammered or negative football and get hammered with the illusion of maybe getting a point.

Moyes has gone with the latter most of this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭IK09

Im not tryin to stir shíte, but the only result i can see against city is an absolute hammering. They are rampant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Man City 1-2 Wigan.

Ya thats rampant alright;)

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

ericzeking wrote: »
    Aha...what kind of fan are you?!!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/26704856

The best part of that article is the author's name. Who in their right mind, with the surname Dirs.. would call their son Ben.. It is the Only name you can't call him.

Ben Dirs. Shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Timmyctc wrote: »

Architect.png

"I'm not the first midfielder you tried to sign?"

"No, the term Centre Midfielder, is a systemic anomaly from an unforseen design oversight not captured in the other teams I built."

"The problem was Keane...."

"Yes, by time and logic dictated by the human brain this is the SXITH team I have built. The first by definition was flawless, perfect, a team designed to conquer and rule domestically and in Europe for decades to come. But it was rejected by the host, it was "too perfect".

By the forth iteration I'd designed a system by which centre midfielders were no longer an inherant requirement for success. By bolstering pacey wingers and bollox exploding strikers, I had completely compensated the hosts logical requirement for a centre midfielder".

"You mentioned there was others before me..."

"Yes, with each reiteration of the system, by nature stronger and more sophisticated by design then the last, there was a requirement based on human desire to have a anomoly for the host to lodge faith in. The One, the centre midfielder, was purposefully constructed at the end of every cycle to return to the system core within the stadium and would activate a reset. This would activate a selection programme, one goalkeeper, two centre backs, two wingers and a striker, and signal the start of a new "team". Ergo, the one while being the hope and beacon for humanity would also signal it's inevitable doom and recycle, restarting a new dominance in European football".

"To your right are two doors. Advance through the left and you will return to the Allianz Arena where you will inevitably become an all time Bundesliga legends, winning numerous titles with Bayern Munich and enjoy plentiful success with the German national team.

Advance through the door on the right, and you will sign for Manchester United. You will begin a tormentfull comparison with Keane and Scholes, for which the hosts have and forever will compare. Overcome their expectations and re-introduce a CM into the system, and you will become the most coveted footballer in the world, encounter countless glories and success and become the final part in my perfect system, ergo....vice vie.....my quadruple winning team."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭IK09

Man City 1-2 Wigan.

Ya thats rampant alright;)

Simply a fluke. Wigans style of play is more direct that utd's but id imagine utd being more open (less of a park the bus mentality) vs. city.

What do ya think utd's plan of action will be? Sit back - hit on counter? Go at them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

IK09 wrote: »
    Simply a fluke. Wigans style of play is more direct that utd's but id imagine utd being more open (less of a park the bus mentality) vs. city.

What do ya think utd's plan of action will be? Sit back - hit on counter? Go at them?

Sit back I say lad. We cant play ball with City im afraid.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Ernest Oreo

IK09 wrote: »
    Im not tryin to stir shíte, but the only result i can see against city is an absolute hammering. They are rampant.

they'll score at least three
    we might knick one (early or very late)
    they'll run riot in midfield

not necessarily a bad thing though.
    nothing more painful than big defeats to Liverpool and Citeh
    it'll focus minds for the summer rebuilding assignment, regardless of who is leading this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

In think the West Ham game is exactly how United will play. Sit back, counter attack.

I wouldn't be surprised if we had the same team too. I thought Kagawa, Mata and Rooney linked excellently on the break. I'm wondering if Welbeck will start ahead of Young though for his workrate and pace.

I would love if we beat them! Love it! :D
    David 'The Hands' De Gea
    Rafael 'The Liability' de Silva - Phil 'The Face' Jones - Michael 'I shouldn't be here' Carrick - Alaxander 'WOO! 90mins!' Buttner
    Marouane 'Phillo' Fellaini - Darren 'Freeeeeedom!' Fletcher
    Danny 'The Fresh Prince' Welbeck - 'The Chosen' Juan Mata - Shinji 'Beautiful Origami Swan' Kagawa
    Wayne 'I'm not an ogre' Rooney

Irishcrx wrote: »
    I think we will win tomorrow night...there I said it.

Why? haven't a clue, I just feel it in my lyons.

Try the leaves instead instead of the bags, they paint a far more vivid picture!

Seriously though lads, I have a positive feeling about tomorrow night same as a few of you. I don't know where it's coming from, we only just beat the Celtic of Greece and West Ham, no great achievements either of them, but something's giving me an air of positivity. Don't worry, I'm currently trying to quell it and bring my expectations right down to where they should be!

winning tomorrow isnt a good thing
    sure it might derail the citeh title challenge but i'd much prefer to see them sweeping us aside over the course of 45 mins, and then waltzing thru the 2nd half

getting into a QF of the CL has created a very false sense of hope amongst united supporters. we have huge change to undergo if we are to challenge next year for any meaningful silverware

getting destroyed by liverpool, citeh and indeed bayern is a necessary evil here

Sit back I say lad. We cant play ball with City im afraid.

They should try, nothing except pride really on the line and the best team that United will play before Bayern. I habe a horrible feeling that Kagawa won't start due to playing the 90 mins on Saturday but it really should be the same team bar Young being dropped for Valencia or Welbeck. Send out the team that's going to play the home leg vs Bayern and don't be afraid to show a bit of ambition. It's not like it's a rag-tag group of chancers that will be playing. Fellaini is the only one who hasn't won significant silverware pretty much in the squad, Januzaj too I guess but he was around a group that did...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

City won't be as argicultural as West Ham were

As a farmer I take exception to the use of agricultural in this context.

have you the internet hooked up within the Massey Ferguson?

getting destroyed by liverpool, citeh and indeed bayern is a necessary evil here

I don't get this at all, I really don't.

People saying it's all a distraction, masking the poorness and problems with Moyes.

So if the manager turns the teams fortunes around, and starts winning big games, therefore meeting the expectations of the fans, that is somehow a bad thing, in him performing the task he was hired to do.

There are people here literally saying they want the team to get stomped by big clubs, cause if we won, it would show Moyes doing a good job.

That's absolutely mental.

If there was a solid run to the end of the season that included a few big wins, that's not coating over a failing, that's showing signs of progress.

It's such a rubbish stance to take, hoping the team get battered so that the manager gets the sack. Where as the team wins, it's only a temporary thing. So he is damned if he does damned if he doesn't.

Alot of people just have their minds set, and that's fine. But hoping the team get pummeled in the process is absolute lunacy and I'm not buying it, it's a horrible viewpoint not befitting of a supporter.

I'd love to see this thread if Moyes did bring the team to a CL victory, or premier league crown next year. I really would. Would people hold their hands up and go" yea, you know what fair play, turned it around" Or would they continue to carry the " Doesn't deserve it, not up to the job, this is just delaying the inevitable".

People claiming Moyes still in control next year will result in a catastrophe and a degradation of the club is about as accurate as me saying next year Moyes next year will win the title and champions league.

Baseless rubbish with absolutely no REAL evidence to show for it.

You do realise, that if we put a run together for the end of the season, we could finish fifth. That's not a bad finish considering how well the top 4 have played and performed.

I wouldn't be disgruntled with 5th at all. At the start of the season I never envisaged us outside the top 4, but to finish 5th with hindsight seeing what happened, and how the top 4 played, I wouldn't be feeling disgraced at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

I think he means aggro-cultural, with the likes of Andy Carroll up front :pac:

good post there doc
    only thing is Moyes has yet to win an important fixture
    beating those greeks at home is small time
    and united were lucky
    could easily have conceded in the first half, and then its curtains

sure if they beat citeh and bayern, put a good few wins back to back over the closing weeks that'll show progress
    but they havent a hope in hell of doing this
    my worry is that an honourable performance against the germans gives Moyes a little more time, and this time is just wasted - heaven knows what he'd do with a transfer kitty in the summer. and united just cant afford to get another 2/3 transfers wrong
    too many people painting over the cracks here, for whatever reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭KH25

MagicIRL wrote: »
    In think the West Ham game is exactly how United will play. Sit back, counter attack.

I wouldn't be surprised if we had the same team too. I thought Kagawa, Mata and Rooney linked excellently on the break. I'm wondering if Welbeck will start ahead of Young though for his workrate and pace.

I would love if we beat them! Love it! :D
    David 'The Hands' De Gea
    Rafael 'The Liability' de Silva - Phil 'The Face' Jones - Michael 'I shouldn't be here' Carrick - Alaxander 'WOO! 90mins!' Buttner
    Marouane 'Phillo' Fellaini - Darren 'Freeeeeedom!' Fletcher
    Danny 'The Fresh Prince' Welbeck - 'The Chosen' Juan Mata - Shinji 'Beautiful Origami Swan' Kagawa

Wayne 'I'm not an ogre' Rooney

Just had to quote this. Funniest thing I've seen all day. :D

good post there doc
    only thing is Moyes has yet to win an important fixture
    beating those greeks at home is small time
    and united were lucky
    could easily have conceded in the first half, and then its curtains

sure if they beat citeh and bayern, put a good few wins back to back over the closing weeks that'll show progress
    but they havent a hope in hell of doing this
    my worry is that an honourable performance against the germans gives Moyes a little more time, and this time is just wasted - heaven knows what he'd do with a transfer kitty in the summer. and united just cant afford to get another 2/3 transfers wrong
    too many people painting over the cracks here, for whatever reason

In fairness the "form" book would have dictated we would have not got a result against Olympiakos at home. EVERYTHING pointed against it, recent form, struggling, the amount of times we scored three goals in a game.

Olympiakos were cannon fodder for United teams of the past for sure, but not this one that at the time was on it's knees coming of an awful set of results and a pummeling to Liverpool.

I fully appreciate the outlook by many that it's not a big deal, and people are making too much of it after Olympiakos. But I think it's back, to the start of the season, and expectations. And changing and re-aligning them, as the reality befits.

I think at times too little is made of that win. It's all well and good saying on paper we should destroy them, but the reality is we have said that most of the season and gone onto poor results against cannon fodder. We came up against the Greek champions who were on a mighty impressive campaign, regardless of their form in England. We had come of a long month or two of negativity and bad press, shattered confidence, to overturn a 2 goal deficit.

If things slump back into poorness in the run in then we know it was another false dawn. But if the team put in a good performance tomorrow and bag plenty of wins towards the end of the season things will look alot brighter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

TheTownie wrote: »
    Great start then it just went to shít.

Like the season? 

so if united keep the citeh goal tally down (say 3 nil) and keep the bayern aggregate to less than say 4/5, plus united then secure say wins in maybe 60% of their remaining league fixtures - then after all that Moyes has shown enough 'progress' to keep his job til Christmas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

Hey if we win, great we beat City, if we lose, a step towards the nightmare happening - Liverpool winning the league.

Let's hope it's not a draw. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

I'll be cheerin' ye on tomorrow lads! If ye win that's great news for our title bid and sure if ye lose it's great anyway ;)