Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Dreading the press conference. Have a feeling it's going to be a real negative affair in a bid to lower the already rock bottom expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Dreading the press conference. Have a feeling it's going to be a real negative affair in a bid to lower the already rock bottom expectations.
    How the fcuk can you 'dread' a press conference? It'll be the usual fare of speaking without saying a whole lot as has been the case since he came in the door. General stock answers which will have zero effect on tomorrow evening's game. Dreading tomorrow night's game is understandable but a press conference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭geeksauce

Why does the City game have to come now, just when they appeared to be beginning to play with some sort of confidence, another heavy home defeat is not what is needed now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I think we will get result tomorrow night.

Feeling confident for a change.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Agreed. The team looked a lot more balanced on Saturday. Hope for more of the same. Expect Fellaini to want to make amends for his terrible performance in the first game and hopefully keep Yaya as quite as possible. Big worry is the defence, hope for good news with injuries as feel we need Carrick in midfield and he would be exposed at the back. Hope the crowd are as electric as last Wednesday and we def have a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,930 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

You FOOL! YOU'VE ALLOWED YOURSELF TO BELIEVE! YOU FOOL!

Its the hope that will kill you!

More pleased with the attacking intent and style shown in the last two games myself, but against better finishers (like City have) we'd have conceeded a few in the CL, and City won't be as argicultural as West Ham were - they'll be looking to expose the dedfensive weaknesses we have shown all season - with movement and passing that West Ham didn't really bother with.

I'm more confident of us not embarrassing ourselves then I was this day last week, but I don't think they side that got humiliated vs Liverpool can be forgotten about cause of results vs West Ham and the worst side that was remaining in the CL.

I reckon it will be another side set up not to lose, as is Moyes' way in the big games, and I don't think we are strong enough to play that way.

Pighead wrote: »
    How the fcuk can you 'dread' a press conference? It'll be the usual fare of speaking without saying a whole lot as has been the case since he came in the door. General stock answers which will have zero effect on tomorrow evening's game. Dreading tomorrow night's game is understandable but a press conference?

I dread it because I look to Moyes to lead, and while I get there'll be stock answers and the likes, they'll be negative "We'll try and make it tough for them", "we're underdogs", nonsense that doesn't befit the manager of Man United. I dread it because every time Moyes gives some sort of public interview like this, he makes me annoyed and frustrated and kills what excitement I have for a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

More pleased with the attacking intent and style shown in the last two games myself, but against better finishers (like City have) we'd have conceeded a few in the CL, and City won't be as argicultural as West Ham were - they'll be looking to expose the dedfensive weaknesses we have shown all season - with movement and passing that West Ham didn't really bother with.

I'm more confident of us not embarrassing ourselves then I was this day last week, but I don't think they side that got humiliated vs Liverpool can be forgotten about cause of results vs West Ham and the worst side that was remaining in the CL.

I reckon it will be another side set up not to lose, as is Moyes' way in the big games, and I don't think we are strong enough to play that way.

Thats the big worry. Moyes tactics. Surely he has learned from the last two games that the best way for us to play is to go out and attack and not be setup to break on the counter. If thats the case we will be picked off again. Would expect Navas to come in for City and run at Evra all game ( If Pellegreni has any sense he will anyway)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Believe what?

I think we wont be beaten. Thats all.

We aint going for the title like. Its just 1 game.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,930 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I think we wont be beaten.

YOU FOOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

Jaysus lads, you're not giving yourselves much hope at all!
    Think ye could pull of a draw at lest, if not a sneaky win.
    Know ye've been bad all season but I can't see ye playing as badly as against Liverpool, the memory of it will still be fresh in the players' heads and there's been a slight confidence boost since then.

Of course City have been doing better all season but Aguero is injured, Negredo's off form (no goal since Jan) as with Dzeko (that wigan miss?), and ye're on a decent run given the way yer season has went, then there's the fact that City's defence is easily found out.
    Seems like a good time to be playing them in my opinion.

That coupled with Van persie's injury allowing Rooney and Mata to be played in their preferred spots could be a blessing.
    At the same time a whipping could easily happen if Moyes goes with those defensive tactics again instead of letting ye play like against west ham and whoever else of the lesser teams ye've played recently and beaten.

As a Chelsea fan i'll be hoping ye pull it off, think this will be the first time ever i'll be hoping ye win a game, luck of the underdog :P
    This thread will be hopping due to the shock if ye pull it off!

YOU FOOL!

To the Mods

Please dont card Mitch for he know not what he is doing.

EVENFLOW

Moyes on @WayneRooney's captaincy credentials: "He wants to take responsibility. You need players who do that."

David Moyes says #mufc "want to perform better in the bigger matches" as he prepares for his first home derby against Manchester City.

Moyes: "Obviously it means a lot more to the fans and the city to win a derby, but we go into every game with the same intention to win."

The boss is encouraged by Olympiacos and West Ham displays: "In the last two games, a lot of players have stepped up and performed." #mufc

David Moyes on #mufc's form in general: "We’re not as far away as many people would have us and I have no doubt we will improve."

Moyes praises #mufc fans: "I’ve said many times how well they have reacted to what has been a difficult season. They've helped the team."

Moyes on injured defenders: "We'll do everything we can to get them back for this game. It was great how the squad mucked in on Saturday."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

I dread it because I look to Moyes to lead, and while I get there'll be stock answers and the likes, they'll be negative "We'll try and make it tough for them", "we're underdogs", nonsense that doesn't befit the manager of Man United. I dread it because every time Moyes gives some sort of public interview like this, he makes me annoyed and frustrated and kills what excitement I have for a game.
    What do you make of Mourinho's 'We are not favourite's for the title' 'We are a small horse' quotes then? Would you hate to have him in as Utd manager as well? Bottom line is that all managers like to downplay their chances and very rarely give journo's their honest opinions on matters relating to the game. Press conferences are in the whole best ignored. Anything decent that comes out of them will generally be highlighted in here or elsewhere.

Pighead wrote: »
    What do you make of Mourinho's 'We are not favourite's for the title' 'We are a small horse' quotes then? Would you hate to have him in as Utd manager as well? Bottom line is that all managers like to downplay their chances and very rarely give journo's their honest opinions on matters relating to the game. Press conferences are in the whole best ignored. Anything decent that comes out of them will generally be highlighted in here or elsewhere.

Difference is with Jose, it comes across as mindgames. With Moyes, it can sometimes come across like he believes it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

http://www.goal.com/en/news/15/germany/2014/03/24/4706163/dante-signs-bayern-renewal-until-2017?ICID=HP_BN_6

a player that was linked with us.... expect the same of kroos come summer

• Subscribers Posts: 32,892 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I hate the term 'mind games'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

5starpool wrote: »
    I hate the term 'mind games'.

+1 such nonsense.

Amateur psychological assessments by journalists and fans when things happen in soccer are amongst the most wildly tilting occurrences on the internet.

I remember someone posted a picture of Rooney driving his jeep to work in the morning during the summer and saying his facial expression showed how unhappy he was and that he was leaving. My head exploded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I think we will win tomorrow night...there I said it.

Why? haven't a clue, I just feel it in my lyons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

bangkok wrote: »
    http://www.goal.com/en/news/15/germany/2014/03/24/4706163/dante-signs-bayern-renewal-until-2017?ICID=HP_BN_6

a player that was linked with us.... expect the same of kroos come summer

We were never interested in him, we are interested in Kroos though, different situation entirely.

I expect to see

"United target Kroos signs extension with Bayern Munich" between now and August. Anyday.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭geeksauce

We were never interested in him, we are interested in Kroos though, different situation entirely.

I would still imagine Kroos is looking at the way Dante's agent put it out there that there were other teams interested in him and thus got him a better contract and thinking I could use the interest from UTD as a way to improve my terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

With Mata at #10, and Rooney leading the line on his own (their best positions imho), we're more than capable of causing them problems.

I would like to see Fletcher start. I think he is the type of player who complements & facilitates someone like Mata perfectly, when Mata is playing #10. Fletcher brings a lot of energy to the middle which is very important, as Mata doesn't over extend himself defensively. He is an excellent disruptive influence in there and he can be reasonably constructive and composed on the ball. He always does particularly well in the big games.

I just hope the likes of Cleverley, Young, Valencia don't get the nod.

http://metro.co.uk/2014/03/24/manchester-united-target-dante-signs-three-year-bayern-munich-deal-4676889/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

dante said himself at the time utd were interested in signing him....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Would you see any way that perhaps saying United were interested in him, even if it's not true, would be beneficial for him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I recall him saying he was flattered by the interest but stated nothing official had been made to him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I expect to see

"United target Kroos signs extension with Bayern Munich" between now and August. Anyday.

Hey man, I saw you were confident for tomorrows game, of maybe not getting battered.

You should join my positivity club for a while, it's pretty nice. You get to watch Kroos and imagine what he will do next year, cause you'll be pretty confident that we will get him.

And when we win the champions league, you'll be able to come into the thread on a daily basis posting "Moyes out is it?"

It's a pretty sweet club(bit lonely the last while mind you), let me know if I need to bring a second chair :)