If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Be still my beating heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Those type of sc** bags really irritate me as they would be too lazy to walk 100 metres but can go around shouting abuse at others. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Sunday 16 March
    10 miles w/2x20 mins at 10k pace

Had a novel idea yesterday. I had entry to msb 5k for today and definitely didn't want to race it as I'm not any way race-fit yet but thought that my session today might fit in nicely with part of the course. I always find running at 10k pace in training very difficult especially 2 x 20 mins so thought it would make it much easier to run in a race environment.
    To ensure I didn't race it at 5k pace I made sure to not wear my racing shoes (can't race without them!) wore too many clothes and took the chip off my bib so I wouldn't get a time so there was no point in chasing a 5k time.
    3 miles warmup into town.
    Time and distance only on the watch.
    20 mins at 10k pace with race. Started really far back so couldn't get into any kind of flow. Should have started a good bit further up. Spent my time weaving between buggys, walkers etc (totally my own fault). Left the course after 20 mins, took my 2 mins recovery and did the rest of the session on quieter road and then into Stephen's Green and finished it off by running down Grafton Street and over to Mansion House where I had left my cap. Warning folks. Don't ever try to do a tempo run down Grafton Street on a Bank Holiday weekend:o Really silly idea and I nearly caused a few casualties....
    Ran much faster for the 2nd 20 mins on my own weirdly and the effort felt easier than with the race... Mile splits were on average 8.20 so fine with that for the moment.
    3 miles home mainly uphill so kept it very slow.

pm
    yeah I know I probably shouldn't have but popped out for a 35 min super slow recovery run. Legs feel great, all good:D and looking forward to the week ahead and doing some more faster stuff. I have an awful long way to go to get to where I feel I should be at this stage but need to be patient... and hopefully it'll happen some day soon......

13+ miles for the day
    39 + miles for the week

Monday 17 March
    45 min easy run. Legs felt great after the 10k efforts on Sunday but did a couple of AIS routines am and pm to keep everything in a nice state of equilibrium.

Tuesday 18 March
    Went out with the intention of doing a short easy run but felt good so decided to do my stride session.
    2.5 miles warmup
    3 x (6x30 secs) w/5min recoveries between sets.
    Form definitely improving. Looking to horizon, pumping arms, hands relaxed, feel good doing these now. No 95% effort portion to the workout this week sadly:( but with the extra 10 secs per stride I guess that's enough of a progression for this week. Very enjoyable run despite the wind but the sun did make a breakthrough for a lot of this.
    7 miles

pm: Had some time on my hands. Could have cleaned the apartment. I used to be a domestic goddess in a former life! Actually, I wasn't much good at cooking, cleaning or most:) other goddess type duties so maybe 'domestic goddess' is pushing it a little but I used to care more about it! Left the house in a mess and popped out instead for a few very easy recovery miles in the sunshine, some on grass.
    3 miles

10 miles total

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Ososlo- your workouts and effort are admirable- that said IMO you'd benefit from biting the bullet and racing more . To be totally honest, you will never get in "race shape" if you don't race.

I just don't get the point of running a tempo during a 5k race ! You'll see huge improvements with your dedication(which is immense) if you raced once a month or so?

drquirky wrote: »
    Ososlo- your workouts and effort are admirable- that said IMO you'd benefit from biting the bullet and racing more . To be totally honest, you will never get in "race shape" if you don't race.

I just don't get the point of running a tempo during a 5k race ! You'll see huge improvements with your dedication(which is immense) if you raced once a month or so?

Thanks.
    Just to explain for this particular race, I decided weeks back not to do it as I had missed some training and had a few weeks of very low mileage/no sessions due to gluteal problems and didn't think it safe to race all-out a 5k so soon in case the problems arose again. Running in general means more to me than racing this particular race.. plenty of other races.
    I had a tempo run planned anyways and just thought it'd be easier to do it (crowd carry me along and all that) but it didn't work out that way due to starting at the back.
    As to racing more often, maybe you're right!

Also, due to the missed training, I knew I wouldn't do a good race (in my eyes) so saw it as pointless in setting myself up for a disappointment. My heart wouldn't have been in in. Maybe that's the wrong attitude to have, but it's a personal thing.

The miles are mounting nicely! On the domestic front I hear ye, as the saying goes "I used to be snow white but I drifted":D

Wednesday 19 March
    35 min recovery

Thursday 20 March
    50 min progression run

Boy did I have fun tonight:D

AIS pre run with the video just to ensure I continue to do the moves correctly.
    Tonight was just one of those nights when everything came together and I felt good starting out and felt progressively better and better as the run went on, so I was in the perfect frame of mind and body for a progression run as it happened naturally that I just got faster and I didn't have to force it. Covered the watch. Started out slowly but probably not slowly enough but I was cold and had to keep moving to keep some life in my body.
    Checked paces afterwards.
    Mile 1: 11:01
    Mile 2: 10:36
    Mile 3: 10:12
    Mile 4: 9:23
    Mile 5: 8:17 (This mile started off up a slight hill and then I had to cross a road with cars very cautiously so I didn't get fully into my stride for about 2 mins)
    Last bit: sub 7min/mile pace
    Now I really went hell for leather towards the end of this run and I'm not sure I'm supposed to put that much effort into the end of a progression run but I was feeling REALLY GOOD and I threw caution to the wind and just wanted a good blow out and passed out some real runners in the process. Nice feeling:)
    2ish miles back to the car around 11:10, 11:22. I thought these were about 13min/miles as I felt I was going so slowly.

Myrtl when I got home. I like it cause it's quick and easy and I feel nice and loose after it :D
    7 miles total

Ososlo wrote: »
    Wednesday 19 March
    35 min recovery

Thursday 20 March
    50 min progression run

Boy did I have fun tonight:D

AIS pre run with the video just to ensure I continue to do the moves correctly.
    Tonight was just one of those nights when everything came together and I felt good starting out and felt progressively better and better as the run went on, so I was in the perfect frame of mind and body for a progression run as it happened naturally that I just got faster and I didn't have to force it. Covered the watch. Started out slowly but probably not slowly enough but I was cold and had to keep moving to keep some life in my body.
    Checked paces afterwards.
    Mile 1: 11:01
    Mile 2: 10:36
    Mile 3: 10:12
    Mile 4: 9:23
    Mile 5: 8:17 (This mile started off up a slight hill and then I had to cross a road with cars very cautiously so I didn't get fully into my stride for about 2 mins)
    Last bit: sub 7min/mile pace
    Now I really went hell for leather towards the end of this run and I'm not sure I'm supposed to put that much effort into the end of a progression run but I was feeling REALLY GOOD and I threw caution to the wind and just wanted a good blow out and passed out some real runners in the process. Nice feeling:)
    2ish miles back to the car around 11:10, 11:22. I thought these were about 13min/miles as I felt I was going so slowly.

Myrtl when I got home. I like it cause it's quick and easy and I feel nice and loose after it :D
    7 miles total

Its great when a plan comes together! Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Progressive running is the way forward. :D

I think you can consider yourself a real runner at this stage. :cool:

Progressive running is the way forward. :D

I think you can consider yourself a real runner at this stage. :cool:

naw. What you guys do and what I do are very different things;) Almost like a different sport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

.......I knew I wouldn't do a good race (in my eyes) so saw it as pointless in setting myself up for a disappointment. My heart wouldn't have been in in. Maybe that's the wrong attitude to have, but it's a personal thing.
    naw. What you guys do and what I do are very different things;) Almost like a different sport!
    Less of that talk, you're doing great stuff lately.

A bit more positivity from you please, with an air of confidence. If you go into a race thinking you're gonna be disappointed, chances are you will be. Have a go and if you do end up disappointed at least you should be able to learn something from the experience. And I mean all of that in the nicest possible way, we all love ya really :)

Friday 21 March
    35 mins recovery

Totally 'out of it' on strong painkillers for lady pains;)
    Ososlo scares away all the men folks
    so felt like I was floating on air. Nice feeling:)

Saturday 22 March
    6 smiles:) easy

Slept for 10 hours:eek: courtesy of said painkillers and didn't want to get up even at that! Sleep in general has improved massively in the past few weeks so not sure what to put that down to, but I'm fairly sure it was just a particularly bad phase I was going through and these things just come in stages/phases for no particular reason. Hopefully I'm in the Super Sleeping phase for a long time!

Nice 6 mile run with that lovely floating feeling again. Could have run forever today but kept it really handy as need to reserve all my resources for tomorrow's 4 x 10mins at 10k effort as part of my longer 10 mile run.
    BRING IT ON:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Friday 21 March
    35 mins recovery

Totally 'out of it' on strong painkillers for lady pains;)
    Ososlo scares away all the men folks
    so felt like I was floating on air. Nice feeling:)

PPffft

Blouse!

Gavlor wrote: »
    PPffft

Blouse!
    If I were a man, I'd have to take 3 days off altogether with bed-rest;)

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Less of that talk, you're doing great stuff lately.

A bit more positivity from you please, with an air of confidence. If you go into a race thinking you're gonna be disappointed, chances are you will be. Have a go and if you do end up disappointed at least you should be able to learn something from the experience. And I mean all of that in the nicest possible way, we all love ya really :)

thanks martyboy I love ya all too:D
    Yes I know I need to work on the old confidence but it'll help if I get a bit faster:pac:
    I'll be racing a lot more in the future, just not for the moment as I'm in the base phase of a 5k training plan. Plenty of racing to come for me over the summer.

Sunday 23 March
    10 miles w/ 4 x 10 mins at 10k pace

Not feeling great this morning. Stomach in a fairly bad way but thought I'd try to 'run it off':) It worked! Felt perfect during the run.

20 mins AIS and left home for Phoenix Park. Haven't been there in weeks. Really missed it. Parked up near Hole in Wall and bursting for loo so made my way up to Visitor Centre. On way back a bird shat on me:mad: luckily only getting me on the (bare) arm. Oh sweet nature at it's finest and purest:rolleyes:

Last Sunday was 2 x 20 mins at 10k which I find very tough mentally to cope with. I found today's session a lot easier being broken up into 4 sections. Winder than I thought so effort was harder for about half of each 10 min loop. No pace displayed but checked afterwards and was quite disappointed it wasn't a bit faster to be honest.
    Paces were:
    8:38
    8:40
    8:32
    8:34
    My current 10k pb from last summer is 8:38 pace (last 10k I did) and I would have thought I'm a good bit fitter now so hoped these splits would have been more like sub 8:20. I suppose if I had been clock watching I could have easily gone a bit faster. Maybe I go a bit too easy on myself:confused: Dunno... I guess I'm always a bit cautious so I can make sure I can do all the reps without fading towards the end. I might push myself a bit more next week.

Anyways, happy enough with how things are going. My glute issues seem to be well and truly behind me:D which is the main thing. I seem to be able to cope fine with the 3 harder efforts a week and am really enjoying my current 5k training. There never is a dull moment that's for sure! 5k training is fun:)

43 miles for the week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Stazza

Remember, these high end aerobic runs are part of the base to support the introduction of the faster stuff - the idea isn't to hammer them and improve your 10k time.

Patience Grasshopper. Patience.

Great work going on! How long is this plan and have you picked a 5 km? What did you intend taking the miles up to per week? Just been nosey :D

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Great work going on! How long is this plan and have you picked a 5 km? What did you intend taking the miles up to per week? Just been nosey :D
    Thanks Sam. I'm going into week 4 of a 15 week plan which will take me to a mid June 5k. There's one in Kilbride Co. Meath that suits so I might go for that.
    My runs in the plan are increasing a bit each week so it'll only be a mile or two increase each week, however I'd like to be doing about 60 come Summer.

Thanks Sam. I'm going into week 4 of a 15 week plan which will take me to a mid June 5k. There's one in Kilbride Co. Meath that suits so I might go for that.
    My runs in the plan are increasing a bit each week so it'll only be a mile or two increase each week, however I'd like to be doing about 60 come Summer.
    60:eek: Fair play to you! Time is flying by, its scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Save your record breaking for the races ! Nice session, well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Great workout today! Well done:)

"....a bird shat on memad.png "

That's supposed to be good luck you know!:D

Duanington wrote: »
    Save your record breaking for the races ! Nice session, well done :)

Thanks D. I'm not supposed to be wearing the watch at all for these sessions which I'm starting to realise is probably the way to go as I just start analysing the figures afterwards when all that really matters is the effort I'm putting in. I just can't quite let go 100% yet:o
    RedRunner wrote: »
    Great workout today! Well done:)

"....a bird shat on memad.png "

That's supposed to be good luck you know!:D
    Really! now I didn't know that! A millisecond earlier and I would have got it in the eye so I guess it was kind of good luck:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Do the lotto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

It's top secret atm:) Check out my website next weekend;)
    Don't want 'real life people' finding out who I am here...

I love a challenge me. Nice work, I'm sure they were delighted ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

PaulieC wrote: »
    I love a challenge me. Nice work, I'm sure they were delighted ;)

I was going to post the picture, nice work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

PaulieC wrote: »
    Nice work, I'm sure they were delighted ;)

+1 - nice work.

Nice detective work there PaulieC and Gavlor! Mighty impressed ;)
    Thanks Amk but the damn cut glass stole all my thunder :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Nice detective work there PaulieC and Gavlor! Mighty impressed ;)
    Thanks Amk but the damn cut glass stole all my thunder :-(

I'm lost :confused:

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I'm lost :confused:

Not running related so not important around these parts ;)