Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Keno wrote: »
    They don't have to be mutually exclusive. Why not get both?

Because we dont need both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭A Brad Maddox Guy

Headshot wrote: »

Surely we need to strengthen every aspect of our midfield. Isn't that the common complaint of the last few years? The complete lack of depth in all departments of our central midfield?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Deiseboy01

Maybe Fletch is going to call it a day?

Would need someone to fill his shoes.

Carrick is 32/33 now too so looking to the future.

Agree though we need a creative type who won't be pushed off the ball and can do a bit of everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Really? We don't need one of the most exciting midfield talents currently and a creative midfielder?

The centre midfielder's at united currently are:

Cleverly: Yeah...

Fellaini: Has played very well for the last month and is going to become an important player for us imo.

Carrick: 33 in the summer. I can see next season possible being his last.

Giggs: This season will be his last.

Fletcher: Love the guy but he's 30 with a nasty disease. Can he play 2,3 or even 4 games in a row any more?

So from that list we only have only two defensive minded midfielder's we can rely on and one will probably be gone in the next year. What happens when Fellaini is injured? You really think we can't take on another?

Surely we need to strengthen every aspect of our midfield. Isn't that the common complaint of the last few years? The complete lack of depth in all departments of our central midfield?

The complaint is the lack of the creative CM, not numbers. We have numbers, they are average players but none the less we have numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Fellaini is good for teams 8-20 in the league and CL group games but we need better for the bigger games, this kid could probably go well beyond Fellaini's level if he keeps on going the way he is and he has a lot of other qualities, his ball carrying is very good for that kind of player.

Watching MOTD and the way Liverpool counter attack really is excellent, Moyes should be taking notes watching them and other teams play. What stuck out today was Young just didn't fit in at all with what the rest of the team were doing, we were unbalanced with him in the team, Mata Rooney and Kagawa were all about movement and passing but Young just wanted to slow it down, get the ball wide and lump it in.. mostly miles over the head of every United player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Ya noting wrong with having enough options in CM,sure we have Tom Clev for the creative stuff :)

The complaint is the lack of the creative CM, not numbers. We have numbers, they are average players but none the less we have numbers

Numbers does not equal strength in depth though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

1 Carvalho (sp?) isnt the only Mid we're looking to sign

2 while we do have numbers their old, Carrick is 33, giggs 40, fletch is 30 and cant play long strings of games all 3 could retire in the next 15 months leaving fell and cleverly. we need to build up some young talent forboth creative playy and defensive work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Dont normally post at the weekend but seriously Rafael, what a car crash. He is a cracking full back, a great player but hes a walking red card at this stage.

Russell Brand is better than Jamie Redknapp by a mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Even if Carrick, Fletcher and Giggs are past their best, and Cleverly isn't good enough, I'd still think the jury is out on Fellaini.

He may well come good but he has a long way to go.
    Has he played well in any match against a top side ?

Im not against Carvalho per say, iv been watching him recently, he was oustanding in the Porto game but my argument is creative CM should be priority. If I see Fell and Carvalho starting next season as first choice CM's ill be pretty pissed off again

If we get a creative CM, my argument will be void

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,610 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

We have currently have 5 midfielders and tbh I would be hoping 3 midfielders are bought in the summer.
    Fellaini and Clev are the only 2 we have under 30 and Giggs will most likely retire in the summer,fletch will never be a regular again imo and Carrick is almost 33.
    Carvalho and a creative cm along with a young prospect would be ideal imo.6 midfilders isn't a lot at the top level especially when you take into account age,injuries and Clev being a useless prick .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Wouldn't worry about Carvalho. In a 4231, he and Fel could be our deeper defensive mids.
    Fel---Carvalho
    Januzaj ----Mata----Whoever
    Rooney

Not to say I wouldn't like a proper creative mid for the times we go with a 442 or a third man in central mid. Just that Fel and Cleverly aren't going to be our only two mids, and we'll need multiple people. If Carvalho is one, then good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

Dear BBC,

Please sack the complete toolbag who decided that putting Russell Brand on MOTD as a guest analyst!

What a fúcking twat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Yeah, just think of Carvalho as a replacement for Giggs, Scholes and Anderson.

I'd assume Powell will come back from his loan for a make-or-break season back at Old Traffird

Chelsea played with two defensive CMs today and put 6 past Arsenal

It all depends which way Moyes wants the team to play and we won't know until he gets the players he wants in the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

Chelsea played with two defensive CMs today and put 6 past Arsenal

It all depends which way Moyes wants the team to play and we won't know until he gets the players he wants in the summer

2 good solid defensive midfielders a la Luiz and Matic can give you the solidity needed in order to let your attackers run wild. If Rooney for example didnt have to drop back and help Cleverley and Carrick he can concentrate on being a lot more dangerous at the other end of the field. FLetcher and Fellaini gave us the platform today to let Kagawa Mata and Rooney concentrate on attacking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

n32 wrote: »
    Dear BBC,

Please sack the complete toolbag who decided that putting Russell Brand on MOTD as a guest analyst!

What a fúcking twat

It's for relief. And he's better than Shearer anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

We need a defensive mindfielder to complement our attacking creative types especialy mata and kagawa. Felliani is not up to it but hopefully he can improve and became a good squad option.

Yeah, just think of Carvalho as a replacement for Giggs, Scholes and Anderson.

I'd assume Powell will come back from his loan for a make-or-break season back at Old Traffird

I disagree that it would be make or break for Powell. He'll only be 20, plenty of time to perfect his craft. In saying that I am hopeful that he could be very useful next season, just don't believe that it would be the end of him if he wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Powell should go on loan to a Premiership club next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Mousa Sissoko wouldnt be a bad player to sign.Would be a better option than Fellaini in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Powell should go on loan to a Premiership club next season.

Villa or Swansea wouldn't be a bad call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

MOTD raving about Rooney's goal! Why??? It was a goalkeeping error.

If the keeper took a few steps back instead of running round in a circle disorientating himself then he would have caught it with ease.

Not a great goal, not even a good goal, just a goalkeeping error.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

If the keeper took a few steps back instead of running round in a circle disorientating himself then he would have caught it with ease.

WHAT??? it was an unbelievable goal, just look at the bend, swerve, dip the ball had, not a chance for the goalie...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

not even a good goal, would ye g'way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

I wouldn't bother lads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Not a good goal? God damn it, Bobby. Eat a snickers because you turn into a right diva when you're hungry.