Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Delighted with that we showed some real heart for one of the first times this season. Was just a shame we settled after the 3rd goal could of all went sour if the Greeks took one of those chances.

Van persie was great looked his old self Rooney as usual was everywhere Giggs passed it around brilliantly there where a few others as well which really showed heart and effort something thats lacked this season.

Delighted where threw just shows we can play when we need to u could see the players wanted this bad and it meant a lot to them. I still think Moyes is doomed but it was great to see us show where still up for it !! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Deiseboy01

I want PSG in the quarters. Have we ever played them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Diamond De Gea.

Some goalie.

Great ball from him near the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭madcabbage

That result has made my week! Please god RVP isn't seriously injured ahead of the City game!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Deiseboy01 wrote: »
    I want PSG in the quarters. Have we ever played them?

I want them too actually. Would love to have an excuse to see Ibra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Pretty poor despite the win, Olympiakos were god awful, and only managing to beat them by 3 isn't good. After getting the 3, just sat back and left them come at us instead of controlling and finishing the game off, rather than risk them scoring a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Mixed emotions this season horrified at our league position but tonight has been a good day at the office... great to see moyes showing passion... and he showed tactically he made right decisions imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

If all fit my team for first quarter would be
    De Gea
    Rafael. Vidic Evans. Jones
    Carrick.
    Valencia. Fletcher. Welbeck
    Rooney
    RVP
    And just tell Jones and Rafael to stay back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,210 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

God help us on Friday at the draw though. I think the other 7 teams will be hoping to get us.

No question about it. Any of the remaining managers will be rubbing their hands in glee if they get us, they know that they will have a huge advantage tactically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,227 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

Headshot wrote: »
    8 corners by utd

ugh so close. Was a good bet thou

Wasn't a good bet , you lost my friend...

good bet = winning :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

PSG or Dortmund in the quarters for me. Losing RVP though means we can't even dare to dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,210 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

edgecutter wrote: »
    Hopefully this is the end of defensive tactics

You must have missed the last 20 minutes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

If all fit my team for first quarter would be
    De Gea
    Rafael. Vidic Evans. Jones
    Carrick.
    Valencia. Fletcher. Welbeck
    Rooney
    RVP
    And just tell Jones and Rafael to stay back!

Surely you'd have evans at LB as opposed to Jones. Or Raf at LB even?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Mixed emotions this season horrified at our league position but tonight has been a good day at the office... great to see moyes showing passion... and he showed tactically he made right decisions imo

He was forced to add Giggs due to media pressure he was getting. I don't think Moyes thought of that himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

well well well.......dont like to gloat or anything but TOLD YE SO!!!!!!!!

valencia.....best game in 3 years

giggs......pure class, passing sensational

welbeck......brilliant 70mins tired near the end

rio....... cruised through the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

No question about it. Any of the remaining managers will be rubbing their hands in glee if they get us, they know that they will have a huge advantage tactically.

Dortmund are nothing special this season. They're better than us, of course, but they're the team we have the best chance against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Surely you'd have evans at LB as opposed to Jones. Or Raf at LB even?
    Prob swop Evans with Jones alright...what do ya think of that side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

Kenny Cunningham doing my ****ng head in.

edgecutter wrote: »
    He was forced to add Giggs due to media pressure he was getting. I don't think Moyes thought of that himself.

Oh can we just nip this in the bud. He picked Giggs and the selection was 100% justified by the passing they had clearly worked on in training. That long ball over the top to the striker led directly to two goals in the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Lads we need to be staying away from Zlatan, he'll make mincemeat of our defence

Chelsea
    Atleti
    PSG
    Dortmund
    Real
    Barca
    Bayern

In order of preference.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Oh can we just nip this in the bud. He picked Giggs and the selection was 100% justified by the passing they had clearly worked on in training. That long ball over the top to the striker led directly to two goals in the first half.

His performance doesn't change why he was picked.

bangkok wrote: »
    valencia.....best game in 3 years

Speechless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

Did Dunphy just say David Gill was the marketing manager? That man is so clueless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Couldn't listen to the Moyes apologism on RTE there and trashing a bunch of players that did a great job turning it around tonight. We were still hanging on for dear life at the end against a side that's little better than group stage cannon fodder.

adox wrote: »
    Kenny Cunningham doing my ****ng head in.

Now he's talking sense and Eamon wrecking my head!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

How does Dunphy not rate Rafael? Oh dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Aodhagan wrote: »
    Did Dunphy just say David Gill was the marketing manager? That man is so clueless.

Pretty sure he didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Didnt Dunphy say alot of these things about United around seven years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Dunphy classic. The face on him at the mention of smalling. "Wha."

His performance doesn't change why he was picked.

I didn't realise Moyes told you personally. Sorry :)